Supplementary feeding: 7 tips to introduce food

Although you can set some general guidelines for the feeding of babies, the field of nutrition has a lot of tradition. After all, not all the countries of the world have the same food availability and the consumption habits of one and the other are usually different.

There is a tendency to think that if a certain food is not included in a child's menu in time, it can develop an intolerance to that food in the long run. However, there is no clear relationship between the time of introducing a food and the risk of developing an allergy or intolerance.

The introduction of new foods in the baby's diet should be done in a well-ordered and better way individually to know if they feel good or allergic. As for the flavors, in order to get used to them easily, it is convenient to consider that the child's neurological development is stimulated during the window period that lasts a few months. During this period, the child changes his swallowing mechanism, so that he no longer just sucks but learns to chew and stays seated with his neck upright.


The recommended daily caloric intake for a baby is between 80 and 100 kilocalories per kilo of weight. Thus, as a general rule, a child weighing eight kilos should consume between 600 and 800 kilocalories a day.

Advice regarding complementary feeding

The introduction of the vegetable and fruit to the baby is a test of fire for both the baby and the parents. The most important thing in this stage is patience. Each child has their own times. It is essential not to force the baby, and encourage him to try and experiment with the food. This phase is an important stage in the growth and development of the baby and only success based on training is achieved.


In addition there are other guidelines that you must take into account:

1. Do not add salt. The food itself already provides the necessary salt.

2. Purees should not be stored from one day to the next. The vitamins in food are thermolabile, that is, they are altered and destroyed with changes in temperature. So, the best purees of the day.

3. Do not offer meat, fish or eggs on the same day since it would exceed the recommended amount of protein. Choose one every day.

4. Best raw fruit and ripe than cooked.

5. Avoid dark green leafy vegetables like spinach and chard until after the year of life. These vegetables contain excess nitrates that in large quantities can cause problems in the distribution of oxygen in the baby's body (technically called methemoglobinemia).


6. If the child repeatedly refuses a food, change to another of the same group after a few days. It is better to stop a few days and return to breastfeeding or artificial and start again after a few days, so that the baby does not associate the food with an unpleasant moment.

7. Let the child play with the spoon so you can become familiar with the new tools.

Dr. Paloma Nacher. Neonatologist Hospital La Milagrosa, Madrid

Video: Feeding Babies: Starting Solid Foods | Kaiser Permanente


Interesting Articles

Spending time outdoors improves the quality of sleep

Spending time outdoors improves the quality of sleep

Who does not like it sleep well. After a day of work and efforts, a well-deserved rest awaits in the bed to recharge the batteries. For this reason, seeking the quality of sleep becomes a very common...

40% of child happiness depends on parents

40% of child happiness depends on parents

The happiness, assure numerous scientific studies, is determined in a 50 percent by the genetics, in a 10 percent by the external circumstances or the context and in a 40 percent it depends on us, of...

Intermediate period, how to avoid health risks

Intermediate period, how to avoid health risks

The beginning of autumn is a stage somewhat strange to what temperatures it means. Sometimes the day asks to wear a short-sleeved shirt, and the next it is possible to go outside and find rain and...

Ergänzungsfütterung: 7 Tipps zum Einführen von Lebensmitteln

Obwohl Sie einige allgemeine Richtlinien für die Fütterung von Babys festlegen können, hat der Bereich der Ernährung eine lange Tradition. Schließlich haben nicht alle Länder der Welt die gleiche Verfügbarkeit von Nahrungsmitteln und die Konsumgewohnheiten der einen und der anderen sind normalerweise unterschiedlich.

Es besteht die Tendenz zu glauben, dass, wenn ein bestimmtes Nahrungsmittel nicht rechtzeitig in das Menü eines Kindes aufgenommen wird, dies langfristig zu einer Intoleranz gegenüber diesem Lebensmittel führen kann. Es besteht jedoch kein eindeutiger Zusammenhang zwischen dem Zeitpunkt der Einführung eines Lebensmittels und dem Risiko einer Allergie oder Intoleranz.

Die Einführung neuer Lebensmittel in die Ernährung Ihres Babys sollte auf geordnete und bessere Weise erfolgen, um zu wissen, ob sie sich gut fühlen oder allergisch sind. Um sich an die Geschmacksrichtungen zu gewöhnen, ist es zweckmäßig, zu berücksichtigen, dass die neurologische Entwicklung des Kindes während der einige Monate dauernden Fensterperiode stimuliert wird. Während dieser Zeit wechselt das Kind seinen Schluckmechanismus, so dass es nicht mehr saugt, sondern kauen lernt und mit aufrechtem Nacken sitzen bleibt.


Die empfohlene tägliche Kalorienaufnahme für ein Baby liegt zwischen 80 und 100 Kilokalorien pro Kilogramm Gewicht. Ein Kind mit einem Gewicht von acht Kilogramm sollte daher in der Regel zwischen 600 und 800 Kilokalorien pro Tag verbrauchen.

Ratschläge zur ergänzenden Fütterung

Die Einführung von Gemüse und Obst für das Baby ist sowohl für das Baby als auch für die Eltern eine Feuerprobe. Das Wichtigste in dieser Phase ist Geduld. Jedes Kind hat seine eigene Zeit. Es ist wichtig, das Baby nicht zu zwingen und es zu ermutigen, mit dem Essen zu experimentieren. Diese Phase ist eine wichtige Phase für das Wachstum und die Entwicklung des Babys. Nur durch Training wird Erfolg erzielt.


Darüber hinaus gibt es andere Richtlinien, die Sie berücksichtigen müssen:

1. Fügen Sie kein Salz hinzu. Das Essen selbst liefert bereits das nötige Salz.

2. Pürees sollten nicht von einem Tag auf den anderen gelagert werden. Die Vitamine in Lebensmitteln sind thermolabil, das heißt, sie werden bei Temperaturänderungen verändert und zerstört. Also die besten Pürees des Tages.

3. Bieten Sie am selben Tag kein Fleisch, Fisch oder Eier an da es die empfohlene Proteinmenge überschreiten würde. Wähle jeden Tag einen aus.

4. Beste rohe Früchte und reif als gekocht.

5. Vermeiden Sie dunkelgrünes Blattgemüse wie Spinat und Mangold bis nach dem Jahr des Lebens. Diese Gemüse enthalten überschüssige Nitrate, die in großen Mengen zu Problemen bei der Verteilung des Sauerstoffs im Körper des Babys führen können (technisch als Methämoglobinämie bezeichnet).


6. Wenn das Kind wiederholt ein Essen ablehnt, wechseln Sie nach einigen Tagen zu einer anderen Gruppe derselben Gruppe. Es ist besser, einige Tage anzuhalten und zum Stillen oder künstlichen Stillen zurückzukehren und nach einigen Tagen wieder von vorne zu beginnen, damit das Baby das Essen nicht mit einem unangenehmen Moment in Verbindung bringt.

7. Lassen Sie das Kind mit dem Löffel spielen So können Sie sich mit den neuen Tools vertraut machen.

Dr. Paloma Nacher. Neonatologe Krankenhaus La Milagrosa, Madrid

Video: Tipps - Unsere Fernbeziehung #vannytalkt


Interessante Artikel

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Koffer, Taschen, Toilettenartikel und Sport, alle bereit, noch einen Sommer in Urlaub zu fahren, und viele werden es im Familienauto tun. Wir haben sehr darauf geachtet, nichts Notwendiges zu...