Dysthymia, when depression becomes chronic

The depression It is one of the disorders that most affect the home. Plunging into this state of sadness and melancholy is a blow to any family, but unfortunately this disease is currently one of the most common in the world and since the WHO stands out as one of the most widespread disabilities in the world . In some cases after a time of therapy and support among all ends up happening.

In others, it gets worse and ends up becoming chronic. A situation that is known as dysthymia, that is, the depression that becomes permanent and that alters the state of the home in a notorious way. A typology that although may manifest less serious symptoms, its prolongation in time makes it a serious situation for everyone who crosses it.


Definition of dysthymia

From the Mayo Clinic dysthymia is defined as "persistent depressive disorder, a form of continuous and long-term depression". This entity indicates as the most common symptoms of it the loss of interest in the normal activities of life, feeling of hopelessness, low productivity and motivation to meet obligations and a very low self-esteem.

Sudden tiredness and fatigue are also related to dysthymia, as well as a irritability constant that can end up creating a gap between the members of a household. This is another characteristic of this disorder, the gradual isolation of the person who suffers from this chronic depression and his emotional distance from the members of his own family.


As explained from Distimia.orgAlthough the symptoms are less severe and aggressive than in other types of depression, its prolongation over time can have serious consequences for both the person and their circle:

- Reduction of the quality of life, the constant sadness makes the person neglect other aspects such as leisure or their own health.

- Major depression, feeling of increased sadness and worsening of symptoms.

- Tendency to abuse alcohol and other substances, something that becomes very dangerous in the case of adolescents.

- Difficulties in relationships. The emotional distancing leads to family conflicts and a tendency to progressive social isolation.

- Problems at work or school that can translate into the loss of employment or the repetition of the course in the case of students.


Diagnosis and treatment

If any of these has been appreciated symptom In the person, it will be important to go to the specialist to perform an examination of the patient and determine if it is indeed a case of dysthymia or it is a feeling of passing sadness as a result of daily stress. In this case the psychologist will ask about the situation, about how they started and their aggressiveness.

In the same way, also will be interviewed with the family to determine how this situation affects their daily lives and if there have been similar problems in the past or family history. From Distimia.org it is explained that this disorder has a hereditary character in some cases so it is necessary to pay special attention in these cases. Once the diagnosis is obtained, the treatment will begin.

The most common is the initiation of a therapy with psychologist where the experiences of the person will be shared and their life will be talked about. The objective is to find the cause of dysthymia and initiate a treatment against it. In other situations, the specialist may recommend the use of drugs:

- Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, more common and with less serious side effects.

- Less used monoamine oxidase inhibitors due to their serious side effects

- Serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors

- Tricyclic antidepressants.

Prevention of dysthymia

The best treatment of dysthymia is its prevention, something that even though it is not possible, it can be done when there is a case of risk:

- Environment. An environment of constant stress can plunge the person into this situation and cause these symptoms to appear.

- Violent events. Loss of a loved one, dismissal from work, bullying.

- Family history of dysthymia, or any other form of depression.

In these cases, the prevention of dysthymia involves:

- Stress control and relaxation techniques practices.

- Early detection of possible school bullying.

- Creation of a family support environment where everyone feels that they have someone next to them to help them.

- Routine exercise practice.

Damián Montero

Video: Major Depressive Disorder | Clinical Presentation


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Dysthymie, wenn Depression chronisch wird

Die Depression Es ist eine der Erkrankungen, die das Zuhause am meisten betreffen. Das Eintauchen in diesen Zustand der Traurigkeit und Melancholie ist ein Schlag für jede Familie, aber leider ist diese Krankheit derzeit eine der häufigsten Erkrankungen der Welt, und seitdem ist die WHO eine der am weitesten verbreiteten Erkrankungen der Welt . In einigen Fällen endet nach einer Zeit der Therapie und Unterstützung zwischen allen.

In anderen Fällen wird es schlimmer und endet chronisch. Eine Situation, die als Dysthymie bekannt ist, dh die Depression das wird dauerhaft und das ändert den Zustand des Hauses auf notorische Weise. Eine Typologie, die zwar weniger schwerwiegende Symptome zeigt, aber ihre Verlängerung in der Zeit macht sie zu einer ernsthaften Situation für jeden, der sie überquert.


Definition von Dysthymie

Aus dem Mayo-Klinik Dysthymie ist definiert als "persistierende depressive Störung, eine Form der anhaltenden und langfristigen Depression". Diese Entität zeigt als häufigste Symptome den Verlust des Interesses an den normalen Aktivitäten des Lebens, das Gefühl der Hoffnungslosigkeit, die geringe Produktivität und die Motivation, Verpflichtungen zu erfüllen, und ein sehr geringes Selbstwertgefühl an.

