Social networks negatively influence the self-esteem of young people

The Internet and new technologies have brought a new way of understanding life. Nowadays, people must not only worry about their image on a day-to-day basis, they must also manage their participation in platforms such as social networks. A situation that is negatively influencing young people, who are experiencing negative consequences of their activity on these websites.

This is revealed by the Royal Society for Public Health, RSPH, in a new study where he analyzed the behavior of young people in relation to their use of social networks. Anxiety, low self-esteem and the constant feeling of losing something. All these effects were noticed by the researchers who carried out this work.


Constantly connected

RSPH carried out this study with the participation of 1,479 young people between 14 and 24 years old. All of them had to answer a test on the use of new technologies, participation in social networks and mental state. Questions such as anxiety level and sleep quality were also present in this questionnaire that sought to deepen this aspect.

91% of the participants admitted that the priority use of the new technologies was to manage their profile in social networks. Regarding mental health, the three most observed consequences among the participants was a lower self-esteem, a feeling of anguish when thinking that something is being lost or the suffering of a case of cyberbullying, with all the effects that this entails.


From RSPH stands out how in recent years the levels of anxiety have grown in a 70%, coinciding with the expansion of social networks and new technologies. The researchers point out that one of the habitual tendencies is not to want to miss anything in this digital world, to want to answer all the messages that arrive and constantly update their profiles on these platforms.

Constant connection

The expansion of social networks and new technologies has not only influenced the quality of mental health. The physical integrity of young people has also been altered, especially in the quality of sleep of these generations. One in five participants in this work acknowledged waking up at dawn to check messages from their devices.

This situation is directly related, according to RSPH, to the great expansion of new technologies. Young people who want it can connect constantly without worrying about barriers like the battery. If the smarthpone is turned off, you can use the tablet while charging this terminal, and vice versa. In conclusion, a lot of hours are spent managing this social life.


Image culture

This study indicates that another of the dangers to expose young people to social networks is the alteration of their own perception. Those who access these platforms want to look their best in the photos they upload, and this usually results in an obsession to change their appearance and adjust to fashions, and even ask parents to undergo cosmetic surgery.

"Social networks have become a space where relationships are formed and built, an identity is formed, young people express themselves and learn about the world around them, all of this activity is intrinsically linked to the mental health of these generations ", Explain Shirley Cramer, director of RSPH. Therefore this body requests the introduction of these tools:

- Introduction of a warning when young people are making abusive use of social networks.

- Tools that could identify those users who began to experience mental problems through the information presented in their posts.

- Detection of digitally manipulated photos, sign of an excessive concern for the image.

Tools that ultimately seek to know who is being negatively influenced by their activity in social networks. The early detection would initiate with equal speed treatments to prevent the mental health of young people suffer too much and mechanisms can be put in place where both parents and educational professionals converge.

Damián Montero

Video: Social Media and How it Negatively Impacts Teens' Self- Esteem


Interesting Articles

8 musical entertainment activities with children

8 musical entertainment activities with children

Among the offer of activities for children and families that can be found in large cities, music is increasingly present in different scenarios and also on the street. Concerts for children who...

How to use family tablets

How to use family tablets

Anyone who has a tablet and children at home will know about the enormous attractiveness that these represent for the little ones. It is of fundamental importance in the education of our children,...

4 styles to take advantage of your terrace

4 styles to take advantage of your terrace

Deciding which decorative elements are perfect for our home can often be more complicated than it seems. The key is to find the balance between our own tastes and the new trends that create beautiful...

Soziale Netzwerke beeinflussen das Selbstwertgefühl junger Menschen negativ

Das Internet und neue Technologien haben ein neues Verständnis für das Leben gebracht. Heutzutage müssen sich die Menschen nicht nur täglich um ihr Image sorgen, sie müssen auch ihre Teilnahme an Plattformen wie z soziale Netzwerke. Eine Situation, die junge Menschen, die negative Auswirkungen ihrer Aktivitäten auf diesen Websites haben, negativ beeinflusst.

Dies offenbart die Royal Society for Public Health, RSPH, in einer neuen Studie, in der er das Verhalten junger Menschen in Bezug auf ihren Einsatz von soziale Netzwerke. Angst, geringes Selbstwertgefühl und das ständige Gefühl, etwas zu verlieren. Alle diese Auswirkungen wurden von den Forschern bemerkt, die diese Arbeit durchgeführt haben.


Ständig verbunden

RSPH hat diese Studie unter Beteiligung von durchgeführt 1.479 junge Menschen zwischen 14 und 24 Jahren. Alle mussten einen Test auf den Einsatz neuer Technologien, die Teilnahme an sozialen Netzwerken und den psychischen Zustand beantworten. In diesem Fragebogen, der diesen Aspekt vertiefen wollte, waren auch Fragen wie Angstzustand und Schlafqualität vorhanden.

