Ideal parents, do they exist for teenagers?

The majority of adolescents complain to parents "more freedom". However, for most parents accepting the autonomy and independence of their children is a difficult process to manage, so being ideal parents for teenagers is really complicated.

Some parents give excessive freedom at times when the children are not yet ready. On the contrary, we find fearful parents who prevent children from taking responsibility or making their own decisions, denying them any possibility of maturing and growing as a person. Therefore, it is logical to ask if ideal parents, do they exist for teenagers?

In general, it is common to speak of three parental styles, the authoritarian, the democratic and the permissive. The democratic style It is related to high levels of self-esteem, social skills, academic achievement, independence and maturity. The permissive style It is related to high levels of self-esteem and social skills, but the lack of limits have been related to higher scores in immaturity and dependence. The authoritarian style it has been related to lower levels of self-esteem and confidence, greater fears and insecurities and high scores in obedience and academic performance.


Teens prefer democratic style parents

As a result, it seems that the democratic style is the one that most positively influences adolescents. According to this model, although all adolescents will try to question the norms, comparing them with those of other families, parents must exercise the authority so that the children understand that in life there are limits and they learn to tolerate frustration. You should also help understand the consequences of their behaviors. For example, if a child arrives two hours later than the scheduled time and his behavior has no consequences, the father is losing his credibility as an authority figure. However, the measures you take must be consistent. If you punish your child without leaving on Saturday for having failed an exam, you can not arrive on Saturday and take away the punishment.


But nevertheless, the limits must go hand in hand with communication, since communication and trust allow negotiation. For example, if your child asks you to come back an hour later than usual because it is the end of the year party and all your friends are going to come back later, you can renegotiate the time for specific situations like this one. Unfortunately, there are no recipes to improve communication with adolescents, since each child is a world. One way to get close is to get interested in the things you like.

Democratic parents and benefits for their children

Also, democratic parents They encourage children to make decisions and teach them to learn from their mistakes. If we protect them we will not be helping them to become stronger and more mature. Adolescents need opportunities to explore different roles, try new personalities and experiment. However, it is very important that these decisions are guided and supervised by an adult.


Instead of giving sermons about what you have to do and what you do not have to do, your children will listen to you if you take the time to listen carefully. It is not as important to talk as to listen. Many times parents want to help children who interrupt them by giving solutions before they finish telling the problem, when they are probably just looking to be listened to or guided.

Finally, as the child shows more maturity and responsibility, he can be given more freedom. You can start by giving small domestic responsibilities and gradually decrease the degree of control.

Parent education styles

1. Authoritarian style: characteristic of parents who demand obedience, restrict the autonomy of the child and try to control the behavior of children in a rigid way through physical punishment, verbal threats or continuous prohibitions.

2. Democratic style: used by parents who direct the child's activities rationally, establishing clear limits that must be respected and allowing reasoning and negotiation.

3. Permissive style: used by parents who try to encourage the son's autonomy. However, they avoid setting limits or supervising the child's behavior.

Cristina Noriega García. Institute of Family Studies. CEU San Pablo University

Video: How to raise successful kids -- without over-parenting | Julie Lythcott-Haims


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Ideale Eltern, gibt es sie für Teenager?

Die Mehrheit der Jugendlichen beklagt sich bei Eltern über "mehr Freiheit". Für die meisten Eltern ist es jedoch schwierig, die Autonomie und Unabhängigkeit ihrer Kinder zu akzeptieren. Daher ist es sehr kompliziert, ideale Eltern für Jugendliche zu sein.

Manche Eltern geben zu große Freiheit, wenn die Kinder noch nicht bereit sind. Im Gegenteil, wir finden ängstliche Eltern, die Kinder daran hindern, Verantwortung zu übernehmen oder eigene Entscheidungen zu treffen, und ihnen jegliche Möglichkeit verweigern, als Mensch zu reifen und zu wachsen. Daher ist es logisch zu fragen, ob ideale Eltern, gibt es sie für Jugendliche?

Im Allgemeinen ist es üblich, von drei Elternstilen zu sprechen: dem autoritären, dem demokratischen und dem toleranten. Der demokratische Stil Es hängt mit hohem Selbstwertgefühl, sozialer Kompetenz, akademischer Leistung, Unabhängigkeit und Reife zusammen. Der freizügige Stil Es hängt mit einem hohen Maß an Selbstwertgefühl und sozialen Fähigkeiten zusammen, aber das Fehlen von Grenzen wurde mit höheren Werten bei Unreife und Abhängigkeit in Verbindung gebracht. Der autoritäre Stil Dies ist auf ein geringeres Selbstwertgefühl und Selbstvertrauen, größere Ängste und Unsicherheiten sowie hohe Gehalts- und Leistungsbewertungen zurückzuführen.


