Apnea in premature babies, what risks involve

Usually a baby already has to receive care. Such a small person must be constantly guarded to meet their needs and prevent possible risks that may endanger their lives. These attentions have to be increased in the case of premature, who for not having complied with the gestation are not fully developed and may be victims of several eventualities.

One of these is sleep apnea, which can seriously compromise the baby's health premature making the tissues do not receive the amount of oxygen necessary for its operation.

What is sleep apnea?

According to the Spanish Association of Pediatrics apneas are "prolonged stops in respiration that produce a decrease in oxygen in the blood and that they can compromise the arrival of oxygen to the tissues. "These pauses are accompanied by bradycardia, decreases in heart rate below the limits considered normal for a baby.


In the case of premature infants, apneas are frequent because the center that controls breathing in their brain is still immature. As these babies grow, this area, which controls the intake of air, matures. In this way these pauses that compromise the arrival of oxygen to the organism of the small born prematurely disappear.

When there is a risk to the premature baby

The pediatricians explain that there more risk when the premature baby is the brother of victims of sudden infant death. Also in those cases with a history of resuscitation maneuvers due to an inexplicable brief episode, resolved during their hospital stay.


When the baby has persistent apneas not serious, being ready to be discharged. Babies who need oxygen or a respirator at home. In the event that the risk of apnea persists after the child is discharged, the parents will be given monitors for their home and their functioning will be explained.

It is recommended that days before discharge parents take charge of their management to familiarize themselves with its operation and avoid problems at home. They will also be given a phone number where they can call in case of any incident with the device. At the same time it is advisable that parents receive basic resuscitation lessons.

How to use the apnea monitor

The apnea monitor consists of a sticker, electrode, which must be placed on the baby's belly and attached to the monitor with a cable. This device will be responsible for detecting abdominal movements of the child to know when he breathes and his heart rate.


Apnea monitors have three types of alarms: for breathing, for low heart rate and for heart rate high. The limits of these notices will be scheduled before hospital discharge and may be modified as the baby grows, as long as the doctor approves this variation.

If there is a pause, the monitor will detect it and a alarm so parents can watch the baby. Occasionally, it may be a false warning because the child has moved or the electrode has detached. But whenever this warning sounds, we must go to the minor to check to avoid problems.

The baby should not always carry the monitor. While awake and playing with parents, you can take it away. The only time you should be active is always when the premature baby sleeps.

Damián Montero

Video: Neonatal Seizures


Interesting Articles

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

The contribution of the French brand in the market segment is huge family cars means, 46 years ago that the Spanish market arrived on the Renault 12 family, which curiously is still seen on our...

What do the trips bring to the children?

What do the trips bring to the children?

There are many activities that can be done as a family. A catalog that varies according to the time of year, such as travels taking advantage of summer vacations. A choice that has many benefits for...

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

The bullying or bullying It is a reality and a global problem. Many efforts are made to raise awareness among young people and their parents about the harmful consequences of bullying in schools, and...

Improve self-esteem through fun

Improve self-esteem through fun

The self esteem It is a fundamental piece in the day to day of any person. Before being comfortable with other people, the first step is to enjoy the company of oneself and know how to make the most...

Apnoe bei Frühgeborenen, welche Risiken beinhalten

Normalerweise muss ein Baby bereits versorgt werden. So eine kleine Person muss ständig sein bewacht um ihre Bedürfnisse zu befriedigen und möglichen Risiken vorzubeugen, die ihr Leben gefährden könnten. Diese Aufmerksamkeit muss im Fall von erhöht werden verfrüht, die für die Nichteinhaltung der Trächtigkeit nicht voll entwickelt sind und Opfer mehrerer Eventualitäten sein können.

Eine davon ist die Schlafapnoe, die die Gesundheit des Babys ernsthaft beeinträchtigen kann verfrüht Dadurch erhalten die Gewebe nicht die für ihren Betrieb notwendige Sauerstoffmenge.

Was ist Schlafapnoe?

