The effectiveness of WhatsApp to congratulate Christmas and birthdays

We complain that young people spend the day stuck to their mobile phones but the truth is that, in recent years, adults have also entered this digital circle, in particular after the appearance of Whatsapp. Like all technology, it has advantages and disadvantages for the proper functioning of intrafamilial relationships.

Do you congratulate Christmas and birthdays on WhatsApp?

Thanks to the reminders of our mobile we can not miss one, but some people on their birthday are saddened to receive messages only and not the classic calls of their loved ones.

Currently, 500 million people in the world use WhatsApp every day. More than a fad, new technologies have revolutionized with apparent ease our way of communicating, but what are the advantages and disadvantages?


To analyze the advantages and disadvantages of WhatsApp, let's not lose sight of the fact that the important thing is not to make an appraisal of the application itself, but to stop to think about the how and at the expense of what we are using it.

The important thing is to know how to take advantage of all the facilities that this new application offers us, to enjoy being in contact with ours wherever they are, but without forgetting that it is just another form of communication, not the only one. We do not allow him to replace others and we do not lose sight of his limitations or demand what is not his.

These are the main advantages of WhatsApp

Groups of WhatsApp
One of the main advantages of this application is to communicate to several people at the same time. The WhatsApp groups have come to replace the email chains and there are many types.


Family groups keep everyone in touch, help organize the family day to day and share moments and experiences, which can have a positive impact on the family environment. If we talk about families in which one of its members lives outside, these advantages multiply.

By using a language and a channel that is not alien to young people, it has improved contact between parents and children, who have adapted to the conversation systems of the youngest.

In a similar way, many groups of friends, co-workers, school, faculty, mothers of schoolmates of their children, those who play paddle tennis, etc., have created their own groups on WhatsApp. In them events are organized and important events are shared, in a simple way and that also avoids the misunderstandings derived from the transmission of information from one to another, since in this case everyone receives it at the same time. Mind you, be careful with writing in the right group!


WhatsApp in the distance
Perhaps one of the biggest advantages of WhatsApp is the ease with which it keeps people in contact despite the distance. It is a key way to communicate in a society in continuous movement, in which leaving your city, or your country, to study or work is more a rule than an exception. The use of social networks does not need time matches and, in most cases, with Wi-Fi or flat rates, communication is free.

WhatsApp efficiency
This application is probably the fastest and most economical of the forms of communication we have today. More economical than the phone and probably more immediate than email in some contexts. In addition, the user always has the phone on top and the interface is simple and convenient.

The disadvantages of misusing WhatsApp

Written communication is much poorer than oral
The main difference between oral and written communication is that the latter loses all the non-verbal aspects that accompany the language. Oral communication is very rich in nuances: the tone of voice, the speed of language, body posture, facial expression, hand gestures ... They are a series of details that can radically change the meaning of a speech.

Many times what we say is not so important, but how we say it. Think of a simple word like "thank you." We can say it in different ways and express different feelings with it. All those connotations, which go beyond the verbal, are lost in WhatsApp. The emoticons and other add-ons of the application can correct these differences on some occasion, but they can hardly cause the same effect as the expression.

On the other hand, we can fall into the error of trying on WhatsApp certain sensitive or important issues to avoid the difficulty of talking about them in person. Attending, as we saw, to the importance of the non-verbal in communication, it is worthwhile to be brave when it comes to dealing with topics that are delicate to us so as not to lose the richness of verbal communication.

Misinterpretations and other problems with WhatsApp
One of the problems of WhatsApp comes, therefore, that a written message, separate from the non-verbal, has many possible interpretations and the interpretation given by the person receiving the message can be very different from that of the issuer. Attributing to the other an intention different from the one that had made communication difficult and in the long run hinders relationships.

Immediateness
The quick communication that it offers us can make us get caught in the trap of immediacy. It seems that when we send a message we are waiting for an answer at that moment, and the delay makes us uneasy, we continuously look at the phone, the last hour of connection. In the opposite direction, we ourselves may have difficulties in postponing the response when we receive a message, which explains why we answer in the middle of a dinner with friends, a work meeting or the doctor's consultation.

Certain aspects of the application such as showing the last connection time or double check and now the double blue check can limit our freedom not to answer at that precise moment and can be used as an argument to demand an immediate response. It is as if we had to be available at all times. Nothing is further from reality. It is enough to do an experiment with ourselves: how much time can we pass between the reception of a message and its response?

Addicted to WhatsApp
Using WhatsApp is an apparently positive behavior that can become problematic if the frequency and intensity with which it develops interfere with daily life. We would be talking then of an addiction to WhatsApp. Without needing to be alarmed, let's just remember the importance of making responsible use of new technologies.

