Poor vision affects school performance

Vision problems can negatively affect school performance. Now that the school starts, it is convenient to check the children's view because the most common affections are the myopia, astigmatism and farsightedness, a study of the Baviera Clinic. These vision problems can affect the proper development of school performance of children and adolescents.

According to him Study of the Vision in Spain performed by Clínica Baviera, in general lines, parents are aware of the importance of ophthalmological examinations to their children. So, a 64.7% of Spaniards with minor children go to periodic reviews (every year or every two years), but a 31% only go to the ophthalmologist if you think your child has a vision problem.


According to this same study, the main pathologies suffered by Spanish minors are: myopia, which affects the 9,2% of minors, the astigmatism that affects the 5% and hyperopia, which suffer a 4,1% of the Spanish minors. On the other hand, strabismus affects about 3% of children.

Signs of a visual problem in children

Parents should be aware that their children may show signs of having a visual problem such as, difficulty reading signs or the blackboard, get close to paper to write or suffer Headaches. In addition, children with visual deficits tend to reject social activities such as reading or those that take place outdoors depending on their visual limitations.


As explained by the director of the Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus unit of the Baviera Clinic, Dr. Carlos Laria Ochaita, "it is very important to detect and start treating the visual defects as soon as possible as the results of the treatment will be better, in fact, there are some visual problems, such as amblyopia or lazy eye, that if not treated in time can be irreversible. "

Ocular health and school development are closely linked, it is estimated that 30% of school failures may be due to vision problems, so from Clínica Baviera they want to raise awareness among parents about the importance of carrying out periodic checks to know the visual status of your children. "The early detection of a vision problem becomes a key element to avoid school failure", concludes Dr. Carlos Laria.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice:Dr. Carlos Laria Ochaita, director of the Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Unit at Clínica Baviera


Video: 8 Warning Signs of Vision Problems in Kids


Interesting Articles

Family leisure: the eldest also comes

Family leisure: the eldest also comes

It is logical thatour older children Make more and more plans separately with your friends. However, as the family continues to exist, they will also have to participate in some family leisure plans....

Remedies for the colic of the nursing baby

Remedies for the colic of the nursing baby

One of the most frequent concerns that parents have in the first year of their child's life are those sudden cries, which one does not know how to calm down. His origin is as varied as unknown: he...

Strollers for the car, forward or reverse?

Strollers for the car, forward or reverse?

To travel quietly in the car with our children we have to know how to best place the approved seats and avoid shocks. In this way we will live great experiences and we can be assured that nothing...

Schlechte Sicht beeinträchtigt die Schulleistung

Sehstörungen können die Schulleistung negativ beeinflussen. Nun, da die Schule beginnt, ist es bequem, die Sicht der Kinder zu überprüfen, da die häufigsten Zuneigungen die sind Myopie, Astigmatismus und Weitsichtigkeit, eine Studie der Baviera Clinic. Diese Sehprobleme können die korrekte Entwicklung der schulischen Leistungen von Kindern und Jugendlichen beeinträchtigen.

Nach dem Studie der Vision in Spanien Die von Clínica Baviera in allgemeiner Form durchgeführten Eltern sind sich der Bedeutung ophthalmologischer Untersuchungen für ihre Kinder bewusst. Also, a 64,7% der Spanier mit minderjährigen Kindern gehen Sie zu periodischen Reviews (jedes Jahr oder alle zwei Jahre), aber a 31% gehen nur zum Augenarzt, wenn Sie der Meinung sind, dass Ihr Kind ein Sehproblem hat.


Laut dieser Studie sind die Hauptpathologien spanischer Minderjähriger die folgende: Myopie, die Auswirkungen auf die 9,2% von Minderjährigen, die Astigmatismus das betrifft die 5% und Hyperopie, die a leiden 4,1% der spanischen Minderjährigen. Auf der anderen Seite Strabismus betrifft etwa 3% der Kinder.

Anzeichen für ein Sehproblem bei Kindern

Eltern sollten sich bewusst sein, dass ihre Kinder Anzeichen für ein visuelles Problem wie Schwierigkeiten beim Lesen von Schildern oder der Tafel, nähern Sie sich dem Papier, um zu schreiben oder zu leiden Kopfschmerzen. Darüber hinaus neigen Kinder mit Sehschwächen dazu, soziale Aktivitäten wie Lesen oder Aktivitäten im Freien abzulehnen, abhängig von ihren visuellen Einschränkungen.


Wie der Direktor der Abteilung für Pädiatrische Ophthalmologie und Strabismus der Baviera-Klinik, Dr. Carlos Laria Ochaita, erklärte, "ist es sehr wichtig, die Sehfehler so schnell wie möglich zu erkennen und zu behandeln, da die Ergebnisse der Behandlung besser sind Sehstörungen wie Amblyopie oder träge Augen, die, wenn sie nicht rechtzeitig behandelt werden, irreversibel sein können. "

Augengesundheit und Schulentwicklung sind eng miteinander verbunden. Schätzungsweise 30% der Schulversagen können auf Sehstörungen zurückzuführen sein. Daher möchten sie von Clínica Baviera die Eltern auf die Wichtigkeit einer regelmäßigen Überprüfung aufmerksam machen visueller Status Ihrer Kinder. "Die frühzeitige Erkennung eines Sehproblems wird zu einem Schlüsselelement, um Schulversagen zu vermeiden", schließt Dr. Carlos Laria.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis:Dr. Carlos Laria Ochaita, Direktor der Abteilung für Pädiatrische Ophthalmologie und Strabismus bei Clínica Baviera


Video: Winfried Küsel, 02. Anti Aging und langes Leben, Teil 1, Gesundheitsserie 1, amazing discoveries


Interessante Artikel

Woche 35. Schwangerschaft Woche für Woche

Woche 35. Schwangerschaft Woche für Woche

Veränderungen bei der schwangeren Frau: Woche 35 der SchwangerschaftAls Haupt- und Neuheit und charakteristisches Zeichen der Schwangeren in dieser 35. Schwangerschaftswoche Möglicherweise ragt Ihr...

Wie organisiert man Hausarbeit als Familie?

Wie organisiert man Hausarbeit als Familie?

Wie bekommen und verwalten Sie ein Zuhause, damit alle Familienmitglieder sich zu Hause ausruhen und sich wohl fühlen? Die Antwort lautet: kluger Weg, weil dies der beste Weg für das Wort Heimat ist,...

Sortieren und sammeln: alles an seinem Platz

Sortieren und sammeln: alles an seinem Platz

Abholung es ist anders als bestellen. Kinder unter 10 Jahren müssen wissen, dass die Dinge ihren Platz haben, das heißt, dass für alles ein Platz ist. Außerdem benötigen Ihre Kinder logische...