How 21st century children play: 2.0 devices & real games

Today's children's games have changed compared to those of their parents. They are the so-called digital natives and, according to a study carried out by Imaginarium, about 60% of parents are concerned about the fact that their children play more with screens (tablets and mobile phones) than with real games.

However, when playing there is a clear difference between both and the ways of doing it. While the mobile devices children play alone, 71.8% of respondents states that when their children play with traditional toys they they ask that they accompany them.

"Nowadays, the forms of game have changed due to the increasing prominence of the 2.0 devices with respect to the real games, with which the children have been playing in recent years." For this reason, we wanted to know how the children of the XXI century, what are their interests and preferences and the vision of parents regarding the use of screens, in order to continue offering toys that help children have a better and happier childhood, "says Sonia Pérez, expert in education and responsible for pedagogical contents of Imaginarium.


Real games and family involvement

Digital entertainment options such as screens (tablets and mobile phones) represent an important concern for most Spanish parents, and 59.9% of parents who have participated in the Imaginarium study have ratified it. Real Game and Devices 2.0, which has generated a total of 14,998 responses and has a 95% margin of confidence.

Family participation and company is the main difference when playing between technological and traditional toys. Thus, 71.8% of the parents surveyed affirm that when their children play with traditional toys they ask them to accompany them, compared to the 1% who relate this situation when they play with screens and 27.2% who play with their children in both situations. Therefore, the need for social interaction and company is very important for children when they enjoy their leisure time with toys and not with screens.


And, with what kind of toys do children identify the act of playing more? Play is for the 81.5% of children from 0 to 7 years old play with the real game (kitchenettes, dolls, construction games or crafts). However, starting of 8 years and up to 12 that identification drops almost 20 points average percentages, standing at 60.81%.

According to the study, among the games that children enjoy the most are those that encourage creativity such as crafts or musical instruments chosen by 29.15% of respondents, followed by construction games (19.03%) and role-plays (13.66%), the technological options such as playing with screens and watching YouTube channels represent a total of 13.32%, thus overtaking board games that stand at 8.67% .

The 2.0 devices in real life

In the lives of digital natives, 2.0 devices are present in different everyday situations of children and 61.26% of parents it shows in favor that your children play from time to time with this type of technologies.


Trips by car or public transport are the most common situation for the use of screens for age groups 0 to 3 years and 4 to 6. On the contrary, children aged between 7 and 9 years and between 10 and 12, they play more with technological toys after doing homework.

And while the game with screens is common, the weekly time allocated to this type of entertainment is less than 2 hours for 64.5% of parents, while 26.60% would place this use between 2 and 6 hours per week and 6.98% between 6 and 12 hours per week. Only 1.42% and 0.43% believe that their children play with tablets and mobile phones between 12 and 20 hours and more than 20 hours respectively.

The same line marked by this data is reinforced by the proportion of time estimated for real and digital games. In this sense, 51.65% of parents consider that their children allocate more than 90% of leisure time to the real game compared to 0.39% who believe they invest in 2.0 devices.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice:Sonia Pérez, expert in education and responsible for pedagogical contents of Imaginarium.

Video: Digital Play - Potential and Possibilities: Carly Shuler at TEDxManitoba 2013


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Wie spielen Kinder des 21. Jahrhunderts: 2.0-Geräte und echte Spiele

Die Kinderspiele von heute haben sich im Vergleich zu denen ihrer Eltern verändert. Sie sind die sogenannten Digital Natives und laut einer von Imaginarium durchgeführten Studie sind etwa 60% der Eltern besorgt darüber, dass ihre Kinder mehr mit Bildschirmen (Tablets und Mobiltelefonen) spielen als mit echten Spielen.

Beim Spielen gibt es jedoch einen klaren Unterschied zwischen beiden und den Vorgehensweisen. Während die mobilen Geräte Kinder alleine spielen, 71,8% der Befragten gibt an, dass, wenn ihre Kinder mit traditionellen Spielsachen spielen, sie Sie bitten, dass sie sie begleiten.

"Heutzutage haben sich die Spielformen aufgrund der zunehmenden Bedeutung der 2.0 - Geräte in Bezug auf die realen Spiele verändert, mit denen die Kinder in den letzten Jahren gespielt haben." Aus diesem Grund wollten wir wissen, wie die Kinder der Was sind ihre Interessen und Vorlieben und die Vision der Eltern in Bezug auf die Verwendung von Bildschirmen, um weiterhin Spielzeug anbieten zu können, das Kindern eine bessere und glücklichere Kindheit ermöglicht ", sagt Sonia Pérez, Expertin in der Bildung und verantwortlich für pädagogische Inhalte des Imaginariums.


