A hyperactive at home: unable to stand still

Pedro is 6 years old. His parents do not know what to do with him: "it's a real whirlwind." Not for a single moment, and even when he is sitting he moves continuously, swinging his feet, climbing on the back of the chair ...

As a baby his parents were surprised that he slept little and woke up frequently. From the year began to show his nervousness: he was always getting into danger and had to be with a thousand eyes. It was impossible for him to be playing quietly for a while with constructions or puzzles like his brothers did.

Nowadays, despite his age, he is still the same: he has to constantly change his activity and when he starts doing the small tasks that are sent to him in school he is distracted "with the flight of a fly". Sometimes it seems that he is in another world and does not attend to what his mother asks of him.


Hyperactivity in the preschool age

The hyperactivity it is one of the problems that appear most frequently in the preschool age. It usually affects around four or five percent of the population and, interestingly, its incidence is three or four times higher in children than in girls.

Under the term of hyperactivity, reference is usually made to a whole set of symptoms that do not always occur in their entirety.

Excessive activity, certain attention problems, impulsivity and lack of self-control are usually the most characteristic symptoms of childhood hyperactivity.

Hyperactivity in diverse environments

In order to talk about hyperactivity, the symptoms must be presented before the age of 7, remain for at least six months and appear in different situations and environments (home, school ...). Also, it is essential that the disorder can not be attributed to other types of problems such as a slight delay, for example.


Although all hyperactive children do not show all these symptoms in their entirety, from childhood they are considered, by their parents and later by their teachers, as problematic children and somewhat different from boys and girls of the same age.

Hyperactivity in the first years of life

During his first years of life, the hyperactive child is generally described by his parents as excessively active: "not for even a moment," "he does the brute constantly" ...

Some parents, at first, think that this is due to their age, although over time they can see for themselves that their friends and companions are becoming more obedient and self-controlled while their son continues to behave practically the same.

He often suffers from sleep problems: he sleeps little and wakes up frequently. In addition, he does the first thing that crosses his mind, without stopping to think. He is aggressive and hits his brothers and classmates frequently.


Sometimes it also shows nervous behavior such as biting the nails, peeing in bed, fears ... and, in some cases, somatic problems such as headaches, stomach, etc.

Motor activity of children with hyperactivity

With regard to motor activity, the hyperactive child is characterized by an almost permanent and uncontrolled activity that often has no specific purpose. It is what we often call "a lizard's tail": it moves continuously, it climbs on everything it has at hand, it sways without stopping ... It is often unable to sit still, even when eating.

This hyperactivity usually increases, moreover, when it is in the presence of other people with whom it does not maintain a frequent relationship: our friends, the new neighbors ... while the activity tends to decrease when it is alone.

The attention deficit associated with hyperactivity

Attention or attention deficit difficulties are usually one of the most characteristic symptoms of this disorder. To such an extent that for some specialists these children move continuously simply because of their inability to focus attention.

The child continuously changes his activity and does not finish the projects he starts. He is distracted by anything and has a special difficulty in differentiating what is and what is not important in a task.

In addition, it is often incredibly variable in his answers: one day he does everything well and the next day they have great difficulties with the same task.

An impulsive child

Are impulsive children and disobedients who do not usually comply with what their parents and teachers indicate or even do the opposite of what they were commanded.

They act without thinking, seeking to immediately satisfy any impulse, they have little tolerance for frustration and little self-control and self-control.

They rush into their answers and often answer before they finish listening to the question.

Elena López
Advice: Teresa Artola. PhD in Psychology and Master in Family Education, with extensive research and teaching in the field of Child Psychology

Video: Does my Child Have ADHD?


Interesting Articles

Schools adapt teaching to digital platforms

Schools adapt teaching to digital platforms

A large number of schools in Spain is doing the effort to adapt teaching to digital platforms. To adapt to new technologies now use digital whiteboards that replace the traditional green or black...

How to take advantage of trips to educate

How to take advantage of trips to educate

If summer is synonymous with holidays, talking about this free time also means referring travels. These moments of rest are taken advantage of to know other places, either because of the leisure...

Depression in adolescents: how to detect and treat it

Depression in adolescents: how to detect and treat it

The Spanish Association of Pediatrics, AEP, estimates that around the 4% of adolescents in our country suffer from some type of depressive process. Depression has serious effects on the life of the...

Ready to be parents: fears and doubts

Ready to be parents: fears and doubts

Many parents are overwhelmed with the many decisions they must make regarding the education and health of their newborn child. And fears arise. Have you felt the vertigo of motherhood? Did you feel...

Zu Hause hyperaktiv: Ich kann nicht stillstehen

Pedro ist 6 Jahre alt. Seine Eltern wissen nicht, was sie mit ihm machen sollen: "Es ist ein richtiger Wirbelwind." Nicht für einen Moment, und selbst wenn er sitzt, bewegt er sich ununterbrochen, schwingt seine Füße und klettert auf die Stuhllehne ...

Als Baby waren seine Eltern überrascht, dass er wenig geschlafen hat und häufig aufgewacht ist. Ab dem Jahr zeigte sich seine Nervosität: Er geriet immer in Gefahr und musste mit tausend Augen sein. Es war ihm unmöglich, eine Weile ruhig mit Konstruktionen oder Rätseln zu spielen, wie es seine Brüder taten.

