The extension of paternity leave does not take effect in January

From the January 1, 2017 Every man in Spain can apply for paternity leave of 4 weeks to take care of your baby. A leave of absence thanks to which he can enjoy his children and be able to be by his side during his first days of life and also conjugate with the mother so that the child spends more time with his parents in these moments in which he is so dependent.

A year later it was expected that this paternity leave would be extended to 5 weeks, giving a new year's gift to all the families that in this 2018 brought a baby to the world. However, it seems that it will play to wait to see how this course develops and if in the next months such prolongation becomes effective.


Absence in the Council of Ministers

The absence of this extension is assumed after the Minister council Do not include it in your last meeting of 2017. Several measures were approved at this meeting but among them the extension was not to 5 weeks. It is time to wait to see how 2018 develops in this sense since it is not certain that this measure will finally be effective.

Everything will depend on whether finally the 2018 General Budgets they end up approving themselves and if in one of their chapters the 5-week extension of paternity leave is valued. Another possible scenario is to extend the 2017, decision to be taken would mean that this extension would not be made in this course and would have to wait another year.


Since the implantation of paternity leave in January of 2017 until June of the same year, a total of 122,183 parents took advantage of this leave to dedicate themselves to the care of their children. In the case of women were 134,726 mothers who did the same to stay at home with their children after the birth of them. Some numbers that in six months have been compared very much.

A difference of little more than 12,500 cases and that show that despite the initial fears of many parents, they have finally decided to bet on the involvement in the upbringing of their children. Many men were reluctant to request this leave as it could involve certain problems on the part of their bosses when requesting to leave their post during these four weeks.

Attention to large families

The extension of paternity leave is not the only issue that the Government has in this regard. The Spanish Federation of Large Families, FEFN, has asked the Executive to reconsider the merit that these homes deserve. For this body with the previous policy of extended leave extended from 13 to 20 days by which a man could spend with his son at home once he was born if he belonged to a large family.


However, with the entry of this change, the 28 days they become the same for all men, regardless of whether they belong to a household with more children or if it is the first. For this reason FEFN has raised a petition to the Minister of Employment and Social Security, Fatima Bañez to reconsider on the matter and grant more time at home to parents belonging to these types of homes.

"Given the needs of a large family and in the spirit of favoring co-responsibility in the home, equality, support for the birthrate and similarly, support families with children, families with greater family responsibilities should have special treatment, greater in terms of the number of days of paternity leave, "they say. from FEFN in its petition to the Government.

Damián Montero

Video: More Maternity Leave


Interesting Articles

How to learn to watch movies, in 5 steps

How to learn to watch movies, in 5 steps

In a certain sense, it is not a cliché that "an image is worth a thousand words". And the cinema is the realm of the image. The minimum effort is required of the recipient: he only has to see and...

Half of Spanish children, suspended in brushing teeth

Half of Spanish children, suspended in brushing teeth

Any parent will sound that "daily battle" to get their children sbrush your teethand do it well. The truth is that difficulties are common for children to acquire a proper oral hygiene, and many...

Autumn fruits: a spring for the palate

Autumn fruits: a spring for the palate

The arrival of autumn is a great opportunity to put into practice an excellent habit: to incorporate into our diet the fruits that nature offers us. Not infrequently I have referred to the fact that...

The enormous benefits of reading

The enormous benefits of reading

"No, mom, do not send me to read, let me watch TV, please." It is very likely that many parents have heard similar phrases. Did they give? These lines are directed to those who did it.Also to those...

Die Verlängerung des Vaterschaftsurlaubs tritt im Januar nicht in Kraft

Aus dem 1. Januar 2017 Jeder Mann in Spanien kann einen Vaterschaftsurlaub von 4 Wochen beantragen, um sich um Ihr Baby zu kümmern. Ein Urlaub, dank dem er seine Kinder genießen kann und in den ersten Lebenstagen an seiner Seite sein kann und auch mit der Mutter konjugiert, so dass das Kind in diesen Momenten, in denen es so abhängig ist, mehr Zeit mit seinen Eltern verbringt.

