WHO recognizes video game disorder as a mental illness

The video game they are a form of entertainment that has come to our society together with new technologies. Videogames and computers offer children the opportunity to immerse themselves in online adventures that sometimes end up leading to an abuse of these systems. In fact, there are few children, and also adults who develop pathologies derived from them.

In fact, from next year the World Health Organization, WHO, will consider the disorders caused by the video game as a real disease and will include it within the International Classification of Diseases of this organism. A recognition of the negative effects that these items have on children when they are abused.


Video game addiction: mental illness according to WHO

From the WHO they describe the upheaval of the videojuegos like the attitude that the children have when they make a recurrent and habitual use of these products. The minors They present a dependence on this form of entertainment and are unable to find other alternatives to have fun. These behaviors are derived from a misuse of these technologies as they claim from this organization.

The intention is, as it points Vladimir Poznyak, responsible for the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse of the WHO, in the magazine New Scientist, get professionals around the world to recognize that video games can have serious consequences for health. At the same time, it is important to distinguish between the normal use of these technologies, problematic use and addiction.


Poznyak points out that the normal user of video games does not present problem some in this sense. The member of the WHO emphasizes that it can begin to be spoken of disorder when the use of these technologies produces a significant deterioration in some of the areas of the minor or visual deficiencies by the constant exhibition to the screens or the incapacity to take off of the videoconsoles, expressing anger if this option is suggested.

Educate in the responsible use of videogames

As Poznyak explains, the average user of video games does not present any of these problems. It is in the wake of abuse of these technologies when these disorders appear, to avoid them nothing better than to educate in the responsible use:

1. Play with them. Playing with your child, as well as being a good excuse to spend time together, is a way to control the content of video games with which children spend their time.


2. Establish rules and limits. Instead of prohibiting the use of video games for children, it is necessary to define standards, explain the consequences of non-compliance and be consistent in their application. In this way, progressively the child will acquire self-control.

3. Use parental control. To avoid inappropriate contents, such as violent videogames, asking about the product to be purchased from store managers and looking at the references of the PEGI system is a good idea. Also, if the console allows it, you can restrict access to certain materials with the Parental Control.

4. Become familiar with new technologies. Video games can be an enjoyable way for parents and children to take on new technologies together, read a little about the news and try to be aware of many problems.

5. Outdoors above the screen. It is ironic that many children play sports on their screens instead of practicing them. Whenever possible, you should prioritize the enjoyment of leisure abroad rather than at home.

Damián Montero

Video: Video games as mental-health hazards


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Die WHO erkennt Videospielstörungen als psychische Erkrankung an

Die Videospiele Sie sind eine Form der Unterhaltung, die zusammen mit neuen Technologien in unsere Gesellschaft gelangt ist. Videospiele und Computer bieten Kindern die Möglichkeit, in Online-Abenteuer einzutauchen, die manchmal zu einem Missbrauch dieser Systeme führen. Tatsächlich gibt es wenige Kinder und auch Erwachsene, die aus ihnen abgeleitete Pathologien entwickeln.

In der Tat ab dem nächsten Jahr Weltgesundheitsorganisation, WHO, wird die durch die Videospiele als echte Krankheit und wird sie in die internationale Klassifikation der Krankheiten dieses Organismus aufnehmen. Ein Erkennen der negativen Auswirkungen, die diese Gegenstände auf Kinder haben, wenn sie missbraucht werden.


Videospielsucht: Geisteskrankheit nach WHO

Von der WHO beschreiben sie den Umbruch der Videospiele wie die Haltung der Kinder, wenn sie diese Produkte regelmäßig wiederverwenden. Die Minderjährige Sie sind abhängig von dieser Form der Unterhaltung und können keine anderen Alternativen finden, um Spaß zu haben. Diese Verhaltensweisen beruhen auf einem Missbrauch dieser Technologien, wie sie von dieser Organisation behauptet werden.

