Find a relationship between attention problems and farsightedness

That a child presents attention problems at school does not mean that he is a bad student. These attitudes are not always related to bad behavior and there are times when the youngest can be affected by a problem that provokes them in this situation. An example is the ADHD, now a new study has proven that vision can also explain these situations.

The Ohio State University has found a relationship between the farsightedness in children and less attention at school. The greatest difficulty in seeing the closest objects and attending to the environment that surrounds them, makes the students disconnect from this context. At the same time, this problem in the eyes makes their coordination is blocked preventing them from performing usual tasks.


Trend to the lowest notes

To analyze the influence of farsightedness In the school life of the youngest children, researchers shared the results of 250 preschool children with moderate hyperopia, and almost 250 with a normal view. Both groups had to perform common tasks in this educational stage to check how the tests in this case changed.

The study data showed that hyperopic children were more likely to get low grades on these tests. One of the explanations it is the smallest visual-motor capacity, for example the coordination between hands and eyes. This fact hurts tasks as simple as writing or making crafts, even in cases where this visual problem was light or moderate.


"We knew from previous work that preschool and kindergarten children with uncorrected farsightedness have lower early literacy, and this new study shows that these children have even more deficits from an early age," explains the study's author. Marjean Taylor Kulp.

Treatment of hyperopia

If there are suspicions that a child can be hyperopic, for example it is difficult to read letters nearby, you should go to the oculist to perform a vision test. The child will be subjected to a standard vision test, in which the child will be asked to read letters or recognize drawings of different sizes in a box placed at the other end of the room.

The next step will be to determine the degree of hyperopia. In the most mild, children do not usually need treatment, since by training the accommodation they can focus well and achieve a clear vision, both from far and near. When more aggressive symptoms appear, correction methods are glasses.


It is also recommended that children perform their labors under a light or while playing. In this way they will need to force less accommodation and their sight will suffer less. The prescription of glasses for hyperopia will be preceded by the plus sign in front of the number of diopters (for example, + 3).

Damián Montero

Video: 10 Great Exercises to Improve Your Eyesight


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Finden Sie eine Beziehung zwischen Aufmerksamkeitsproblemen und Weitsichtigkeit

Dass ein Kind in der Schule Aufmerksamkeitsprobleme hat, bedeutet nicht, dass es ein schlechter Schüler ist. Diese Einstellungen beziehen sich nicht immer auf schlechtes Benehmen, und manchmal kann der Jüngste von einem Problem betroffen sein, das ihn in dieser Situation provoziert. Ein Beispiel ist das ADHSJetzt hat eine neue Studie bewiesen, dass Vision diese Situationen auch erklären kann.

Die Ohio State University hat eine Beziehung zwischen der Hyperopie bei Kindern und weniger Aufmerksamkeit in der Schule. Die größte Schwierigkeit, die nächstgelegenen Objekte zu sehen und auf die sie umgebende Umgebung zu achten, trennt die Schüler von diesem Kontext. Gleichzeitig bewirkt dieses Problem in den Augen, dass ihre Koordination blockiert wird und sie daran gehindert werden, gewöhnliche Aufgaben auszuführen.


Trend zu den tiefsten Noten

Um den Einfluss von zu analysieren Hyperopie Im Schulleben der jüngsten Kinder teilten die Forscher die Ergebnisse von 250 Vorschulkindern mit mäßiger Hyperopie und fast 250 mit normaler Sicht. Beide Gruppen mussten in dieser Ausbildungsphase gemeinsame Aufgaben ausführen, um zu überprüfen, wie sich die Tests in diesem Fall veränderten.

Die Studiendaten zeigten, dass hyperopische Kinder bei diesen Tests häufiger schlechte Noten erhalten. Einer der Erklärungen es ist die kleinste visuelle motorische Kapazität, zum Beispiel die Koordination zwischen Händen und Augen. Diese Tatsache schmerzt Aufgaben, die so einfach sind wie Schreiben oder Basteln, selbst in Fällen, in denen dieses visuelle Problem leicht oder mäßig war.


"Wir wussten aus früheren Arbeiten, dass Vorschulkinder und Kindergartenkinder mit unkorrigierter Weitsichtigkeit eine geringere frühe Lesekompetenz aufweisen, und diese neue Studie zeigt, dass diese Kinder schon in jungen Jahren noch mehr Defizite aufweisen", erklärt der Autor der Studie. Marjean Taylor Kulp.

Behandlung von Hyperopie

Wenn der Verdacht besteht, dass ein Kind hyperopisch sein kann, es zum Beispiel schwierig ist, Briefe in der Nähe zu lesen, sollten Sie zum Okulisten gehen, um einen Test durchzuführen Sehtest. Das Kind wird einem Standard-Sehtest unterzogen, bei dem das Kind aufgefordert wird, Buchstaben zu lesen oder Zeichnungen unterschiedlicher Größe in einem Kästchen am anderen Ende des Raums zu erkennen.

Der nächste Schritt besteht darin, den Grad der Hyperopie zu bestimmen. In den meisten mildKinder brauchen normalerweise keine Behandlung, da sie sich durch das Training der Unterkunft gut konzentrieren und eine klare Sicht sowohl von nah als auch von nah erreichen können. Wenn aggressivere Symptome auftreten, sind Korrekturmethoden eine Brille.


Es wird auch empfohlen, dass Kinder ihre Arbeiten unter einem Licht oder beim Spielen. Auf diese Weise müssen sie weniger Unterkunft erzwingen und ihr Sehvermögen wird weniger leiden. Der Brillenverordnung bei Hyperopie wird das Pluszeichen vor der Anzahl der Dioptrien vorangestellt (z. B. + 3).

Damián Montero

Video: Wie du Ordnung in deine Gedanken und Gefühle bringst - Interview Special mit Ryder Carroll


Interessante Artikel

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Wenige Empfindungen sind ärgerlicher als der Schmerz, der durch verursacht wird Migräne. Das Unbehagen, das durch diese Kopfschmerzen empfunden wird, macht uns schwindelig und gibt sogar den Drang,...