The lies of children by ages

Most parents want to think well of their children, and sometimes it is difficult to know what to do when we catch our son lying. Children and adolescents lie for many different reasons, depending on the stage they are in.

To the parents, to know how they have to respond to a lie, it can be useful to know how the type of lie and the underlying motive is changing according to the stage of development in which the child or adolescent is. And is that the lies of children are different by age, ie, they vary according to their period of development. So parents can know what they should do when they catch their children in a lie.

How is the concept of lying changing throughout development

As the child's brain develops, it acquires different abilities to think and reason. The ability of a child to understand the consequences of a lie or to manipulate and control the situation through lying is linked to the stage of development in which his brain is located.


Of course, having the ability to fabricate lies and lie are two very different things. However, it is important that parents are aware of what a child's mind is capable of doing before deciding, if they discover that their child has lied, what consequences that lie should have. Also, this information also helps parents know how much they have to ask by asking questions if they suspect that their child is telling lies or being untruthful.

The different phases of child development and cognitive functioning

- Babies and small children (0-3 years). It is very rare that the child lies, if only because he is still learning to communicate. If you lack the truth, it is normal that it is because you have not understood the meaning of a word or the way we have used the language.


- Young children (3-5 years). At this age children still do not have the ability to lie for the purpose of cheating. Instead, in this phase children are developing magical thinking, which is one of the ways they have to interpret what they are living based on how they perceive the world around them or how they would like it to be.

- Children (5-9 years). Some children already begin to lie at these ages. The brain of these children has not yet developed abstract thinking and, for this reason, children reason using the information they capture through the senses. When a primary school child misses the truth, it is normal for him to alter the facts related to a given episode or to include a wish as part of the lie.

- Preadolescents (9-12 years). Preteens have the ability to fabricate lies, thanks to their brain beginning to develop the skills necessary for abstract reasoning. They elaborate their reasoning by mixing information that they have captured through the senses with a certain capacity to predict the results. When they lack the truth, these preadolescents usually focus on modifying or inventing facts to achieve a certain result or to achieve something they want.


- Adolescents - early stage (13-15 years). Most of these adolescents have already developed abstract thinking, and their brain is able to manipulate various hypothetical situations and predict how each will evolve. In addition, they are capable of elaborating complex falsehoods that are based on facts, but that later embellish or alter until they create the message they wish to convey.

- Adolescents - late stage (16-19 + years). These adolescents already master abstract thinking. Your brain is perfectly capable of evaluating information, drawing conclusions and predicting future events reliably. This capacity allows them to estimate irrigation. These adolescents have the ability to fabricate complex lies that are later credible and with which they can deceive or hide objective realities.

Deanna Marie Mason, expert in education and family health. Author of the blog Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. An educational approach to adaptation

It may interest you:

- 10 tips against the lies of children

- Childhood lies: what to do if you catch them in a lie?

- The lie, why do children lie?

- Sincerity, educating in values

- Teens, face the truth or resort to lying

Video: KID BUU EXPOSED! CHILD ABUSER/LYING ABOUT AGE!


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Die Lügen der Kinder nach Alter

Die meisten Eltern möchten gut über ihre Kinder nachdenken, und manchmal ist es schwierig zu wissen, was zu tun ist, wenn wir unseren Sohn lügen. Kinder und Jugendliche lügen aus verschiedenen Gründen, abhängig von der jeweiligen Bühne.

Um zu wissen, wie sie auf eine Lüge reagieren müssen, kann es für die Eltern nützlich sein, zu wissen, wie sich die Art der Lüge und das zugrunde liegende Motiv in Abhängigkeit von der Entwicklungsstufe des Kindes oder Jugendlichen ändern. Und ist, dass sich die Lügen der Kinder nach Alter unterscheiden, dh sie variieren je nach Entwicklungszeit. So können Eltern wissen, was sie tun sollen, wenn sie ihre Kinder in einer Lüge erwischen.

Wie verändert sich das Konzept des Lügens während der Entwicklung?

Wenn sich das Gehirn des Kindes entwickelt, erlangt es unterschiedliche Denk- und Verstandesfähigkeiten. Die Fähigkeit eines Kindes, die Folgen einer Lüge zu verstehen oder die Situation durch Lügen zu manipulieren und zu steuern, hängt mit dem Entwicklungsstadium zusammen, in dem sich sein Gehirn befindet.


