When social networks isolate you from the world

With the new technologies the distances have been shortened. Whereas in the past, methods such as letters It took months to get to communicate with someone miles away, today it is possible to talk in real time to talk with another person and even see it through a video call. But, to what extent have they favored social relations?

According to him Center for Research on Media, Technology and Health at the University of Pittsburgh, paradoxically social networks They are focused on increasing the group of friends, they end up isolating us from the world. Although they are seen as "the panacea of ​​interaction", they do the opposite: they prevent people from strengthening their relationships.


Interaction with a screen in social networks

The problem of relationships that are made through social networks, is that they are made through a screen. To check how these platforms could affect young people, this center carried out a questionnaire to 1,800 people from 19 to 32 years of age. These participants had to answer questions about the profiles on these websites.

At the same time, this study asked people about the anxiety they had when interacting with other people and about the friendships they had outside of their computer. Those participants who most used social networks, were the ones who said they felt lonely and isolated from the rest of the world.


Those who dedicated around 61 minutes to manage their social network profiles were less likely to feel alone than those who spent twice as much. Those who claimed to feel fully happy in their level of friends were those who spent less than half an hour on these platforms. For those responsible for this research an explanation is that "maybe people who feel more socially isolated use many social media to try to increase their social circles."

The solution? According to these authors, it goes through leave the screens and interact with real people. "A much more valuable and robust way of dealing with perceived social isolation would probably be to foster true social relationships in person," the researchers conclude.


Maintain a friendship and keep it

As the authors of this study say, it is better to maintain a friendship in reality than through social networks. For it nothing better than to conserve it and take care of it one sees that one has. These are some tips for this purpose:

1. A call never hurts. Do not wait for the phone to ring, dare to call them and suggest plans. A proactive mentality is very helpful to take care of friendships.

2. Always attentive. As we have said, a friend supposes a strong emotional support. For this reason, we must also be so for the members of this group, if we notice that a partner has problems, it is important to let him know that we are there.

3. Patience. Nobody is perfect and as with our partner, if we accept a person as a friend we do it understanding that it has virtues and defects. Do not get upset if at some point you do something that bothers you, sure a thousand more you like.

4. Generosity and understanding. You do not always have to make the plans that you like. If at any time the group opts for an activity that does not convince you, adapt and find reasons to have fun despite everything. Next time it will be up to you to choose.

5. Confidentiality. Being an emotional support, it is not surprising that a friend becomes a bank where the other person deposits the secrets. However, no one likes to reveal their intimacies, so respect the decision to keep this out of reach of other ears.

Damián Montero

Video: How social media makes us unsocial | Allison Graham | TEDxSMU


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Wenn soziale Netzwerke Sie von der Welt isolieren

Mit den neuen Technologien wurden die Entfernungen verkürzt. Während in der Vergangenheit Methoden wie Buchstaben Es hat Monate gedauert, um mit jemandem in der Ferne zu kommunizieren, heute ist es möglich, in Echtzeit zu sprechen, um mit einer anderen Person zu sprechen und sogar einen Videoanruf zu sehen. Inwieweit haben sie soziale Beziehungen bevorzugt?

Nach dem Zentrum für Medien-, Technologie- und Gesundheitsforschung an der University of Pittsburghparadoxerweise soziale Netzwerke Sie konzentrieren sich darauf, die Gruppe der Freunde zu vergrößern, und sie isolieren uns letztendlich von der Welt. Obwohl sie als "Allheilmittel der Interaktion" angesehen werden, tun sie das Gegenteil: Sie hindern die Menschen daran, ihre Beziehungen zu festigen.


Interaktion mit einem Bildschirm in sozialen Netzwerken

Das Problem der durchgeführten Beziehungen soziale Netzwerkeist, dass sie durch einen Bildschirm hergestellt werden. Um zu prüfen, wie sich diese Plattformen auf junge Menschen auswirken können, hat dieses Zentrum 1800 Personen im Alter von 19 bis 32 Jahren einen Fragebogen ausgefüllt. Diese Teilnehmer mussten Fragen zu den Profilen auf diesen Websites beantworten.

