Spanish students improve reading comprehension but they continue to suspend it

Letters and words are present in our lives in many ways. From a small note to tell us about a message to a book full of fascinating stories. In any case, the most important thing to know what these people want to tell us symbols is to know how to recognize them, not only that, but to understand well what the author has previously written.

Therefore, the reading comprehension It becomes a very important skill for the little ones in the house. What is the level among students in Spain? About it speaks the PIRLS report (Progress in International Reading Literacy Study) developed by the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Performance, IEA for its acronym in English. According to the data of this work in this country it has been improved, but it still has to be done.


Increase in level

The good news of the PIRLS report is that Spain has experienced a large increase in the levels of reading compression in the five-year span from 2011 to 2016. A growth that has only been surpassed by Australia and that shows the results that have been obtained in education during all these years. The bad news is that the average number of students is still below that approved in the OECD.

Spain has achieved 528 points in PIRLS. Within it the average of the 50 participating countries is 500 points, so in this case the approved is achieved. However, the comparison with the numbers in the PISA report, the reality is different since students stay at 12 points approved and 11 if you take as a reference the surveys conducted by the European Union.


In comparison with other countries, Spain surpasses France that obtains 511 points and Belgium, with 497. At the top of the ranking is Russia with 581, followed by Singapore with 576 and Hong Kong with 569. The best evaluation of this evolution the day Dirk Hastedt, executive director of the IEA, who points out that we must focus more on the evolution of results than on them.

Improve reading comprehension

Spain has improved as far as comprehensive reading is concerned, but much remains to be done. In this sense, from home you can also work supporting the child to it. These are some proposals from Ángel Sanz Moreno, member of the UNED:

- Become aware. The first thing to know if a text has been understood is to ask the children, check the level at which they start to see how much improvement is needed and if the child, even a little, understands what they have read.


- Understand the objective. A very good help to improve reading comprehension is that the child knows what type of text is faced: is it a story, is it an opinion, is it information provided in data? Preparing the mind for the reading category will help greatly.

- Organize the information. Categorizing the information that is read is very helpful, for example, when confronting a story, organizing the content chronologically is a great help.

- Synthesize information. Is all the information important? Helping the child to find the key points will be a great help when faced with a text.

Damián Montero

Video: Get Fluent With 1 Trick - Become A Confident English Speaker With This Simple Practice Trick


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

Spanische Studenten verbessern das Leseverständnis, setzen es aber weiterhin aus

Buchstaben und Worte sind in vielerlei Hinsicht in unserem Leben präsent. Von einer kleinen Notiz über eine Nachricht bis zu einem Buch voller faszinierender Geschichten. In jedem Fall ist es das Wichtigste zu wissen, was diese Leute uns sagen wollen Symbole ist zu wissen, wie man sie erkennt, nicht nur das, sondern auch das, was der Autor zuvor geschrieben hat.

Daher ist die Leseverständnis Es ist eine sehr wichtige Fähigkeit für die Kleinen im Haus. Wie hoch sind die Studierenden in Spanien? Darüber spricht der PIRLS-Bericht (Fortschritt in der International Reading Literacy Study), entwickelt von der International Association for Evaluation of Educational Performance, IEA (engl. Für englische Abkürzung). Nach den Daten dieser Arbeit in diesem Land wurde es verbessert, aber es muss noch getan werden.


Erhöhen Sie den Pegel

Die gute Nachricht des PIRLS - Berichts ist, dass Spanien einen erheblichen Anstieg des Niveaus von Lesekompression in den fünf Jahren von 2011 bis 2016. Ein Wachstum, das nur übertroffen wurde Australien und das zeigt die Ergebnisse, die in all diesen Jahren in der Bildung erzielt wurden. Die schlechte Nachricht ist, dass die durchschnittliche Anzahl der Studenten immer noch unter der in der OECD genehmigten liegt.

Spanien hat erreicht 528 Punkte in PIRLS. Der Durchschnitt der 50 teilnehmenden Länder liegt bei 500 Punkten. In diesem Fall wird die Bewilligung erreicht. Beim Vergleich mit den Zahlen im PISA-Bericht sieht die Realität jedoch anders aus, da die Schüler bei 12 genehmigten Punkten bleiben und 11, wenn Sie die von der Europäischen Union durchgeführten Umfragen als Referenz heranziehen.


Im Vergleich zu anderen Ländern übertrifft Spanien Frankreich mit 511 Punkten und Belgien mit 497 Punkten. An der Spitze der Rangliste steht Russland mit 581, gefolgt von Singapur mit 576 und Hongkong mit 569. Die beste Einschätzung dieser Entwicklung der Tag Dirk Hastedt, Geschäftsführer der IEA, der betont, dass wir uns mehr auf die Entwicklung der Ergebnisse als auf sie konzentrieren müssen.

Verbessern Sie das Leseverständnis

Spanien hat sich in Bezug auf das umfassende Lesen verbessert, aber es bleibt noch viel zu tun. In diesem Sinne können Sie auch von zu Hause aus arbeiten, um das Kind dabei zu unterstützen. Dies sind einige Vorschläge von Ángel Sanz Moreno, Mitglied der UNED:

- Sei dir bewusst. Wenn Sie wissen möchten, ob ein Text verstanden wurde, fragen Sie die Kinder, prüfen Sie, auf welcher Ebene sie sehen, wie viel Verbesserung nötig ist, und ob das Kind, wenn auch nur ein bisschen, versteht, was es gelesen hat.


- Verstehe das Ziel. Eine sehr gute Hilfe, um das Leseverständnis zu verbessern, ist, dass das Kind weiß, um welche Art von Text es sich handelt: Ist es eine Geschichte, ist es eine Meinung, sind Informationen in Daten enthalten? Den Geist auf die Lesekategorie vorzubereiten, wird sehr hilfreich sein.

- Organisieren Sie die Informationen. Die Kategorisierung der gelesenen Informationen ist sehr hilfreich, z. B. bei der Gegenüberstellung einer Geschichte. Die chronologische Anordnung der Inhalte ist eine große Hilfe.

- Informationen synthetisieren. Sind alle Informationen wichtig? Dem Kind zu helfen, die wichtigsten Punkte zu finden, ist eine große Hilfe, wenn es um einen Text geht.

Damián Montero

Video: La Educación Prohibida HD


Interessante Artikel

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Koffer, Taschen, Toilettenartikel und Sport, alle bereit, noch einen Sommer in Urlaub zu fahren, und viele werden es im Familienauto tun. Wir haben sehr darauf geachtet, nichts Notwendiges zu...