Better physical condition, more intelligence in children

There are many phrases that remind us of the importance of being in shape. One of the best known is "mens sana in corpore sano"That is to say, tune up your mind in a body in good physical condition, but do the intellectual capacity and the state of form really relate? The University of Granada, UGR, has demonstrated this through a new study.

An investigation in which he has found a relation between a good state of physical form and a greater gray matter that allows to develop the Intelectual skills. With these data, parents are reminded that not only should they stimulate their children's minds, they should also bet on a healthier lifestyle to maximize the abilities of their children.


The aerobic capacity of children

In this investigation the UGR gathered more than 100 children with overweight and obesity. The objective was to analyze how the worst physical condition could pose a major problem when performing intellectual exercises. As explained by Francisco B. Ortega, leader of this work, "the level of physical condition of children is directly related to important structural differences in the brain".

The motives? As other studies have suggested, aerobic capacity it is usually related to a greater volume of gray matter in the brain of people. This means that in the two key regions for processing language and reading, the lower frontal rotation and the upper temporal rotation benefit from physical exercise.


"Physical fitness is a modifiable factor through physical exercise, and combining physical exercise that improves aerobic capacity and motor ability would be an effective approach to stimulate brain development and academic performance in overweight and obese children," suggests Irene Esteban-Cornejo, one of the authors of this study.

Given these results, UGR researchers suggest both parents and educators to remember the importance of physical exercise in the development of the youngest. On the one hand, those responsible for education policies are asked to give incentives such as Physical Education, often forgotten by other subjects "intellectuals".

On the other hand, parents are called so that they do not allow their children to join in a sedentary lifestyle, betting on physical activity on a day-to-day basis. This will not only improve health and prevent diseases traditionally attributed to obesity and overweight, but will also improve the intellectual capacity of the most little ones.


Exercise in day to day

Given the scientific evidence that keep in form report benefits both physically and intellectually, it is best to bet on a life that incorporates the exercise into the routine of each day. This does not only mean joining a gym or start practicing a sport, there are many practices that can bring great benefits with simple actions:

- Climbing stairs. The elevator is very useful when you have to climb to the upper floors of a tall building. But if the plant to which you must access with the child is not very high, and ported allows, a ladder is a better option.

- Visit to the supermarket. Walk through the hallways, take out the bags and bring them home. It is true that it is a low-intensity physical activity, but taking the children to the grocery store keeps them active and away from sedentary lifestyles.

- Think about the usefulness of the car. Like the elevator, the car can be a useful tool to reach long distances. However, why not do without it for short trips? Using your legs to go buy bread or to go to school, if it is relatively close, will bring great benefits.

- Use of free time. The weekend arrives, after a week of school the child will surely want to dedicate this free time to somewhat sedentary routines. Parents should encourage them to go to play in the park with their friends or the same family. The purpose is clear: avoid that these moments are reversed in front of the screen.

Damián Montero

Video: Scientists Reveal 13 Signs of Exceptional Intelligence


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Bessere körperliche Verfassung, mehr Intelligenz bei Kindern

Es gibt viele Sätze, die uns daran erinnern, wie wichtig es ist, in Form zu sein. Eines der bekanntesten ist "Herren Sana in Corpore Sano"Das heißt, Ihren Geist in einem Körper in guter körperlicher Verfassung aufheitern, aber haben intellektuelle Fähigkeiten und der Zustand der Form wirklich etwas zu bieten? Die Universität von Granada, UGR, hat dies durch ein neues Beispiel gezeigt studieren

Eine Untersuchung, in der er einen Zusammenhang zwischen einem guten physischen Zustand und einer größeren grauen Substanz gefunden hat, die die Entwicklung des Körpers ermöglicht intellektuelle Fähigkeiten. Mit diesen Daten werden die Eltern daran erinnert, dass sie nicht nur den Verstand ihrer Kinder anregen sollten, sondern auch auf einen gesünderen Lebensstil setzen, um die Fähigkeiten ihrer Kinder zu maximieren.


Die aerobe Kapazität von Kindern

Bei dieser Untersuchung sammelte die UGR mehr als 100 Kinder mit Übergewicht und Fettleibigkeit. Ziel war es zu analysieren, wie die schlimmste körperliche Verfassung bei intellektuellen Übungen ein großes Problem darstellen kann. Wie Francisco B. Ortega, der Leiter dieser Arbeit, erklärte, "hängt der körperliche Zustand von Kindern direkt mit wichtigen strukturellen Unterschieden im Gehirn zusammen".

