Eye to the label, new campaign to protect against poisoning in minors

The safety of the little ones is one of the points that most concerns parents. Prevention is always better than cure and in the case of childhood accidents, attending some instructions is a great help. For this reason from the Confederation of Consumers and Users, CECU, has launched a new campaign focused on the chemical products present in many homes.

With the name "Eye to the Label", from CECU parents are reminded of the important information offered by the packaging of chemical products such as those used for cleaning. Data that help to conserve these articles to avoid accidents through the ingestion or manipulation by children, as well as the first aid that must be followed in these cases.


What should a product label include?

As has been said, the label on the container of the products includes numerous information that alerts parents of dangers. What should pick yourself up in this panel? These are the recommendations of the CECU:

- Product composition. This information is very important. Think, for example, of people who are allergic to a certain substance or have been poisoned at home with a toxic product. If the doctor knows the composition of the product, you can indicate the correct treatment.

- Recommended period for use or consumption of the product. This date has to be on the label when the product, for example, loses some quality over time.


- The essential characteristics of the product, instructions, warnings, advice or recommendations on how to install, use and manipulate them.

- Potential danger of the product and information about its safe use.
Attending to this last section, there is a series of codes that are worth knowing. As for example the presence of a skull on the label, which indicates a danger due to toxicity in the chemical products, these containers must move away from children and prevent minors from even seeing them. Other symbols, such as hands being affected by a liquid, warns of the possible corrosion of this article.

An exclamation, on the other hand, warns of the risks of ingesting said product since it could cause an allergic reaction in the organism or irritate the skin when contacting it. A flame, alerts the risk of inflammation of the product. Other codes serve to prevent other risks, such as a tree that represents the environment and warns of the danger of not discarding the product correctly.


Other important product labels

Not all the labels that CECU alerts focus on prevention of child accidents. Others who remember also warn us about the content of the article, something that must be attended, for example, when purchasing a video game. At this point, it is worth remembering the codes of the PEGI system, which warn of possible dangers for minors.

A group of three people of different colors indicates that the game contains scenes of discrimination. Other symbols as a "snack"full of symbols and asterisks alert of the foul language that can be heard in the video game, another label with a scratch indicates the fear that may arise the adventure that develops in this video game.

Of course, these labels also provide a numeric code which is related to the age recommended for the players of a title. In this way, parents, although they do not know the history of it, can know through these symbols what they are buying to give to their children.

Damián Montero

Video: 67K Children Treated Yearly for Accidental Medication Poisoning


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Auge auf das Label, neue Kampagne zum Schutz vor Vergiftungen bei Minderjährigen

Die Sicherheit der Kleinen ist einer der Punkte, die die Eltern am meisten betreffen. Vorbeugen ist immer besser als heilen, und bei Unfällen in der Kindheit ist es eine große Hilfe, einige Anweisungen zu beachten. Aus diesem Grund aus dem Verband der Verbraucher und Nutzer, CECU, hat eine neue Kampagne gestartet, die sich auf die in vielen Haushalten vorhandenen chemischen Produkte konzentriert.

Mit dem Namen "Eye to the Label" werden Eltern von CECU an die wichtigen Informationen erinnert, die die Verpackung von chemischen Produkten bietet, wie sie zum Beispiel für die Reinigung verwendet werden. Daten, die helfen, diese Artikel zu schützen, um Unfälle durch Einnahme oder Manipulation durch Kinder zu vermeiden, sowie die Erste Hilfe, die in diesen Fällen befolgt werden muss.


Was sollte ein Produktetikett enthalten?

Wie gesagt, das Etikett auf der Behälter der Produkte enthält zahlreiche Informationen, die Eltern vor Gefahren warnen. Was soll hol dich ab in diesem Panel? Dies sind die Empfehlungen der CECU:

- Produktzusammensetzung. Diese Informationen sind sehr wichtig. Denken Sie zum Beispiel an Menschen, die auf eine bestimmte Substanz allergisch sind oder zu Hause mit einem giftigen Produkt vergiftet wurden. Wenn der Arzt die Zusammensetzung des Produkts kennt, können Sie die richtige Behandlung angeben.

- empfohlener Zeitraum für die Verwendung oder den Verbrauch des Produkts. Dieses Datum muss auf dem Etikett stehen, wenn das Produkt beispielsweise mit der Zeit an Qualität verliert.


- die wesentlichen Merkmale des Produkts, Anweisungen, Warnungen, Ratschläge oder Empfehlungen zur Installation, Verwendung und Handhabung.

- Mögliche Gefahr für das Produkt und Informationen zur sicheren Verwendung.
In diesem letzten Abschnitt gibt es eine Reihe von Codes, die es zu wissen gilt. B. das Vorhandensein eines Schädels auf dem Etikett, der auf eine Gefahr durch Toxizität in den chemischen Produkten hinweist, müssen diese Behälter sich von Kindern entfernen und Minderjährige daran hindern, sie überhaupt zu sehen. Andere Symbole, z. B. Hände, die von einer Flüssigkeit berührt werden, warnen vor einer möglichen Korrosion dieses Artikels.

Ein Ausruf warnt andererseits vor den Risiken der Einnahme des Produkts, da es im Organismus zu einer allergischen Reaktion kommen oder die Haut reizen kann, wenn es mit ihm in Kontakt kommt. Eine Flamme weist auf die Entzündungsgefahr des Produkts hin. Andere Codes dienen dazu, andere Risiken zu vermeiden, z. B. ein Baum, der die Umgebung darstellt und vor der Gefahr warnt, dass das Produkt nicht ordnungsgemäß entsorgt wird.


Andere wichtige Produktetiketten

Nicht alle Labels, auf die CECU-Alarme hinweisen Prävention von Kinderunfällen. Andere, die sich erinnern, warnen uns auch vor dem Inhalt des Artikels, der zum Beispiel beim Kauf eines Videospiels beachtet werden muss. An dieser Stelle sei an die Codes des PEGI-Systems erinnert, die vor möglichen Gefahren für Minderjährige warnen.

Eine Gruppe von drei Personen in verschiedenen Farben zeigt an, dass das Spiel Szenen der Diskriminierung enthält. Andere Symbole als "Sandwich"voll mit Symbolen und Sternchen, die auf die im Videospiel zu hörende üble Sprache aufmerksam machen, zeigt ein anderes Label mit einem Scratch die Angst an, die das Abenteuer in diesem Videospiel entstehen kann.

Natürlich bieten diese Etiketten auch eine numerischer Code welches sich auf das für die Spieler eines Titels empfohlene Alter bezieht. Auf diese Weise können Eltern, obwohl sie die Geschichte nicht kennen, durch diese Symbole wissen, was sie kaufen, um sie ihren Kindern zu geben.

Damián Montero

Video: American Foreign Policy During the Cold War - John Stockwell


Interessante Artikel

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Üben Sport hat viele gesundheitliche Vorteile und viele Eltern, die sich dieser Vorteile bewusst sind, weisen auf alle Sportarten aller Art hin, dank der Tatsache, dass es heute in jeder Schule oder...