Mediation: this applies to bullying

The concern and social alarm that bullying provokes, as well as the fact of the increase and proliferation of plans of prevention and intervention in this problem, has turned and is unfortunately becoming an authentic social scourge.

Among the possible methods to solve bullying or bullying, highlights the use of mediation to address bullying. But what is the meaning of mediation and in what contexts is this method of prevention, management and conflict resolution for bullying applicable?

We start from the fact that not every conflict is mediable. This is so because each conflict has its own history and nature, an origin that explains the birth of it, and, above all, the factors that triggered it; in the same way, that each conflict has its intrahistory, also its solution and, therefore, the existence of different applicable methods.


The professionals of these methodologies speak of escalating the conflict, and according to their own characteristics and degree of intensity, various techniques will be used, such as facilitation, mediation, conciliation, negotiation, arbitration and judgment.

Bullying: is it possible to mediate between the parties?

The application of mediation is based on the fact that the parties to the conflict reach an agreement on their own, in such a way that it satisfies both, that is, under the win - win principle, a process that is subtly conducted by a professional. is the mediator, but leaving, always and in any case, the protagonism to the parties, since they are the ones who know best their problem and, therefore, also their solution.


Thus, the parties to the conflict are on an equal footing, a prerequisite for a mediation process to be carried out, and without implicit violence or use of it in any of its forms, since it is difficult to an agreement can be reached in these conditions, which would go against the very essence of the process, that is, equality and respect between the parties; on the other hand, Mediation makes sense when the parties want to maintain the relationship or contact between them, otherwise, it does not make sense to use this method.

Mediation and its drawbacks in bullying

However, the intrinsic characteristics of bullying or bullying, the application of the technique of mediation is discouraged.

First of all, bullying is behavior based on the harassment, physical or psychological abuse and constant intimidation that it is directed to the victim, repeatedly and lastingly over time, whose effects can be harmful to the health of the child being harassed, ending up in suicide.


These serious effects are increased with the use of internet and social networks, since the number of spectators is increased, the damage caused is greater and the harassment is accentuated, being present at any time and 24 hours a day.

Therefore, in these circumstances, obviously there is no equality situation, but of deep imbalance and predominance of one of the minors over the other, that is, aggressor against victim; On the other hand, employment of violence, in any of its forms, is a main element in harassment behaviors, so we would not be faced with a typical case of conflict, because it is not; but clearly a form of victimization and recurrent use of violence to achieve specific ends.

Now, the school mediation or peer mediation programs they are a common strategy used in many educational centers in Spain, showing themselves to be highly effective so that young people acquire skills for the resolution of their conflicts and the improvement of coexistence in school, but in any case for minor, daily and low intensity conflicts .

However, these methods of conflict resolution are very valid and advisable from a preventive approach, since students trained and trained in their own skills and characteristics of mediation acquire tools to solve their conflicts peacefully.

In this way, in the event of possible cases of bullying, these "student mediators" they will be better able to detect these behaviors, possessing more resources to denounce and deal with these situations, not giving rise to the appearance of the so-called observers, bystanders or passive witnesses of the harassment; and what is even more important, in those centers where the culture of mediation is installed, favors and favors the principles of equality, respect, coexistence and good treatment among the students of the center, which will drastically reduce the rates of school harassment.

Ricardo Lombardero Calzón. Lawyer, Mediator and Coach.Cofounder of Lomber Soluciones Cyberbullying

Video: How To Mediate With a Bully


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Mediation: Dies gilt für Mobbing

Die Besorgnis und die soziale Besorgnis, die das Mobbing auslöst, sowie die Tatsache, dass Präventions- und Interventionspläne gegen dieses Problem zunehmen und vermehrt werden, haben sich gewandelt und werden leider zu einer echten sozialen Plage.

Unter den möglichen Methoden zur Lösung von Mobbing oder Mobbing wird der Einsatz von Mediation zur Bekämpfung von Mobbing hervorgehoben. Aber was ist das Bedeutung von Mediation und in welchen Kontexten ist diese Methode der Prävention, Bewältigung und Konfliktlösung für Mobbing anwendbar?

Wir gehen davon aus, dass nicht jeder Konflikt lösbar ist. Dies ist so, weil jeder Konflikt seine eigene Geschichte und Natur hat, ein Ursprung, der die Entstehung des Konflikts erklärt und vor allem die Faktoren, die ihn ausgelöst haben. in gleicher Weise hat jeder Konflikt seine Geschichte, auch seine Lösung und damit das Vorhandensein verschiedener anwendbarer Methoden.


Die Fachleute dieser Methoden sprechen von einer Eskalation des Konflikts, und je nach ihren eigenen Merkmalen und ihrem Intensitätsgrad werden verschiedene Techniken verwendet, wie Erleichterung, Vermittlung, Schlichtung, Verhandlung, Schiedsverfahren und Urteil.

Mobbing: Kann man zwischen den Parteien vermitteln?

