How to prepare children to stay alone

The ANAR Foundation receives more than one million calls from minors who do not have parents next door at home to help them with a problem. If you have no choice but to leave your child alone in the afternoon, it is important that you prepare to stay alone and that knows how to face any eventuality. For this, you will have to dedicate time - for example, on weekends - and often remind you of certain rules that you should not fail to comply with.

Preparing children to stay alone means that they must know what to do and who to call in case of emergency. How to contact you at all hours. Know the names and phone numbers of other trusted adults. Specifically, you should be familiar with the use of the 112 emergency telephone.


They must also know what is going to happen. How long will he be alone? Where are you going to be and why? And you must also give him confidence and security, and tell him that you believe in him.

10 rules for when you are alone at home

For all this, it is necessary to establish some rules that we must all comply with when we stay at home alone.

1. That you know what is not allowed when you are out and leave a list of tasks or orders to be busy.

2. You must call him by phone to see how everything is going

3. We must insist that he not be entertained along the way back home

4. Must know when and how to answer the phone or to the doorbell.


5. You must abide by the rules of use of the telephone, whose use must be limited.

6. What friends or visitors can enter at home.

7. It is necessary to fix the responsibilities on the brothers.

8. You have to know what rules you have to meet in relation to free time and the use of television, videos, consoles, etc.

9. You must have limited access to television channels for adults and have an internet filter.

10. You have to talk to him when he returns home and share your feelings.

Alternatives before leaving children alone

Before considering leaving a child alone at home we must reflect on other alternatives, even if they involve a greater effort of organization or resignation.


If it were possible, we have to shuffle from changing jobs, to request a reduction in working hours. We can also try to negotiate schedules with the company, rely on family members, hire a student -it is cheaper- to accompany him for a few hours and help him perform his tasks; everything is preferable before leaving them alone.

There are some day centers that cater to children in these circumstances. We can also investigate whether public libraries near home or at school organize specific attention programs to combat the "key children" problem.

Also, there are public parks that have recreation and sports programs aimed at these children. Telephone companies have proliferated with sophisticated systems of calls to house to verify if the children are well and to warn the parents in case these have some problem. The most important thing is to be aware that the best gift a father or mother can give their children is their time. We can not afford to have a wrong scale of priorities, which damages them and consequently harms society.

Tips to prepare children who should be left alone at home

- The importance of age. Each child matures at a different rate but, generally, it is better to wait until adolescence to leave them alone, since they must have enough sense of responsibility to be left alone for limited periods of time.

- Fear to loneliness. Staying alone at home can be frightening and is a potentially dangerous situation for many children and teenagers. For example, there are more insecure children who let their imagination fly in the face of any noise and may suffer an anxiety crisis or be unable to concentrate for the study when they are watching everything. Others, however, can take advantage to connect to the Internet without control, with the risks that derive from contacting "with false identities" who pretend to be children of their age.

- Time, at times or long periods. Remember that it is not the same to leave our children alone for a short time or even an afternoon having prepared them properly for it, than to leave them usually alone for long periods.

- Minimize the risks. In addition to age and maturity, the child must have certain skills and abilities to be able to stay alone at home, minimizing risks.
It is good practice to test possible situations of danger and teach the child how to react to them. For example, "if your brother takes a lighter and sets the quilts on fire, what would you do?" And to do it as if it were a simulacrum.

- Rules to act. It is important to remember that you can never say that you are alone to whom you call by phone, or if you connect to the internet.

- Avoid abusing. Not even a mature and responsible child should stay alone at home very often. If you have to be out every afternoon, you can organize and review with your child every Sunday a concrete plan for each day, with goals that on your return you will examine together to praise or correct if necessary.

Maria Lucea
Advice: Miryam Peña. Degree in Pedagogy. Family Counselor

It may interest you:

- What are the rights of work and family reconciliation in Spain

- The behavior of children: problems and disorders that are difficult to manage

- Extracurricular activities

- Educate in the order: the orders

Video: Safety tips for kids left home alone


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

Wie bereite ich Kinder auf das Alleinsein vor?

