A little brother comes: how to adapt the change in the firstborn

Although jealousy can be highlighted after the birth of the baby, it can also appear at times when it reaches important milestones in its development, which makes its competence more evident. They usually disappear at the time, when the child proves that sharing the love of their parents does not mean their end.

If the information he handles is scarce, he can misinterpret reality. For example, "mom and dad prefer the baby because it is smaller", so "if I return to behave as before, everything will revolve around me and I will be your favorite again". This erroneous reasoning can lead to negative emotional and behavioral reactions, even regressive ones.

Although he may be conscious or unconscious, usually the dethroned prince seeks to regain the center of attention. They can arise both before and after pregnancy. Although this alteration is mainly confined to the family context, it can also be generalized to others such as the school.


Ideas for the adaptation of the firstborn before the arrival of a little brother

To avoid these experiences, it is convenient to keep the firstborn informed of the different changes, especially in the following moments:

- During pregnancy
The choice of time to inform you of the news is personal, being advisable that you have time to get used to the idea. Explain where the babies come from or do activities with him (such as letting him stroke Mommy's belly, thinking of names for the baby, interacting with other babies, helping with preparations, reading stories about the new role, seeing pictures of when he was it was small) can make it easier to understand. It is important that you know all the consequences of having a brother: you will be able to share experiences, later - never immediately - you will be able to play with him, you will be able to sleep accompanied.


- The day of childbirth
Before your arrival, it is important to tell you who is going to take care of you while you are in the hospital. It is advisable to plan your (intimate) visit to the newborn in the hospital, a fact that will reinforce the family union and its own space in said structure. It is preferable that the mother no longer carries ways in her arms, so that they do not impress her. During the days before and after the birth, it is convenient to maintain your daily routine, as well as to respect your spaces and belongings.

- When you get home
Your understanding of the baby's basic needs will help you adjust your expectations about your arrival, as well as understanding that you need different care. Involving him in the care of the baby (such as learning songs to sleep him, helping to bathe him or entertain him) will not only prevent him from developing feelings of exclusion or resentment against him, but will favor a positive interaction between the two. The times when the baby is calm or sleeping can be an ideal time to spend time with him. It is advisable to reinforce the responsible behavior of "elder brother" and to extinguish those aimed at attracting attention.


The explanations must be clear, firm and simple, adapted to their language according to age and degree of maturity.

How to help you accept your little brother?

- Keep him informed of the changes.
- Favors a progressive transition.
- Observe, listen, validate and encourage the expression of their feelings.
- Make him participate in the new situation, letting him help or make decisions.
- Encourages your interaction with the baby.
- Dedicate daily time alone.
- Give him time to adapt, do not force him.

Accept the feelings expressed by your child, either through the word or other manifestations. Try to understand what motivates them, probably the fear and anxiety that the change generates. After acceptance, the interaction with your new sibling will benefit you in your future interpersonal relationship.

How does jealousy between siblings affect parents?

The scene of two brothers fighting is a source of tension also for parents. It is important that you stay united, that you make no distinctions in the time and attention devoted, and that you show your affection to both children equally. Being aware of the differences between them usually helps to adequately respond to their needs and to avoid possible and undesirable comparisons. Regardless of our age or autonomy, we all need the care of our parents.

Irene Alustiza Quintana

Video: Colleen Ballinger's Nursery Makeover!


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Ein kleiner Bruder kommt: Wie kann man die Veränderung beim Erstgeborenen anpassen?

Obwohl Eifersucht nach der Geburt des Babys hervorgehoben werden kann, kann es auch zu bestimmten Zeitpunkten auftreten, wenn es wichtige Meilensteine ​​seiner Entwicklung erreicht, wodurch seine Kompetenz deutlicher wird. Sie verschwinden normalerweise zu dem Zeitpunkt, zu dem das Kind beweist, dass das Teilen der Liebe seiner Eltern nicht sein Ende bedeutet.

Wenn die Informationen, mit denen er arbeitet, knapp sind, kann er die Realität falsch interpretieren. Zum Beispiel: "Mama und Papa bevorzugen das Baby, weil es kleiner ist", also "wenn ich mich wieder benehme, wie vorher, dreht sich alles um mich und ich werde wieder Ihr Favorit sein". Dieses fehlerhafte Denken kann zu negativen emotionalen und Verhaltensreaktionen führen, sogar zu regressiven.

Obwohl er bewusst oder unbewusst sein kann, versucht der entthronte Prinz normalerweise, das Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit wiederzuerlangen. Sie können sowohl vor als auch nach der Schwangerschaft auftreten. Obwohl diese Änderung hauptsächlich auf den familiären Kontext beschränkt ist, kann sie auch auf andere wie die Schule verallgemeinert werden.


