Reading out loud improves memory

The books are paper friends who help in many ways. Through its pages, they allow people to immerse themselves in exciting readings that make the imagination fly without limits. Furthermore, reading can be used to improve memory at the same time, provided that this activity is done out loud as recommended by a study of the University of Waterloo, in Ontario.

An investigation that highlights the benefits that memory represents read aloud. The data of this work show that reciting the words that are going through the eyes helps to retain better the information of these pages. A revelation that can mean a better study technique for students who face difficult subjects.


Greater involvement

To determine the effects of reading aloud in memory, the researchers recruited a group of 95 people to submit them to a test in which they had to memorize different information after confronting it in different ways: silent reading; listening to another person read it; listening to a recording of themselves reading it, and reading it out loud.

Of all these, reading aloud proved to be the most effective formula to remember the information that was shown to the participants. According Colin MacLeod, co-author of this research, this is because there is a greater involvement of the person who pays greater attention to retain the data that is exposed.


"When we add a active measure or a productive element to a word, that word becomes more perceptible in the long-term memory, and therefore easier to remember, "says MacLeod, who bets on these actions for example when studying difficult exams such as entrance exams to college.

Other benefits of reading

Whether in a loud voice or in silence, reading has many benefits for children, this being a totally recommended:

- Exercise the brain. Reading is an intellectual activity that means starting the mind, confronting a book means exercising the brain.

- Improves concentration. Reading involves paying attention to the pages of a book, something that translates into an improvement in the ability of concentration to have to focus on books.


- Learning Reading is learning, there are many curiosities waiting in the pages of the books.

- They promote the imagination. The books offer a description, the children have to form the image of the characters and scenarios in their mind. Something that undoubtedly encourages your imagination.

- Expansion of vocabulary. Reading confronts the child with different words, some you can know, but without doubt many others will facilitate the learning of new terms.

Damián Montero

Video: Reading aloud boosts memory


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Lautes Lesen verbessert das Gedächtnis

Die Bücher sind Freunde aus Papier, die in vielerlei Hinsicht helfen. Sie erlauben den Menschen durch ihre Seiten, in aufregende Dinge einzutauchen Lesungen Das lässt die Fantasie ohne Grenzen fliegen. Darüber hinaus kann das Lesen gleichzeitig zur Verbesserung des Gedächtnisses verwendet werden, vorausgesetzt, diese Aktivität wird laut Empfehlungen der Studie laut ausgeführt Universität von Waterlooin Ontario.

Eine Untersuchung, die die Vorteile des Gedächtnisses aufzeigt lesen laut raus Die Daten dieser Arbeit zeigen, dass das Rezitieren der Worte, die durch die Augen gehen, dazu beiträgt, die Informationen auf diesen Seiten besser zu erhalten. Eine Offenbarung, die eine bessere Lernmethode für Studierende mit schwierigen Themen bedeuten kann.


Größere Beteiligung

Um die Auswirkungen des Vorlesens im Gedächtnis festzustellen, rekrutierten die Forscher eine Gruppe von 95 Menschen um sie einer Prüfung zu unterziehen, in der sie verschiedene Informationen auswendig lernen mussten, nachdem sie auf unterschiedliche Weise angegangen wurden: stummes Lesen; einem anderen Menschen zuhören, lesen Sie ihn; eine Aufnahme von sich selbst hören und lesen und laut vorlesen.

Von all diesen erwies sich das Vorlesen als die effektivste Formel, um sich an die Informationen zu erinnern, die den Teilnehmern gezeigt wurden. Nach Colin MacLeod, Mitautor dieser Studie, liegt dies daran, dass die Person, die mehr Aufmerksamkeit auf die Aufbewahrung der Daten legt, stärker involviert ist.


"Wenn wir eine hinzufügen aktive Maßnahme oder ein produktives Element eines Wortes, wird dieses Wort im Langzeitgedächtnis wahrnehmbarer und daher leichter zu merken ", sagt MacLeod, der auf diese Aktionen zum Beispiel bei schwierigen Prüfungen wie z Hochschulreifeprüfungen.

Andere Vorteile des Lesens

Ob mit lauter Stimme oder in der Stille: Lesen hat für Kinder viele Vorteile empfohlen:

- Trainiere das Gehirn. Lesen ist eine intellektuelle Aktivität, bei der man den Verstand beginnen muss. Ein Buch zu konfrontieren bedeutet, das Gehirn zu trainieren.

- Verbessert die Konzentration. Beim Lesen wird auf die Seiten eines Buches geachtet, was sich in einer Verbesserung der Konzentrationsfähigkeit, sich auf Bücher konzentrieren zu müssen, auswirkt.


- Lernen Lesen ist lernen, es gibt viele Kuriositäten, die auf den Seiten der Bücher warten.

- Sie fördern die Vorstellungskraft. Die Bücher bieten eine Beschreibung, die Kinder müssen das Bild der Charaktere und Szenarien in ihrem Kopf bilden. Etwas, das zweifellos Ihre Fantasie anregt.

- Erweiterung des Wortschatzes. Beim Lesen wird das Kind mit verschiedenen Wörtern konfrontiert, manche können Sie kennen, aber zweifellos erleichtern viele andere das Erlernen neuer Begriffe.

Damián Montero

Video: Schneller Lesen in wenigen Minuten mit dieser einfachen Übung


Interessante Artikel

68% sind bessere Fahrer, wenn sie mit Kindern reisen

68% sind bessere Fahrer, wenn sie mit Kindern reisen

Bist du ein verantwortlicher Vater oder eine Mutter am Steuer? Die Vaterschaft erhöht unser Verantwortungsbewusstsein und macht uns in vielen Fällen sogar vorsichtiger, auch wenn wir mit unseren...

Woche 6. Woche für Woche

Woche 6. Woche für Woche

Sie sind seit anderthalb Monaten schwanger. In der sechsten Schwangerschaftswoche nehmen die Veränderungen in Ihrem Körper weiter zu und Sie werden sie nach und nach stärker wahrnehmen. Sie befinden...