Teenager bevorzugen Eltern im demokratischen Stil

Als Ergebnis scheint es, dass die Der demokratische Stil ist derjenige, der die Jugendlichen am positivsten beeinflusst. Nach diesem Modell müssen Eltern, obwohl alle Jugendlichen versuchen, die Normen in Frage zu stellen und sie mit denen anderer Familien vergleichen, die Autorität ausüben, damit die Kinder verstehen, dass es im Leben Grenzen gibt und sie lernen, Frustration zu tolerieren. Sie sollten auch helfen, die Konsequenzen ihres Verhaltens zu verstehen. Wenn zum Beispiel ein Kind zwei Stunden später als geplant ankommt und sein Verhalten keine Folgen hat, verliert der Vater seine Glaubwürdigkeit als Autoritätsperson. Die Maßnahmen, die Sie ergreifen, müssen jedoch konsistent sein. Wenn Sie Ihr Kind bestrafen, ohne am Samstag abreisen zu müssen, weil Sie eine Prüfung nicht bestanden haben, können Sie am Samstag nicht ankommen und die Strafe wegnehmen.


Jedoch Die Grenzen müssen mit der Kommunikation einhergehen, da Kommunikation und Vertrauen Verhandlungen ermöglichen. Wenn Ihr Kind Sie beispielsweise bittet, eine Stunde später als üblich zurückzukommen, da dies die Party am Ende des Jahres ist und alle Ihre Freunde später wiederkommen werden, können Sie die Zeit für bestimmte Situationen wie diese neu aushandeln. Leider gibt es keine Rezepte, um die Kommunikation mit Jugendlichen zu verbessern, da jedes Kind eine Welt ist. Eine Annäherung ist, sich für die Dinge zu interessieren, die Ihnen gefallen.

Demokratische Eltern und Leistungen für ihre Kinder

Auch demokratische Eltern Sie ermutigen Kinder, Entscheidungen zu treffen, und lehren sie, aus ihren Fehlern zu lernen. Wenn wir sie schützen, werden wir ihnen nicht helfen, stärker und reifer zu werden. Jugendliche brauchen Möglichkeiten, verschiedene Rollen kennenzulernen, neue Persönlichkeiten auszuprobieren und zu experimentieren. Es ist jedoch sehr wichtig, dass diese Entscheidungen von einem Erwachsenen geleitet und überwacht werden.


Anstatt Predigten darüber zu geben, was Sie tun müssen und was Sie nicht tun müssen, werden Ihre Kinder Ihnen zuhören, wenn Sie sich die Zeit nehmen, aufmerksam zuzuhören. Es ist nicht so wichtig zu sprechen wie zuzuhören. Oft möchten Eltern Kindern helfen, die sie unterbrechen, indem sie Lösungen geben, bevor sie mit dem Problem fertig sind, wenn sie wahrscheinlich nur zuhören oder geführt werden möchten.

Schließlich, wenn das Kind mehr Reife und Verantwortung zeigt, kann ihm mehr Freiheit gegeben werden. Sie können anfangen, indem Sie kleine häusliche Aufgaben übernehmen und den Grad der Kontrolle schrittweise verringern.

Erziehungsstile der Eltern

1. autoritärer Stil: Charakteristisch für Eltern, die Gehorsam fordern, die Autonomie des Kindes einschränken und versuchen, das Verhalten von Kindern durch körperliche Bestrafung, verbale Drohungen oder fortgesetzte Verbote starr zu kontrollieren.

2. Demokratischer Stil: von Eltern verwendet, die die Aktivitäten des Kindes rational lenken, klare Grenzen festlegen, die respektiert werden müssen, und Argumente und Verhandlungen zulassen.

3. Erlaubnisstil: von Eltern verwendet, die versuchen, die Autonomie des Sohnes zu fördern. Sie vermeiden jedoch, Grenzen festzulegen oder das Verhalten des Kindes zu überwachen.

Cristina Noriega García. Institut für Familienforschung. CEU San Pablo Universität

Video: Junge Eltern alte Eltern - wann ist die richtige Zeit für Kinder? | NACHTCAFé


Interessante Artikel

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Die Kämpfe zwischen Brüdern von 6 bis 12 Jahren, schädlich und störend im Aussehen, machen wirklich aus ein Hilfsmittel, damit sie in ihrem Gefühl der Geselligkeit ausgebildet werden, Kennen Sie die...

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Có vô số dịp trong cuộc đời của con cái chúng ta, trong đó chúng ta không thể phân biệt được giữa một sự khẩn cấp thực sự của một nỗi sợ hãi đơn giản. Vì lý do này, thật tốt khi có một số khái niệm...