91% der Teilnehmer gaben zu, dass die vorrangige Verwendung der neuen Technologien bestand darin, ihr Profil in sozialen Netzwerken zu verwalten. In Bezug auf die psychische Gesundheit waren die drei am häufigsten beobachteten Konsequenzen unter den Teilnehmern ein geringeres Selbstwertgefühl, ein Gefühl der Angst, wenn etwas verloren geht, oder das Leiden eines Cybermobbing-Falles mit allen damit verbundenen Auswirkungen.


Aus RSPH geht hervor, wie in den letzten Jahren die Angstzustände in a gestiegen sind 70%gleichzeitig mit dem Ausbau sozialer Netzwerke und neuer Technologien. Die Forscher weisen darauf hin, dass eine der üblichen Tendenzen darin besteht, nichts in dieser digitalen Welt zu verpassen, alle auf die ankommenden Nachrichten zu beantworten und ihr Profil auf diesen Plattformen ständig zu aktualisieren.

Ständige Verbindung

Der Ausbau sozialer Netzwerke und neuer Technologien hat nicht nur die Qualität der psychischen Gesundheit beeinflusst. Die körperliche Unversehrtheit Auch bei den Jugendlichen hat sich vor allem die Schlafqualität dieser Generationen verändert. Jeder fünfte Teilnehmer dieser Arbeit bestätigte, dass er im Morgengrauen aufwachte, um Nachrichten von seinen Geräten zu prüfen.

Diese Situation hängt laut RSPH direkt mit der starken Expansion neuer Technologien zusammen. Junge Leute, die es wollen, können ständig verbinden ohne sich um Barrieren wie die Batterie zu kümmern. Wenn der SmartPhone ausgeschaltet ist, können Sie das Tablet beim Laden dieses Terminals verwenden und umgekehrt. Abschließend wird viel Zeit darauf verwendet, dieses soziale Leben zu managen.


Bildkultur

Diese Studie zeigt, dass eine andere der Gefahren Junge Menschen sozialen Netzwerken auszusetzen, ist die Veränderung ihrer eigenen Wahrnehmung. Diejenigen, die auf diese Plattformen zugreifen, möchten in den Fotos, die sie hochladen, ihr Bestes geben. Dies führt in der Regel zu einer Obsession, das Aussehen zu ändern und sich den Moden anzupassen und Eltern sogar zu einer kosmetischen Operation zu bitten.

"Soziale Netzwerke sind zu einem Ort geworden, an dem Beziehungen geknüpft und aufgebaut werden, eine Identität entsteht, junge Menschen äußern sich und erfahren etwas über die Welt um sie herum. All diese Aktivitäten sind eng mit der psychischen Gesundheit dieser Generationen verbunden "erklärt Shirley Cramer, Direktor von RSPH. Daher fordert dieses Gremium die Einführung dieser Werkzeuge:

- Einführung einer Warnung, wenn Jugendliche soziale Netzwerke missbräuchlich nutzen.

- Tools, mit denen die Benutzer identifiziert werden konnten, die aufgrund der in ihren Beiträgen enthaltenen Informationen psychische Probleme hatten.

- Erkennung digital manipulierter Fotos, Anzeichen einer übermäßigen Besorgnis für das Bild.

Werkzeuge, die letztendlich wissen wollen, wer von ihrer Tätigkeit in sozialen Netzwerken negativ beeinflusst wird. Die Früherkennung würde mit gleicher Geschwindigkeitsbehandlung einleiten, um die psychische Gesundheit von Jugendlichen leiden zu viel und es können Mechanismen geschaffen werden, bei denen sich Eltern und Erzieher zusammenfinden.

Damián Montero

Video: CHRISTIAN BISCHOFF: Erfolgreich werden und Lebenskrisen überwinden | Podcast ✅


Interessante Artikel

Fußpilz im Sommer: Plantarpapillom

Fußpilz im Sommer: Plantarpapillom

Das plantare Papillom, welches Es ist eine der häufigsten Fußinfektionenist im Sommer noch mehr präsent, besonders bei Kindern. Der Kontakt des nackten Fußes an heißen und feuchten Orten wie...

In Form: die Vorteile von Aerobic

In Form: die Vorteile von Aerobic

Es gibt viele Leute, die sich dafür entscheiden, ihren Zeitplan besser zu organisieren und sich ein paar Stunden pro Woche für den Sport zu nehmen. Für das neue Jahr ist es ein guter Zweck, ins...

Peugeot Traveler: eine neue familiäre Dimension

Peugeot Traveler: eine neue familiäre Dimension

Kraft und Eleganz zeigt das neue Design des Peugeot Traveler, der 2016 auf dem Genfer Autosalon bei der Weltpremiere präsentiert wird. Der Reisende möchte das Segment der Mehrzweckfahrzeuge und des...

Gewalt bei Kindern, warum tritt dieses Verhalten auf?

Gewalt bei Kindern, warum tritt dieses Verhalten auf?

Die Entwicklung eines Kindes ist ein langsamer und schwieriger Prozess. Im Laufe der Jahre erwirbt das Kind Werte von verschiedenen Entitäten, insbesondere der Familie. Unabhängig davon, wie viel...