Trotz seines Alters ist er heutzutage immer noch derselbe: Er muss seine Tätigkeit ständig ändern und wenn er anfängt, die kleinen Aufgaben zu erledigen, die ihm in der Schule zukommen, wird er "mit dem Flug einer Fliege" abgelenkt. Manchmal scheint es, als sei er in einer anderen Welt und kümmert sich nicht darum, was seine Mutter von ihm verlangt.


Hyperaktivität im Vorschulalter

Die Hyperaktivität Es ist eines der Probleme, die am häufigsten im Vorschulalter auftreten. In der Regel sind etwa vier oder fünf Prozent der Bevölkerung betroffen. Interessanterweise ist die Inzidenz bei Kindern drei- bis viermal höher als bei Mädchen.

Unter dem Begriff der Hyperaktivität wird in der Regel auf eine ganze Reihe von Symptomen Bezug genommen, die nicht immer in ihrer Gesamtheit auftreten.

Übermäßige Aktivität, bestimmte Aufmerksamkeitsprobleme, Impulsivität und mangelnde Selbstkontrolle sind in der Regel die charakteristischsten Symptome von Hyperaktivität in der Kindheit.

Hyperaktivität in verschiedenen Umgebungen

Um über Hyperaktivität zu sprechen, müssen die Symptome vor dem 7. Lebensjahr präsentiert werden, mindestens sechs Monate bleiben und in verschiedenen Situationen und Umgebungen (Zuhause, Schule ...) auftreten. Es ist auch wichtig, dass die Störung nicht auf andere Arten von Problemen wie beispielsweise eine geringe Verzögerung zurückzuführen ist.


Obwohl alle hyperaktiven Kinder nicht alle diese Symptome in ihrer Gesamtheit zeigen, werden sie von ihren Eltern und später von ihren Lehrern als problematische Kinder angesehen und unterscheiden sich von Jungen und Mädchen im gleichen Alter.

Hyperaktivität in den ersten Lebensjahren

In seinen ersten Lebensjahren wird das hyperaktive Kind im Allgemeinen von seinen Eltern als übermäßig aktiv bezeichnet: "Nicht für einen Moment", "er macht das Tier ständig" ...

Einige Eltern denken zunächst, dass dies auf ihr Alter zurückzuführen ist, obwohl sie mit der Zeit für sich selbst erkennen können, dass ihre Freunde und Gefährten gehorsam und selbstbeherrscht werden, während sich ihr Sohn praktisch genauso verhält.

Er leidet oft an Schlafstörungen: Er schläft wenig und wacht häufig auf. Außerdem tut er das Erste, was ihm durch den Kopf geht, ohne aufhören zu denken. Er ist aggressiv und trifft seine Brüder und Klassenkameraden häufig.


Manchmal zeigt es auch nervöses Verhalten, wie das Nägelkauen, das Pinkeln im Bett, Ängste ... und in einigen Fällen somatische Probleme wie Kopfschmerzen, Magen usw.

Bewegungsaktivität von Kindern mit Hyperaktivität

In Bezug auf die motorische Aktivität zeichnet sich das hyperaktive Kind durch eine fast permanente und unkontrollierte Aktivität aus, die häufig keinen bestimmten Zweck hat. Wir nennen es oft "den Schwanz einer Eidechse": es bewegt sich ununterbrochen, es klettert auf alles, was zur Hand ist, es schwankt ohne anzuhalten ... Es ist oft nicht in der Lage, still zu sitzen, auch beim Essen.

Diese Hyperaktivität nimmt in der Regel zu, wenn sie sich in Anwesenheit anderer Menschen befindet, mit denen sie keine häufigen Beziehungen unterhält: unsere Freunde, die neuen Nachbarn ... während die Aktivität tendenziell abnimmt, wenn sie alleine ist.

Das mit Hyperaktivität einhergehende Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit

Aufmerksamkeits- oder Aufmerksamkeitsstörungen sind in der Regel eines der charakteristischsten Symptome dieser Erkrankung. In einem solchen Ausmaß bewegen sich diese Kinder für einige Spezialisten ununterbrochen, weil sie nicht in der Lage sind, die Aufmerksamkeit zu fokussieren.

Das Kind ändert ständig seine Tätigkeit und beendet die von ihm begonnenen Projekte nicht. Er ist von allem abgelenkt und hat eine besondere Schwierigkeit bei der Unterscheidung, was in einer Aufgabe wichtig ist und was nicht.

Außerdem ist es in seinen Antworten oft sehr unterschiedlich: An einem Tag macht er alles gut und am nächsten Tag haben sie große Schwierigkeiten mit der gleichen Aufgabe.

Ein impulsives Kind

Sie sind impulsive Kinder und Ungehorsame, die sich normalerweise nicht an das halten, was ihre Eltern und Lehrer angeben oder sogar das Gegenteil von dem tun, was ihnen befohlen wurde.

Sie handeln ohne nachzudenken und versuchen, jeden Impuls sofort zu befriedigen, sie haben wenig Toleranz gegenüber Frustration und wenig Selbstkontrolle und Selbstkontrolle.

Sie stürzen sich in ihre Antworten und antworten oft, bevor sie die Frage nicht mehr hören.

Elena López
Hinweis: Teresa Artola. Promotion in Psychologie und Master in Familienbildung mit umfangreicher Forschung und Lehre im Bereich Kinderpsychologie

Video: Tierelier - Pap


Interessante Artikel

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Um gut zu sitzen die Grundlagen der Selbstkontrolle In der Pubertät unserer Kinder müssen sie die Gründe, warum sie auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise handeln, assimilieren. Wenn sie jünger waren, als...