Is the academic record the only key to enter a good university?

Traditionally it has been thought that studying a lot over the years serves to enter into a good college. The academic record is the key to enter these centers of higher education, and it is true: the higher grades, the easier it is to pass the different courts when it comes to getting a place in the career. But is this system identical in the faculties of greater relevance?

According British Council School no, at the time of entering a faculty of greater popularity come into play more elements besides the academic record. This is the conclusion that has come after the celebration of the University Fair in which a total of 100 centers from all over the world who have revealed that not only good grades are enough to enter a faculty of renown.


File, interview and motivational letter

Does this mean that the academic record notes do not influence when entering one of these centers? Not at all, the resume It is still the first detail in which admission officers are fixed when choosing next year's students. If the cut note is not passed, the selection process does not start.

But as they say from the British Council School "It is no longer valid just to have an exceptional academic record and several languages ​​(...) colleges they look for the most motivated student, who demonstrates their passion for the career they choose, their commitment to the world, their leadership skills and the added value they can bring to the university they choose. "


How is it judged if a student is motivated and has the characteristics that are required from this center? Well, as you would do in a job interview: with a interview personl with the candidate and asking him to write a cover letter explaining his reasons for taking a specific career. New students are also required to demonstrate their leadership ability by checking if they have been successful in other activities such as dance, musical instrument, etc.

The Harvard example

This center sets an example for Harvard, perhaps the best known university in the world and that has a selection process that adapts to this proposed model. In this center every year they present 36,000 candidates with a file within the cut-off note, of them 4,000 have been the best mediates presented by their respective institutes.


Of these 36,000 possible students are chosen 1,800 in total. These are chosen after the contact of the responsible of Harvard with these. A hard process that must refine the selection to choose those that are the best.

Damián Montero

Video: How to Get into Harvard


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Ist der akademische Rekord der einzige Schlüssel, um eine gute Universität zu betreten?

Traditionell wird davon ausgegangen, dass das Studium über viele Jahre hinweg dazu beiträgt, in eine gute Sache zu gelangen College. Der akademische Rekord ist der Schlüssel zum Eintritt in diese Hochschulzentren, und es ist wahr: Je höher die Noten, desto leichter ist es, die verschiedenen Gerichte zu passieren, wenn es darum geht, einen Platz in der Karriere zu finden. Aber ist dieses System in den Fakultäten mit größerer Relevanz identisch?

Nach British Council School Nein, zum Zeitpunkt des Eintritts in eine Fakultät mit größerer Popularität spielen neben dem akademischen Rekord weitere Elemente eine Rolle. Dies ist die Schlussfolgerung, die nach der Feier der Universitätsmesse, bei der insgesamt 100 Zentren aus der ganzen Welt, die gezeigt haben, dass nicht nur gute Noten ausreichen, um in einen Ruf des Rufs zu gelangen.


Datei, Interview und Motivationsschreiben

Bedeutet das, dass die Notizen des akademischen Protokolls beim Eintritt in eines dieser Zentren keinen Einfluss haben? Überhaupt nicht die wieder aufnehmen Es ist immer noch das erste Detail, in dem die Zulassungsbeauftragten bei der Auswahl der Studenten des nächsten Jahres festgelegt werden. Wird die Schnittnotiz nicht übergeben, startet der Auswahlprozess nicht.

Aber wie sie von der British Council School sagen: "Es ist nicht länger gültig, nur ein außergewöhnliches akademisches Zeugnis und mehrere Sprachen zu haben (...) Hochschulen Sie suchen den motiviertesten Studenten, der seine Leidenschaft für die von ihm gewählte Karriere zeigt, sein Engagement für die Welt, seine Führungsfähigkeiten und den Mehrwert, den sie der von ihnen gewählten Universität bringen können. "


Wie wird beurteilt, ob ein Student motiviert ist und über die Merkmale verfügt, die von diesem Zentrum gefordert werden? Nun, wie in einem Bewerbungsgespräch: mit einem InterviewpersonIch habe mit dem Kandidaten gesprochen und ihn gebeten, ein Anschreiben zu schreiben, in dem er seine Gründe für eine bestimmte Karriere darlegt. Neue Schüler müssen auch ihre Führungsfähigkeit unter Beweis stellen, indem sie prüfen, ob sie bei anderen Aktivitäten wie Tanz, Musikinstrument usw. erfolgreich waren.

Das Harvard-Beispiel

Dieses Zentrum ist ein Beispiel für Harvard, die vielleicht bekannteste Universität der Welt, deren Auswahlverfahren sich an das vorgeschlagene Modell anpasst. In diesem Zentrum präsentieren sie sich jedes Jahr 36.000 Kandidaten Mit einer Akte innerhalb des Annahmescheins waren 4.000 die besten Vermittler, die von ihren jeweiligen Instituten präsentiert wurden.


Von diesen werden 36.000 mögliche Studenten ausgewählt Insgesamt 1.800. Diese werden nach dem Kontakt des Verantwortlichen von Harvard mit diesen ausgewählt. Ein schwieriger Prozess, der die Auswahl verfeinern muss, um die besten auszuwählen.

Damián Montero

Video: Advisory Council Meeting, 10 September 2014, Rome


Interessante Artikel

Die Vorteile von Lachen beim Lernen von Kindern

Die Vorteile von Lachen beim Lernen von Kindern

Lachen Es ist eine Aktivität, die sich aus verschiedenen Gründen lohnt: Sie löst Stress, schafft unauslöschliche Erinnerungen, lässt uns Spaß haben und Kinder lernen schneller. Zu diesem Schluss...

Cannabis: 36% der neuen Verbraucher sind Teenager

Cannabis: 36% der neuen Verbraucher sind Teenager

Cannabis ist die am meisten konsumierte Droge von Minderjährigen, wenn sie beginnen, toxische Substanzen zu verbrauchen und sogar Tabak zu übertreffen. Dies ist eine der Schlussfolgerungen, die sich...