The effect of violent video games on children

Can violent video games incite violence? The suspicion that this issue in video games may have negative consequences on the behavior and behavior of children and adolescents has been the subject of study and research. The short and long term consequences range from a decrease in emotion to an increase in aggressive behavior.

Violent behavior

Are violent video games related to violent behavior? To answer this question, Dr. Vincent Matthews and his colleagues at Indiana University conducted a study on violence in video games and after analyzing what was going on in the brains of 28 young students, they concluded that after 2 weeks of playing violent video games, exhibited less activation in the brain areas related to emotion.


In this same line, it has also been expressed American Psychological Association.This association cConsider that "immediately after being exposed to violence in the media (including video games), a trend of increased aggressive behavior develops." Some of the reasons that this association argues are the following:

1. Violent thoughts increase. This makes the minimum provocation interpreted as something hostile.

2. There is a state of general excitement (for example: the adrenaline rises, the pulse accelerates). This causes them to increase dominant behavior or trends.


3. Aggressive feelings increase.

4. Violent behaviors are occasionally imitated that have just been observed.

However, when it is repeatedly exposed throughout life to violence in the media, experts believe that aggressive behavior is generated because:

1. Create expectations, attitudes and beliefs that the way to solve things is using aggression.

2. Create patterns and scripts of aggressive behavior that become familiar.

3. Decrease the normal negative reaction to the conflict, aggression and violence.

The discredited violent video games

Video games have become another element with which our children play regularly. From graphic adventures to interactive applications, the fact is that it is increasingly common for children to use this type of entertainment from an early age.


There are many varieties and themes, and while it is true that sometimes it is a highly criticized sector, as parents we must not oppose their use completely. These are games that can be enjoyed in moderation, and above all, choosing at each time the most appropriate for the age and development of our little one.

Among the most discredited are violent video games. There are studies that have shown that children are more aggressive after playing games of this type, especially because it generates a climate of fantasy in which the child is not able to see that these behaviors can generate any negative consequences. For example, they may think that it is okay to hit other children. On the other hand, there have been cases of adults who showed a more aggressive behavior having been educated without responsibilities or obligations, as some of these virtual plots show.

How can we choose the best video game?

First of all, it is important to know that the Spanish Pediatric Association, among other organizations, recommends limiting the time that children spend in front of a screen (whether playing or simply watching television). In this way:

- Between 0 and 2 years old, it is recommended that children do not have any contact with this type of devices.

- From 2 years and up to 4, It is best to spend a maximum of one hour throughout the day.

- As they grow It can increase the time, but should never be more than 2 hours a day, in order to encourage sport and physical activity.

Secondly, the market known as the ERSB (Entertainment Software Rating Board) classification system, the agency in charge of assigning the recommended age of use based on the content of the game in particular. According to this classification, each video game is assigned an appropriate age of use. The responsibility will then be of the parents, who must choose the most appropriate for their child.

Also, the threshold of approval is also important, because despite age recommendations parents must discern what kind of game they want for their children. Although appropriate for their age, it is possible that the theme does not like them or is not linked to any of the values ​​they try to transmit from home.

It is important, therefore, to help children find the appropriate game. This has to satisfy their need for leisure and entertainment, while enhancing their psychological and emotional development.To do this, we must take into account recommendations such as those of the ERSB before making the purchase. In addition, while children play, we must follow up in order to ensure that the content is appropriate.

Following these recommendations we will be able to control the use and theme of video games among the youngest ones, getting their education and knowledge to be in line with their development.

Deanna Marie Mason, expert in education and family health. Blog author Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. Proactive fatherhood Professional support for the modern family.

It may interest you:

- Video games: educate playing

- 5 keys to explain the violence in the world to children

- 4 benefits of video games for children

Video: How do video games affect behavior?