Plötzliche Müdigkeit und Ermüdung hängen auch mit Dysthymie zusammen Reizbarkeit Konstante, die am Ende eine Lücke zwischen den Mitgliedern eines Haushalts schaffen kann. Dies ist ein weiteres Merkmal dieser Erkrankung, die allmähliche Isolierung der Person, die an dieser chronischen Depression leidet, und ihre emotionale Distanz zu den Mitgliedern ihrer eigenen Familie.


Wie aus erklärt Distimia.orgObwohl die Symptome weniger schwerwiegend und aggressiv sind als bei anderen Arten von Depressionen, kann ihre Verlängerung im Laufe der Zeit schwerwiegende Folgen für die Person und ihren Kreislauf haben:

- Verringerung der Lebensqualität, die ständige Traurigkeit lässt die Person andere Aspekte wie Freizeit oder die eigene Gesundheit vernachlässigen.

- Depressionen, verstärktes Traurigkeitsgefühl und Verschlimmerung der Symptome.

- Tendenz, Alkohol und andere Substanzen zu missbrauchen, was bei Jugendlichen sehr gefährlich wird.

- Schwierigkeiten in Beziehungen. Die emotionale Distanzierung führt zu familiären Konflikten und zu einer fortschreitenden sozialen Isolation.

- Probleme bei der Arbeit oder in der Schule, die sich im Falle von Studenten auf den Verlust des Arbeitsplatzes oder die Wiederholung des Kurses auswirken können.


Diagnose und Behandlung

Wenn einer von diesen geschätzt wurde Symptome In der Person ist es wichtig, sich an den Spezialisten zu wenden, um eine Untersuchung des Patienten durchzuführen und festzustellen, ob es sich tatsächlich um eine Dysthymie oder um ein Gefühl der Traurigkeit infolge des täglichen Streß handelt. In diesem Fall fragt der Psychologe nach der Situation, nach ihrem Beginn und ihrer Aggressivität.

In gleicher Weise auch wird interviewt mit der Familie, um festzustellen, wie sich diese Situation auf ihr tägliches Leben auswirkt und ob es ähnliche Probleme in der Vergangenheit oder in der Familiengeschichte gegeben hat. Von Distimia.org wird erklärt, dass diese Störung in einigen Fällen erblich bedingt ist. In diesen Fällen ist daher besondere Aufmerksamkeit erforderlich. Sobald die Diagnose vorliegt, beginnt die Behandlung.

Am häufigsten ist die Einleitung einer Therapie mit Psychologe wo die Erfahrungen der Person geteilt und über ihr Leben gesprochen wird. Ziel ist es, die Ursache der Dysthymie zu finden und eine Behandlung dagegen einzuleiten. In anderen Situationen kann der Spezialist die Verwendung von Medikamenten empfehlen:

- Selektive Serotonin-Wiederaufnahmehemmer, häufiger und mit weniger schwerwiegenden Nebenwirkungen.

- Weniger verwendete Monoaminoxidasehemmer aufgrund schwerwiegender Nebenwirkungen

- Serotonin- und Noradrenalin-Wiederaufnahmehemmer

- trizyklische Antidepressiva.

Prävention von Dysthymien

Die beste Behandlung von Dysthymie ist ihre PräventionDies ist zwar nicht möglich, kann jedoch im Falle eines Risikos durchgeführt werden:

- Umgebung Eine Umgebung ständigen Stresss kann die Person in diese Situation stürzen und dazu führen, dass diese Symptome auftreten.

- gewalttätige Ereignisse. Verlust eines geliebten Menschen, Entlassung von der Arbeit, Mobbing.

- Familiengeschichte von Dysthymie oder jeder anderen Form von Depression.

In diesen Fällen umfasst die Prävention von Dysthymie:

- Übungen zur Stresskontrolle und Entspannungstechniken.

- Früherkennung möglicher Mobbing in der Schule.

- Schaffung einer Familienunterstützungsumgebung, in der jeder das Gefühl hat, jemanden neben sich zu haben, der ihm hilft

- Routineübungen.

Damián Montero

Video: Das Miststück Dysthymia!


Interessante Artikel

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Um gut zu sitzen die Grundlagen der Selbstkontrolle In der Pubertät unserer Kinder müssen sie die Gründe, warum sie auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise handeln, assimilieren. Wenn sie jünger waren, als...