Die Gründe Wie andere Studien vorgeschlagen haben, aerobe Kapazität es hängt normalerweise mit einem größeren Volumen an grauer Substanz im Gehirn von Menschen zusammen. Dies bedeutet, dass in den beiden Schlüsselbereichen für die Verarbeitung von Sprache und Lesen die untere Stirnrotation und die obere Zeitrotation von körperlicher Betätigung profitieren.


"Körperliche Fitness ist ein veränderbarer Faktor durch körperliche Bewegung, und die Kombination von körperlicher Bewegung, die die aerobe Kapazität und die motorischen Fähigkeiten verbessert, wäre ein wirksamer Ansatz, um die Entwicklung des Gehirns und die akademische Leistung bei übergewichtigen und adipösen Kindern zu stimulieren", schlägt er vor Irene Esteban-Cornejo, einer der Autoren dieser Studie.

Angesichts dieser Ergebnisse empfehlen UGR-Forscher Eltern und Pädagogen, sich an die Bedeutung der körperlichen Betätigung für die Entwicklung des Jüngsten zu erinnern. Auf der einen Seite werden die Verantwortlichen für Bildungspolitik gebeten, Anreize wie Sportunterricht zu geben, die von anderen Fächern oft vergessen werden. "Intellektuelle".

Auf der anderen Seite werden Eltern gerufen, damit sie ihren Kindern nicht erlauben, sich sitzend zu bewegen und täglich auf körperliche Aktivität zu setzen. Dies wird nicht nur die Gesundheit verbessern und Krankheiten verhindern, die traditionell auf Fettleibigkeit und Übergewicht zurückzuführen sind, sondern auch die intellektuelle Leistungsfähigkeit der meisten Menschen verbessern klein.


Übung täglich

Angesichts der wissenschaftlichen Beweise das bleib In Formberichten, die sowohl physisch als auch intellektuell von Nutzen sind, ist es am besten, auf ein Leben zu setzen, das die Übung in die tägliche Routine einbezieht. Dies bedeutet nicht nur, einem Fitnessstudio beizutreten oder mit dem Sport zu beginnen, es gibt viele Übungen, die mit einfachen Aktionen große Vorteile bringen können:

- Treppen steigen. Der Aufzug ist sehr nützlich, wenn Sie in die oberen Etagen eines hohen Gebäudes steigen müssen. Wenn jedoch die Anlage, auf die Sie mit dem Kind zugreifen müssen, nicht sehr hoch ist und die Portierung dies zulässt, ist eine Leiter die bessere Option.

- Besuch im Supermarkt. Gehe durch die Gänge, nimm die Tüten heraus und bring sie nach Hause. Es ist wahr, dass es eine körperliche Aktivität von geringer Intensität ist, aber die Kinder zum Supermarkt zu bringen, hält sie aktiv und fern von sesshaften Lebensstilen.

- Denken Sie über die Nützlichkeit des Autos nach. Wie der Aufzug kann das Auto ein nützliches Werkzeug sein, um große Entfernungen zu erreichen. Warum aber nicht auf Kurztrips verzichten? Wenn Sie Ihre Beine verwenden, um Brot zu kaufen oder zur Schule zu gehen, wenn dies relativ nahe ist, wird dies große Vorteile bringen.

- Nutzung der Freizeit. Das Wochenende kommt, nach einer Woche wird das Kind diese Freizeit sicherlich für etwas sitzende Routinen nutzen wollen. Eltern sollten sie ermutigen, mit ihren Freunden oder derselben Familie im Park zu spielen. Der Zweck ist klar: Vermeiden Sie, dass diese Momente vor dem Bildschirm umgekehrt werden.

Damián Montero

Video: Dr. Gerald Hüther: Mädchen und Jungs - wie verschieden sind sie?


Interessante Artikel

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Um gut zu sitzen die Grundlagen der Selbstkontrolle In der Pubertät unserer Kinder müssen sie die Gründe, warum sie auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise handeln, assimilieren. Wenn sie jünger waren, als...