Echte Spiele und Familienbeteiligung

Digitale Unterhaltungsoptionen wie Bildschirme (Tablets und Mobiltelefone) sind für die meisten spanischen Eltern ein wichtiges Anliegen, und 59,9% der Eltern, die an der Imaginarium-Studie teilgenommen haben, haben dies bestätigt. Echtes Spiel und Geräte 2.0, die insgesamt 14.998 Antworten generiert hat und eine 95% ige Vertrauensspanne aufweist.

Familienbeteiligung und Unternehmen sind der Hauptunterschied beim Spielen zwischen technischem und traditionellem Spielzeug. So geben 71,8% der befragten Eltern an, dass sie, wenn ihre Kinder mit traditionellen Spielsachen spielen, sie um Begleitung bitten, im Vergleich zu den 1%, die diese Situation beim Spielen mit Bildschirmen beschreiben, und 27,2%, die mit ihren Kindern spielen beide Situationen. Daher ist das Bedürfnis nach sozialer Interaktion und Gesellschaft für Kinder sehr wichtig, wenn sie ihre Freizeit mit Spielzeug und nicht mit Bildschirmen genießen.


Und mit welchen Spielzeugen identifizieren Kinder mehr das Spielen? Spiel ist für die 81,5% der Kinder von 0 bis 7 Jahren spielen mit dem echten Spiel (küchen, puppen, bauspiele oder kunsthandwerk). Jedoch starten von 8 Jahren und bis zu 12 Jahren fällt diese Identifikation um fast 20 Punkte durchschnittliche Prozentsätze bei 60,81%.

Laut der Studie erfreuen sich Kinder am meisten an den Spielen, die die Kreativität fördern, wie z. B. Handwerk oder Musikinstrumente, die von 29,15% der Befragten ausgewählt wurden, gefolgt von Bauspielen (19,03%). und Rollenspiele (13,66%), machen die technologischen Optionen, wie das Spielen mit Bildschirmen und das Ansehen von YouTube-Kanälen, insgesamt 13,32% aus, wodurch Brettspiele mit 8,67% überholt werden. .

Die 2.0-Geräte im realen Leben

Im Leben von Digital Natives sind 2.0-Geräte in unterschiedlichen Alltagssituationen von Kindern und 61,26% der eltern Es zeigt zu Gunsten dass Ihre Kinder ab und zu mit dieser Art spielen Technologien.


Reisen mit dem Auto oder mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln sind die häufigste Situation für die Verwendung von Bildschirmen für die Altersgruppen 0 bis 3 Jahre und 4 bis 6 Jahre. Im Gegenteil, Kinder zwischen 7 und 9 Jahren und zwischen 10 und 12 spielen sie nach Hausaufgaben mehr mit technischem Spielzeug.

Während das Spiel mit Bildschirmen üblich ist, beträgt die wöchentliche Zeit, die dieser Art von Unterhaltung zugewiesen wird, weniger als 2 Stunden für 64,5% der Eltern, während 26,60% diese Nutzung zwischen 2 und 2 Minuten einordnen würden 6 Stunden pro Woche und 6,98% zwischen 6 und 12 Stunden pro Woche. Nur 1,42% und 0,43% glauben, dass ihre Kinder zwischen 12 und 20 Stunden bzw. mehr als 20 Stunden mit Tablets und Mobiltelefonen spielen.

Dieselbe Linie, die mit diesen Daten markiert ist, wird durch den geschätzten Zeitanteil für reale und digitale Spiele verstärkt. In diesem Sinne meinen 51,65% der Eltern, dass ihre Kinder mehr als 90% der Freizeit für das reale Spiel bereitstellen, im Vergleich zu 0,39%, die glauben, in 2,0 Geräte zu investieren.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis:Sonia Pérez, pädagogischer Experte und verantwortlich für pädagogische Inhalte des Imaginariums.

Video: The Spider's Web: Britain's Second Empire (Documentary)


Interessante Artikel

Dekalog für einen Sommer mit Kindern

Dekalog für einen Sommer mit Kindern

Die Feiertage dienen der Erholung, aber nichts zu tun. Daher sind sie eine gute Zeit für Kinder, um zu Hause mit dem Helfen zu beginnen, die Gewohnheit des Lesens zu fördern, ihnen das Gefühl zu...