The obsession with our image on the Internet, how to stop it?

We live in an interconnected world where naturalness is disappearing, we are undergoing a transformation in the psychological field, where we are introducing problems that did not exist before, such as the obsession with the image and what others think about it. How to make the technological detox to put an end to "cyberproblems" as the OBSESSION for our image on the internet

The virtual reality It has offered us an easy world, since we can feel the same emotions and reactions that could be experienced in a real situation, but everything, without moving from home. In addition, it has provided a control and modification factor and many times is lacking in reality, offering the Possibility of exposure with the certainty of being seen without moving from home. Due to this, we find an evolution of these problems, the molding of a personality or mood based on the acceptance we receive from others with the image we want to convey.


Pathologies associated with the use of the Internet

These are the so-called pathologies associated with the use of the internet, uncontrolled obsessions, compulsions based on pleasure and the control of a reality, paranoia that leads to a lack of interest in real interaction and, in many cases, an escape from reality to forget the problems . According to the psychologist López Vallejo "they go into these media and little by little they create a fictious world and easier to manage than the real one, looking for a pleasure and satisfaction that their own real world does not give them ".

The problem becomes greater as they spend more and more time in this interaction that compensates for the shortcomings of those who flee seeking the acceptance of others with chats, tweets, photos, games, Facebook posts. They create a life tendency in relation to what others like.


One of the new problems is the lack of naturalness in the image that is transmitted with continuous filters and retouches in the photos that are published with a tendency to continually publish an unreal image in search of a "like" or a flattering comment.

The loop of the obsession with the image on the Internet

Consequently, people enter into a system of thoughts and actions that feed the problem. López Vallejo has classified them into three groups:

1. Control system: is the tendency to control what is published to achieve a goal, even going to spend hours retouching photos before the final publication. At that time you enter a toxic environment trying to control each photo to publish, asking others their opinion before uploading, obsessively viewing the image, expanding, retouching, to get the publication that will immediately take the liking.


2. Avoidance system: not only do these people control the image, they also avoid presenting publicly some part of their body that they do not like, what they know they will not like others hiding it, hiding it, retouching the image ...

3. Escape and escape system: These people suffer the maximum frustration and loss of control when what they publish does not receive the acceptance they seek, at that moment anxiety appears that leads to panic attacks.

When the obsession with our image on the Internet gets worse

The seriousness of the case becomes apparent when the following behaviors appear:

1. Dispersion: lack of attention in class, in the family, at work walking with the risks that entails, suspensions, job dismissals, traffic accidents ...

2. Constant anxiety: wanting to control what they publish and the social impact of their publication to the continuous expectation of the likes.

3. Constant repetitions of photos before hanging the final, entering an obsessive spiral of control of the gesture, makeup, hair, clothes or light ... in short, what others may like.

4. Need to be always connected to immediately receive the liking or the pleasant comment.
The addiction and / or obsession catches when the person abandons its obligations to dedicate all the time that they have to Internet and if it can not do it lives the symptoms of abstinence that takes them to a state of anguish and an anxiety that makes him moody, irritable, they even appear panic attacks, decreasing the capacity for concentration and action necessary to carry out their lives normally.

"The problem itself can be very varied, but with a common cause: They are types of people who suffer from psychological and behavioral disorders that must be treated, as they can become anxious, insecure, introverted people, afraid of rejection and social disapproval, developing a personality with low self-esteem, "says López Vallejo

It is usually the family that asks for help for this type of person, since they deny the existence of the problem.The intervention in search of the solution "consists of focusing on transforming the pleasure mechanism into an unpleasant experience, annulling the addictive ritual and simultaneously intervening on the personal and relationship difficulties that have facilitated the dependence. success in the results of overcoming the problem, more and more people suffer this pathology ", concludes López Vallejo.

Marina Berrio
Advice: Jorge López Pérez Vallejo. Psychologist of López Vallejo Psychology.

Video: Obsessed with Collecting Cockroaches | My Kid's Obsession


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

Die Besessenheit mit unserem Image im Internet, wie kann ich damit aufhören?

Wir leben in einer vernetzten Welt, in der die Natürlichkeit verschwindet, wir erleben eine Transformation im psychologischen Bereich, in der wir Probleme einführen, die es vorher nicht gab, wie die Obsession mit dem Bild und das, was andere darüber denken. Wie mache ich das? technologische Entgiftung gegen "Cyberprobleme" als OBSESSION für unser Image im Internet

Die virtuelle Realität Es hat uns eine einfache Welt geboten, da wir dieselben Emotionen und Reaktionen spüren können, die in einer realen Situation erlebt werden könnten, aber alles, ohne von zu Hause wegzugehen. Darüber hinaus hat es einen Kontroll - und Modifikationsfaktor bereitgestellt, der in der Realität oftmals fehlt, und bietet den Möglichkeit der Belichtung mit der Gewissheit, gesehen zu werden, ohne von zu Hause wegzuziehen. Daher finden wir eine Entwicklung dieser Probleme, die Formung einer Persönlichkeit oder Stimmung basierend auf der Akzeptanz, die wir von anderen mit dem Bild erhalten, das wir vermitteln möchten.