Nach Angaben der spanischen Vereinigung für Pädiatrie sind Apnoen "längere Atemstillstände, die zu einer Abnahme der Atemnot führen Sauerstoff im Blut und dass sie die Ankunft von Sauerstoff in den Geweben beeinträchtigen können. “Diese Pausen werden von Bradykardie begleitet, die Herzfrequenz sinkt unter die für ein Baby als normal angesehenen Grenzen.


Bei Frühgeborenen kommt es häufig zu Apnoen, da das Zentrum, das die Atmung in ihrem Gehirn steuert, noch unreif ist. Wenn diese Babys wachsen, reift dieser Bereich, der die Luftzufuhr kontrolliert. Auf diese Weise verschwinden diese Pausen, die die Ankunft von Sauerstoff in den Organismus des Kleingeborenen beeinträchtigen, vorzeitig.

Wenn ein Risiko für das Frühgeborene besteht

Die Kinderärzte erklären das dort mehr Risiko wenn das Frühgeborene der Bruder eines plötzlichen Kindstodes ist. Auch in jenen Fällen, in denen in der Vergangenheit Wiederbelebungsmanöver aufgrund einer unerklärlichen kurzen Episode auftraten, die während ihres Krankenhausaufenthalts behoben wurden.


Wenn das Baby hartnäckige Apnoen hat nicht ernstbereit sein, entlassen zu werden. Babys, die zu Hause Sauerstoff oder Atemschutz benötigen. Falls das Risiko einer Apnoe nach der Entlassung des Kindes bestehen bleibt, erhalten die Eltern Überwacher für ihr Zuhause und ihre Funktionsweise wird erklärt.

Es wird das empfohlen Tage vor der Entlassung Die Eltern übernehmen die Geschäftsführung, um sich mit der Bedienung vertraut zu machen und Probleme zu Hause zu vermeiden. Sie erhalten außerdem eine Telefonnummer, unter der sie im Falle eines Vorfalls mit dem Gerät anrufen können. Gleichzeitig ist es ratsam, dass die Eltern grundlegende Wiederbelebungskurse erhalten.

So verwenden Sie den Apnoe-Monitor

Der Apnoe-Monitor besteht aus einem Aufkleber, einer Elektrode, die auf dem Bauch des Babys angebracht und mit einem Kabel am Monitor befestigt werden muss. Dieses Gerät ist für die Erkennung verantwortlich Bauchbewegungen des Kindes zu wissen, wann es atmet und seine Herzfrequenz.


Apnoe-Monitore verfügen über drei Arten von Alarmen: für die Atmung, für niedrige Herzfrequenz und für Herzfrequenz hoch Die Grenzen dieser Hinweise werden vor der Entlassung aus dem Krankenhaus festgelegt und können mit dem Wachstum des Babys geändert werden, sofern der Arzt diese Abweichung genehmigt.

Wenn es eine Pause gibt, erkennt der Monitor diese und a Alarm so können eltern das baby beobachten. Gelegentlich kann es eine falsche Warnung sein, weil sich das Kind bewegt oder die Elektrode gelöst hat. Wann immer diese Warnung ertönt, müssen wir zum Minderjährigen gehen, um Probleme zu vermeiden.

Das Baby sollte den Monitor nicht immer tragen. Wenn Sie wach sind und mit den Eltern spielen, können Sie es mitnehmen. Sie sollten nur aktiv sein, wenn das Frühchen schläft.

Damián Montero

Video: Plötzlicher Kindstod – Präventionsmaßnahmen


Interessante Artikel

Schwanger: Wie Ihre Gefühle Ihr Baby beeinflussen

Schwanger: Wie Ihre Gefühle Ihr Baby beeinflussen

Die Schwangerschaft ist ein entscheidender Moment, um Verbindungen zu Ihrem Kind herzustellen. Deshalb, dein EmotionenIhre Sorgen und Freuden beeinflussen das Baby direkt durch die Hormone, die Sie...

10 Tipps für Ihre Exkursionen zur Familie

10 Tipps für Ihre Exkursionen zur Familie

Mit dem Sommer steigt die Freizeit für die Kleinen zu Hause. Nach der Übergabe der letzten Notizen beginnen die Kinder ihre Ferien und es ist notwendig, über die Pläne nachzudenken, damit sie die...