Exercise against depression

Nobody likes to be sad, but there are times when this emotional state can not be avoided. In fact, there are situations in which even this feeling goes further and ends up causing people in such serious problems as, for example, depression. A situation that can plunge the individual into a well from which it is very difficult to leave.

But precisely this is what you have to do in these situations: go out, leave home and start practicing. So says one American Journal of Psychiatry where people are encouraged with depression to abandon a sedentary lifestyle and get going to solve their problem. An advice also addressed to the relatives of these individuals.


It even helps prevent

In order to analyze the influence of exercise on people's mental health, the researchers analyzed during a period of 11 years to a group of almost 34,000 participants who showed no symptoms of suffering from any mental disorder. All of them had to report periodically on the periodicity with which they exercised, type and intensity of these activities.

At the same time they had to undergo an examination to review possible mental health problems and answer some questionnaires with this same purpose. Once the two results were shared, it was found that the 12% of cases of depression could have been avoided if these people had done one hour of weekly exercise.


On the contrary, the research also showed that those people who did not perform any type of physical activity had a 44% more likely to develop a depression, or other type of disorder compared to those who performed between one and two hours a week.

Living with depression

Not only should a depressed family member be encouraged to go out on the street to exercise. Many other aspects have to be taken into account in order to deal with this relative and help him as much as possible:

- Understand how depression works and that the reactions and changes that occur are not by the will of the person, but effects of depression.

- Do not reinforce the complaints of people with depression or their negative thoughts, do not pay too much attention to depressive behaviors to not feed their negative view of things.


- Control your own anger. If the person with depression has not responded as expected, we must avoid emotionally exploding and only increase the feeling of uselessness of the person making him feel worse.

- Propose activities taking into account that the depressed person will not be very willing to perform them. They must be activities that do not require much effort, start with small things like a little walk in the park, go out and buy clothes, etc.

- Reinforce small changes anything, such as a smile, take the initiative in something, get ready, etc, in this way positive emotions will be generated and predisposed to its repetition in the future.

Damián Montero

Video: Can Exercise Treat Depression?


Interesting Articles

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Although it does not have a good reputation, children need a degree of discipline that does not oppose educating in freedom or affection. The value of discipline will be the key to success in all...

10 tips to care for atopic skin

10 tips to care for atopic skin

The atopic dermatitis, very common in children, is produced by a deficit in the production of ceramides from the skin. Ceramides are a family of natural lipids, thanks to them the cells are held...

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

The consumption of drugs such as alcohol, joints or pills can potentially be the most destructive activity in which our adolescent children can be involved. All drugs affect the health of people and...

Übung gegen Depressionen

Niemand ist gerne traurig, aber manchmal kann dieser emotionale Zustand nicht vermieden werden. In der Tat gibt es Situationen, in denen sogar dieses Gefühl weitergeht und Menschen in ernsthafte Probleme bringt, wie zum Beispiel Depression. Eine Situation, die das Individuum in einen Brunnen stürzen kann, aus dem es sehr schwierig ist, ihn zu verlassen.

Aber genau das müssen Sie in diesen Situationen tun: Gehen Sie raus, verlassen Sie das Haus und beginnen Sie mit dem Üben. So sagt einer Amerikanische Zeitschrift für Psychiatrie wo Menschen mit ermutigt werden Depression eine sitzende Lebensweise aufzugeben und ihr Problem zu lösen. Ein Rat auch an die Angehörigen dieser Personen gerichtet.


Es hilft sogar zu verhindern

Um den Einfluss von Bewegung auf die psychische Gesundheit von Menschen zu analysieren, analysierten die Forscher während eines Zeitraums von 11 Jahre alt an eine Gruppe von fast 34.000 Teilnehmern, die keine Symptome einer psychischen Störung zeigten. Sie alle mussten periodisch über die Periodizität, Art und Intensität dieser Aktivitäten berichten.

Gleichzeitig mussten sie sich einer Untersuchung unterziehen, um mögliche psychische Probleme zu überprüfen und einige Fragebögen mit demselben Zweck zu beantworten. Sobald die beiden Ergebnisse geteilt wurden, wurde festgestellt, dass die 12% Depressionen hätten vermieden werden können, wenn diese Menschen wöchentlich eine Stunde trainiert hätten.


Im Gegenteil, die Untersuchung zeigte auch, dass die Personen, die keinerlei körperliche Aktivität ausübten, eine Krankheit hatten 44% Es ist wahrscheinlicher, dass eine Depression oder eine andere Art von Störung im Vergleich zu denen auftritt, die zwischen einer und zwei Stunden pro Woche gelitten haben.

Mit Depressionen leben

Ein depressives Familienmitglied sollte nicht nur dazu ermutigt werden, auf die Straße zu gehen, um sich zu bewegen. Viele andere Aspekte müssen berücksichtigt werden, um mit diesem Verwandten umzugehen und ihm so viel wie möglich zu helfen:

- Verstehen, wie Depressionen funktionieren und dass die Reaktionen und Veränderungen nicht vom Willen der Person abhängen, sondern von den Auswirkungen der Depression.

- Verstärken Sie nicht die Beschwerden von Menschen mit Depressionen oder ihren negativen Gedanken, achten Sie nicht zu sehr auf depressive Verhaltensweisen, um ihre negative Sicht der Dinge nicht zu beeinflussen.


- Kontrolliere deinen eigenen Ärger. Wenn die Person mit Depression nicht wie erwartet reagiert hat, müssen wir die emotionale Explosion vermeiden und nur das Gefühl der Nutzlosigkeit der Person erhöhen, wodurch sie sich schlechter fühlt.

- Schlagen Sie Aktivitäten vor, bei denen berücksichtigt wird, dass die depressive Person nicht sehr bereit ist, sie auszuführen. Es müssen Aktivitäten sein, die keine großen Anstrengungen erfordern, mit kleinen Dingen wie einem kleinen Spaziergang im Park beginnen, ausgehen und Kleidung kaufen usw.

- Verstärken Sie kleine Änderungen, z. B. ein Lächeln, ergreifen Sie die Initiative, machen Sie sich bereit usw. Auf diese Weise werden positive Emotionen erzeugt, die in Zukunft zu Wiederholungen neigen.

Damián Montero

Video: Yoga gegen Depression


Interessante Artikel

Hast du die Erlaubnis deine Kinder anzuschreien?

Hast du die Erlaubnis deine Kinder anzuschreien?

Viele Eltern haben beschlossen, ihre Kinder großzuziehen ohne schreien, ohne strafen und ohne peitschen. Sie haben sich dafür entschieden, die Kontrolle nicht zu verlieren und Konflikte möglichst...

10 Modelle der Freundschaft zwischen Kindern

10 Modelle der Freundschaft zwischen Kindern

Soziale Beziehungen und das Konzept der Freundschaft als solches entstehen erst nach einem bestimmten Alter. Kinder als soziale Wesen neigen, da sie sehr jung sind, zu anderen Kindern. Sie müssen in...