Gifted children: characteristics of their behavior

It is normal that young children show great motor activity and that many families consider, at certain times, whether this high level of activity will be normal. Especially when it causes uncomfortable situations. We have to take into account that children express their emotions through movement and even more so when they have not yet acquired sufficient language development to express themselves verbally.

However, sometimes, this restless behavior of the child manifests itself at levels higher than what can be considered normal behavior. In this case, surely, there is the presence of other peculiar characteristics such as high capacity.

Behavioral signs of gifted children

Children with a high level of intelligence They have certain behavioral characteristics that expose them to an increased risk of receiving erroneous diagnoses. Generally, they belong to that group of specially moved children. At first glance, they seem distracted, difficult and undisciplined children. Currently, one of the disorders that is more often confused with high abilities is ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder), since there are several common characteristics among those of the gifted childrens and the symptoms that have been described for said disorder.


The diagnoses are confused because the behavior in class of these children is interpreted superficially due to the lack of knowledge about this exceptionality. In the majority of the occasions, the people in charge of the classroom are based solely on the characteristics of the behavior and do not take into account the cause that provoke them.

In general, there are four types of common behaviors between ADHD and gifted children: motor hyperactivity, impulsivity, lack of attention and dispersion. However, if we focus on the high intellectual capacities, we observe that these traits are only the tip of the iceberg of an exceptional potential that we must identify. In gifted children, excess motor activity does not interfere with their learning. However, this behavior can disrupt the attention of your classmates. It is an intellectual hyperactivity that they need to channel investigating aspects that motivate them.


His great energy, fast and compulsive speech and his curiosity, provoke a high degree of impulsiveness. The apparent lack of attention of the gifted child is derived from boredom. They understand what is explained much earlier than their peers and all the repetitions cause them a distaste that makes them lose attention. Therefore, when the explanation is extended, they disconnect or change activity, which may cause discomfort in the normal rhythm of the classroom. They have a great imagination and ability to abstract. They have a very rich inner life that leads to dispersion. They need intellectual challenges.

Gifted or ADHD: confusions in the diagnosis

The confusion of both diagnoses is seriously damaging. The first cause that should concern us is that the treatment of ADHD is usually, in a very high percentage of cases, pharmacological, with very controversial side effects that lead the child to enter the stereotyped model that homogenizes the group. It prevents you from developing your potentials in addition to administering chemical substances that you do not need.


On the other hand, children with high intellectual abilities must be identified with precision, since they require a specific educational response for the full and balanced development, both of their abilities and of their personality. These are children with different abilities from others and, if they are not well channeled, can be harmful for them to the point of school failure, problems of self-esteem and social skills.

How to distinguish a gifted: children from 3 to 5 years

Experts say that up to six years is difficult to identify high capabilities. But from the two can be observed certain suspicious behavior of high capacity.

The first sign of alert, which can make us suspect that a child possesses high intellectual capacities, is that its great precocity draws attention.

- They start talking very quickly and fluently. Around the two years are expressed with complete sentences. They have a very rich and elaborate vocabulary for their age. They do not usually make grammatical mistakes.

- They start reading at a very young age (even before 4 years old). They show a need to constantly read posters, labels, stories and books on different topics.

- They show interest in knowing about the most curious thingss (astronomy, dinosaurs *) and about different areas, especially those related to science. They are small researchers.

- Extremely curious. The questions appear precociously, especially the reason of things. They do not settle for superficial answers.

- They begin to reason at an early age. They often reflect on philosophical and spiritual issues.

- They are very sensitive, everything affects them more than other children their age.

- They have a high creative capacity and they are very innovative.

- They are great observers with a deep capacity for synthesis and intuition.

Cristina Palacios Hernando. Pedagogue

More information in the bookPilar Martín Lobo, Smart Children: a guide to develop their talents and high abilities.

