Excess salt in the diet negatively alters brain development

Watching what you eat is a very important issue for any home. Paying attention to the products that are eaten and the quantities used can mean the difference between good health or the appearance of problems. An example is the Salt, an ingredient used in numerous dishes but whose abuse can lead to numerous heart problems.

Along with this kind of problems, a study conducted by the Cornell University School of Medicine, located in New York, highlights that the abuse of Salt It alters the development of the brain in a negative way. A wake-up call to parents to watch their children's menus and ensure proper growth in this regard.


Cell alteration

The study followed closely from a group of rats who were given a diet that contained between 8 and 16 times more salt than usual levels. An amount that would be equivalent to 20-30 grams in the case of humans, which is fivefold the measure recommended by cardiologists but can be easily achieved if you are not careful with the kitchen.

After months of this diet, blood vessels of the rodents showed weakening. That meant that the brain watering of these animals was affected and therefore the oxygenation of this organ was reduced, which involved a cellular alteration in the neurons and a poor development of the brain. In the case of children, in the long run it would be a lesser activity at the intellectual level.


Of course, the alteration of the blood vessels was also related to heart problems and a high possibility of heart attack. The experts indicated that if this diet is maintained for a prolonged period of time, the risk of dementia increases in the future. Therefore, parents are reminded of the need to monitor the meals that prepare their children.

Dangers of excess salt

Along with the results of this study, many others have shown the danger of salt abuse. In fact, the Plan Take Care More highlights the risks that this excess implies for the human being:

- It hinders the function of the kidneys. The filtering function in the kidneys is impaired by excess salt, potentiating high blood pressure in a vicious circle. In addition, the abuse of this ingredient is an important factor that predisposes the formation of kidney stones.


- Decrease the amount of calcium. Salt intake is the most important factor for the elimination of sodium in urine, the more it is eliminated, the more calcium is expelled, which weakens bones and leads to osteoporosis.

- Fluid retention. The excess of salt increases the liquids that the body retains, worsening the functioning of the kidneys, heart and liver and also generates edema and swelling of the legs and ankles.

- It hinders the function of the respiratory system. Excess salt worsens asthma symptoms. In addition, it has been shown that a reduction in the intake of this ingredient causes the airways to decrease their resistance to the passage of air and that the reduction in the use of medicines for this disease is also allowed.

Damián Montero

Video: How the food you eat affects your brain - Mia Nacamulli


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Überschüssiges Salz in der Ernährung verändert die Entwicklung des Gehirns negativ

Zu sehen, was Sie essen, ist ein sehr wichtiges Thema für jedes Zuhause. Die Beachtung der verzehrten Produkte und der verwendeten Mengen kann den Unterschied zwischen guter Gesundheit oder dem Auftreten von Problemen ausmachen. Ein Beispiel ist das Salz, eine Zutat, die in zahlreichen Gerichten verwendet wird, deren Missbrauch jedoch zu zahlreichen Herzproblemen führen kann.

Zusammen mit dieser Art von Probleme, eine Studie der Cornell University School of Medicine mit Sitz in New York, unterstreicht, dass der Missbrauch von Salz Sie verändert die Entwicklung des Gehirns negativ. Ein Weckruf an die Eltern, um die Menüs ihrer Kinder zu beobachten und diesbezüglich ein angemessenes Wachstum sicherzustellen.


Zellveränderung

Die Studie folgte eng aus einer Gruppe von Ratten denen eine Diät gegeben wurde, die zwischen 8 und 16 Mal mehr Salz enthielt als übliche Mengen. Eine Menge, die im Fall von Menschen 20 bis 30 Gramm entspricht. Dies ist das Fünffache der von den Kardiologen empfohlenen Maßnahme, kann jedoch leicht erreicht werden, wenn Sie mit der Küche nicht vorsichtig sind.

Nach Monaten dieser Diät, Blutgefäße der Nagetiere zeigten eine Abschwächung. Das bedeutete, dass die Hirnbewässerung dieser Tiere beeinträchtigt wurde und daher die Sauerstoffzufuhr dieses Organs reduziert wurde, was zu einer Zellveränderung der Neuronen und einer schlechten Entwicklung des Gehirns führte. Bei Kindern wäre dies auf lange Sicht eine geringere Aktivität auf intellektueller Ebene.


Natürlich war die Veränderung der Blutgefäße auch mit Herzproblemen und einer hohen Wahrscheinlichkeit verbunden Herzinfarkt. Die Experten wiesen darauf hin, dass bei einer Aufrechterhaltung dieser Diät über einen längeren Zeitraum das Demenzrisiko in der Zukunft steigt. Daher werden die Eltern daran erinnert, dass die Mahlzeiten überwacht werden müssen, die ihre Kinder vorbereiten.

Gefahren von überschüssigem Salz

Zusammen mit den Ergebnissen dieser Studie haben viele andere die Gefahr von Salzmissbrauch gezeigt. In der Tat die Planen Sie mehr Sorge hebt die Risiken hervor, die dieser Überschuss für den Menschen bedeutet:

- Es behindert die Funktion der Nieren. Die Filterfunktion in den Nieren wird durch zu viel Salz beeinträchtigt, wodurch Bluthochdruck im Teufelskreis potenziert wird. Darüber hinaus ist der Missbrauch dieser Zutat ein wichtiger Faktor, der die Bildung von Nierensteinen prädisponiert.


- Reduzieren Sie die Calciummenge. Die Salzaufnahme ist der wichtigste Faktor für die Beseitigung von Natrium im Urin. Je mehr Kalzium ausgeschieden wird, desto mehr Kalzium wird ausgeschieden, was die Knochen schwächt und zu Osteoporose führt.

- Zurückhalten von Flüssigkeiten. Der Salzüberschuss erhöht die vom Körper zurückgehaltenen Flüssigkeiten, verschlechtert die Funktion der Nieren, des Herzens und der Leber und verursacht auch Ödeme und Schwellungen der Beine und Knöchel.

- Es behindert die Funktion der Atemwege. Überschüssiges Salz verschlimmert die Symptome von Asthma. Darüber hinaus hat sich gezeigt, dass eine Verringerung der Aufnahme dieses Inhaltsstoffs dazu führt, dass die Atemwege ihren Widerstand gegen den Luftdurchtritt verringern, und dass auch die Verwendung von Medikamenten für diese Krankheit reduziert wird.

Damián Montero

Video: 2. Genaue Betrachtung unserer Nahrung


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...