Welcome to the university ... and a new way of studying

They have achieved the great achievement of successfully passing the Bachillerato and the University Entrance Exam. But many of those good students who have endless positive grades in their school years, see their grades drop drastically when the college. How to prevent this from happening?

Suddenly, one month of June ends school life and one month of September the university begins. Everything is new for young people. The center of studies is new, possibly much larger, with more impersonal classrooms, open, without that concept of 'playground' in which they have lived their childhood and adolescence. The school route or walking to class is over. Most likely, you have to use public transport to get to the college. And that takes time, effort, punctuality.


New ones are also friends. It is one of the biggest changes that occur when entering the university stage. Usually, friends of the school share not only hobbies, but socioeconomic stratum and area of ​​residence. The college take the young out of that little bubble.

The teachers are new, and completely unknown, as the students are for them. The boys enter class without any reference to who they will meet on the stage, what their classes will be like, their exams, their way of qualifying.

The method of work and study of the university

But what is new is the university's own method of work, different for students and also for parents who, possibly, study in the traditional system of partial exams in February, late in June and recoveries in September. Now, everything has changed and the so-called Plan Bologna, the European Higher Education Area, requires a different form of work for which Baccalaureate students are still poorly prepared.


The background that impregnates Bologna from the pedagogical point of view means less classroom hours, more personal work and a system of continuous evaluation that replaces the old one "to play it all the day of the exam". This transformation requires a change in the attitudes of study so that students can face the challenge of the new system and take advantage of it.

The current idea implies more work on the part of the student. Teachers maintain some of the classes with the traditional format to lay the foundations of the subject, but will deal with part of the content through compulsory readings, personal projects, group work, public exhibitions and other systems that allow students to acquire personally your knowledge. The teacher becomes a guide in their own learning.

And they also participate in a freedom that they do not always know how to manage correctly. The problem for many of them is that they do not adapt to the way of studying that this new stage demands.


Keys to get to college is not a problem

1. The library, a new space
In those hours of work that the students have to learn to manage in their own schedules, it is very convenient that they take advantage of the facilities of their Faculty or School to work, since they will discover the usefulness of the library, open computer rooms, and laboratories and classrooms with free access.

One of the purposes of the current system is to work with students on their research skills, which is why it is essential that they become familiar with the primary sources of knowledge: books. It is true that there is much on the Internet, but it is also true that there is a lot on paper and that they need to learn how to handle it.

2. Internet is also a library
The network has become synonymous with unlimited knowledge, but when children reach university education, it is essential that they know what materials the Internet offers them are useful and reliable and which ones are not. And on the Internet there are too many unreliable materials. Precisely to avoid this problem, various databases of high-level academic or informative articles have emerged. In this way, the student guarantees that the material he / she is reading does not come, for example, from plagiarism, or from uncorrected works of other students, or from non-accredited authors. The filters needed to publish an academic article in a specialized journal are sufficient guarantee of quality.

On digital platforms such as Google Scholar (scholar.google.es) or Dialnet (dialnet.unirioja.es), we have the guarantee that all the material we find is well contrasted. In addition, Google has a service with books or book fragments that can be consulted online.

3. How do I write an essay?
One of the great gaps in the Spanish teaching systems compared to the Anglo-Saxons is that writing and oratory are little enhanced. They are models in which memory prevails, although this trend is changing little by little.But we are still surprised to see in any American film how the college students, from their early years, are accustomed to submit jobs for those who have had to investigate on their own, propose hypotheses, find arguments, raise a structure and draw their own conclusions.

In the university they will demand the students this type of work and they will have to learn to carry out the methodology of all research, besides developing skills for writing and public exposure. There are numerous edited books that can help young people to know these basic techniques of argumentation and rhetoric.

4. Personalized tutorials
Having fewer class hours than our generation did does not mean working less the subjects. On the contrary, the idea, underutilized by many university students, is that their personal work is complemented with the constant support of the teacher.

In most of the centers of higher education teachers have a schedule of tutorials almost as wide as the schedule of classes and are available in that period to resolve any questions or delve into issues that may have been unclear.