Die Fähigkeit, Lügen und Lügen herzustellen, ist natürlich zwei sehr unterschiedliche Dinge. Es ist jedoch wichtig, dass die Eltern wissen, was ein Kind tun kann, bevor sie entscheiden, ob das Kind gelogen hat und welche Konsequenzen diese Lüge haben sollte. Diese Informationen helfen Eltern auch dabei, zu wissen, wie viel sie fragen müssen, indem sie Fragen stellen, wenn sie vermuten, dass ihr Kind Lügen erzählt oder Unwahrheit ist.

Die verschiedenen Phasen der kindlichen Entwicklung und kognitiven Funktionen

- Babys und Kleinkinder (0-3 Jahre). Es ist sehr selten, dass das Kind lügt, schon weil es immer noch lernt zu kommunizieren. Wenn Ihnen die Wahrheit fehlt, ist es normal, dass Sie die Bedeutung eines Wortes oder die Art, wie wir die Sprache verwendet haben, nicht verstanden haben.


- Kleinkinder (3-5 Jahre). In diesem Alter haben Kinder immer noch nicht die Möglichkeit, zu betrügen. Stattdessen entwickeln Kinder in dieser Phase ein magisches Denken. Dies ist eine der Methoden, um zu interpretieren, was sie leben, basierend darauf, wie sie die Welt um sich herum wahrnehmen oder wie sie es gerne hätten.

- Kinder (5-9 Jahre). Einige Kinder beginnen bereits in diesem Alter zu lügen. Das Gehirn dieser Kinder hat noch kein abstraktes Denken entwickelt, weshalb Kinder die Informationen nutzen, die sie mit den Sinnen erfassen. Wenn ein Grundschulkind die Wahrheit vermisst, ist es normal, dass es die Fakten zu einer bestimmten Episode ändert oder einen Wunsch in die Lüge einbezieht.

- Preadolescents (9-12 Jahre). Jugendliche haben die Fähigkeit, Lügen zu fabrizieren, da ihr Gehirn anfängt, die Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln, die für abstraktes Denken notwendig sind. Sie erarbeiten ihre Argumentation, indem sie Informationen, die sie durch die Sinne erfasst haben, mit einer bestimmten Fähigkeit vermischen, die Ergebnisse vorherzusagen. Wenn ihnen die Wahrheit fehlt, konzentrieren sich diese Preadolescents normalerweise darauf, Fakten zu modifizieren oder zu erfinden, um ein bestimmtes Ergebnis zu erzielen oder um das zu erreichen, was sie wollen.


- Jugendliche - frühes Stadium (13-15 Jahre). Die meisten dieser Jugendlichen haben bereits abstraktes Denken entwickelt, und ihr Gehirn ist in der Lage, verschiedene hypothetische Situationen zu manipulieren und vorherzusagen, wie sich die einzelnen entwickeln werden. Darüber hinaus sind sie in der Lage, komplexe Unwahrheiten zu erarbeiten, die auf Fakten beruhen, die sich jedoch später verschönern oder verändern, bis sie die Botschaft erzeugen, die sie vermitteln möchten.

- Jugendliche - spätes Stadium (16-19 Jahre). Diese Jugendlichen beherrschen bereits das abstrakte Denken. Ihr Gehirn ist in der Lage, Informationen auszuwerten, Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen und zukünftige Ereignisse zuverlässig vorherzusagen. Diese Kapazität ermöglicht es ihnen, die Bewässerung abzuschätzen. Diese Jugendlichen haben die Fähigkeit, komplexe Lügen herzustellen, die später glaubwürdig sind und mit denen sie objektive Realitäten täuschen oder verbergen können.

Deanna Marie Mason, Experte für Bildung und Familiengesundheit. Autor des Blogs Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. Ein pädagogischer Ansatz zur Anpassung

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- 10 Tipps gegen die Lüge von Kindern

- Kindheitslügen: Was tun, wenn man sie in einer Lüge erwischt?

- Die Lüge, warum lügen Kinder?

- Aufrichtigkeit, Werte erziehen

- Teenager, stellen Sie sich der Wahrheit oder lügen Sie zurück

Video: 9 bewährte Methoden, damit dein Kind nicht mehr lügt


Interessante Artikel