Ein Jahr später wurde erwartet, dass dieser Vaterschaftsurlaub auf verlängert wird 5 Wochen, ein Geschenk des neuen Jahres an alle Familien, die 2018 ein Baby zur Welt gebracht haben. Es scheint jedoch, dass es abwarten wird zu warten, wie sich dieser Kurs entwickelt und ob eine solche Verlängerung in den nächsten Monaten wirksam wird.


Abwesenheit im Ministerrat

Das Fehlen dieser Erweiterung wird nach dem angenommen Ministerrat Schließen Sie es nicht in Ihre letzte Sitzung von 2017 auf. Mehrere Maßnahmen wurden auf dieser Sitzung genehmigt, aber die Verlängerung dauerte nicht fünf Wochen. Es ist Zeit abzuwarten, wie sich 2018 in diesem Sinne entwickelt, da nicht sicher ist, dass diese Maßnahme letztendlich wirksam wird.

Alles wird davon abhängen, ob das endlich geht 2018 Allgemeine Haushalte Am Ende genehmigen sie sich und wenn in einem ihrer Kapitel die 5-wöchige Verlängerung des Vaterschaftsurlaubs bewertet wird. Ein weiteres mögliches Szenario ist eine Verlängerung des Jahres 2017, eine zu treffende Entscheidung würde bedeuten, dass diese Verlängerung in diesem Kurs nicht vorgenommen würde und ein weiteres Jahr warten müsste.


Seit der Einführung des Vaterschaftsurlaubs im Januar 2017 bis Juni desselben Jahres haben insgesamt 122.183 Eltern diesen Urlaub genutzt, um sich für die Betreuung ihrer Kinder einzusetzen. Bei Frauen waren es 134.726 Mütter, die dasselbe taten, um nach der Geburt bei ihren Kindern zu Hause zu bleiben. Einige Zahlen, die in sechs Monaten sehr gut verglichen wurden.

Ein Unterschied von etwas mehr als 12.500 Fälle und das zeigt, dass sie sich trotz der anfänglichen Befürchtungen vieler Eltern entschlossen haben, auf die Beteiligung an der Erziehung ihrer Kinder zu setzen. Viele Männer zögerten, diesen Urlaub zu beantragen, da ihre Chefs bestimmte Probleme mit sich bringen könnten, wenn sie während dieser vier Wochen ihren Posten verlangten.

Aufmerksamkeit für große Familien

Die Verlängerung des Vaterschaftsurlaubs ist nicht das einzige Problem, das die Regierung in dieser Hinsicht hat. Die Spanische Föderation großer Familien, FEFN, hat die Exekutive gebeten, die Verdienste zu überdenken, die diese Häuser verdienen. Denn dieses Gremium mit der bisherigen Politik des verlängerten Urlaubs verlängerte sich von 13 auf 20 Tage, um einen Mann, der nach seiner Geburt zu Hause war, zu Hause zu verbringen, wenn er einer großen Familie angehörte.


Mit der Eingabe dieser Änderung wird jedoch die 28 tage Sie werden für alle Männer gleich, unabhängig davon, ob sie zu einem Haushalt mit mehr Kindern gehören oder ob es der erste ist. Aus diesem Grund hat die FEFN eine Petition an die Ministerin für Beschäftigung und soziale Sicherheit, Fatima Bañez, gerichtet, um die Angelegenheit zu überdenken und den Eltern, die zu diesen Arten von Wohnungen gehören, mehr Zeit zu Hause zu gewähren.

"Angesichts der Bedürfnisse einer großen Familie und im Sinne der Begünstigung Mitverantwortung In der häuslichen Umgebung müssen Gleichberechtigung, Unterstützung der Geburtenrate und in ähnlicher Weise Familien mit Kindern unterstützt werden. Familien mit größerer familiärer Verantwortung sollten eine besondere Behandlung erhalten, die in Bezug auf die Anzahl der Tage des Vaterschaftsurlaubs größer ist. " von FEFN in ihrer Petition an die Regierung.

Damián Montero

Video: Elternzeit, Verlängerung


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...