Why is it hard for us to make decisions?

Are you an indecisive person? Do you overwhelm your child with multiple options? Why is it hard for us to make decisions? What happens to us when we have to choose between many options? How does our brain respond? The truth is that we make multiple decisions on a daily basis, some of them in a very short time. On what does the ability to make decisions depend?

The typical situation of being in the supermarket and asking your son / daughter what yogurts you want, what kind of chocolate you buy, what you would like to have dinner ... apart from not leading to very healthy behavior habits, can create a great dissatisfaction in your child, when choosing a type of yogurt, underlining so many options ... it will make you feel bad for all you have rejected, without knowing finally which one you like.


And what happens when you go to the typical restaurant with an endless letter? Do not you often get the feeling that your neighbor chose better?

Multiple options complicates the ability to choose

Having more options is not synonymous with greater freedom, in many cases it increases frustration. Start reducing options and everything will be much simpler. Stay very attentive when you offer your child alternatives, especially when it comes to the type of food, leisure, clothing ... and everything related to consumption.

The psychologist Barry Schwartz brilliantly analyzes what happens to our brain when faced with multiple options when making decisions. The possible choices we can make at each moment of the day, and at each stage of our life, are endless. How many types of yogurts, mobiles and clothing models are there?


Having to choose between so many options on a daily basis is a form of information overload. Schwartz in his book, "The Paradox of Choice" explains our tendency to be less satisfied with our acquisitions as more alternatives exist.

What happens when we have to think about what to study? How many different studies are there? How many types of universities, training centers, business schools ...? How many forms of training?

When you choose to quit, it seems that in our modern society to increase our freedom, we have to have at our disposal an increasing number of options and possible choices in everything that surrounds us on a day to day basis.

The negative points of having to choose between so many options

1. Paralysis: today it is very difficult take decisions, to the point that you end up postponing them always for not knowing what to choose. A greater number of options does not release you precisely.


2. Opportunity cost: Whatever you choose, you will always be remembering the good parts of what you did not choose. In the end you are always dissatisfied thinking that maybe your choice was not the best, and you missed a good opportunity.

3. High expectations: you end up having disappointing experiences because of comparing your results and choices, with the previous high expectations that you had fruit of the infinite possibilities within your reach. In the end it is not as good as you expected, and I'm sure you did not have the perfect solution.

4. Blame yourself: how you had so many alternatives ... always ... always! you think maybe you could have chosen, executed or thought better! What you think is that the only culprit of such a bad choice is you, and not that so many options overwhelm anyone.

Educate to enjoy what you choose, the value of example is essential, reduce the variety of options and get a greater welfare, less is more.

Aleida Orviz. Director of Orientando en positivo

More information in the book The six most important decisions of your life, by Sean Covey.

Video: Tough decisions -- use your heart | Alison Meyer | TEDxBerkeley


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Warum fällt es uns schwer, Entscheidungen zu treffen?

Bist du eine unentschlossene Person? Überfordern Sie Ihr Kind mit mehreren Optionen? Warum fällt es uns schwer, Entscheidungen zu treffen? Was passiert mit uns, wenn wir zwischen vielen Optionen wählen müssen? Wie reagiert unser Gehirn? Die Wahrheit ist, dass wir täglich mehrere Entscheidungen treffen, einige davon in sehr kurzer Zeit. Wovon hängt die Entscheidungsfähigkeit ab?

Die typische Situation, im Supermarkt zu sein und Ihren Sohn / Ihre Tochter zu fragen, welche Joghurts Sie wollen, welche Art von Schokolade Sie kaufen, was Sie gerne essen möchten ... Abgesehen davon, dass Sie nicht zu sehr gesunden Verhaltensweisen führen, kann dies zu einer großen Unzufriedenheit führen Wenn Sie bei Ihrem Kind eine Art von Joghurt wählen und so viele Optionen hervorheben ... werden Sie sich bei allem, was Sie abgelehnt haben, schlecht fühlen, ohne letztendlich zu wissen, welche Sie mögen.


Und was passiert, wenn Sie mit einem endlosen Brief in ein typisches Restaurant gehen? Haben Sie nicht oft das Gefühl, dass Ihr Nachbar sich besser entschieden hat?