Die Absicht ist, wie es zeigt Vladimir Poznyak, verantwortlich für die Abteilung für psychische Gesundheit und Drogenmissbrauch der WHO, bringen Fachleute auf der ganzen Welt dazu, zu erkennen, dass Videospiele schwerwiegende Folgen für die Gesundheit haben können. Gleichzeitig ist es wichtig, zwischen dem normalen Einsatz dieser Technologien, dem problematischen Einsatz und der Abhängigkeit zu unterscheiden.


Poznyak weist darauf hin, dass der normale Benutzer von Videospielen nicht vorhanden ist Problem einige in diesem Sinne. Das WHO-Mitglied betont, dass von Unordnung gesprochen werden kann, wenn die Verwendung dieser Technologien in einigen Bereichen der geringfügigen oder visuellen Mängel durch die ständige Anzeige auf den Bildschirmen oder die Unfähigkeit, Videokonsolen abzunehmen, zu einer erheblichen Verschlechterung führt. Ärger ausdrücken, wenn diese Option vorgeschlagen wird.

Schulung zum verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit Videospielen

Wie Poznyak erklärt, stellt der durchschnittliche Benutzer von Videospielen keines dieser Probleme dar. Es ist kurz nach missbrauchen dieser Technologien, wenn diese Störungen auftreten, um nichts besser zu vermeiden, als den verantwortungsvollen Gebrauch zu erziehen:

1. Spiele mit ihnen. Mit Ihrem Kind zu spielen und eine gute Ausrede zu sein, um Zeit miteinander zu verbringen, ist eine Möglichkeit, den Inhalt von Videospielen zu kontrollieren, mit denen Kinder ihre Zeit verbringen.


2. Regeln und Grenzen festlegen. Anstatt die Verwendung von Videospielen für Kinder zu verbieten, ist es notwendig, Standards zu definieren, die Folgen der Nichteinhaltung zu erläutern und deren Anwendung konsistent zu sein. Auf diese Weise erlangt das Kind nach und nach Selbstbeherrschung.

3. Verwenden Sie die Kindersicherung. Um unangemessene Inhalte, wie z. B. gewalttätige Videospiele, zu vermeiden, ist es eine gute Idee, sich bei Filialleitern nach dem zu erwerbenden Produkt zu erkundigen und die Referenzen des PEGI-Systems zu betrachten. Wenn die Konsole dies zulässt, können Sie den Zugriff auf bestimmte Materialien mit der Kindersicherung einschränken.

4. Machen Sie sich mit neuen Technologien vertraut. Videospiele können Eltern und Kindern eine angenehme Möglichkeit bieten, gemeinsam neue Technologien anzuwenden, ein wenig über die Neuigkeiten zu lesen und sich über viele Probleme bewusst zu sein.

5. Im Freien über dem Bildschirm. Es ist ironisch, dass viele Kinder auf ihren Bildschirmen Sport treiben, anstatt sie zu üben. Wenn immer möglich, sollten Sie den Genuss von Freizeit im Ausland und nicht zu Hause priorisieren.

Damián Montero

Video: Die taz erkennt die Realität - und bekämpft sie | BLATTKRITIK


Interessante Artikel

Lerne, dich selbst zu motivieren

Lerne, dich selbst zu motivieren

Motivation ist die Energie, die uns bewegt, die uns dazu bringt, unsere Ziele zu erreichen. Die Motivation ist es, die uns dazu bewegt, bestimmte Aktionen auszuführen und sie für ihre Vollendung zu...

10 romantische Orte, um deinen Partner zu küssen

10 romantische Orte, um deinen Partner zu küssen

Der Kuss ist Ausdruck einer Liebe, deren Erfahrung freudig und angenehm ist. Im Gegensatz zum Küssen als Sozialformalität ist der Kuss der Liebe ein Ausdruck von Gefühlen, die Intimität erfordern....

Spiele mit Kostümen

Spiele mit Kostümen

Die Spiel mit Kostümen Es ist eine reichhaltige Lernquelle mit vielfältigen Vorteilen für die Entwicklung und das Wachstum von Kindern. Lernen zu sein ist die Philosophie des Spielens mit Kostümen,...