What our digital natives play on the mobile

This image is becoming more frequent: children sitting in a park playing each one with their cell phone, instead of running, talking, jumping or on the swings. And we can not avoid it, we are shocked by the way in which minors relate to computers and smartphones, and we ask ourselves:what our digital natives play on the mobile?

Adults, especially, we are surprised by the simple way they have to learn to master the different technological devices with a wide variety of applications. It is also true that an essential feature for the sale of computers and mobile phones is its simple, attractive and fun handling. However, despite this evidence, it does not stop surprising us. The truth is that they were born in the technological age and is part of their day to day both, in the school environment, as in the social and, of course, in the field of leisure and free time.


Many parents ask themselves innumerable questions that cause them uncertainty and concern about how the impact of ICT can be on their children: at what age is it advisable to expose a child to ICT? What can minors use computers or mobile phones for? How much time is your exposure recommended? Can children be prevented from accessing technological devices? Why is there an interest on the part of minors towards new technologies? How can the use of a technological device by a minor be controlled?

What interests children and adolescents on the mobile

First of all, it must be said that it is practically impossible to prevent a minor from accessing a mobile phone or a computer. It is also true that, although adolescents and children are inevitably attracted to some technological devices, the reason for which they are used is different.


1. Teenagers they feel comfortable sharing videos and photos of their plans on social networks, where friends make endless comments and click "likes" without limits.

2. Children between 3 and 8 years old they prefer apps to play and watch videos.

For some, it is impossible to prohibit them from using new technologies, but proper use and control by parents is the key to diminishing innumerable risks that may result from their inappropriate use: abuse, exposure to violent and / or sexual content, isolation, virtual bullying behavior, etc.

The pedagogy of new technologies

Many experts agree that new technologies, apart from their entertainment function, have an important pedagogical task: both children and adolescents can learn and develop their cognitive abilities through playful applications.


In fact, educational games through new technologies are triumphing because they are attractive, visual and intuitive, as they manage to arouse the interest of children and capture their attention with ease. They also use tablets or mobile phones that dominate perfectly.

Therefore, it is important that both parents and teachers know the advantages and disadvantages of new technologies depending on their use. On many occasions, parents leave their children in front of a computer or cell phone to have a "respite". In this way, you have to control what type of application you are using, its content and of course its duration. Of course, the objectives must be established by the parents and we must be the ones who evaluate the child's behavior and reaction. For this reason, limits must be set in relation to: "what", "why", "how much" and "how".

Types of digital content recommended by ages

It is interesting to know in general what kind of content is recommended for the child according to their age:

From 2 to 4 years old:

Minors who are between 2 and 4 years old have a relationship with ICT conditioned by their parents. Since they are the ones who teach themcartoon videos and photos. In this way, they can play with simple games, rich in colors and characters that transmit appropriate values. In this stage, parents have the maximum control over the use of new technologies by their children

5 to 7 years

In this stage parents begin to have feelings of anxiety and uncertainty as ICTs begin to play havoc in the daily lives of these children, who interact spontaneously with different home entertainment devices such as television, mobile phones, or video games.

As for the activities they usually do, they are usually cyclical and repetitive, since they always put the same television program, or the same game on the phone without any curiosity to explore more possibilities offered by the technological world.The supervision of parents at this stage is fundamental, whose objective should be to filter the content and learning of the child.

From 9 to 11 years old

In this stage, Minors are familiar with practically any device technological and dominate it bordering on perfection. Relationships with peers through ICT begin to awaken in a mild way, although nothing to do with how they will awaken in adolescence. Communication and negotiation are key to generating an environment of trust and raising situations in which minors can resolve their doubts and confusions.

As we see depending on the stage in which the child is, the parents must act in a concrete way. However, playing parents and children together is a good opportunity for all lets learn together. In this way, each one will contribute to the other their strengths: the children the illusion, the curiosity, the management of the technological means and the parents the judgment, the critical point, the logic of statements, the control of times, their duration and frequency . In this way, we will not only develop technological learning, but we will also feed the bond between parents and children.