Die ANAR-Stiftung erhält mehr als eine Million Anrufe von Minderjährigen, die keine Eltern zu Hause haben, um ihnen bei einem Problem zu helfen. Wenn Sie keine andere Wahl haben, als Ihr Kind am Nachmittag alleine zu lassen, ist es wichtig, dass Sie es tun Bereite dich darauf vor, alleine zu bleiben und das weiß, wie es mit jeder Eventualität zu tun hat. Dazu müssen Sie sich Zeit nehmen, beispielsweise an Wochenenden, und Sie oft an bestimmte Regeln erinnern, die Sie unbedingt beachten sollten.

Wenn Kinder auf das Alleinsein vorbereitet werden, müssen sie wissen, was zu tun ist und wen sie im Notfall anrufen müssen. So erreichen Sie Sie rund um die Uhr. Kennen Sie die Namen und Telefonnummern anderer vertrauenswürdiger Erwachsener. Insbesondere sollten Sie mit der Verwendung des Notruf-Telefons 112 vertraut sein.


Sie müssen auch wissen, was passieren wird. Wie lange wird er alleine sein? Wo wirst du sein und warum? Und Sie müssen ihm auch Vertrauen und Sicherheit geben und ihm sagen, dass Sie an ihn glauben.

10 Regeln, wenn Sie alleine zu Hause sind

Für all dies ist es notwendig, einige Regeln festzulegen, die wir alle einhalten müssen, wenn wir allein zu Hause bleiben.

1. Dass Sie wissen, was nicht erlaubt ist Wenn Sie unterwegs sind und eine Liste mit Aufgaben oder Aufträgen hinterlassen, die beschäftigt sind.

2. Sie müssen ihn telefonisch anrufen um zu sehen, wie alles läuft

3. Wir müssen darauf bestehen, dass er unterwegs nicht unterhalten wird wieder zu hause

4. Sie müssen wissen, wann und wie das Telefon beantwortet werden soll oder an die Türklingel.


5. Sie müssen die Nutzungsregeln des Telefons einhalten, deren Verwendung begrenzt sein muss.

6. Welche Freunde oder Besucher können zu Hause eintreten.

7. Es ist notwendig, die Verantwortlichkeiten der Brüder festzulegen.

8. Sie müssen wissen, welche Regeln Sie einhalten müssen in Bezug auf Freizeit und die Verwendung von Fernsehen, Videos, Konsolen usw.

9. Sie müssen begrenzten Zugang zu Fernsehkanälen haben für Erwachsene und haben einen Internetfilter.

10. Du musst mit ihm reden, wenn er nach Hause kommt und teilen Sie Ihre Gefühle.

Alternativen, bevor Sie Kinder alleine lassen

Bevor wir in Erwägung ziehen, ein Kind allein zu Hause zu lassen, müssen wir über andere Alternativen nachdenken, auch wenn diese mit größerem Aufwand für Organisation oder Rücktritt verbunden sind.


Wenn es möglich wäre, müssen wir uns von wechselnden Arbeitsplätzen umstellen, um eine Reduzierung der Arbeitszeit zu fordern. Wir können auch versuchen, Zeitpläne mit dem Unternehmen auszuhandeln, sich auf Familienmitglieder zu verlassen und einen Studenten einzustellen - es ist billiger -, um ihn einige Stunden zu begleiten und ihm bei der Erfüllung seiner Aufgaben zu helfen. Alles ist vorzuziehen, bevor Sie sie alleine lassen.

Es gibt einige Tageszentren, die Kinder unter diesen Umständen versorgen. Wir können auch untersuchen, ob öffentliche Bibliotheken in der Nähe oder in der Schule spezifische Aufmerksamkeitsprogramme organisieren, um das "Schlüsselkinder" -Problem zu bekämpfen.

Es gibt auch öffentliche Parks, in denen Freizeit- und Sportprogramme für diese Kinder angeboten werden. Telefongesellschaften haben mit ausgeklügelten Systemen von Hausbesuchen zugenommen, um zu überprüfen, ob es den Kindern gut geht, und um die Eltern zu warnen, falls diese Probleme haben. Das Wichtigste ist, sich bewusst zu sein, dass das beste Geschenk, das ein Vater oder eine Mutter ihren Kindern geben kann, ihre Zeit ist. Wir können es uns nicht leisten, eine falsche Skala von Prioritäten zu haben, die sie schädigt und folglich die Gesellschaft schädigt.