Video: Gifted Children - 10 Common Characteristics


Interesting Articles

Menorca as a family, a different destination

Menorca as a family, a different destination

The island of Menorca, located north of the Balearic archipelago, is one of the most beautiful paradises in the western Mediterranean. Thanks to being protected by UNESCO since 1993 as a Biosphere...

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

Copper is an essential mineral for health that helps to preventfetal malformations, anemia, growth problems or birth weight losses. For this reason, the pregnancy and lactation These are two periods...

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The trinkets, sweets and pastries are part of the children's routine, but your intake can be very harmful to your health and the one of the majors since they contain great amounts of sugar and...

Begabte Kinder: Merkmale ihres Verhaltens

Es ist normal, dass kleine Kinder eine starke motorische Aktivität zeigen und dass viele Familien zu bestimmten Zeiten überlegen, ob diese hohe Aktivität normal ist. Besonders wenn es unangenehme Situationen verursacht. Wir müssen berücksichtigen, dass Kinder ihre Emotionen durch Bewegung ausdrücken, und dies umso mehr, wenn sie noch keine ausreichende Sprachentwicklung erworben haben, um sich verbal auszudrücken.

Manchmal macht sich dieses unruhige Verhalten des Kindes jedoch auf höheren Ebenen bemerkbar als das, was als normales Verhalten angesehen werden kann. In diesem Fall gibt es sicherlich andere Besonderheiten wie eine hohe Kapazität.

Verhaltenszeichen begabter Kinder

Kinder mit einem hohe Intelligenz Sie haben bestimmte Verhaltensmerkmale, die sie einem erhöhten Risiko aussetzen, fehlerhafte Diagnosen zu erhalten. Im Allgemeinen gehören sie zu dieser Gruppe von besonders bewegten Kindern. Auf den ersten Blick scheinen sie abgelenkt, schwierig und undiszipliniert zu sein. Gegenwärtig ist ADHS (Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-Hyperaktivitätsstörung) eine der Erkrankungen, die häufiger mit hohen Fähigkeiten verwechselt wird, da es einige Gemeinsamkeiten unter denjenigen gibt begabte Kinder und die Symptome, die für die genannte Störung beschrieben wurden.


Die Diagnosen sind verwirrend, da das Verhalten dieser Kinder in der Klasse aufgrund des mangelnden Wissens über diese Ausnahmefähigkeit oberflächlich interpretiert wird. In der Mehrzahl der Fälle basieren die Verantwortlichen des Unterrichts ausschließlich auf den Merkmalen des Verhaltens und berücksichtigen nicht die Ursache, die sie provoziert.

Im Allgemeinen gibt es vier Arten von gemeinsames Verhalten zwischen ADHS und begabten Kindern: motorische Hyperaktivität, Impulsivität, mangelnde Aufmerksamkeit und Streuung. Wenn wir uns jedoch auf die hohen intellektuellen Fähigkeiten konzentrieren, stellen wir fest, dass diese Merkmale nur die Spitze des Eisbergs eines außergewöhnlichen Potentials sind, das wir identifizieren müssen. Bei begabten Kindern stört die übermäßige motorische Aktivität nicht das Lernen. Dieses Verhalten kann jedoch die Aufmerksamkeit Ihrer Klassenkameraden beeinträchtigen. Es ist eine intellektuelle Hyperaktivität, die sie benötigen, um untersuchte Aspekte zu untersuchen, die sie motivieren.


Seine große Energie, die schnelle und zwanghafte Rede und seine Neugier rufen ein hohes Maß an Impulsivität hervor. Der scheinbare Mangel an Aufmerksamkeit des begabten Kindes rührt von Langeweile her. Sie verstehen, was viel früher erklärt wird als ihre Kollegen, und alle Wiederholungen verursachen eine Abneigung, die sie dazu bringt, die Aufmerksamkeit zu verlieren. Wenn die Erklärung erweitert wird, trennen sie daher die Aktivität oder ändern ihre Aktivität, was im normalen Rhythmus des Klassenzimmers zu Unbehagen führen kann. Sie haben eine große Vorstellungskraft und Abstraktionsfähigkeit. Sie haben ein sehr reiches Innenleben, das zur Zerstreuung führt. Sie brauchen intellektuelle Herausforderungen.

