What drives a child to choose one food or another at the time of purchase?

The autonomy of a child manifests itself in many ways. From his responsibility to do tasks, through his ability to eat alone, to the management of his money achieved through weekly pay. An economic amount that can be spent on many products, from a storybook to sweets or other food items.

What brings a child to to buy one product or another? Why do you opt for some brands of snacks and not for other more nutritious items? In this question has influenced the study of the Faculty of Sciences and Politics of Nutrition Friedman of the University of Tufts, where a strong link has been found between the decision taken and the brand.


What the child likes

In this study, a total of 116 children Between 8 and 11 years old they received a quantity of money that they could spend on different items, ranging from cookies with traces of chocolate, passing chunks of apple, a strawberry yogurt drink. All of them could be from a recognized brand of fast food or from a generic franchise.

At first the children were exposed to Photographs of the products without revealing the brand and they were asked what items they preferred. In most cases the children opted for cookies. In the second part of the study, the origin of the products was revealed and on this occasion most of the children opted for those items that came from the well-known fast food franchise.


The researchers noted that these data reveal three aspects in children's shopping preferences. On the one hand, that minors They do not pay so much attention to the price since in most cases the cost was left in the second term. At the other end of the table, points out that the tastes of children is another very important issue since these were the ones who decided to buy before the brand was revealed.

Finally, it is also pointed out that the brand is another important point. The experience that the child has had with a spectrum of concrete products invites you to buy them again in the future. Something that is related to the choice of tastes because it is another example of how the little ones enjoy it, is the top point for their future purchases.

The influence of advertising

Nor can we deny the influence of advertising on children in the face of poorly developed judgment. One test is this study where the monetary value was a point that was not taken into account by most of the children. For this reason it is important that parents know how to act to prevent junk food from becoming a wish for the children. More smalls. First of all, what is recommended is to maintain a climate of communication with all the members of the house. This will make it easier for debates to become normal at home.


Parents should normalize the presence of vegetables and fruits at home from a very young age. There is nothing better than letting the children participate in the kitchen as much as possible so that they get used to them. It is also important to highlight the good taste of these foods since often children conceive junk food as only tasty and other products as something unpalatable to the palate.

Nor should we see junk food as a reward, as a reward for effort. Many parents reserve these products for special occasions as good grades. You have to make children see that no matter how good this is, it is better not to abuse it since in the end they can have important consequences.

Damián Montero

Video: CAN PARENTS GUESS WHAT THEIR KID DOES WITH $100? Ep. #1


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Was treibt ein Kind dazu, zum Zeitpunkt des Kaufs das eine oder andere Lebensmittel zu wählen?

Die Autonomie eines Kindes manifestiert sich in vielerlei Hinsicht. Von seiner Verantwortung, Aufgaben zu erledigen, über seine Fähigkeit, alleine zu essen, bis zu seiner Verwaltung Fonds durch wöchentliches Entgelt erzielt. Ein wirtschaftlicher Betrag, der für viele Produkte ausgegeben werden kann, vom Bilderbuch bis hin zu Süßigkeiten oder anderen Lebensmitteln.

Was bringt ein Kind dazu? kaufen ein Produkt oder ein anderes? Warum entscheiden Sie sich für einige Snacks und nicht für andere nahrhaftere Artikel? In dieser Frage hat die Studie der Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften und Ernährungspolitik Friedman von der University of Tufts beeinflusst, wo eine starke Verbindung zwischen der getroffenen Entscheidung und der Marke gefunden wurde.


Was dem Kind gefällt

In dieser Studie insgesamt 116 Kinder Zwischen 8 und 11 Jahren bekamen sie eine Menge Geld, die sie für verschiedene Gegenstände ausgeben konnten, von Keksen mit Schokoladenspuren über Apfelbrocken bis zu einem Erdbeer-Joghurt-Getränk. Alle könnten von einer anerkannten Fast-Food-Marke oder von einer generischen Franchise stammen.

