Reptiles and amphibians, rare and dangerous pets

"Mom, dad, I want a pet"This phrase, which is so common in homes, is the beginning of a responsibility, not only because this new animal companion requires certain care to ensure its well-being, but also because in some cases the option chosen is more dangerous than in the beginning. In recent times, new 'friends' have expanded.

Reptiles like turtles or amphibians like frogs have become mascots for some homes. An exotic option that deserves more attention because they can cause some health problems in the smallest of the house. Therefore, from the National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases A series of tips are given to families who choose to do so.


Salmonella risk

From this organism it is explained that although many people believe that the only cause of infections due to Salmonella are contaminated food, there may also be risk when handling reptiles (such as turtles, lizards and snakes) and amphibians (such as frogs and salamanders). Even if they do not touch, the microbes present in their droppings can contaminate everything they touch, including all objects in their environment, such as aquariums and food dishes.

For this reason, it is recommended that children do not have turtles or other reptiles as pets. Proof of this is that in 2015 and 2016 202 people fell ill due to different outbreaks of Salmonella in the United States, linked to the presence of small turtles. The 40% of these cases were under 5 years old, and some individuals who became ill had not even touched the turtles, although they had them at home.


Tips for handling reptiles

In case the child enters Contact with any of these animals for their visit to the house of a friend who owns them or a school activity As visits to the zoo, these rules should be made clear:

- Wash hands after having been in contact with reptiles and amphibians, or with anything else that is within the area where these animals live.

- Children under 5 years of age and people with a weakened immune system should not handle or touch amphibians, reptiles, or get too close to the places where these animals live. Both are groups at higher risk of being hospitalized for Salmonella.

- Avoid cross contamination. Be very careful with reptiles' food and equipment and materials, they can also be contaminated. You also have to exercise hygiene if you have fed any of them.


- Never give kisses or hugs a reptile or an amphibian.

Damián Montero

Video: 10 Exotic Animals You Can Keep as Pets at Home


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Reptilien und Amphibien, seltene und gefährliche Haustiere

"Mama, Papa, ich will eine Maskottchen"Dieser Satz, der in Häusern so verbreitet ist, ist der Beginn einer Verantwortung, nicht nur weil dieser neue Tiergefährte gewisse Sorgfalt erfordert, um sein Wohlbefinden zu gewährleisten, sondern auch, weil die gewählte Option in manchen Fällen gefährlicher ist als am Anfang. In letzter Zeit haben sich neue "Freunde" erweitert.

Reptilien wie Schildkröten oder Amphibien wie Frösche sind geworden Maskottchen für einige häuser. Eine exotische Option, die mehr Aufmerksamkeit verdient, da sie im kleinsten Haus zu gesundheitlichen Problemen führen kann. Daher aus dem Nationales Zentrum für aufkommende und zoonotische Infektionskrankheiten Familien, die sich dafür entscheiden, erhalten eine Reihe von Tipps.


Salmonellenrisiko

Aus diesem Organismus wird erklärt, dass obwohl viele Menschen glauben, dass die einzige Ursache für Infektionen liegt Salmonellen Wenn es sich um kontaminierte Lebensmittel handelt, besteht auch Gefahr beim Umgang mit Reptilien (wie Schildkröten, Eidechsen und Schlangen) und Amphibien (wie Frösche und Salamander). Selbst wenn sie sich nicht berühren, können die Mikroben, die sich in ihrem Kot befinden, alles, was sie berühren, verunreinigen, einschließlich aller Objekte in ihrer Umgebung, wie z. B. Aquarien und Essgeschirr.

Aus diesem Grund wird empfohlen, dass Kinder keine Schildkröten oder andere Reptilien als Haustiere haben. Ein Beweis dafür ist, dass in den Jahren 2015 und 2016 202 Menschen aufgrund verschiedener Ausbrüche von Salmonellen in den Vereinigten Staaten krank waren, die mit der Anwesenheit von kleinen Schildkröten in Verbindung standen. Die 40% Diese Fälle waren unter 5 Jahre alt, und einige Kranke hatten die Schildkröten nicht einmal angerührt, obwohl sie sie zu Hause hatten.


Tipps zum Umgang mit Reptilien

Falls das Kind eintritt Kontakt mit irgendeinem dieser Tiere für ihren Besuch im Haus eines Freundes, der sie besitzt, oder eines Schulaktivität Bei Besuchen im Zoo sollten diese Regeln klargestellt werden:

- Waschen Sie sich die Hände, wenn Sie mit Reptilien und Amphibien in Berührung gekommen sind oder mit anderen Gegenständen in dem Gebiet, in dem diese Tiere leben.

- Kinder unter 5 Jahren und Menschen mit geschwächtem Immunsystem sollten Amphibien und Reptilien nicht berühren oder berühren oder sich den Orten, an denen diese Tiere leben, zu nahe kommen. Bei beiden handelt es sich um Gruppen mit erhöhtem Risiko, für Salmonellen in ein Krankenhaus eingeliefert zu werden.

- Vermeiden Sie Kreuzkontaminationen. Seien Sie sehr vorsichtig mit Lebensmitteln, Ausrüstungen und Materialien von Reptilien, sie können auch kontaminiert sein. Sie müssen auch Hygiene ausüben, wenn Sie eine davon gefüttert haben.


- Geben Sie niemals Küsse oder Umarmungen mit einem Reptil oder einer Amphibie.

Damián Montero

Video: 6 einzigartigste exotische Reptilien der Welt!


Interessante Artikel

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Beim Betreten eines Klassenzimmers für frühkindliche Erziehung wird leicht wahrgenommen, dass Jungen und Mädchen in den ersten Schuljahren durch eine Vielzahl von Aktivitäten lernen, in denen es...