Ideen für die Anpassung des Erstgeborenen vor der Ankunft eines kleinen Bruders

Um diese Erfahrungen zu vermeiden, ist es zweckmäßig, den Erstgeborenen über die verschiedenen Änderungen zu informieren, insbesondere in den folgenden Momenten:

- während der Schwangerschaft
Die Wahl der Zeit, um Sie über die Neuigkeiten zu informieren, ist persönlich. Es ist ratsam, dass Sie Zeit haben, sich an die Idee zu gewöhnen. Erklären Sie, woher die Babys kommen oder was mit ihm tun (z. B. indem Sie Mommys Bauch streicheln lassen, an die Namen des Babys denken, mit anderen Babys interagieren, bei den Vorbereitungen helfen, Geschichten über die neue Rolle lesen und Bilder von ihrer Geburt sehen.) es war klein) kann es verständlicher machen. Es ist wichtig, dass Sie alle Konsequenzen eines Bruders kennen: Sie werden später Erfahrungen sammeln können - nie sofort - Sie können mit ihm spielen, Sie werden in der Lage sein, begleitet zu schlafen.


- Der Tag der Geburt
Vor Ihrer Ankunft ist es wichtig, Ihnen mitzuteilen, wer sich während Ihres Krankenhausaufenthalts um Sie kümmern wird. Es ist ratsam, Ihren (vertrauten) Besuch beim Neugeborenen im Krankenhaus zu planen, eine Tatsache, die den Familienverband und seinen eigenen Raum in dieser Struktur stärken wird. Es ist zu bevorzugen, dass die Mutter keine Wege mehr in den Armen trägt, so dass sie sie nicht beeindruckt. Während der Tage vor und nach der Geburt ist es ratsam, Ihren Tagesablauf aufrechtzuerhalten und Ihre Räume und Ihr Hab und Gut zu respektieren.

- Wenn du nach Hause kommst
Ihr Verständnis für die Grundbedürfnisse Ihres Babys wird Ihnen helfen, Ihre Erwartungen an Ihre Ankunft anzupassen und zu verstehen, dass Sie eine andere Betreuung benötigen. Wenn Sie ihn in die Obhut des Babys bringen (z. B. Lieder lernen, um ihn zu schlafen, ihm helfen zu baden oder ihn zu unterhalten), wird er nicht nur daran gehindert, Gefühle der Ausgrenzung oder des Grolls gegen ihn zu entwickeln, sondern wird eine positive Interaktion zwischen den beiden fördern. Die Zeiten, in denen das Baby ruhig ist oder schläft, können eine ideale Zeit sein, um Zeit mit ihm zu verbringen. Es ist ratsam, das verantwortungsbewusste Verhalten des "älteren Bruders" zu verstärken und diejenigen zu löschen, die auf sich aufmerksam machen.


Die Erklärungen müssen klar, fest und einfach sein und je nach Alter und Reifegrad ihrer Sprache entsprechen.

Wie kann ich Ihnen helfen, Ihren kleinen Bruder anzunehmen?

- Halten Sie ihn über die Änderungen auf dem Laufenden.
- Begünstigt einen schrittweisen Übergang.
- Beobachten, hören, bestätigen und ermutigen Sie den Ausdruck ihrer Gefühle.
- Lassen Sie ihn an der neuen Situation teilhaben, indem Sie ihm helfen oder Entscheidungen treffen.
- Ermutigt Ihre Interaktion mit dem Baby.
- Tägliche Zeit allein widmen.
- Geben Sie ihm Zeit, sich anzupassen, zwingen Sie ihn nicht.

Akzeptieren Sie die Gefühle Ihres Kindes, entweder durch das Wort oder durch andere Manifestationen. Versuchen Sie zu verstehen, was sie motiviert, wahrscheinlich die Angst und Angst, die die Veränderung hervorruft. Nach der Annahme wird die Interaktion mit Ihrem neuen Geschwister Ihnen in Ihrer zukünftigen zwischenmenschlichen Beziehung zugute kommen.

Wie wirkt sich Eifersucht zwischen Geschwistern auf Eltern aus?

Die Szene, in der zwei Brüder kämpfen, ist auch für Eltern eine Spannungsquelle. Es ist wichtig, dass Sie vereint bleiben, dass Sie in Bezug auf die Zeit und Aufmerksamkeit keine Unterschiede machen und dass Sie beiden Kindern gleichermaßen Zuneigung zeigen. Wenn Sie sich der Unterschiede zwischen ihnen bewusst sind, hilft es in der Regel, angemessen auf ihre Bedürfnisse zu reagieren und mögliche und unerwünschte Vergleiche zu vermeiden. Unabhängig von unserem Alter oder unserer Autonomie brauchen wir alle die Fürsorge unserer Eltern.

Irene Alustiza Quintana

Video: Irgendwann ist Zahltag – Joyce Meyer – Mit Jesus den Alltag meistern


Interessante Artikel

Tabelle der Einführung von Lebensmitteln in das Baby

Tabelle der Einführung von Lebensmitteln in das Baby

Das Füttern des Babys während seines ersten Lebensjahres ist sehr speziell. Es besteht aus verschiedenen Stadien, die sich auf ihr Alter beziehen und welche Lebensmittel in jedem von ihnen getestet...

40% der Kinder leiden an Karies

40% der Kinder leiden an Karies

Mundgesundheit ist ein weiterer Punkt, der beim Wohlergehen der Kleinen zu berücksichtigen ist. Obwohl dies a priori nicht so wichtig erscheint, sollten andere Aspekte niemals vergessen werden. Ein...