Ángel Bernal Caravaca. Psychologist and Mediator Co-founder of Lomber Soluciones Cyberbullying.

Video: The Challenges of Raising a Digital Native | Devorah Heitner, Ph.D. | TEDxNaperville


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Was unsere Digital Natives auf dem Handy spielen

Dieses Bild wird immer häufiger: Kinder sitzen in einem Park und spielen jedes mit ihrem Handy, anstatt zu laufen, zu sprechen, zu springen oder auf den Schaukeln zu spielen. Und wir können es nicht vermeiden, wir sind schockiert über die Art und Weise, in der Minderjährige sich auf Computer und Smartphones beziehen, und wir fragen uns:Was unsere Digital Natives auf dem Handy spielen?

Insbesondere für Erwachsene sind wir überrascht, wie einfach sie lernen müssen, um die verschiedenen technologischen Geräte mit den unterschiedlichsten Anwendungen zu beherrschen. Es ist auch wahr, dass ein wesentliches Merkmal für den Verkauf von Computern und Mobiltelefonen die einfache, attraktive und unterhaltsame Handhabung ist. Trotz dieser Beweise überrascht es uns jedoch nicht. Die Realität ist das Sie wurden im technologischen Zeitalter geboren und ist Teil ihres Alltags, sowohl im schulischen Umfeld, als auch im sozialen Bereich und natürlich im Bereich Freizeit und Freizeit.


Viele Eltern stellen sich unzählige Fragen, die ihnen Unsicherheit bereiten und die Frage, wie die Auswirkungen von IKT auf ihre Kinder wirken können: In welchem ​​Alter ist es ratsam, ein Kind der IKT auszusetzen? Wofür können Minderjährige Computer oder Mobiltelefone verwenden? Wie lange wird Ihre Exposition empfohlen? Können Kinder daran gehindert werden, auf technische Geräte zuzugreifen? Warum gibt es ein Interesse Minderjähriger an neuen Technologien? Wie kann die Verwendung eines technologischen Geräts durch einen Minderjährigen kontrolliert werden?

Was interessiert Kinder und Jugendliche am Handy?

Zunächst muss gesagt werden, dass es praktisch unmöglich ist, den Zugriff eines Minderjährigen auf ein Mobiltelefon oder einen Computer zu verhindern. Es ist auch richtig, dass Jugendliche und Kinder zwar unweigerlich von einigen technischen Geräten angezogen werden, aber der Grund, warum sie verwendet werden, ist anders.


1. Jugendliche Sie fühlen sich wohl dabei, Videos und Fotos ihrer Pläne in sozialen Netzwerken zu teilen, wo Freunde endlose Kommentare machen und "Gefällt mir" ohne Grenzen klicken.

2. Kinder zwischen 3 und 8 Jahren Sie bevorzugen Apps, um Videos abzuspielen und anzusehen.

Für einige ist es unmöglich, ihnen die Verwendung neuer Technologien zu verbieten. Die richtige Verwendung und Kontrolle durch die Eltern ist jedoch der Schlüssel zur Verringerung unzähliger Risiken, die sich aus der unangemessenen Verwendung ergeben können: Missbrauch, Kontakt mit gewalttätigen und / oder sexuellen Inhalten, Isolation, virtuelles Mobbing usw.

Die Pädagogik neuer Technologien

Viele Experten sind sich einig, dass neue Technologien neben ihrer Unterhaltungsfunktion eine wichtige pädagogische Aufgabe haben: Kinder und Jugendliche können durch spielerische Anwendungen ihre kognitiven Fähigkeiten erlernen und entwickeln.


In der Tat siegen Lernspiele durch neue Technologien, weil sie attraktiv, visuell und intuitiv sind, da sie es schaffen, das Interesse von Kindern zu wecken und ihre Aufmerksamkeit mit Leichtigkeit zu erregen. Sie verwenden auch Tablets oder Mobiltelefone, die perfekt dominieren.

