Spending time outdoors improves the quality of sleep

Who does not like it sleep well. After a day of work and efforts, a well-deserved rest awaits in the bed to recharge the batteries. For this reason, seeking the quality of sleep becomes a very common desire among people. Now a group of researchers They have discovered a new way to do it: spend time outdoors.

Adaptation to light cycles

The study carried out by the University of Colorado followed the quality of the dream of a group of people who had gone to a camping trip. After a week outdoors, their bodies rested better at night and had no problem falling asleep. In addition, the saliva samples showed higher levels of melatonin, "sleep hormone".


The levels of melatonin began to increase more or less with the sunset, and the "biological night" of the campers began two hours before. The explanation? Their organisms had gotten used to the cycles of light.

Being outdoors, her body had adapted to working with light and resting when it was gone. Something that can not be done at home since the artificial lighting causes the body is always active and not find the time to relax and promote good rest.

The researchers point out that the current lifestyle influences our quality of sleep. Because artificial lighting is not only the lamps, televisions and smartphones are also a source of light that makes the body It suits a cycle that is not good for rest. For this reason, those responsible for this study recommend spending time outdoors.


In this way the body will get used to enter a state of relaxation at night, encouraging both adults and children to go to bed at a decent hour. The researchers recommend that after the dinner the organism be exposed as little as possible to artificial light to prevent the body from activating.

Benefits of adapting the biological clock

The researchers highlighted that the fact of have found this way Adapting the biological clock to light cycles has important health benefits. Those people who take longer to find sleep have higher rates of obesity, diabetes and depression. It is also more likely that lack of rest causes fatigue during the workday and feeling of drowsiness that leads to accidents.

At the same time, those responsible for this investigation They explained that not only should the time recommended by the specialists sleep, but at the correct times. Modifying the schedule and going to bed late at night is not something that suits your health. Therefore, this team encourages people to go out in the sun when they can every day, and minimize artificial light.


Damián Montero

Video: Scientific Benefits of Green Exercise Outdoors: Reduce Stress Naturally


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Zeit im Freien zu verbessern, verbessert die Schlafqualität

Wer mag das nicht schlaf gut. Nach einem langen Arbeitstag erwartet Sie eine wohlverdiente Pause im Bett, um die Batterien aufzuladen. Aus diesem Grund wird die Suche nach Schlafqualität zu einem sehr verbreiteten Wunsch. Nun eine Gruppe von Forscher Sie haben einen neuen Weg gefunden, um dies zu tun: Zeit im Freien verbringen.

Anpassung an Lichtzyklen

Die Studie von der Universität von Colorado folgte der Qualität des schlaf von einer Gruppe von Menschen, die zu einem Campingausflug gegangen waren. Nach einer Woche im Freien ruhten ihre Körper nachts besser und hatten kein Problem, einzuschlafen. Darüber hinaus zeigten die Speichelproben höhere Melatoninwerte, das "Schlafhormon".


Die Melatoninspiegel stiegen mit dem Sonnenuntergang mehr oder weniger an und die "biologische Nacht" der Camper begann zwei Stunden vorher. Die Erklärung Ihre Organismen hatten sich an die Lichtzyklen gewöhnt.

Ihr Körper hatte sich im Freien daran gewöhnt, mit Licht zu arbeiten und sich auszuruhen, wenn es verschwunden war. Etwas, das seit dem nicht mehr zu Hause gemacht werden kann künstliche Beleuchtung bewirkt, dass der Körper immer aktiv ist und keine Zeit findet, sich zu entspannen und gute Erholung zu fördern.

Die Forscher weisen darauf hin, dass der aktuelle Lebensstil unsere Schlafqualität beeinflusst. Da künstliche Beleuchtung nicht nur Lampen ist, sind Fernseher und Smartphones auch eine Lichtquelle, die das macht Körper Es ist für einen Zyklus geeignet, der nicht zur Erholung geeignet ist. Aus diesem Grund empfehlen die Verantwortlichen dieser Studie, Zeit im Freien zu verbringen.


Auf diese Weise den Körper wird sich gewöhnen Nachts erholen Sie sich in einem Zustand der Entspannung und ermutigen Erwachsene und Kinder, zu einer anständigen Stunde ins Bett zu gehen. Die Forscher empfehlen, dass der Organismus nach dem Abendessen so wenig wie möglich künstlichem Licht ausgesetzt wird, um zu verhindern, dass der Körper aktiviert wird.

Vorteile der Anpassung der biologischen Uhr

Die Forscher hoben hervor, dass die Tatsache von habe diesen Weg gefunden Die Anpassung der biologischen Uhr an Lichtzyklen hat wichtige gesundheitliche Vorteile. Menschen, die länger brauchen, um Schlaf zu finden, haben höhere Fettleibigkeitsraten, Diabetes und Depressionen. Es ist auch wahrscheinlicher, dass mangelnde Ruhe während des Arbeitstages zu Müdigkeit und Schläfrigkeit führt, die zu Unfällen führt.

Zur gleichen Zeit die Verantwortlichen dafür Untersuchung Sie erklärten, dass nicht nur die von den Spezialisten empfohlene Zeit einschlafen sollte, sondern auch zum richtigen Zeitpunkt. Den Zeitplan zu ändern und spät abends zu Bett zu gehen, ist nicht etwas, das zu Ihrer Gesundheit passt. Daher ermutigt dieses Team die Menschen, jeden Tag in die Sonne zu gehen und künstliches Licht zu minimieren.


Damián Montero

Video: Brain chemistry lifehacks: Steve Ilardi at TEDxKC


Interessante Artikel

Spiele und Spielzeug zum Lernen

Spiele und Spielzeug zum Lernen

Das Spiel ist von grundlegender Bedeutung für die kognitive Entwicklung von Kindern und der beste Weg, um mit ihrer Umgebung in Beziehung zu treten. Spielen hat nicht nur Spaß, sondern auch die...