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Die Wirkung gewalttätiger Videospiele bei Kindern

Können gewalttätige Videospiele Gewalt auslösen? Der Verdacht, dass dieses Problem bei Videospielen negative Auswirkungen auf das Verhalten und Verhalten von Kindern und Jugendlichen haben kann, wurde untersucht und erforscht. Die kurz- und langfristigen Folgen reichen von einer Abnahme der Emotionen bis zu einer Zunahme von aggressivem Verhalten.

Gewalttätiges Verhalten

Handelt es sich bei gewalttätigen Videospielen um gewalttätiges Verhalten? Um diese Frage zu beantworten, führten Dr. Vincent Matthews und seine Kollegen an der Indiana University eine Studie über Gewalt in Videospielen durch und nachdem sie analysiert hatten, was in den Gehirnen von 28 jungen Studenten vor sich ging, kamen sie zu dem Schluss, dass sie nach zwei Wochen im Jahr 2000 in der Schule waren gewalttätige Videospiele zu spielen, zeigte weniger Aktivierung in den Gehirnbereichen im Zusammenhang mit Emotionen


In dieser Linie wurde es auch ausgedrückt Amerikanische Psychologische Vereinigung.Diese Verbindung cBedenken Sie, dass "sich unmittelbar nach Gewalteinwirkung in den Medien (einschließlich Videospielen) ein Trend zunehmenden aggressiven Verhaltens entwickelt." Einige Gründe, die diese Vereinigung vorbringt, sind folgende:

1. Gewalttätige Gedanken nehmen zu. Dadurch wird die minimale Provokation als etwas Feindliches interpretiert.

2. Es herrscht allgemeine Aufregung (zum Beispiel: das Adrenalin steigt, der Puls beschleunigt). Dies führt dazu, dass sie dominantes Verhalten oder Trends verstärken.


3. Aggressive Gefühle nehmen zu.

4. Gewaltsame Verhaltensweisen werden gelegentlich nachgeahmt das wurde gerade beobachtet.

Wenn Experten jedoch immer wieder Gewalt in den Medien ausgesetzt sind, glauben sie, dass aggressives Verhalten entsteht, weil:

1. Erwartungen schaffen, Einstellungen und Überzeugungen, dass der Weg, Dinge zu lösen, Aggression nutzt.

2. Erstellen Sie Muster und Skripts für aggressives Verhalten das wird vertraut

3. Verringern Sie die normale negative Reaktion auf den Konflikt. Aggression und Gewalt.

Die diskreditierten gewalttätigen Videospiele

Videospiele sind zu einem weiteren Element geworden, mit dem unsere Kinder regelmäßig spielen. Von grafischen Abenteuern bis hin zu interaktiven Anwendungen ist es eine Tatsache, dass Kinder diese Art der Unterhaltung immer häufiger verwenden.


Es gibt viele Varianten und Themen, und obwohl es stimmt, dass dies manchmal ein stark kritisierter Sektor ist, dürfen wir als Eltern ihrer Verwendung nicht vollständig widersprechen. Dies sind Spiele, die in Maßen genossen werden können, und vor allem, indem sie zu jedem Zeitpunkt das für das Alter und die Entwicklung unseres Kleinen am besten geeignete auswählen.

Zu den am meisten diskreditierten gehören gewalttätige Videospiele. Es gibt Studien, die gezeigt haben, dass Kinder nach Spielen dieser Art aggressiver sind, vor allem, weil dadurch ein Fantasieklima erzeugt wird, in dem das Kind nicht erkennen kann, dass dieses Verhalten negative Folgen haben kann. Sie denken zum Beispiel, dass es in Ordnung ist, andere Kinder zu schlagen. Auf der anderen Seite gab es Fälle, in denen Erwachsene ein aggressiveres Verhalten zeigten, das ohne Verantwortlichkeiten oder Verpflichtungen erzogen worden war, wie einige dieser virtuellen Pläne zeigen.

Wie können wir das beste Videospiel auswählen?