Carmen Laspra Solís.Unit of Diagnosis and Family Therapy (UDITEF), University of Navarra

Video: Happy new year 2019 || merry christmas || Happy Birthday


Interesting Articles

Educate from the tranquility

Educate from the tranquility

Being a parent is not an easy task, nobody has taught us educate from the tranquility and the day to day does not make the task easy, from the alarm clock until we go back to bed we have done a lot...

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

As they get older, our children will have to assume new roles at home. Around 9 or 10 years old, these are some of the daily Homeworks that they should be able to do for themselves.8 skills that...

Reasons to encourage running in the family

Reasons to encourage running in the family

The sport is necessary. Go for a run or to do 'Running' It can be a very good option to exercise and, in addition, it is fashionable. But why not practice it in family? The truth is that, although...

Die Wirksamkeit von WhatsApp, um Weihnachten und Geburtstage zu gratulieren

Wir beklagen uns, dass junge Menschen den Tag am Handy verbringen, aber die Wahrheit ist, dass in den letzten Jahren auch Erwachsene in diesen digitalen Kreis getreten sind, insbesondere nach dem Aufkommen von WhatsApp. Wie alle Technologien hat sie Vor- und Nachteile für das reibungslose Funktionieren der familiären Beziehungen.

Gratulieren Sie Weihnachten und Geburtstagen zu WhatsApp?

Dank der Erinnerungen an unser Handy können wir keines verpassen, aber manche Menschen an ihrem Geburtstag sind traurig, nur Nachrichten zu erhalten und nicht die klassischen Anrufe ihrer Angehörigen.

Derzeit nutzen 500 Millionen Menschen auf der Welt täglich WhatsApp. Mehr als eine Modeerscheinung haben neue Technologien unsere Kommunikationsweise offensichtlich revolutioniert, aber was sind die Vor- und Nachteile?


Um die Vor- und Nachteile von WhatsApp zu analysieren, sollten wir nicht die Tatsache aus den Augen verlieren, dass es nicht wichtig ist, eine Bewertung der Anwendung selbst vorzunehmen, sondern darüber nachzudenken, wie und auf Kosten dessen, was wir verwenden.

Das Wichtigste ist, zu wissen, wie wir alle Möglichkeiten nutzen können, die diese neue Anwendung bietet, um den Kontakt mit unseren überall zu genießen, ohne dabei zu vergessen, dass dies nur eine andere Form der Kommunikation ist und nicht die einzige. Wir erlauben ihm nicht, andere zu ersetzen, und wir verlieren seine Grenzen nicht aus den Augen oder verlangen, was nicht seine ist.

Dies sind die Hauptvorteile von WhatsApp

Gruppen von WhatsApp
Einer der Hauptvorteile dieser Anwendung ist die gleichzeitige Kommunikation mit mehreren Personen. Die WhatsApp-Gruppen ersetzen die E-Mail-Ketten und es gibt viele Arten.


Familiengruppen halten alle miteinander in Kontakt, helfen bei der täglichen Familienorganisation und teilen Momente und Erfahrungen, die sich positiv auf das Familienumfeld auswirken können. Wenn wir über Familien sprechen, in denen eines seiner Mitglieder draußen lebt, vervielfachen sich diese Vorteile.

Durch die Verwendung einer Sprache und eines Kanals, der jungen Menschen nicht fremd ist, hat es den Kontakt zwischen Eltern und Kindern verbessert, die sich an die Gesprächssysteme der jüngsten angepasst haben.

In ähnlicher Weise haben viele Gruppen von Freunden, Kollegen, Schulen, Fakultäten, Müttern von Schulkameraden ihrer Kinder, diejenigen, die Paddle-Tennis spielen usw., ihre eigenen geschaffen Gruppen auf WhatsApp. In ihnen werden Ereignisse organisiert und wichtige Ereignisse auf einfache Art und Weise geteilt. Dadurch werden auch Missverständnisse vermieden, die sich aus der Übermittlung von Informationen von einem zum anderen ergeben, da in diesem Fall jeder sie gleichzeitig erhält. Seien Sie vorsichtig beim Schreiben in der richtigen Gruppe!


WhatsApp in der Ferne
Einer der größten Vorteile von WhatsApp ist vielleicht die Leichtigkeit, mit der Menschen trotz der Entfernung in Kontakt bleiben. Dies ist eine wichtige Methode, um in einer Gesellschaft mit ständiger Bewegung zu kommunizieren, in der das Verlassen Ihrer Stadt oder Ihres Landes zum Studieren oder Arbeiten eher eine Regel als eine Ausnahme ist. Die Nutzung sozialer Netzwerke erfordert keine zeitlichen Übereinstimmungen. In den meisten Fällen ist die Kommunikation mit WLAN oder Flatrates kostenlos.