Gleichzeitig befragte diese Studie die Menschen nach der Angst, die sie beim Umgang mit anderen Menschen hatten, und nach den Freundschaften, die sie außerhalb ihres Computers hatten. Diejenigen Teilnehmer, die am häufigsten soziale Netzwerke nutzten, sagten, sie fühlten sich einsam und isoliert von der Rest der Welt.


Diejenigen, die sich herumgetan haben 61 minuten Die Verwaltung ihrer sozialen Netzwerkprofile fühlt sich weniger einsam als diejenigen, die doppelt so viel ausgegeben haben. Diejenigen, die behaupteten, in ihrem Bekanntheitsgrad vollkommen glücklich zu sein, waren diejenigen, die weniger als eine halbe Stunde auf diesen Plattformen verbrachten. Für die Verantwortlichen dieser Forschung lautet die Erklärung, dass "vielleicht Menschen, die sich sozial isoliert fühlen, viele soziale Medien nutzen, um zu versuchen, ihre sozialen Kreise zu vergrößern."

Die lösung? Laut diesen Autoren geht es weiter die Bildschirme verlassen und mit echten Menschen interagieren. "Eine viel wertvollere und robustere Art und Weise, mit der wahrgenommenen sozialen Isolation umzugehen, wäre wahrscheinlich die Förderung persönlicher sozialer Beziehungen", schlussfolgern die Forscher.


Eine Freundschaft pflegen und behalten

Wie die Autoren dieser Studie sagen, ist es besser, eine Freundschaft in der Realität zu pflegen als durch soziale Netzwerke. Es ist nichts Besseres, als es zu konservieren und darauf zu achten, dass man sieht, dass man es hat. Dies sind einige Tipps zu diesem Zweck:

1. Ein Anruf schadet nie. Warten Sie nicht auf das Klingeln des Telefons, wagen Sie es, anzurufen und Pläne vorzuschlagen. Eine proaktive Mentalität ist sehr hilfreich, um Freundschaften zu pflegen.

2. Immer aufmerksam. Wie gesagt, ein Freund vermutet eine starke emotionale Unterstützung. Aus diesem Grund müssen wir es auch für die Mitglieder dieser Gruppe tun. Wenn wir feststellen, dass ein Partner Probleme hat, ist es wichtig, ihn wissen zu lassen, dass wir da sind.

3. Geduld. Niemand ist perfekt und wie bei unserem Partner: Wenn wir jemanden als Freund akzeptieren, verstehen wir, dass er Tugenden und Mängel hat. Ärgern Sie sich nicht, wenn Sie irgendwann etwas tun, das Sie stört.

4. Großzügigkeit und Verständnis. Sie müssen nicht immer die Pläne machen, die Ihnen gefallen. Wenn sich die Gruppe zu irgendeinem Zeitpunkt für eine Aktivität entscheidet, die Sie nicht überzeugt, passen Sie sich an und finden Sie Gründe, um trotz allem Spaß zu haben. Das nächste Mal liegt es an Ihnen, zu wählen.

5. Vertraulichkeit. Da es sich um eine emotionale Unterstützung handelt, ist es nicht überraschend, dass ein Freund eine Bank wird, in der die andere Person die Geheimnisse ablegt. Allerdings möchte niemand ihre Intimitäten preisgeben, respektieren Sie daher die Entscheidung, diese für andere Ohren nicht zugänglich zu machen.

Damián Montero

Video: Die sozialen Netzwerke – Das Video vom Papst – Juni 2018


Interessante Artikel

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Zeichnungen an den Wänden, Kissen mit Formen, Gedichte an der Decke ... machen den Raum der Kleinen zu einem magischen Ort, der Ihre Fantasie anregt! Dort schlafen sie, sie machen ihre Hausaufgaben,...