Zuerst wurden die Kinder ausgesetzt Bilder der Produkte, ohne die Marke preiszugeben, und sie wurden gefragt, welche Produkte sie bevorzugen. In den meisten Fällen entschieden sich die Kinder für Cookies. Im zweiten Teil der Studie wurde der Ursprung der Produkte aufgezeigt, und bei dieser Gelegenheit entschieden sich die meisten Kinder für die Artikel, die aus dem bekannten Fast-Food-Franchise stammten.


Die Forscher stellten fest, dass diese Daten drei Aspekte der Einkaufsvorlieben von Kindern enthüllen. Zum einen das Minderjährige Sie achten nicht so sehr auf den Preis, da die Kosten in den meisten Fällen im zweiten Semester belassen wurden. Am anderen Ende der Tabelle wird darauf hingewiesen, dass der Geschmack von Kindern ein weiteres sehr wichtiges Thema ist, da sich diese vor dem Bekanntwerden der Marke für den Kauf entschieden haben.

Schließlich wird auch darauf hingewiesen, dass die Marke ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt ist. Die Erfahrung, die das Kind mit einem gemacht hat Bereich von Betonprodukten lädt Sie ein, diese in Zukunft wieder zu kaufen. Etwas, das mit der Wahl des Geschmacks zusammenhängt, weil es ein weiteres Beispiel dafür ist, wie die Kleinen es genießen, ist der wichtigste Punkt für ihre zukünftigen Einkäufe.

Der Einfluss von Werbung

Auch können wir den Einfluss von Werbung auf Kinder angesichts eines schlecht entwickelten Urteils nicht bestreiten. Ein Test ist diese Studie, bei der der Geldwert ein Punkt war, der von den meisten Kindern nicht berücksichtigt wurde. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, dass Eltern wissen, wie sie vorgehen müssen, um zu verhindern, dass Junk Food zu einem Wunsch der Kinder wird. kleiner. Zuallererst wird empfohlen, ein Klima der Kommunikation mit allen Mitgliedern des Hauses aufrechtzuerhalten. Dies macht es für Debatten einfacher, zu Hause normal zu werden.


Eltern sollten die Anwesenheit von Gemüse und Früchten zu Hause schon in jungen Jahren normalisieren. Es gibt nichts Schöneres, als die Kinder so viel wie möglich an der Küche teilnehmen zu lassen, damit sie sich daran gewöhnen. Es ist auch wichtig, den guten Geschmack dieser hervorzuheben Essen da Kinder oft Junk Food als nur schmackhafte und andere Produkte als etwas Ungenießbares für den Gaumen vorstellen.

Auch sollten wir Junk Food nicht als Belohnung sehen, sondern als Belohnung für Anstrengungen. Viele Eltern reservieren diese Produkte für besondere Anlässe als gute Noten. Sie müssen den Kindern zeigen, dass dies, egal wie gut das auch ist, besser nicht missbraucht wird, da sie am Ende wichtig sein können Folgen.

Damián Montero

Video: Zwetschken schneiden (Pflaumen) in der Praxis - Hauszwetschke und moderne Sorten


Interessante Artikel

Stühle und Kinderwagen: klassisch und modern

Stühle und Kinderwagen: klassisch und modern

Die Probe von Stühle und Kinderwagen für das Baby So vielfältig sind auch die Bedürfnisse von Familien, die das perfekte Modell für ihre Kinder suchen. Ein Neugeborenes wird den Kinderwagen...

Wie kann ich ihnen helfen, mit dem Rauchen aufzuhören?

Wie kann ich ihnen helfen, mit dem Rauchen aufzuhören?

Er gießt Liter und Gallonen Kölnischöl nach Hause, er kommt mit Kaugummi nach Hause, aber man merkt es: Es riecht komisch. Eines Tages stecken Sie eine Waschmaschine, und in der Hosentasche befindet...

Die Bedeutung von Kreativität in der Kindheit

Die Bedeutung von Kreativität in der Kindheit

Die Kreativität Es kann definiert werden als die Fähigkeit, menschliches Potenzial aus verschiedenen integrativen Bereichen des Menschen zu entwickeln und auszudrücken: kognitive und intellektuelle...