We are the mirror of our children: overwhelmed to set an example?

Part of our children's life learning is consolidated on our own experience. We try by all means to inculcate opinions, values ​​and attitudes towards life based on our own experience. Either to follow our steps or precisely to avoid a problem that we have already had to deal with, the truth is that we are the mirror of our children and we become the role model for young people.

Throughout childhood, our children look for people in their environment who become their guides, figures that they themselves choose and in which they set to develop both their personality and their vision of life. These models are usually, in the first instance, the parents. ¿We feel overwhelmed for setting an example? If we know how to act, we do not have why.


This search is most evident during pre-adolescence and adolescence, when children begin their process of "finding themselves" on their way to adulthood. It is at this time that they can identify those people who are really going to provide relevant experiences.

How to be the mirror of our children

And for this relationship to really work, what should we do?

- The implication by both parties. It is no good for our son to seek help or advice if we are not able to realize and pay attention.

- Support is essential. For this reason, if they do not choose us as a model and feel closer to an uncle or friend of the family, for example, our responsibility will be to enhance the relationship with this person, as long as we consider that he is trustworthy and that he will exercise a positive influence


- Offer information. If we want our son to do things like us, there is no point in imposing criteria, but to inform on why we make certain decisions. They must learn that we do not move only by impulse and that each act we carry out is based on concrete decisions. Thus, they will understand the reason for our actions, in such a way that in the future they will have the necessary tools to act.

- Safety climate. For them it is very important to create a climate in which they feel safe. Above all, you have to avoid judging them or feeling attacked. The relationship with your guide must be completely trustworthy, so that they see you as their role model and to make them feel comfortable with their actions.

- Avoid pressure. Sometimes for lack of information or simply because the situation exceeds us, we can tend to feel a certain burden that we transfer to them as well. Trying to relax and dedicate a minute for ourselves will help control the situation, to feel calmer.


Regardless of the relationship we have with our children, what is important, therefore, is to generate a climate of tranquility. Parents, applying proactive parenting techniques, can feel calm and confident about ourselves when transferring our knowledge. This will be the only way to transmit strength to them as well.

Deanna Marie Mason, expert in education and family health. Blog author Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. Proactive fatherhood Professional support for the modern family.

Video: Eminem - Headlights (Explicit) ft. Nate Ruess


Interesting Articles

Skoda Fabia Combi. Capable and orderly

Skoda Fabia Combi. Capable and orderly

We only need to look inside our vehicle to know what kind of family we are and how much we store in the car. The new Fabia Combi adapts to our needs and prepares for the arrival of suitcases, drinks...

Generosity, tricks to teach children

Generosity, tricks to teach children

Teaching a child to be generous is not easy, especially considering that children are in a stage of natural selfishness and do not know how to put themselves in the place of those around them. These...

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

When parents discover that their children are using drugs, initial reactions often include feelings of guilt, anger, shame or even not wanting to accept reality. In the middle of this gale of...

Wir sind der Spiegel unserer Kinder: überwältigt, um ein Beispiel zu setzen?

Ein Teil des Lebenslernens unserer Kinder basiert auf unseren eigenen Erfahrungen. Wir versuchen auf jeden Fall, Meinungen, Werte und Einstellungen zum Leben aufgrund unserer eigenen Erfahrung einzuprägen. Entweder um unseren Schritten zu folgen oder um genau ein Problem zu vermeiden, mit dem wir uns bereits befassen mussten, ist dies die Wahrheit Wir sind der Spiegel unserer Kinder und wir werden zum Vorbild für junge Menschen.

Während der Kindheit suchen unsere Kinder nach Menschen in ihrer Umgebung, die zu ihren Führern werden, Figuren, die sie selbst wählen und in die sie sich setzen, um sowohl ihre Persönlichkeit als auch ihre Lebensvision zu entwickeln. Diese Modelle sind in der Regel in erster Linie die Eltern. ¿Wir sind überfordert, ein Beispiel zu setzen? Wenn wir wissen, wie wir handeln sollen, haben wir keinen Grund dafür.


Diese Suche ist am deutlichsten während der Pubertät und der Adoleszenz, wenn Kinder auf ihrem Weg ins Erwachsenenalter mit dem "Finden" beginnen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt können sie diejenigen Personen identifizieren, die wirklich relevante Erfahrungen bieten.

Wie können wir der Spiegel unserer Kinder sein?

Und damit diese Beziehung wirklich funktioniert, was sollten wir tun?

- Die Implikation beider Parteien. Es ist nicht gut für unseren Sohn, Hilfe oder Rat einzuholen, wenn wir nicht in der Lage sind, dies zu erkennen und zu beachten.

- Unterstützung ist wichtig. Wenn sie uns beispielsweise nicht als Vorbild wählen und sich einem Onkel oder Freund der Familie näher fühlen, besteht unsere Verantwortung darin, die Beziehung zu dieser Person zu verbessern, solange wir glauben, dass er vertrauenswürdig ist und die er ausüben wird ein positiver einfluss


- Informationen anbieten. Wenn wir möchten, dass unser Sohn Dinge wie wir tut, hat es keinen Sinn, Kriterien festzulegen, sondern darüber zu informieren, warum wir bestimmte Entscheidungen treffen. Sie müssen lernen, dass wir uns nicht nur durch einen Impuls bewegen und dass jede Handlung, die wir ausführen, auf konkreten Entscheidungen beruht. Auf diese Weise werden sie den Grund für unser Handeln verstehen, so dass sie in Zukunft die notwendigen Werkzeuge zum Handeln haben werden.

- Sicherheitsklima. Für sie ist es sehr wichtig, ein Klima zu schaffen, in dem sie sich sicher fühlen. Vor allem muss man es vermeiden, sie zu urteilen oder sich angegriffen zu fühlen. Die Beziehung zu Ihrem Guide muss absolut vertrauenswürdig sein, damit er Sie als Vorbild betrachtet und sich in seinem Handeln wohl fühlt.

- Vermeiden Sie Druck. Manchmal können wir aus Mangel an Informationen oder einfach weil die Situation uns übersteigt, eine gewisse Belastung empfinden, die wir auch auf sie übertragen. Wenn Sie versuchen, sich zu entspannen und sich eine Minute für uns zu widmen, können Sie die Situation unter Kontrolle halten und sich ruhiger fühlen.


Unabhängig von der Beziehung zu unseren Kindern ist es daher wichtig, ein Klima der Ruhe zu schaffen. Eltern, die proaktive Erziehungsmethoden anwenden, können sich beim Transfer unseres Wissens ruhig und selbstsicher fühlen. Dies ist der einzige Weg, um auch ihnen Kraft zu verleihen.

Deanna Marie Mason, Experte für Bildung und Familiengesundheit. Blog-Autor Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. Proaktive Vaterschaft Professionelle Unterstützung für die moderne Familie.

Video: 2017 Maps of Meaning 1: Context and Background


Interessante Artikel

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Zeichnungen an den Wänden, Kissen mit Formen, Gedichte an der Decke ... machen den Raum der Kleinen zu einem magischen Ort, der Ihre Fantasie anregt! Dort schlafen sie, sie machen ihre Hausaufgaben,...