WhatsApp-Effizienz
Diese Anwendung ist wahrscheinlich die schnellste und wirtschaftlichste der heute verfügbaren Kommunikationsformen. Sparsamer als das Telefon und in manchen Kontexten wahrscheinlich unmittelbarer als E-Mails. Darüber hinaus hat der Benutzer das Telefon immer oben und die Benutzeroberfläche ist einfach und bequem.

Die Nachteile des Missbrauchs von WhatsApp

Schriftliche Kommunikation ist viel schlechter als mündlich
Der Hauptunterschied zwischen mündlicher und schriftlicher Kommunikation besteht darin, dass letztere alle nichtverbalen Aspekte verliert, die die Sprache begleiten. Die mündliche Kommunikation ist sehr nuancenreich: der Tonfall, die Geschwindigkeit der Sprache, die Körperhaltung, der Gesichtsausdruck, die Handgesten ... Sie sind eine Reihe von Details, die die Bedeutung einer Sprache radikal verändern können.

Oft ist das, was wir sagen, nicht so wichtig, aber wie wir es sagen. Denken Sie an ein einfaches Wort wie "Danke". Wir können es auf verschiedene Weise sagen und verschiedene Gefühle damit ausdrücken. Alle diese Konnotationen, die über das Verbale hinausgehen, gehen in WhatsApp verloren. Die Emoticons und anderen Add-Ons der Anwendung können diese Unterschiede gelegentlich korrigieren, sie können jedoch kaum denselben Effekt haben wie der Ausdruck.

Auf der anderen Seite können wir in den Irrtum geraten, bestimmte sensible oder wichtige Probleme mit WhatsApp zu versuchen, um die Schwierigkeit zu vermeiden, persönlich darüber zu sprechen. Wenn wir uns der Bedeutung des Nonverbals in der Kommunikation bewusst sind, lohnt es sich, mutig zu sein, wenn es um die Behandlung von Themen geht, die für uns heikel sind, um den Reichtum der verbalen Kommunikation nicht zu verlieren.

Fehlinterpretationen und andere Probleme mit WhatsApp
Eines der Probleme von WhatsApp ist daher, dass eine schriftliche Nachricht, die sich vom Nicht-Verbalen unterscheidet, viele Interpretationsmöglichkeiten hat und dass die Interpretation der Person, die die Nachricht erhält, sich sehr von der des Emittenten unterscheiden kann. Dem anderen eine andere Absicht zuzuschreiben als die, die die Kommunikation erschwert hatte, behindert auf lange Sicht Beziehungen.

Unmittelbarkeit
Die schnelle Kommunikation, die es uns bietet, kann uns in die Falle der Unmittelbarkeit geraten. Es scheint, als würden wir, wenn wir eine Nachricht senden, auf eine Antwort in diesem Moment warten, und die Verzögerung macht uns unbehaglich. Wir schauen ständig auf das Telefon, die letzte Stunde der Verbindung. In der umgekehrten Richtung können wir selbst Schwierigkeiten haben, die Antwort zu verschieben, wenn wir eine Nachricht erhalten. Dies erklärt, warum wir während eines Essens mit Freunden, eines Arbeitstreffens oder der Beratung eines Arztes antworten.

Bestimmte Aspekte der Anwendung, wie das Anzeigen der letzten Verbindungszeit oder der doppelte Überprüfung und nun der doppelte blaue Haken, können unsere Freiheit einschränken, zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht zu antworten, und können als Argument für eine sofortige Antwort herangezogen werden. Es ist, als müssten wir jederzeit verfügbar sein. Nichts ist weiter von der Realität entfernt. Es genügt, mit uns selbst zu experimentieren: Wie viel Zeit können wir zwischen dem Empfang einer Nachricht und ihrer Antwort vergehen?

Süchtig nach WhatsApp
Die Verwendung von WhatsApp ist ein scheinbar positives Verhalten, das problematisch werden kann, wenn die Häufigkeit und Intensität, mit der WhatsApp entwickelt wird, den Alltag stört. Wir würden dann von einer Abhängigkeit von WhatsApp sprechen. Lassen Sie uns einfach daran erinnern, wie wichtig es ist, verantwortungsbewusst mit neuen Technologien umzugehen.

Carmen Laspra Solís.Abteilung für Diagnose und Familientherapie (UDITEF), Universität von Navarra

Video: Warum Du Deinem EX nicht zum GEBURTSTAG gratulieren solltest (WENN DU IHN ZURÜCK WILLST)


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...