Yo-yo diets: a danger to the hearts of young people

A good body is something to which we all aspire but which is very difficult to achieve. Avoiding overweight requires perseverance: balanced diets, exercise and a lot of willpower. However, the social pressure and the search for quick solutions based on the suppression of some food and that quickly reduce the kilos of those who practice them. But, once this process is finished, what has been lost comes back.

These subsistence allowance that make people change weight quickly are known as 'yo-yo' is very common to see in young people. The search for a body adapted to the canons of beauty make these ineffective practices to find the ideal weight and also have many negative effects on the health of those who perform them.


Cardiovascular risk

Health is the first to suffer from these sudden losses and weight gains that have an effect on the human body. In fact those who perform the subsistence allowance 'yo-yo' have a higher risk of cardiovascular disease as revealed by a new study of the Langone Medical Center of NYU, in the city of New York.

The effects of rapid weight fluctuations in the heart of patients were analyzed in 10,000 patients. For 4 years the researchers took note of the weight changes in the participants, the time that had passed to reach them, as well as the hardening of the arteries to analyze the situation of their cardiovascular health.


After taking note of all these aspects, the researchers found that those patients who had experienced more dramatic weight changes were 117% more likely to die from a heart attack. The researchers point out that these sudden changes in BMI end up stressing the body, which ends up leaving sequels in the cardiovascular state of people.

Other problems derived

The researchers also observed that the stress produced by the 'yo-yo' diets in the patients also had Negative effects in other ways. For example, these people were more likely to smoke due to the nervousness that their body experienced. This, together with the state in which the organism remains, increases the risk of cardiovascular diseases.

The authors explain that although losing weight, in cases where it is needed, is not bad, it must be done in an appropriate way. The first thing you have to do is go to a nutritionist to mark the way forward. This specialist will determine some guidelines that will help the patient to find an adequate BMI for their health and maintaining a balanced diet.


This weight loss should be seen as a goal long-term, not as something that you want to get immediately. The loss of kilos should be gradual and not in a short space of time, and should never be the fruit of the diet alone. The menu recommended by the nutritionist should accompany daily exercise sessions.

The specialists also remember that once the correct BMI has been obtained, it must be maintained. Just like losing weight quickly is a problem, earning it just as quickly also makes health resents in the same way. The technique is the same: balanced diet and daily exercise to keep fit.

Damián Montero

Video: Study: Yo-Yo Dieting Linked to More Deaths in People With Pre-Existing Heart Disease


Interesting Articles

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Get a good lactation in the first days after the birth of the baby is the basis of good nutrition. In addition, breastfeeding also creates a very special bond between mothers and children. These two...

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

The large number of different products that exist for babies they force us to be very alert not to make mistakes and regret later. If you are thinking about getting a Changer for your little one, the...

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

When you talk about how important it is eat fruit and vegetables, all nutritionists advise especially take those that are seasonal. However, today in supermarkets you can find practically everything...

Jo-Jo-Diäten: Eine Gefahr für die Herzen junger Menschen

Ein guter Körper ist etwas, das wir alle anstreben, aber es ist sehr schwer zu erreichen. Um Übergewicht zu vermeiden, erfordert Ausdauer: ausgewogene Ernährung, Bewegung und viel Willenskraft. Der soziale Druck und die Suche nach schnellen Lösungen, die auf der Unterdrückung einiger Lebensmittel beruhen und die das Gewicht derer, die sie praktizieren, schnell reduzieren. Aber wenn dieser Prozess abgeschlossen ist, kommt das verlorene wieder zurück.

Diese Diäten Dass die Menschen das Gewicht schnell ändern, wird als "Jo-Jo" bezeichnet und ist bei jungen Menschen sehr verbreitet. Die Suche nach einem Körper, der an die Schönheitskanone angepasst ist, macht diese unwirksamen Praktiken zur Ermittlung des idealen Gewichts und hat auch viele negative Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit derer, die sie ausführen.


Kardiovaskuläres risiko

Gesundheit ist die erste, die unter diesen plötzlichen Verlusten und Gewichtszunahmen leidet, die sich auf den menschlichen Körper auswirken. In der Tat diejenigen, die das durchführen Diäten 'yo-yo' haben ein höheres Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, wie eine neue Studie der Langone Medical Center der NYUin der Stadt New York.

Die Auswirkungen schneller Gewichtsschwankungen im Herzen der Patienten wurden bei 10.000 Patienten analysiert. Vier Jahre lang haben die Forscher die Gewichtsveränderungen der Teilnehmer, die Zeit, die sie bis zum Erreichen der Zeit vergangen hatten, sowie die Verhärtung der Arterien zur Analyse der Situation ihrer Teilnehmer zur Kenntnis genommen Herz-Kreislauf-Gesundheit.


Nachdem sie alle diese Aspekte zur Kenntnis genommen hatten, stellten die Forscher fest, dass bei Patienten, die dramatischere Gewichtsveränderungen erfahren hatten, eine um 117% höhere Wahrscheinlichkeit bestand, an a zu sterben Herzinfarkt. Die Forscher weisen darauf hin, dass diese plötzlichen Änderungen des BMI den Körper belasten, was letztendlich zu Folgen im kardiovaskulären Zustand der Menschen führt.

Andere Probleme abgeleitet

Die Forscher beobachteten auch, dass der Stress, den die "Jo-Jo-Diäten" bei den Patienten hervorriefen, ebenfalls bestand negative Auswirkungen auf andere Weise. Diese Menschen rauchten zum Beispiel aufgrund der Nervosität, die ihr Körper erlebte. Zusammen mit dem Zustand, in dem sich der Organismus befindet, erhöht dies das Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen.

Die Autoren erklären, dass das Abnehmen in Fällen, in denen es notwendig ist, nicht schlecht ist, es muss jedoch auf geeignete Weise geschehen. Das erste, was Sie tun müssen, ist zu gehen Ernährungsberaterin den Weg nach vorne markieren. Dieser Fachmann wird einige Richtlinien festlegen, die dem Patienten helfen, einen für seine Gesundheit ausreichenden BMI zu finden und eine ausgewogene Ernährung aufrechtzuerhalten.


Dieser Gewichtsverlust sollte als Ziel verstanden werden langfristig, nicht als etwas, das Sie sofort erhalten möchten. Der Kilogrammverlust sollte schrittweise und nicht in kurzer Zeit erfolgen und sollte niemals die Frucht der Diät allein sein. Das vom Ernährungsberater empfohlene Menü sollte die täglichen Übungssitzungen begleiten.

Die Spezialisten erinnern sich auch daran, dass der korrekte BMI aufrechterhalten werden muss, sobald er den richtigen BMI erhalten hat. So wie das Abnehmen schnell ein Problem ist, macht es genauso schnell auch gesund ärgert sich auf die gleiche Weise. Die Technik ist die gleiche: ausgewogene Ernährung und tägliche Bewegung, um sich fit zu halten.

Damián Montero

Video: Instagram-Diät: Wie gefährlich ist die Stoffwechselkur?


Interessante Artikel

Theatervorteile für Kinder

Theatervorteile für Kinder

Das Kindertheater ist eine der beliebtesten außerschulischen Aktivitäten für Kinder. Um Theater zu machen, ist es nicht notwendig, dass ein Star in der Familie geboren wird, es reicht aus, wenn das...