Extending compulsory education up to 18 years old, what benefits could it bring?

Together with the home, the educational centers represent the environment of developing most important of children. Knowledge, values ​​and other lessons are learned throughout school, college or university. Given the importance of these locations it is not surprising that the political powers ensure a mandatory stage in which young people must be present in the classrooms to receive these teachings.

Currently education is mandatory up to 16 years old, age from which it is free to continue improving the academic curriculum. But there are those who believe that it should be extended until the age of 18, a way to avoid high school dropout rates and the educational gap among young people.


Improvement of annual income

Francisco López Rupérez, former president of the State School Board, is one of the defenders of compulsory and free education up to 18 years. His reasons are detailed in the report "The extension of basic education up to 18. Benefits and costs." Throughout these pages it is proposed that the Government ensure another two years of training for students to curb school dropout rates by retaining more time for students.

But it is not simply sought to force the students to stay more years in school. This report highlights how the expansion of the training would imply a higher probability of employment among students. The data suggest that an extra year of teaching in the Baccalaureate or Middle Grade FP ensures a greater chance of finding a job and produces an average increase in the individual's annual income close to 12%.


This proposal is not only based on theoretical teaching in the classroom. This report also aims to implement an internship program in this academic curriculum. Ensure the possibility that from the age of 16, students can begin to acquire the skills they will need in the future within their jobs.

The cost of the measure

Of course, expanding compulsory education up to 18 years would have costs, especially at the economic level. Taking this initiative forward would have a cost of 1,000 million euros that they would have to be divided over three legislatures and that they would not be the only change in this area. The report also states that there must be a change in the education system.


The rulers should value the introduction of a new educational system with greater flexibility to organize education. This means giving more ease at the time that students can balance their daytime or evening assistance to the centers and at the same time be able to be present in the internship programs to which they are enrolled.

The sociologist Rafael Feito also collects in Notebooks of Pedagogy Some drawbacks in the extension of compulsory education up to 18 years:

- Not all skills are learned in an academic school, but there are other places where they could be acquired.

- There are students and families who prefer employment to study. This extension would mean closing a door to several young people

- The budgetary cost of schooling the entire population between the ages of 16 and 18 may be excessively high. Something especially complicated in the current economic context.

Damián Montero

Video: The Complete Moderate's Guide to Welfare


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Welche Ausweitung könnte die Schulpflicht bis zum Alter von 18 Jahren ausdehnen?

Die Bildungszentren repräsentieren zusammen mit dem Zuhause die Umgebung von Entwicklung am wichtigsten von Kindern. Wissen, Werte und andere Lektionen werden in der ganzen Schule, am College oder an der Universität gelernt. Angesichts der Bedeutung dieser Orte ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass die politischen Mächte eine verbindliche Phase gewährleisten, in der junge Menschen in den Klassenzimmern anwesend sein müssen, um diese Lehren zu erhalten.

Derzeit ist die Ausbildung obligatorisch bis zu 16 Jahre altAlter, ab dem es frei ist, den akademischen Lehrplan weiter zu verbessern. Es gibt jedoch diejenigen, die glauben, dass es bis zum Alter von 18 Jahren verlängert werden sollte, um Schulabbrecherquoten und die Bildungslücke bei jungen Menschen zu vermeiden.


Verbesserung des Jahreseinkommens

Francisco López Rupérez, ehemaliger Präsident der staatlichen Schulbehörde, ist einer der Verteidiger der obligatorischen und kostenlosen Schulbildung bis zu 18 Jahren. Seine Gründe werden ausführlich im Bericht "Die Erweiterung der Grundbildung auf 18 Jahre beschrieben. Nutzen und Kosten." Auf diesen Seiten wird vorgeschlagen, dass die Regierung zwei weitere Schulungen für die Schüler durchführt, um die Schulabbrecherquote zu senken, indem mehr Zeit für die Schüler bleibt.

Es wird jedoch nicht einfach versucht, die Schüler dazu zu zwingen, mehr Schuljahre zu verbringen. Dieser Bericht zeigt auf, wie die Erweiterung des Ausbildung würde eine höhere Beschäftigungswahrscheinlichkeit unter Studenten bedeuten. Die Daten deuten darauf hin, dass ein zusätzliches Lehrjahr im Baccalaureate oder Middle Grade FP eine größere Chance bietet, einen Arbeitsplatz zu finden, und zu einem durchschnittlichen Anstieg des Jahreseinkommens der Person von nahezu 12% führt.


Dieser Vorschlag basiert nicht nur auf theoretischem Unterricht im Unterricht. Mit diesem Bericht soll auch ein Praktikumsprogramm umgesetzt werden akademischer Lehrplan. Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Schüler ab dem Alter von 16 Jahren die Fähigkeiten erwerben können, die sie in der Zukunft in ihrem Beruf benötigen werden.

Die Kosten der Maßnahme

Eine Erweiterung der Schulpflicht auf 18 Jahre hätte natürlich Kosten, insbesondere auf wirtschaftlicher Ebene. Diese Initiative voranzubringen, hätte Kosten 1.000 Millionen Euro Sie müssten sich auf drei Gesetzgeber aufteilen und wären nicht die einzige Änderung in diesem Bereich. In dem Bericht heißt es auch, dass sich das Bildungssystem ändern muss.


Die Machthaber sollten die Einführung eines neuen Bildungssystems mit größerer Flexibilität bei der Organisation der Bildung schätzen. Das bedeutet mehr zu geben Einrichtung zu einem Zeitpunkt, an dem die Studierenden ihre Unterstützung während des Tages oder Abends in den Zentren ausgleichen können und gleichzeitig an den Praktikumsprogrammen teilnehmen können, für die sie eingeschrieben sind.

Der Soziologe Rafael Feito sammelt auch in Notizbücher der Pädagogik Einige Nachteile bei der Verlängerung der Schulpflicht auf 18 Jahre:

- Nicht alle Fähigkeiten werden in einer akademischen Schule erlernt, aber es gibt andere Orte, an denen sie erworben werden könnten.

- Es gibt Studenten und Familien, die eine Beschäftigung bevorzugen, um zu studieren. Diese Erweiterung würde bedeuten, eine Tür für mehrere junge Menschen zu schließen

- Die Haushaltskosten für die Schulung der gesamten Bevölkerung zwischen 16 und 18 Jahren können übermäßig hoch sein. Etwas, das im aktuellen wirtschaftlichen Kontext besonders kompliziert ist.

Damián Montero

Video: Kitagebühren-Freistellungsgesetz - 15.09.2016 - 83. Plenarsitzung


Interessante Artikel

Heilmittel gegen Langeweile von Kindern

Heilmittel gegen Langeweile von Kindern

Die Ferien kommen und mit ihnen die begehrte Freizeit. Unsere Kleinen freuen sich auf die Feiertage, wenn die Zeit reif ist Langeweile ist das dominierende Tonikum in diesen Tagen.Ihre Aktivität...