Die Anwendung der Mediation beruht auf der Tatsache, dass die Konfliktparteien sich selbst so einigen, dass beide befriedigt werden, d. H. Nach dem Win-Win-Prinzip ein Prozess, der von einem Fachmann subtil durchgeführt wird. ist der Vermittler, aber immer und in jedem Fall den Protagonismus den Parteien überlassen, da sie diejenigen sind, die ihr Problem und damit auch ihre Lösung am besten kennen.


Somit sind die Konfliktparteien gleichberechtigt, eine Voraussetzung für die Durchführung eines Mediationsprozesses und ohne implizite Gewalt oder deren Verwendung in einer ihrer Formen, da dies schwierig ist Unter diesen Bedingungen kann eine Einigung erzielt werden, die dem eigentlichen Kern des Prozesses, dh Gleichheit und Respekt zwischen den Parteien, zuwiderlaufen würde. auf der anderen Seite Mediation ist sinnvoll, wenn die Parteien die Beziehung oder den Kontakt zwischen ihnen aufrechterhalten möchten. Ansonsten ist es nicht sinnvoll, diese Methode zu verwenden.

Mediation und ihre Nachteile beim Mobbing

Die intrinsischen Eigenschaften von Mobbing oder Mobbing Von der Anwendung der Mediationstechnik wird abgeraten.

Zuallererst ist Mobbing ein Verhalten, das auf Belästigung, körperlicher oder psychischer Missbrauch und ständige Einschüchterung dass es sich wiederholt und nachhaltig an das Opfer richtet, dessen Auswirkungen die Gesundheit des Kindes, das belästigt wird, schädigen und zum Selbstmord führen kann.


Diese gravierenden Auswirkungen nehmen mit der Nutzung von Internet und sozialen Netzwerken zu, da die Anzahl der Zuschauer erhöht wird, der Schaden größer ist und die Belästigung verstärkt wird, die jederzeit und rund um die Uhr verfügbar ist.

Daher unter diesen Umständen offensichtlich Es gibt keine Gleichstellungssituation, aber von tiefem Ungleichgewicht und Vorherrschaft eines der Minderjährigen gegenüber dem anderen, das heißt einem Angreifer gegen das Opfer; Auf der anderen Seite GewaltanwendungIn jeder Form ist dies ein Hauptelement in Verhaltensweisen der Belästigung, so dass wir nicht mit einem typischen Konfliktfall konfrontiert werden würden, da dies nicht der Fall ist. aber eindeutig eine Form der Viktimisierung und des wiederholten Einsatzes von Gewalt, um bestimmte Ziele zu erreichen.

Nun die Schulmediation oder Peer-Mediation-Programme Es handelt sich dabei um eine gemeinsame Strategie, die in vielen Bildungszentren in Spanien angewandt wird. Sie zeigt, dass sie äußerst effektiv ist, so dass junge Menschen Fähigkeiten zur Lösung ihrer Konflikte und zur Verbesserung des Zusammenlebens in der Schule erwerben können, in jedem Fall jedoch für geringfügige, tägliche und schwache Konflikte .

Diese Methoden der Konfliktlösung sind jedoch aus einem vorbeugenden Ansatz sehr gültig und ratsam, da Schüler, die in ihren eigenen Fähigkeiten und Merkmalen der Mediation geschult und ausgebildet sind, Werkzeuge zur friedlichen Lösung ihrer Konflikte erwerben.

Auf diese Weise können diese im Fall von Mobbing diese "studentische Vermittler" Sie können diese Verhaltensweisen besser erkennen und verfügen über mehr Ressourcen, um diese Situationen anzuprangern und mit ihnen umzugehen, ohne dass sogenannte Beobachter, Zuschauer oder passive Zeugen der Belästigung auftreten. Noch wichtiger ist jedoch, dass in den Zentren, in denen die Kultur der Mediation eingerichtet ist, die Grundsätze der Gleichheit, des Respekts, des Zusammenlebens und der guten Behandlung unter den Schülern des Zentrums bevorzugt und gefördert werden, wodurch die Belästigungsraten in der Schule drastisch reduziert werden.

Ricardo Lombardero Calzón. Rechtsanwalt, Mediator und Coach.Mitbegründer von Lomber Soluciones Cybermobbing

Video: Was ist eine Rechtsschutzversicherung?


Interessante Artikel

10 Kindersicherheitstipps in Schwimmbädern

10 Kindersicherheitstipps in Schwimmbädern

Sommerferien sind keine Ferien, wenn es keinen Pool oder Strand gibt, in denen man baden kann Risikofaktorbesonders für Kinder. Kinder unter 5 Jahren sind in Schwimmbädern am stärksten einem...

10 Reinigungstipps für ein leuchtendes Haus

10 Reinigungstipps für ein leuchtendes Haus

Der Frühling ist da und das bedeutet nur eines: Es ist Zeit, die Fenster zu öffnen, auszugehen und auf die Teile des Hauses zu achten, die im Winter am meisten leiden. Normalerweise die Teppiche, die...