Zunächst ist es wichtig zu wissen, dass der spanische Verband für Pädiatrie neben anderen Organisationen empfiehlt, die Zeit, die Kinder vor einem Bildschirm verbringen (sowohl beim Spielen als auch beim Fernsehen) zu begrenzen. Auf diese Weise:

- Zwischen 0 und 2 JahrenEs wird empfohlen, dass Kinder keinen Kontakt mit dieser Art von Geräten haben.

- von 2 bis 4 Jahren Am besten verbringen Sie den ganzen Tag höchstens eine Stunde.

- Wie sie wachsen Es kann die Zeit verlängern, sollte aber niemals länger als 2 Stunden pro Tag sein, um Sport und Bewegung zu fördern.

Zweitens der Markt, der als ERSB-Klassifizierungssystem (Entertainment Software Rating Board) bekannt ist, die Agentur, die für die Zuweisung des empfohlenen Nutzungsalters insbesondere auf der Grundlage des Spielinhalts zuständig ist. Gemäß dieser Klassifizierung wird jedem Videospiel ein angemessenes Nutzungsalter zugeordnet. Die Verantwortung liegt dann bei den Eltern, die das für ihr Kind am besten geeignete auswählen müssen.

Auch die Zulassungsschwelle ist wichtig, weil Eltern trotz Altersempfehlungen erkennen müssen, welche Art von Spiel sie für ihre Kinder wünschen. Obwohl es ihrem Alter angemessen ist, ist es möglich, dass das Thema ihnen nicht gefällt oder mit keinem der Werte verknüpft ist, die sie von zu Hause aus zu vermitteln versuchen.

Es ist daher wichtig, Kindern zu helfen, das passende Spiel zu finden. Dies muss ihr Bedürfnis nach Freizeit und Unterhaltung befriedigen und gleichzeitig ihre psychologische und emotionale Entwicklung fördern.Dazu müssen wir vor dem Kauf Empfehlungen wie die der ERSB berücksichtigen. Außerdem müssen wir, während Kinder spielen, nachverfolgen, um sicherzustellen, dass der Inhalt angemessen ist.

Mit diesen Empfehlungen werden wir in der Lage sein, die Verwendung und das Thema von Videospielen bei den jüngsten zu kontrollieren und ihre Ausbildung und ihr Wissen an ihre Entwicklung anzupassen.

Deanna Marie Mason, Experte für Bildung und Familiengesundheit. Blog-Autor Dr. Deanna Marie Mason. Proaktive Vaterschaft Professionelle Unterstützung für die moderne Familie.

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Videospiele: Spielen erziehen

- 5 Schlüssel, um Kindern die Gewalt in der Welt zu erklären

- 4 Vorteile von Videospielen für Kinder

Video: Haben Computerspiele Auswirkungen auf unser Gehirn? - Welt der Wunder


Interessante Artikel

Stühle und Kinderwagen: klassisch und modern

Stühle und Kinderwagen: klassisch und modern

Die Probe von Stühle und Kinderwagen für das Baby So vielfältig sind auch die Bedürfnisse von Familien, die das perfekte Modell für ihre Kinder suchen. Ein Neugeborenes wird den Kinderwagen...

Wie kann ich ihnen helfen, mit dem Rauchen aufzuhören?

Wie kann ich ihnen helfen, mit dem Rauchen aufzuhören?

Er gießt Liter und Gallonen Kölnischöl nach Hause, er kommt mit Kaugummi nach Hause, aber man merkt es: Es riecht komisch. Eines Tages stecken Sie eine Waschmaschine, und in der Hosentasche befindet...

Die Bedeutung von Kreativität in der Kindheit

Die Bedeutung von Kreativität in der Kindheit

Die Kreativität Es kann definiert werden als die Fähigkeit, menschliches Potenzial aus verschiedenen integrativen Bereichen des Menschen zu entwickeln und auszudrücken: kognitive und intellektuelle...