Begabte oder ADHS: Verwirrungen in der Diagnose

Die Verwirrung beider Diagnosen ist sehr schädlich. Die erste Ursache, die uns beunruhigen sollte, ist, dass die Behandlung von ADHS in einem sehr hohen Prozentsatz der Fälle pharmakologisch ist, mit sehr kontroversen Nebenwirkungen, die dazu führen, dass das Kind in das stereotype Modell eintritt, das die Gruppe homogenisiert. Es verhindert, dass Sie neben der Verabreichung chemischer Substanzen, die Sie nicht benötigen, Ihr Potenzial entfalten können.


Auf der anderen Seite müssen Kinder mit hohen intellektuellen Fähigkeiten genau identifiziert werden, da sie für die vollständige und ausgewogene Entwicklung sowohl ihrer Fähigkeiten als auch ihrer Persönlichkeit eine spezifische pädagogische Reaktion erfordern. Dies sind Kinder mit anderen Fähigkeiten, und wenn sie nicht gut geleitet werden, können sie bis zu Schulversagen, Selbstwertgefühl und sozialen Fähigkeiten schädlich sein.

Wie unterscheidet man Begabte: Kinder von 3 bis 5 Jahren

Experten sagen, dass es bis zu sechs Jahre schwierig ist, hohe Fähigkeiten zu identifizieren. Aber von den beiden kann man sicheres verdächtiges Verhalten mit hoher Kapazität beobachten.

Das erste Anzeichen von Alarm, das den Verdacht auf ein Kind mit hohen intellektuellen Fähigkeiten erwecken kann, ist, dass seine große Frühzeitigkeit die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zieht.

- Sie reden sehr schnell und fließend. Um die zwei Jahre werden mit vollständigen Sätzen ausgedrückt. Sie haben für ihr Alter ein sehr reichhaltiges und durchdachtes Vokabular. Sie machen normalerweise keine grammatikalischen Fehler.

- Sie fangen schon sehr früh an zu lesen (noch vor 4 Jahren). Sie zeigen, dass ständig Poster, Etiketten, Geschichten und Bücher zu verschiedenen Themen gelesen werden müssen.

- Sie zeigen Interesse an neugierigen Dingens (Astronomie, Dinosaurier *) und über verschiedene Bereiche, vor allem im wissenschaftlichen Bereich. Sie sind kleine Forscher.

- Sehr neugierig. Die Fragen erscheinen frühzeitig, insbesondere der Grund der Dinge. Sie geben sich nicht mit oberflächlichen Antworten zufrieden.

- Sie beginnen schon früh zu denken. Sie reflektieren oft über philosophische und spirituelle Fragen.

- Sie sind sehr empfindlich alles betrifft sie mehr als andere Kinder ihres Alters.

- Sie haben eine hohe kreative Fähigkeit und sie sind sehr innovativ.

- Sie sind großartige Beobachter mit einer tiefen Fähigkeit zur Synthese und Intuition.

Cristina Palacios Hernando. Pädagoge

Weitere Informationen im BuchPilar Martín Lobo, Smart Children: Ein Leitfaden zur Entwicklung ihrer Talente und Fähigkeiten.

Video: Hochbegabt Test: Die 17 typischen Zeichen (Hochbegabte Kinder, Erwachsene), Hochbegabung //Wehrle


Interessante Artikel

Olivenöl, gesundheitliche Vorteile

Olivenöl, gesundheitliche Vorteile

Die Vorteile des Olivenölkonsums, die für unsere mediterrane Ernährung so charakteristisch sind, sind zahlreich. Deshalb ist es gesund, sie in unsere Ernährung aufzunehmen. Olivenöl und insbesondere...