Mehrere Optionen erschweren die Auswahlmöglichkeit

Mehr Optionen zu haben ist nicht gleichbedeutend mit mehr Freiheit, in vielen Fällen erhöht sich die Frustration. Reduzieren Sie die Optionen und alles wird viel einfacher. Seien Sie sehr aufmerksam, wenn Sie Ihrem Kind Alternativen anbieten, insbesondere wenn es um die Art des Essens, der Freizeit, der Kleidung usw. und um alles rund um den Konsum geht.

Der Psychologe Barry Schwartz analysiert auf brillante Weise, was mit unserem Gehirn passiert, wenn es bei der Entscheidungsfindung viele Optionen gibt. Die möglichen Entscheidungen, die wir in jedem Moment des Tages und in jeder Phase unseres Lebens treffen können, sind endlos. Wie viele Arten von Joghurts, Handys und Bekleidungsmodellen gibt es?


Täglich zwischen so vielen Optionen wählen zu müssen, ist eine Form von Informationsüberflutung. In seinem Buch "The Paradox of Choice" erklärt Schwartz unsere Tendenz, mit unseren Übernahmen weniger zufrieden zu sein, da es mehr Alternativen gibt.

Was passiert, wenn wir darüber nachdenken müssen, was wir studieren sollen? Wie viele verschiedene Studien gibt es, wie viele Arten von Universitäten, Ausbildungszentren, Business Schools ...? Wie viele Trainingsformen?

Wenn Sie sich entscheiden, zu beendenEs scheint, dass wir in unserer modernen Gesellschaft, um unsere Freiheit zu vergrößern, immer mehr Möglichkeiten und Wahlmöglichkeiten in all dem haben müssen, was uns täglich umgibt.

Die negativen Punkte, zwischen so vielen Optionen wählen zu müssen

1. Paralyse: heute ist es sehr schwierig Entscheidungen treffenBis zu dem Punkt, dass Sie sie am Ende verschieben, weil Sie nicht wissen, was Sie wählen sollen. Eine größere Anzahl von Optionen gibt Sie nicht genau frei.


2. Opportunitätskosten: Was auch immer Sie wählen, Sie werden sich immer an die guten Teile dessen erinnern, was Sie nicht gewählt haben. Am Ende sind Sie immer unzufrieden und denken, dass Ihre Wahl vielleicht nicht die beste war und Sie eine gute Gelegenheit verpasst haben.

3. Hohe erwartungen: Am Ende haben Sie enttäuschende Erfahrungen, weil Sie Ihre Ergebnisse und Entscheidungen miteinander verglichen haben, und Sie hatten zuvor die hohen Erwartungen, dass Sie von den unendlichen Möglichkeiten, die sich in Ihrer Reichweite bieten, Früchte getragen haben. Am Ende ist es nicht so gut wie erwartet, und ich bin mir sicher, dass Sie nicht die perfekte Lösung hatten.

4. Schuld sich selbst: Wie hattest du so viele Alternativen ... immer ... immer! denkst du vielleicht, du hättest wählen können, hingerichtet oder besser gedacht? Was Sie denken, ist, dass der einzige Täter einer so schlechten Wahl Sie sind, und nicht, dass so viele Optionen jeden überwältigen.

Lernen Sie zu genießen, was Sie wählen, der Wert des Beispiels ist wichtig, reduzieren Sie die Vielfalt der Optionen und erhalten Sie ein größeres Wohlbefinden, weniger ist mehr.

Aleida Orviz. Direktor von Orientando en positivo

Weitere Informationen im Buch Die sechs wichtigsten Entscheidungen Ihres Lebensvon Sean Covey.

Video: Warum es uns schwer fällt uns zu entscheiden - Hinweise für gute Entscheidungen


Interessante Artikel

10 Spiele für Kinder mit Legasthenie

10 Spiele für Kinder mit Legasthenie

Die Kinder mit Legasthenie Sie haben täglich viele Schwierigkeiten. Ihre Art, die Briefe wahrzunehmen und die von ihnen übermittelten Informationen zu verarbeiten, ist unterschiedlich. Kinder mit...

Verlorene Kinder, wie sollen Eltern vorgehen?

Verlorene Kinder, wie sollen Eltern vorgehen?

Es gibt Situationen, die nicht vorhersehbar sind. Bestimmte Umstände können Eltern schlecht überraschen, von einer unerwarteten Erkältung bis hin zur falsche Platzierung eines Kindes in einem...