Common elements that can alter the quality of the air in the home

Much of a child's life is spent inside the home. Whether it's sleeping, doing homework or because it's where you eat, you can not deny the time a child spends in this place. This is one of the reasons why security and cleanliness must be monitored inside the house, in order to avoid accidents in this environment and avoid bad times for the little ones.

However, there are some elements that can go unnoticed by families and that are capable of causing small problems to the little ones. This is the case of candles and some cleaning products that alter air quality, as indicated by a recent study of the University of San Diego. These articles release particles that, when inhaled by children, cause respiratory problems in them.


Respiratory complications

This entity investigated almost 300 families residing in San Diego and where at least one child younger than 14 years and a smoker. In all these environments, devices were placed to measure the level of suspended particles. Specifically, they were installed in the child's bedroom and another in an area near the place where tobacco is consumed.

Both terminals continuously analyzed the air for fine particles between 0.5 and 2.5 micrometers. This size includes suspended dust, fungal spores, automobile emissions and combustion products. This follow-up was done during three months.


The mission was to find particles of a size large enough to have an impact on human health. The largest are able to reach the lungs and generate a variety of health complications such as respiratory problems and cardiovascular.

The influence of tobacco

During the three months in which these devices transmitted information on the air quality of these households, other data obtained from two interviews were also collected. every family. In this meeting, they delved into the daily tasks that took place at home, such as cooking, cleaning and if they were near the smoking areas.

The data revealed that the households where they smoked had an average particle size that was almost double that of environments where tobacco was not consumed. In the air were found remains nicotine and other combustion products that are very dangerous for the health of children.


These last products came from lighting items such as candles or incense sticks, frying as cooking mode or spraying cleaning products also increased the number of fine particles in the air. For this reason it is recommended on the one hand No Smoking where the children will spend much of the day and always do it outside the home.

In the same way, if a candle is lit, it must ensure the ventilation of the room so that the particles can come out. While more spacious be this area better. It is also advisable to open the windows while cleaning so that the air is renewed and it is possible to ensure a good quality in what children breathe in their day to day.

"The goal of this research is, ultimately, to find effective ways to promote smoke-free homes and also to find good strategies, in general, to reduce exposure to smoke. domestic pollution"explained Neil Klepeis, another of the authors of this research.

Damián Montero

Video: Signs And Symptoms Of Mold Exposure!


Interesting Articles

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Get a good lactation in the first days after the birth of the baby is the basis of good nutrition. In addition, breastfeeding also creates a very special bond between mothers and children. These two...

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

The large number of different products that exist for babies they force us to be very alert not to make mistakes and regret later. If you are thinking about getting a Changer for your little one, the...

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

When you talk about how important it is eat fruit and vegetables, all nutritionists advise especially take those that are seasonal. However, today in supermarkets you can find practically everything...

Gemeinsame Elemente, die die Luftqualität im Haushalt verändern können

Ein Großteil des Lebens eines Kindes wird in der Wohnung verbracht. Egal, ob Sie schlafen, Hausaufgaben machen oder weil Sie dort essen, Sie können die Zeit, die ein Kind an diesem Ort verbringt, nicht bestreiten. Dies ist einer der Gründe, warum Sicherheit und Sauberkeit im Haus überwacht werden müssen, um dies zu vermeiden Unfälle in dieser Umgebung und vermeiden Sie schlechte Zeiten für die Kleinen.

Es gibt jedoch einige Elemente, die von Familien unbemerkt bleiben und kleine Probleme für die Kleinen verursachen können. Dies ist der Fall bei Kerzen und einigen Reinigungsmitteln, die die Luftqualität verändern, wie eine kürzlich durchgeführte Studie des Universität von San Diego. Diese Artikel setzen Partikel frei, die, wenn sie von Kindern eingeatmet werden, Atemprobleme verursachen.


Komplikationen der Atemwege

Dieses Unternehmen untersuchte fast 300 Familien, die in San Diego lebten und bei denen mindestens ein Kind jünger war 14 Jahre und ein Raucher. In all diesen Umgebungen wurden Geräte aufgestellt, um den Gehalt an suspendierten Partikeln zu messen. Sie wurden insbesondere im Kinderzimmer und in einem anderen Raum in der Nähe des Tabakkonsums installiert.

Beide Terminals analysierten die Luft kontinuierlich auf feine Partikel zwischen 0,5 und 2,5 Mikrometer. Diese Größe umfasst Schwebstaub, Pilzsporen, Automobilemissionen und Verbrennungsprodukte. Dieses Follow-up wurde während durchgeführt drei Monate.


Die Mission bestand darin, Partikel mit einer Größe zu finden, die groß genug ist, um die menschliche Gesundheit zu beeinflussen, wobei die größten in die Lunge gelangen und eine Vielzahl von gesundheitlichen Komplikationen wie Atemprobleme und Atembeschwerden verursachen können kardiovaskulär.

Der Einfluss von Tabak

Während der drei Monate, in denen diese Geräte Informationen über die Luftqualität dieser Haushalte übermittelten, wurden auch andere Daten aus zwei Interviews erhoben. jede Familie. In dieser Besprechung beschäftigten sie sich mit den täglichen Aufgaben, die zu Hause stattfanden, z. B. Kochen, Reinigen und wenn sie sich in der Nähe der Raucherzonen befanden.

Die Daten zeigten, dass die Haushalte, in denen sie geraucht hatten, eine durchschnittliche Partikelgröße hatten, die fast doppelt so groß war wie in Umgebungen, in denen Tabak nicht konsumiert wurde. In der Luft wurden Überreste gefunden Nikotin und andere Verbrennungsprodukte, die für die Gesundheit von Kindern sehr gefährlich sind.


Diese letzten Produkte stammten aus Beleuchtungsgegenständen wie Kerzen oder Räucherstäbchen, das Braten als Garmodus oder das Sprühen von Reinigungsprodukten erhöhten die Anzahl der feinen Partikel in der Luft. Aus diesem Grund ist es zum einen empfehlenswert nicht rauchen wo die Kinder den größten Teil des Tages verbringen und es immer außerhalb des Hauses tun.

Wenn eine Kerze angezündet wird, muss auf dieselbe Weise die Belüftung des Raums sichergestellt werden, damit die Partikel austreten können. Während geräumiger sei dieser Bereich besser. Es ist auch ratsam, die Fenster während der Reinigung zu öffnen, damit die Luft erneuert wird und es möglich ist, eine gute Qualität in dem zu gewährleisten, was die Kinder täglich atmen.

"Das Ziel dieser Forschung besteht letztlich darin, effektive Wege zur Förderung rauchfreier Wohnungen zu finden und im Allgemeinen gute Strategien zur Verringerung der Rauchbelastung zu finden. häusliche Verschmutzung"erklärte Neil Klepeis, einer der Autoren dieser Forschung.

Damián Montero

Video: Schnell - und klimafreundlich ans Ziel (Teil 1 von 2) - 29.08.2017 - 112. Plenarsitzung


Interessante Artikel

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Von Emilio López-Barajas. UniversitätsprofessorDie wissenschaftliche Methode Angewendet, um Wissen zu erlangen, erlaubt es nicht immer eine vollständige Erfassung der Realität. Derjenige, der in der...

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Es ist bewiesen: zu Kinder sie lieben das "fettige" Mahlzeiten. Nuggets, Hamburger, Hot Dogs, Chips usw. Die Fetteinfach so Proteine, die Hydrate oder die Vitamineist für seine Entwicklung...