Daher ist es wichtig, dass sowohl Eltern als auch Lehrer die Vor- und Nachteile neuer Technologien je nach Einsatz kennen. In vielen Fällen verlassen Eltern ihre Kinder vor einem Computer oder Handy, um eine "Ruhepause" zu haben. Auf diese Weise müssen Sie kontrollieren, welche Art von Anwendung Sie verwenden, deren Inhalt und natürlich deren Dauer. Natürlich müssen die Ziele von den Eltern festgelegt werden, und wir müssen diejenigen sein, die das Verhalten und die Reaktion des Kindes bewerten. Aus diesem Grund müssen Grenzen gesetzt werden in Bezug auf: "Was", "Warum", "Wie viel" und "Wie".

Von Alter empfohlene Arten digitaler Inhalte

Es ist interessant zu wissen, welche Inhalte für das Kind je nach Alter empfohlen werden:

Von 2 bis 4 Jahren:

Minderjährige zwischen 2 und 4 Jahren haben eine von ihren Eltern abhängige Beziehung zu IKT. Da sie es sind, die sie unterrichtenComic-Videos und Fotos. Auf diese Weise können sie mit einfachen Spielen spielen, die reich an Farben und Charakteren sind und entsprechende Werte übertragen. In dieser Phase haben Eltern die maximale Kontrolle über den Einsatz neuer Technologien durch ihre Kinder

Von 5 bis 7 jahren

In dieser Phase Eltern beginnen, Angstgefühle zu haben und die Unsicherheit, da die IKT im täglichen Leben dieser Kinder Chaos anrichten, die spontan mit verschiedenen Geräten der Unterhaltungselektronik wie Fernsehen, Mobiltelefonen oder Videospielen interagieren.

Die Aktivitäten, die sie normalerweise durchführen, sind in der Regel zyklisch und repetitiv, da sie immer dasselbe Fernsehprogramm oder dasselbe Spiel auf das Telefon setzen, ohne Neugier auf die Erkundung weiterer Möglichkeiten der technologischen Welt.In dieser Phase ist die Aufsicht der Eltern von grundlegender Bedeutung, deren Ziel darin bestehen sollte, den Inhalt und das Lernen des Kindes zu filtern.

Von 9 bis 11 Jahre alt

In dieser Phase Minderjährige kennen praktisch jedes Gerät technologisch und dominieren es an Perfektion grenzt. Beziehungen zu Gleichaltrigen durch IKT beginnen auf milde Weise zu erwachen, obwohl nichts damit zu tun hat, wie sie in der Pubertät erwachen werden. Kommunikation und Verhandlungen sind der Schlüssel zur Schaffung eines Vertrauens und zur Schaffung von Situationen, in denen Minderjährige Zweifel und Verwirrungen lösen können.

Wie wir je nach Stadium des Kindes sehen, müssen die Eltern konkret handeln. Eltern und Kinder zusammen zu spielen ist jedoch eine gute Gelegenheit für alle Lass uns zusammen lernen. Auf diese Weise trägt jeder zu seinen Stärken bei: den Kindern die Illusion, der Neugierde, dem Umgang mit den technischen Mitteln und den Eltern das Urteil, dem kritischen Punkt, der Logik der Aussagen, der Kontrolle der Zeiten, ihrer Dauer und Häufigkeit . Auf diese Weise werden wir nicht nur technologisches Lernen entwickeln, sondern auch die Verbindung zwischen Eltern und Kindern fördern.

Ángel Bernal Caravaca. Psychologe und Mediator Mitbegründer von Lomber Soluciones Cyberbullying.

Video: Gaming Gadgets - Das beste Gamepad für dein Smartphone | Teil 1


Interessante Artikel

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Das An- und Ausziehen Ihres Babys ist eine Aufgabe, die Sie fast mit geschlossenen Augen erledigen müssen. Zu Beginn kann es jedoch kompliziert sein, vor allem wenn Sie ein neues Elternteil sind. Die...