First-time grandparents, how to assimilate the situation?

There comes a time in life when the family grows in other ways. The children have become adults, they have fallen in love and created their own home. It is in these situations when those who were once parents, become grandparents, a situation that like any change in life can suppose certain vertigo. What does this role imply within the family?

What is the difference between being parents and being grandparents? Given the possible uncertainties of being a first-timer in this new role, the American Association of Retired Persons, AARP, has developed a guide to guide people who are opening in this new role. A way to accompany in this change that shows that in life it is never too late to learn.


Transmit love

What does a grandfather do? AARP makes clear, the mission of this person in the family is the same as has been given to date: enjoy the happiness that transmits the home. Your role will remain the same as the role you played, the help to their children, although now it must be otherwise. If in the past they were educated for other purposes, now they have to act as counselors.

Just as grandparents are new, the grandchild's parents will be too. What better than to offer all the knowledge gained over the years? Without imposing the criteria and respecting the decisions of the progenitors, always have to be willing to pick up the phone to answer possible questions since it is very possible that these problems were solved by the grandparents in the past, although with their own children.


From this Association it is remembered that grandparents do not have to be parents of their grandchildren. We must give the opportunity to be the parents of these who learn what this role means. There is a big difference between being support for to be the fundamental piece in this development. This responsibility corresponds to their children, who now assume the witness.

The keys of good grandfather

These are some keys that will help grandparents to adapt to this new situation in life:

- Be clear to what extent they can help. Do not compromise by making excesses either by meddling in education or taking on more responsibilities than you owe.

- Remember that the forces are not the same. You do not have the same impetus as before when you left father, so you have to respect yourself in this regard.

- If you have to take care of the grandchildren and there are difficulties, talk about it when the children are not there, looking for solutions, but never questioning the criteria of the parents: the child does not want to eat a certain food, when to go to the doctor, etc.


- Discover the satisfaction of being able to help your children in the task of educating their grandchildren.

- Knowing that in the end it does not matter so much the recognition, as the residue of love and trust that they leave in their grandchildren, that is priceless and irreplaceable.

- If there are several children that require the care of the grandchildren, look for the most appropriate and balanced situation.

Damián Montero

Video: Pronunciation: pronouncing 'nd'


Interesting Articles

Educate from the tranquility

Educate from the tranquility

Being a parent is not an easy task, nobody has taught us educate from the tranquility and the day to day does not make the task easy, from the alarm clock until we go back to bed we have done a lot...

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

As they get older, our children will have to assume new roles at home. Around 9 or 10 years old, these are some of the daily Homeworks that they should be able to do for themselves.8 skills that...

Reasons to encourage running in the family

Reasons to encourage running in the family

The sport is necessary. Go for a run or to do 'Running' It can be a very good option to exercise and, in addition, it is fashionable. But why not practice it in family? The truth is that, although...

Erstmals Großeltern, wie kann man die Situation aufnehmen?

Es gibt eine Zeit im Leben, in der die Familie auf andere Weise wächst. Die Kinder sind erwachsen geworden, sie haben sich verliebt und ihr eigenes Zuhause geschaffen. Es ist in diesen Situationen, wenn diejenigen, die früher Eltern waren, werden GroßelternEine Situation, die wie jede Veränderung im Leben einen gewissen Schwindel voraussetzen kann. Was bedeutet diese Rolle in der Familie?

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Eltern und Sein Großeltern? Angesichts der möglichen Unsicherheiten, in dieser neuen Rolle erstmalig tätig zu sein, kann das Amerikanische Vereinigung der RentnerAARP hat einen Leitfaden entwickelt, der Personen, die sich in dieser neuen Rolle öffnen, führt. Eine Begleitung, die zeigt, dass es im Leben nie zu spät ist, um zu lernen.


Liebe übermitteln

Was macht ein Großvater? AARP macht deutlich, dass die Mission dieser Person in der Familie dieselbe ist, die bisher gegeben wurde: Genießen Sie das Glück, das Ihr Zuhause vermittelt. Ihre Rolle bleibt dieselbe wie die, die Sie gespielt haben hilfe zu ihren Kindern, obwohl es jetzt anders sein muss. Wenn sie früher zu anderen Zwecken ausgebildet wurden, müssen sie jetzt als Berater fungieren.

So wie Großeltern neu sind, werden auch die Eltern des Enkelkindes dies tun. Was gibt es Schöneres, als all das Wissen, das Sie über die Jahre erworben haben, anzubieten? Ohne die Kriterien aufzuerlegen und die Entscheidungen des VorläuferIch muss immer bereit sein, das Telefon abzuholen, um mögliche Fragen zu beantworten, da diese Probleme möglicherweise von den Großeltern in der Vergangenheit gelöst wurden, wenn auch mit ihren eigenen Kindern.


Von dieser Vereinigung wird daran erinnert, dass Großeltern nicht Eltern ihrer Enkelkinder sein müssen. Wir müssen die Gelegenheit geben, Eltern zu sein, die lernen, was diese Rolle bedeutet. Es gibt einen großen Unterschied zwischen dem Sein Unterstützung das grundlegende Stück dieser Entwicklung sein. Diese Verantwortung entspricht ihren Kindern, die jetzt den Zeugen übernehmen.

Die Schlüssel des guten Großvaters

Das sind einige Schlüssel das wird Großeltern helfen, sich an diese neue Lebenssituation anzupassen:

- Machen Sie sich klar, inwieweit sie helfen können. Machen Sie keine Kompromisse, indem Sie Exzesse machen, indem Sie sich entweder in die Bildung einmischen oder mehr Verantwortung übernehmen, als Sie schulden.

- Denken Sie daran, dass die Kräfte nicht gleich sind. Sie haben nicht den gleichen Anstoß wie zuvor, als Sie den Vater verlassen haben, deshalb müssen Sie sich diesbezüglich respektieren.

- Wenn Sie sich um die Enkelkinder kümmern müssen und Schwierigkeiten auftreten, sprechen Sie darüber, wenn die Kinder nicht da sind, suchen Sie nach Lösungen, aber stellen Sie niemals die Kriterien der Eltern in Frage: Das Kind möchte kein bestimmtes Essen essen, wann es zum Arzt geht usw.


- Entdecken Sie die Zufriedenheit, Ihren Kindern bei der Erziehung ihrer Enkelkinder helfen zu können.

- Zu wissen, dass es am Ende nicht so sehr auf die Anerkennung ankommt, da der Rest an Liebe und Vertrauen, den sie ihren Enkelkindern hinterlassen, unbezahlbar und unersetzlich ist.

- Wenn es mehrere Kinder gibt, die die Fürsorge der Enkelkinder benötigen, achten Sie auf die am besten geeignete und ausgewogenste Situation.

Damián Montero

Video: Plant-Based Symposium: Dr. Ludwig Manfred Jacob Teil 1 (with English subtitles)


Interessante Artikel

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Üben Sport hat viele gesundheitliche Vorteile und viele Eltern, die sich dieser Vorteile bewusst sind, weisen auf alle Sportarten aller Art hin, dank der Tatsache, dass es heute in jeder Schule oder...