Tipps zur Vorbereitung von Kindern, die zu Hause alleine gelassen werden sollten

- Die Bedeutung des Alters. Jedes Kind reift mit einer anderen Rate, aber im Allgemeinen ist es besser, bis zur Pubertät zu warten, um es in Ruhe zu lassen, da es über ausreichend Verantwortungsbewusstsein verfügen muss, um für kurze Zeit in Ruhe gelassen zu werden.

- Angst vor Einsamkeit. Allein zu Hause zu bleiben kann erschreckend sein und ist für viele Kinder und Jugendliche eine potenziell gefährliche Situation. Zum Beispiel gibt es mehr unsichere Kinder, die ihre Phantasie angesichts von Lärm überflügeln lassen und möglicherweise eine Angstkrise erleiden oder sich nicht auf die Studie konzentrieren können, wenn sie alles beobachten. Andere wiederum können die Internetverbindung ohne Kontrolle nutzen, wobei die Gefahr besteht, dass mit "falschen Identitäten" Kontakt aufgenommen wird, die sich als Kinder ihres Alters ausgeben.

- Zeit, zu Zeiten oder zu langen Zeiten. Denken Sie daran, dass es nicht dasselbe ist, wenn Sie unsere Kinder für kurze Zeit oder sogar für einen Nachmittag in Ruhe lassen, bevor Sie sie richtig vorbereitet haben, als sie normalerweise für längere Zeit alleine zu lassen.

- Minimieren Sie die Risiken. Zusätzlich zu Alter und Reife muss das Kind über bestimmte Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten verfügen, um allein zu Hause bleiben zu können und Risiken zu minimieren.
Es empfiehlt sich, mögliche Gefahrensituationen zu testen und dem Kind beizubringen, wie es darauf reagieren soll. Zum Beispiel: "Wenn Ihr Bruder ein Feuerzeug nimmt und die Bettdecken in Brand setzt, was würden Sie tun?" Und als wäre es ein Simulacrum.

- Regeln zum Handeln. Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass Sie niemals sagen können, dass Sie alleine sind, wen Sie telefonisch anrufen oder ob Sie sich mit dem Internet verbinden.

- Vermeiden Sie Missbrauch. Nicht einmal ein reifes und verantwortungsbewusstes Kind sollte sehr oft allein zu Hause bleiben. Wenn Sie jeden Nachmittag unterwegs sein müssen, können Sie mit Ihrem Kind jeden Sonntag einen konkreten Plan für jeden Tag planen und prüfen, dessen Ziele Sie bei Ihrer Rückkehr gemeinsam prüfen, um gegebenenfalls zu loben oder zu korrigieren.

Maria Lucea
Hinweis: Miryam Peña. Abschluss in Pädagogik. Familienberater

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Welches sind die Rechte auf Arbeit und Familienausgleich in Spanien?

- Das Verhalten von Kindern: Probleme und Störungen, die schwer zu handhaben sind

- Außerschulische Aktivitäten

- Erziehen Sie in der Reihenfolge: die Bestellungen

Video: Wie bereite ich mein Kind auf das Zweite vor? | Kleinkind | Eltern ABC | ELTERN | Elternratgeber


Interessante Artikel

10 Spiele für Kinder mit Legasthenie

10 Spiele für Kinder mit Legasthenie

Die Kinder mit Legasthenie Sie haben täglich viele Schwierigkeiten. Ihre Art, die Briefe wahrzunehmen und die von ihnen übermittelten Informationen zu verarbeiten, ist unterschiedlich. Kinder mit...

Verlorene Kinder, wie sollen Eltern vorgehen?

Verlorene Kinder, wie sollen Eltern vorgehen?

Es gibt Situationen, die nicht vorhersehbar sind. Bestimmte Umstände können Eltern schlecht überraschen, von einer unerwarteten Erkältung bis hin zur falsche Platzierung eines Kindes in einem...