Some universities are implementing digital platforms that allow, in addition, to maintain online tutorials, through chats, discussion forums and even videoconferences. But students have to be aware of the need for close contact with the teacher, who will always be available to guide that personal work that completes the academic exhibitions in the classroom.

Alicia Gadea

Video: My University STUDY ROUTINE | How I Study (Tips + Advice)


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Willkommen an der Universität ... und eine neue Art zu studieren

Sie haben den großen Erfolg des erfolgreichen Bestehens des Bachillerato und der Aufnahmeprüfung für die Universität erreicht. Aber viele dieser guten Schüler, die in ihren Schuljahren endlos positive Noten haben, werden feststellen, dass ihre Noten drastisch sinken, wenn die College. Wie kann man das verhindern?

Plötzlich beendet ein Monat Juni das Schulleben und ein Monat September beginnt die Universität. Für junge Leute ist alles neu. Das Zentrum des Studiums ist neu, möglicherweise viel größer, mit unpersönlichen Klassenzimmern, offen ohne das Konzept des "Spielplatzes", in dem sie ihre Kindheit und Jugend erlebt haben. Die Schulroute oder das Gehen zum Unterricht ist vorbei. Wahrscheinlich müssen Sie die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel benutzen, um zum Hotel zu gelangen College. Und das braucht Zeit, Mühe, Pünktlichkeit.


Neue sind auch Freunde. Es ist eine der größten Veränderungen, die beim Eintritt in die Universitätsphase auftreten. Normalerweise teilen Freunde der Schule nicht nur Hobbys, sondern auch sozioökonomische Schichten und Wohngebiete. Die College Nimm den Jungen aus dieser kleinen Blase.

Die Lehrer sind neu und völlig unbekannt, da die Schüler für sie sind. Die Jungen betreten den Unterricht ohne Bezug darauf, wen sie auf der Bühne treffen werden, wie ihre Klassen aussehen werden, ihre Prüfungen, ihre Art der Qualifikation.

Die Arbeitsweise und das Studium der Universität

Neu ist jedoch die eigene Arbeitsweise der Universität, die für Studierende und auch für Eltern, die möglicherweise im traditionellen System der Teilprüfungen im Februar, Ende Juni und Wiederaufbau im September studieren, unterschiedlich ist. Jetzt hat sich alles geändert, und der sogenannte Plan Bologna, der Europäische Hochschulraum, erfordert eine andere Form der Arbeit, auf die die Abiturienten noch schlecht vorbereitet sind.


Der Hintergrund, der Bologna aus pädagogischer Sicht imprägniert, bedeutet weniger Unterrichtsstunden, mehr persönliche Arbeit und ein System der ständigen Bewertung, das das alte ersetzt, "um den ganzen Tag der Prüfung zu spielen". Diese Transformation erfordert eine Änderung der Einstellung des Studiums, so dass die Schüler sich der Herausforderung des neuen Systems stellen und diese nutzen können.

Die gegenwärtige Idee beinhaltet mehr Arbeit seitens des Schülers. Die Lehrer unterrichten einige der Klassen im traditionellen Format, um die Grundlagen des Themas zu legen, werden jedoch einen Teil des Inhalts durch Pflichtlesungen, persönliche Projekte, Gruppenarbeit, öffentliche Ausstellungen und andere Systeme behandeln, die den Studierenden den Erwerb ermöglichen persönlich dein Wissen. Der Lehrer wird zum Leitfaden für das eigene Lernen.

Und sie haben auch die Freiheit, dass sie nicht immer wissen, wie sie richtig umgehen. Das Problem für viele von ihnen ist, dass sie sich nicht an die Art und Weise des Studiums anpassen, die diese neue Stufe erfordert.


Die Schlüssel zum College sind kein Problem

1. Die Bibliothek, ein neuer Raum
Während der Arbeitsstunden, die die Schüler lernen müssen, um ihre eigenen Zeitpläne zu verwalten, ist es sehr praktisch, dass sie die Einrichtungen ihrer Fakultät oder Schule für die Arbeit nutzen, da sie die Nützlichkeit der Bibliothek, der offenen Computerräume und der Labore sowie des Labors entdecken Klassenzimmer mit freiem Zugang.