Pathologien im Zusammenhang mit der Nutzung des Internets

Dies sind die sogenannten Pathologien, die mit der Nutzung des Internets verbunden sind, unkontrollierte Obsessionen, auf Vergnügen beruhende Zwänge und die Kontrolle einer Realität, Paranoia, die zu einem mangelnden Interesse an einer echten Interaktion und in vielen Fällen zu einer Flucht vor der Realität führt, um die Probleme zu vergessen . Laut dem Psychologen López Vallejo "gehen sie in diese Medien und schaffen nach und nach einen fiktive Welt und einfacher zu handhaben als die wirkliche, auf der Suche nach einem Vergnügen und einer Befriedigung, die ihre eigene reale Welt ihnen nicht gibt. "

Das Problem wird immer größer, da sie immer mehr Zeit in dieser Interaktion verbringen, die die Unzulänglichkeiten derjenigen kompensiert, die auf der Suche nach der Akzeptanz anderer mit Chats, Tweets, Fotos, Spielen, Facebook-Posts sind. Sie erzeugen eine Lebenstendenz in Bezug auf das, was andere mögen.


Eines der neuen Probleme ist das Fehlen der Natürlichkeit des Bildes, das mit kontinuierlichen Filtern und Retuschen in den Fotos übertragen wird, die veröffentlicht werden, mit der Tendenz, ein unwirkliches Bild auf der Suche nach einem "like" oder einem schmeichelhaften Kommentar zu veröffentlichen.

Die Schleife der Obsession mit dem Bild im Internet

Folglich treten die Menschen in ein System von Gedanken und Handlungen ein, die das Problem nähren. López Vallejo hat sie in drei Gruppen eingeteilt:

1. Steuersystem: ist die Tendenz zu kontrollieren, was veröffentlicht wird, um ein Ziel zu erreichen, sogar Stunden damit verbringen, Fotos vor der endgültigen Veröffentlichung zu retuschieren. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt betreten Sie eine giftige Umgebung und versuchen, jedes Foto zu kontrollieren, um es zu veröffentlichen, und fragen Sie andere nach ihrer Meinung, bevor Sie es hochladen, obsessiv das Bild betrachten, erweitern oder retuschieren, um die Veröffentlichung zu erhalten, die sofort gefällt.


2. Vermeidungssystem: Diese Leute kontrollieren nicht nur das Bild, sie vermeiden auch, öffentlich einen Teil ihres Körpers zu präsentieren, den sie nicht mögen. Was sie wissen, werden sie nicht mögen, wenn andere es verstecken, es verbergen, das Bild retuschieren ...

3. Flucht- und Fluchtsystem: Diese Menschen leiden unter größtmöglicher Frustration und dem Verlust der Kontrolle, wenn das, was sie veröffentlichen, nicht die gewünschte Akzeptanz erhält. In diesem Moment treten Ängste auf, die zu Panikattacken führen.

Wenn die Besessenheit mit unserem Image im Internet immer schlimmer wird

Die Ernsthaftigkeit des Falls wird deutlich, wenn folgende Verhaltensweisen auftreten:

1. Dispersion: mangelnde Aufmerksamkeit in der Klasse, in der Familie, bei der Arbeit mit den Risiken, die mit dem Risiko verbunden sind, Suspendierungen, Entlassungen, Verkehrsunfälle ...

2. Ständige Angst zu wollen, was sie veröffentlichen und die sozialen Auswirkungen ihrer Veröffentlichung auf die ständige Erwartung der Likes.

3. Konstante Wiederholungen von Fotos vor dem Aufhängen des Finales Sie betreten eine zwanghafte Spirale der Kontrolle der Geste, des Make-ups, der Haare, der Kleidung oder des Lichts ... kurz, was andere mögen.

4. Muss immer verbunden sein um sofort die Vorliebe oder den angenehmen Kommentar zu erhalten.
Die Sucht und / oder Obsession macht sich bemerkbar, wenn die Person ihre Verpflichtung aufgibt, die ganze Zeit, die sie dem Internet zur Verfügung stellen, aufzugeben, und wenn dies nicht möglich ist, die Symptome der Abstinenz zu spüren sind, die sie in einen Zustand der Angst bringen und eine Angst, die ihn launisch und reizbar macht. Sie wirken sogar als Panikattacken, was die Fähigkeit zur Konzentration und zum notwendigen Handeln verringert, um ihr Leben normal auszuführen.

"Das Problem selbst kann sehr unterschiedlich sein, hat aber eine gemeinsame Ursache: Es handelt sich um Personen, die an psychischen und Verhaltensstörungen leiden, die behandelt werden müssen, da sie ängstlich, unsicher, introvertiert und ängstlich werden können Ablehnung und soziale Missbilligung, Entwicklung einer Persönlichkeit mit geringem Selbstwertgefühl ", sagt López Vallejo

Normalerweise bittet die Familie um Hilfe für diese Art von Person, da sie die Existenz des Problems bestreitet.Die Intervention auf der Suche nach der Lösung "besteht darin, den Genussmechanismus in ein unangenehmes Erlebnis zu verwandeln, das Sucht-Ritual aufzuheben und gleichzeitig auf die persönlichen und Beziehungsschwierigkeiten einzugehen, die die Abhängigkeit erleichtert haben. Erfolg bei der Bewältigung des Problems: Immer mehr Menschen leiden unter dieser Pathologie ", schließt López Vallejo.

Marina Berrio
Hinweis: Jorge López Pérez Vallejo. Psychologe von López Vallejo Psychologie.

Video: Incels | ContraPoints


Interessante Artikel

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Es gibt neue oder unbekannte Begriffe innerhalb der Cyberabhängigkeit und das hat mit der mobilen Sucht zu tun Wissen wir was es ist Nomophobie und Mobilfia? Die Nomophobie ist die Angst vor Angst,...