High capacities: the pending subject in education

In recent years, research into certain behavioral disorders such as ADHD has deepened. However, High capacities remain the unfinished business in education. Although the educational system considers this exceptionality within the attention to diversity, most professors and psychologists are not sufficiently prepared to identify and attend to the needs of gifted children who are too often confused with hyperactive children.

What are high capacities?

Highly skilled or gifted children are subjects with significantly higher than average abilities with a IQ of 125-130 points or higher. However, it is not possible to establish a generalized giftedness model because it is not only a high IQ.


We now know that there is no single model of intelligence, but that there are different types, that is, we speak of multiple intelligences and 8 different types have been established. In this way we find people who excel in one or several models of intelligence and the most exceptional, who excel in all types of intelligence in general. But all of them have high capacity for learning, a higher than average memory and a high degree of creativity.

The lack of specialization in the intelletual giftedness leads children to not be treated adequately. Depending on how you manage that intelligence will be more effective or not. And is that giftedness is more frequent than we can think. Statistics say that two percent of the population has high capacities, of which only one percent is diagnosed. The rest, in many cases, receive diagnoses that lead them to believe that they have learning problems and many others live without discovering that they are, suffering from lack of understanding of their environment and at risk of suffering from school, personal and social failure.


It would be essential that the educational system make efficient tests to all school children to identify those with high intellectual abilities. And provide all education professionals with the adequate training to meet the specific needs demanded by this group of students. We have to bear in mind that the exceptionality of high abilities does not lie in a brain loaded with innate information, but in the potential that they possess and that must be developed to be effective.

Children with high abilities: how to act

- Contact the school tutor and convey our suspicions that we believe it can be about the behavior of a gifted child.
- The tutor must contact the Department of Pedagogical Guidance.
- The counselor must do the relevant tests to confirm or rule out if he is a child with high intellectual abilities.
- We can also go to a private psychologist, specialist in high capacities, to issue a report.
- If the rating is positive and it is confirmed that the child is gifted, the center will carry out the precise educational intervention and will be able to guide the family.


Cristina Palacios Hernando. Pedagogue

More information in the bookPilar Martín Lobo, Smart Children: a guide to develop their talents and high abilities.

Video: Askwith Forum: Stephen Wolfram and Howard Gardner - Best Education in Computational Thinking


Interesting Articles

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Although it does not have a good reputation, children need a degree of discipline that does not oppose educating in freedom or affection. The value of discipline will be the key to success in all...

10 tips to care for atopic skin

10 tips to care for atopic skin

The atopic dermatitis, very common in children, is produced by a deficit in the production of ceramides from the skin. Ceramides are a family of natural lipids, thanks to them the cells are held...

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

The consumption of drugs such as alcohol, joints or pills can potentially be the most destructive activity in which our adolescent children can be involved. All drugs affect the health of people and...

Hohe Kapazitäten: das anstehende Unterrichtsfach

In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Erforschung bestimmter Verhaltensstörungen wie ADHS vertieft. Jedoch Hohe Kapazitäten sind nach wie vor das unerledigte Bildungsgeschäft. Obwohl das Bildungssystem diese Ausnahmemöglichkeit im Hinblick auf die Vielfalt berücksichtigt, sind die meisten Professoren und Psychologen nicht ausreichend darauf vorbereitet, die Bedürfnisse begabter Kinder zu erkennen und zu berücksichtigen, die zu oft mit hyperaktiven Kindern verwechselt werden.

Was sind hohe Kapazitäten?

Hochqualifizierte oder begabte Kinder sind Personen mit deutlich überdurchschnittlichen Fähigkeiten mit einem IQ von 125-130 Punkten oder höher Es ist jedoch nicht möglich, ein verallgemeinertes Hochbegabungsmodell zu etablieren, da es nicht nur ein hoher IQ ist.


Wir wissen jetzt, dass es kein einzelnes Modell der Intelligenz gibt, sondern dass es unterschiedliche Typen gibt, das heißt, wir sprechen von mehreren Intelligenzen und es wurden acht verschiedene Typen etabliert. Auf diese Weise finden wir Menschen, die sich durch ein oder mehrere Modelle der Intelligenz auszeichnen und die außergewöhnlichsten sind, die sich im Allgemeinen mit allen Arten von Intelligenz auszeichnen. Alle haben jedoch eine hohe Lernfähigkeit, ein überdurchschnittliches Gedächtnis und ein hohes Maß an Kreativität.

Die mangelnde Spezialisierung auf die Intelligenzbegabung führt dazu, dass Kinder nicht angemessen behandelt werden. Je nachdem, wie Sie diese Intelligenz handhaben, ist diese Intelligenz effektiver oder nicht. Und ist die Begabung häufiger als wir denken können? Statistiken zufolge haben zwei Prozent der Bevölkerung hohe Kapazitäten, von denen nur ein Prozent diagnostiziert wird. Der Rest erhält in vielen Fällen Diagnosen, die ihn glauben machen, Lernprobleme zu haben, und viele andere leben ohne zu erkennen, dass sie es sind, leiden unter Unverständnis in ihrer Umgebung und sind in Gefahr, an schulischem, persönlichem und sozialem Versagen zu leiden.


Es ist wichtig, dass das Bildungssystem allen Schulkindern effiziente Tests zur Ermittlung von Personen mit hohen intellektuellen Fähigkeiten bietet. Bieten Sie allen Bildungsexperten eine angemessene Ausbildung an, um den spezifischen Anforderungen dieser Gruppe gerecht zu werden. Wir müssen bedenken, dass die Außergewöhnlichkeit hoher Fähigkeiten nicht in einem Gehirn mit angeborenen Informationen liegt, sondern in dem Potenzial, das sie besitzen und das entwickelt werden muss, um wirksam zu sein.

Kinder mit hohen Fähigkeiten: wie man handelt

- Wenden Sie sich an den Lehrer der Schule und vermitteln unseren Verdacht, dass wir glauben, dass es sich um das Verhalten eines begabten Kindes handeln kann.
- Der Tutor muss sich an die Abteilung für pädagogische Anleitung wenden.
- Der Berater muss die entsprechenden Tests durchführen zu bestätigen oder auszuschließen, ob er ein Kind mit hohen intellektuellen Fähigkeiten ist.
- Wir können auch zu einem privaten Psychologen gehen, Spezialist für hohe Kapazitäten, einen Bericht zu erstellen.
- Wenn die Bewertung positiv ist und es wird bestätigt, dass das Kind begabt ist, das Zentrum die genaue pädagogische Intervention durchführt und die Familie führen kann.


Cristina Palacios Hernando. Pädagoge

Weitere Informationen im BuchPilar Martín Lobo, Smart Children: Ein Leitfaden zur Entwicklung ihrer Talente und Fähigkeiten.

Video: Belastungen u. Befristungen in der Arbeitswelt Schule - 24.11.2017 - 121. Plenarsitzung (Teil 2v2)


Interessante Artikel

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Sei ein Anführer Es bedeutet, über eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten zu verfügen, die es ermöglichen, eine Gruppe von Personen auf organisierte Weise zu führen ein gemeinsames Ziel...

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Unbeholfen, langsam, problematisch ... sind nur einige der Begriffe, mit denen Kinder definiert werden, die an bestimmten Lernproblemen leiden. Sie sind nicht in der Lage, mit der gleichen...