The benefits of the green space in the development of children

The green areas They are beneficial for many reasons. Thanks to them, the air quality improves and a place where to have a good time as a family is offered. Parks, urban forests and even orchards installed in cities are a great help for all people. Even for the youngest of the house and its development, starting because thanks to them the effects of pollution are reduced and ending because they offer a place to leave sedentary lifestyle.

In case there are doubts about this, a study published in the magazine American Journal of Preventive Medicine has once again demonstrated the benefits that a green space for the development of the child. A happier childhood and a better quality of life are two of the results that have determined this group of Australian researchers after analyzing 4,968 children between 4 and 5 years.


Greater well-being

This study analyzed all these cases longitudinally from 2004 to 2012 in order to determine the influence of the environment on their development. The results showed that participants who live in neighborhoods with between 0 and 5% of green space, already had a more favorable quality of life

To a greater percentage of green spaces in the proximities from their homes, children showed better results. How should the spaces surrounding the neighborhoods where the children live be? The researchers said that the optimal amount should be between 20 and 41% for the little ones to take advantage of its benefits.


Thanks to these green spaces, the minors demonstrated a better state of shape thanks to breathing a better quality of air. In addition, the presence of these zones favored that in the free days families could go for a walk by them, favoring physical activity over sedentary lifestyle. In this way, the children who grew up in these neighborhoods presented lower levels of obesity and overweight.

Improvement of the memory

This study is not the first one that focuses on the benefits of green spaces in the developing of the kids. From the American Academy of Pediatrics it is indicated the benefits that a green playground has for the youngest of the house in which to enjoy the time of recreation on the part of the students. Gardens, small gardens and outdoor activities are some of the suggestions that are made to schools so they can improve the day to day in the school that children attend.


This report based on the data provided by different schools. This information dealt with the type of school playground and the state of students: cardiac health, level of stress, obesity, presence or not of deficiencies in the attention.

Those school yards that had elements such as green spaces with vegetation, orchards or that bet on classes at fresh air They had children with a lower level of stress than the average. At the same time, these centers had a reduced level of obese children and a higher level of attention by the students who attended these centers.

The researchers point out that, for example, the fact of seeing a green space is in itself a less stressful element than seeing long cement sports courts. "Many children lack quality school areas, and in many neighborhoods, the standard space where they play is a sterile asphalt park or a piece of concrete fenced with a metal fence, a completely unsuitable environment for children to play," explains the doctor. Stephen Pont, one of the authors of this study.

Damián Montero

Video: Green space may improve children's memory


Interesting Articles

Cosmetic surgery: 5 tips to avoid false expectations

Cosmetic surgery: 5 tips to avoid false expectations

The plastic surgery It can change a person's life. The resulting physical change improves the perception of oneself, self-image, while strengthening self-esteem, the value we give to what we are. We...

Die Vorteile der Grünfläche in der Entwicklung von Kindern

Die Grünflächen Sie sind aus vielen Gründen vorteilhaft. Dank ihnen verbessert sich die Luftqualität und es wird ein Ort angeboten, an dem man sich als Familie gut unterhalten kann. Parks, Stadtwälder und sogar Obstplantagen in Städten sind eine große Hilfe für alle Menschen. Sogar für die jüngsten des Hauses und seiner Entwicklung, beginnend, weil dank ihnen die Auswirkungen der Verschmutzung reduziert werden und enden, weil sie einen Ort bieten, um sitzende Lebensweise zu verlassen.

Falls Zweifel bestehen, wird eine in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichte Studie veröffentlicht Amerikanische Zeitschrift für Präventivmedizin hat wieder einmal die vorteile bewiesen, die ein Grünfläche für die Entwicklung des Kindes. Eine glücklichere Kindheit und bessere Lebensqualität sind zwei der Ergebnisse, die diese australische Forschergruppe nach 4.968 Kindern zwischen 4 und 5 Jahren ermittelt haben.


Größeres Wohlbefinden

In dieser Studie wurden all diese Fälle von 2004 bis 2012 in Längsrichtung analysiert, um den Einfluss der Umwelt auf ihre Entwicklung zu bestimmen. Die Ergebnisse zeigten, dass Teilnehmer, die in Gegenden mit 0 bis 5% Grünfläche leben, bereits eine günstigere Lebensqualität hatten

Zu einem größeren Prozentsatz von Grünflächen in der Nähe Kinder zeigten zu Hause bessere Ergebnisse. Wie sollen die Räume, in denen die Kinder leben, umgeben sein? Die Forscher sagten, dass die optimale Menge zwischen 20 und 41% liegen sollte, damit die Kleinen ihre Vorteile nutzen können.


Dank dieser Grünflächen demonstrierten die Minderjährigen eine besserer Zustand Form dank Atmung eine bessere Luftqualität. Darüber hinaus begünstigte das Vorhandensein dieser Zonen, dass Familien in den freien Tagen an ihnen spazieren gehen und körperliche Aktivität gegenüber sitzender Lebensweise bevorzugen. Auf diese Weise wiesen die Kinder, die in diesen Stadtteilen aufwuchsen, weniger Fettleibigkeit und Übergewicht auf.

Verbesserung des Gedächtnisses

Diese Studie ist nicht die erste, die sich auf die Vorteile von Grünflächen in der Region konzentriert Entwicklung von Kindern. Von der American Academy of Pediatrics wird deutlich, welchen Nutzen ein grüner Spielplatz für die jüngsten des Hauses hat, um die Zeit der Erholung für die Schüler zu genießen. Gärten, kleine Gärten und Outdoor-Aktivitäten sind einige der Vorschläge, die an Schulen gemacht werden, um den Tag in der Schule zu verbessern, den die Kinder besuchen.


Dieser Bericht basiert auf den von verschiedenen Schulen bereitgestellten Daten. Diese Informationen befassten sich mit der Art des Schulhofs und dem Zustand der Schule Studenten: Herzgesundheit, Stress, Fettleibigkeit, Vorhandensein oder Nichtvorhandensein von Mängeln in der Aufmerksamkeit.

Jene Schulhöfe, die Elemente wie Grünflächen mit Vegetation, Obstgärten oder die auf Klassen bei hielten im Freien Sie hatten Kinder mit einem geringeren Stress als der Durchschnitt. Gleichzeitig hatten diese Zentren eine reduzierte Anzahl adipöser Kinder und eine höhere Aufmerksamkeit der Schüler, die diese Zentren besuchten.

Die Forscher weisen darauf hin, dass zum Beispiel das Sehen einer Grünfläche an sich ein weniger stressiges Element ist als lange Zement-Sportplätze. "Vielen Kindern fehlt es an qualitativ hochwertigen Schulgebieten, und in vielen Stadtvierteln ist der Standardbereich, in dem sie spielen, ein steriler Asphaltpark oder ein mit einem Metallzaun umzäuntes Betonstück, eine völlig ungeeignete Umgebung zum Spielen von Kindern", erklärt der Arzt. Stephen Pont, einer der Autoren dieser Studie.

Damián Montero

Video: Natalie Jeremijenko: Let's teach fish to text! and other outlandish ideas


Interessante Artikel