Women to the tail of enrollment in ICT careers

What career study? What future to choose? In front of the students there are many paths to follow and very different between them. However, it seems that some paths still seem closed to some sectors of society such as women, who continue to be underrepresented in some itineraries as explained in the latest OECD report.

Some data that confirm a certain gender bias in careers universities related to the technological world, in which women occupy a small percentage. In other itineraries, the trend is the opposite. A trend that not only happens within Spain, but is a common feature in all countries that participate in the development of this study.


Different percentages

As has been said, in Spain those careers related to ICT have a low volume of female students. The percentage of this genre remains at 12%, a number close to the OECD average, which stands at the 19%. Which means that this type of itinerary is still seen as something reserved for the male gender.

On the contrary, in other careers related to well-being and health, the percentage of women is greater than that of men, standing at 72%, a figure lower than the OECD average which stands at 75%. Higher education-related studies also find a greater presence female with 79%, one point more than the average.


You have to go to careers like Law and Business to find balanced percentages. In these itineraries, the female gender represents 55% of enrollment, a trend that educational agents point out that must be achieved in other areas.

"The Spanish public authorities aim to reduce the gender gap through guidance and information services that ensure equal opportunities for men and women when choosing a study area ", they explain in this report.

Decline in Vocational Training

In this OECD report, too has been attended the other possible education in the younger generations. It is interesting at this point to attend vocational training since adults between 25 and 34 years who follow this itinerary of higher degree have an employment rate of 74%, higher than that of those with a general qualification, 63%. However, Spain has one of the lowest rates of enrollment in FP of the OECD, 12% compared to 26% on average.


Another fact that stands out is that one third of young people in this country, between 25 and 34 years, has not completed secondary education. Data that almost double the OECD average: 16%.

Damián Montero

Video: Eighth Annual Emerging Markets Forum Business Powering Africa Forward


Interesting Articles

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Given the insistent recommendation to include in the daily diet, both children and adults, a greater amount of fruits and vegetables, many people do not notice the difference that may be in consuming...

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Many times, fashion movies also become the trend in a wide range of sectors, especially the 'merchandasing', with toys as the maximum exponent. This has happened in Spain, where the movie Star Wars...

The use of digital tablets for learning

The use of digital tablets for learning

Although the use ofDigital tablets may present certain disadvantages for children, to carry out activities in the school improves the learning of the students, according to the 87% of the teachers...

How to act in front of a couple discussion

How to act in front of a couple discussion

"I've been trying to explain for many years that there are attitudes towards life and ways of behaving that I do not like and that make me suffer. I'm tired, it does not seem to know and it does...

Frauen bis zum Ende der Einschreibung in IKT-Karrieren

Was Rennen studieren? Welche Zukunft zu wählen? Vor den Schülern gibt es viele Wege, die sehr unterschiedlich sind. Es scheint jedoch, dass einige Wege für einige Bereiche der Gesellschaft wie Frauen noch immer offen zu sein scheinen, die in einigen Reiserouten weiterhin unterrepräsentiert sind, wie im neuesten OECD-Bericht erläutert.

Einige Daten, die eine gewisse geschlechtsspezifische Tendenz in bestätigen Rennen Universitäten im Zusammenhang mit der technologischen Welt, in der Frauen einen kleinen Prozentsatz besetzen. Bei anderen Routen ist der Trend umgekehrt. Ein Trend, der nicht nur in Spanien auftritt, sondern in allen Ländern, die an der Entwicklung dieser Studie beteiligt sind, ein gemeinsames Merkmal ist.


Unterschiedliche Prozentsätze

Wie bereits gesagt, haben in IKT-bezogenen Karrieren nur wenige Studentinnen. Der Prozentsatz dieser Gattung liegt weiterhin bei 12%, einer Zahl, die nahe am OECD-Durchschnitt liegt 19%. Dies bedeutet, dass diese Art von Reiseroute immer noch als etwas für das männliche Geschlecht reserviert gilt.

Im Gegensatz dazu ist der Anteil der Frauen in anderen Berufen, die mit Wohlbefinden und Gesundheit zusammenhängen, mit 72% höher als die der Männer, was unter dem OECD-Durchschnitt von 75% liegt. Hochschulbezogene Studien finden auch ein größere Präsenz weiblich mit 79%, ein Punkt mehr als der Durchschnitt.


Man muss gerne in die Karriere gehen Recht und Geschäft ausgewogene Prozentsätze zu finden. In diesen Reiserouten macht das weibliche Geschlecht 55% der Einschreibung aus, ein Trend, auf den Bildungsakteure hinweisen, der in anderen Bereichen erreicht werden muss.

"Die spanischen Behörden streben eine Verringerung der geschlechtsspezifische Unterschiede "durch Beratung und Informationsdienste, die gleiche Chancen für Männer und Frauen bei der Auswahl eines Untersuchungsgebiets gewährleisten", erklären sie in diesem Bericht.

Rückgang der Berufsausbildung

Auch in diesem OECD-Bericht wurde besucht die andere mögliche Ausbildung in den jüngeren Generationen. Es ist an dieser Stelle interessant, an einer Berufsausbildung teilzunehmen, da Erwachsene zwischen 25 und 34 Jahren, die diesen Weg des höheren Studiengangs befolgen, eine Beschäftigungsquote von 74% haben, eine höhere als die der allgemein qualifizierten Personen, 63%. Spanien weist jedoch mit 12% eine der niedrigsten Einschreibungsraten im RP der OECD auf, verglichen mit 26% im Durchschnitt.


Eine weitere Tatsache, die auffällt, ist das ein Drittel von jungen Menschen in diesem Land zwischen 25 und 34 Jahren hat die Sekundarstufe nicht abgeschlossen. Daten, die den OECD-Durchschnitt fast verdoppeln: 16%.

Damián Montero

Video: How to gain control of your free time | Laura Vanderkam


Interessante Artikel

Frauen in sozialen Netzwerken

Frauen in sozialen Netzwerken

Frauen übernehmen die Führung in sozialen Netzwerken. Sie führen Portale wie Facebook, Twitter, Google+ oder Youtubeund das macht Unternehmen zur Kenntnis. Aus diesem Grund konzentrieren sich immer...

Tarragona mit Kindern bereisen

Tarragona mit Kindern bereisen

Wenn wir uns entschließen, den ländlichen Tourismus in der Provinz Tarragona für einige Tage zu genießen und mit Kindern zu reisen, müssen wir natürlich versuchen, dass zumindest einige der Orte, die...