Das derzeitige System zielt darauf ab, mit den Studierenden an ihren Forschungsfähigkeiten zu arbeiten, weshalb es wichtig ist, dass sie sich mit den primären Wissensquellen vertraut machen: Büchern. Es ist wahr, dass es im Internet viel gibt, aber es stimmt auch, dass es viel auf dem Papier gibt und sie lernen müssen, wie man damit umgeht.

2. Internet ist auch eine Bibliothek
Das Netzwerk ist zum Synonym für unbegrenztes Wissen geworden, aber wenn Kinder die Hochschulausbildung erreichen, ist es wichtig, dass sie wissen, welche Materialien das Internet anbietet, sie sind nützlich und zuverlässig und welche nicht. Und im Internet gibt es zu viele unzuverlässige Materialien. Um genau dieses Problem zu vermeiden, sind verschiedene Datenbanken mit hochrangigen wissenschaftlichen oder informativen Artikeln entstanden. Auf diese Weise garantiert der Student, dass das Material, das er liest, nicht aus Plagiaten oder unkorrigierten Werken anderer Studenten oder nicht akkreditierten Autoren stammt. Die zur Veröffentlichung eines wissenschaftlichen Artikels in einer Fachzeitschrift erforderlichen Filter sind eine ausreichende Qualitätsgarantie.

Auf digitalen Plattformen wie Google Scholar (scholar.google.es) oder Dialnet (dialnet.unirioja.es) haben wir die Garantie, dass das gesamte Material, das wir finden, gut kontrastiert ist. Darüber hinaus verfügt Google über einen Dienst mit Büchern oder Buchfragmenten, die online abgerufen werden können.

3. Wie schreibe ich einen Aufsatz?
Eine der großen Lücken in den spanischen Lehrsystemen im Vergleich zu den Angelsachsen besteht darin, dass Schreiben und Redekunst nur wenig verbessert werden. Es sind Modelle, bei denen das Gedächtnis vorherrscht, obwohl sich dieser Trend allmählich ändert.Aber wir sind immer noch überrascht zu sehen, wie die College-Studenten von Anfang an daran gewöhnt sind, Jobs für diejenigen vorzuschlagen, die eigenständig recherchieren mussten, Hypothesen vorschlagen, Argumente suchen, eine Struktur aufstellen und ihre eigenen Schlüsse ziehen.

In der Universität werden sie diese Art von Arbeit von den Studenten fordern und sie müssen lernen, die Methodik aller Forschungen durchzuführen, neben der Entwicklung von Fähigkeiten für das Schreiben und die Öffentlichkeit. Es gibt zahlreiche Bücher, die jungen Menschen helfen können, diese grundlegenden Techniken der Argumentation und Rhetorik kennenzulernen.

4. Personalisierte Tutorials
Weniger Unterrichtsstunden zu haben als in unserer Generation, bedeutet nicht, dass die Probanden weniger arbeiten müssen. Im Gegenteil, die Idee, die von vielen Studenten nicht genutzt wird, ist, dass ihre persönliche Arbeit durch die ständige Unterstützung des Lehrers ergänzt wird.

In den meisten Hochschulzentren verfügen die Lehrer über einen Zeitplan mit Tutorials, der fast so groß ist wie der Stundenplan, und stehen in diesem Zeitraum zur Verfügung, um Fragen zu klären oder Probleme zu klären, die möglicherweise unklar waren.

Einige Universitäten implementieren digitale Plattformen, die es zusätzlich ermöglichen, Online-Tutorials durch Chats, Diskussionsforen und sogar Videokonferenzen durchzuführen. Die Schüler müssen sich jedoch der Notwendigkeit eines engen Kontakts mit dem Lehrer bewusst sein, der immer zur Verfügung steht, um die persönliche Arbeit zu leiten, die die akademischen Ausstellungen im Unterricht abschließt.

Alicia Gadea

Video: Erstsemesterbegrüßung: Warum Studenten in Osnabrück studieren


Interessante Artikel

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Alle zum Auto, wir fahren in den Urlaub

Koffer, Taschen, Toilettenartikel und Sport, alle bereit, noch einen Sommer in Urlaub zu fahren, und viele werden es im Familienauto tun. Wir haben sehr darauf geachtet, nichts Notwendiges zu...