Alexitimia: the inability to recognize one's emotions

The emotions accompany us, we are inseparable from them. Sometimes we feel fear, sometimes love, sometimes joy and sadness, sometimes anger, disgust and shame, and many more emotional states that often accompany us. Emotions are part of us and our day to day, and fulfill important functions for our survival and relationships.

However, some people are unable to identify and express their own emotions. Can you imagine what would be the emotional vacuum of the inability to recognize one's emotions, that is, what we feel? It is a disorder known as alexitimia.


What is alexithymia?

The term alexitimia is formed by several Greek roots: "a" (without, negation of), "lexis" (word) and "thimos" (affection) and it would mean something like: without words for the affections. Alexithymia is a psychological disorder discovered by the psychiatrist Peter E. Sifneos, in 1972, when he noticed that a large number of patients with psychosomatic disorders also had significant difficulties expressing their emotions. Alexithymia is the inability to recognize and express one's emotions verbally.

1. It is a neurological disorder since its bases are in an alteration in neurological functioning. People experience emotions because we have a brain that makes it possible. Fear, love, joy, sadness, anger, are created in the brain, and there are structures that help us recognize these emotions and allow us to express them. Something is wrong with this complex mechanism in people who suffer from alexithymia.


2. It is a maladaptive disorder. Alexithymia has important negative consequences in the life of people who suffer from it. They are apparently cold, empty and without feelings, who have serious difficulties in relating and interacting with others.

Types of alexithymia and its causes

Alextimia is caused by a neurological alteration in the brain area responsible for analyzing and expressing emotions. The bodily sensations are not associated with the mental states corresponding to the emotion, this can be caused by two causes, associated with the types of alexithymia.

1. Primary alexithymia It is linked to biological conditions. The cause is a brain condition of the areas responsible for the identification and expression of emotions that may be hereditary or caused by an injury. An alteration that interferes communication between the limbic system (emotional area of ​​the brain) and the neocortex (area of ​​reason), or in the communication between the two hemispheres. This injury can be an alteration of birth or an injury caused by a blow or trauma at some time. Primary alexithymia is associated with other disorders such as autism spectrum disorders, multiple sclerosis, etc.


2. The secondary alexithymia. It is due to traumatic experiences that the person lives at some point of their evolutionary development. Normally it is about repeated experiences such as abuse and childhood origin, such as post-traumatic stress disorder that triggers the start of a defense by the brain that involves not experiencing the emotions that the body feels. It can also be due to a disorder in emotional learning, when the child does not receive verbal indications about the emotions they experience, they do not associate their bodily sensations with emotions.

Symptoms of alexithymia

- Difficulty to experiment and differentiate feelings, as well as difficulties to recognize them in others.
- Low dreaming capacity, fantasy and interior life.
- They speak very little, They seem cold and serious.
- They are very practical and rational, sometimes in excess. Cognitive style oriented to the external and concrete.
- They have difficulty handling affections, and difficulties in their relationships.
- Lack of enjoyment and search for pleasure.
- They are impulsive, Sometimes they react disproportionately to emotions they do not recognize.

Treatment and prevention of alexithymia

Alexithymia is a complex disorder that requires the attention of a professional or specialized professionals.
- Prevention it is fundamental and for this, an adequate emotional education should be sought to guarantee the affective and emotional development in childhood. As well as avoiding or adequately treating possible traumas at this stage of development.
- The treatment it is based on the use of techniques that help the affected to develop an emotional awareness, so that they can identify the emotion (its correlates and physical and emotional signals), assimilate the emotion (notice the emotion), understand the emotion and self-regulate the emotion . The treatment has a better prognosis in cases of secondary alexithymia.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Clinical health psychologist. Specialist in pedagogy and child and youth psychology. Director of Educa and Learn. Author of the collection Stimulate Reading and Writing Processes.

Video: What is Alexithymia? (Inability to Express or Recognize Emotions)


Interesting Articles

Parasites in summer, how to avoid their bites

Parasites in summer, how to avoid their bites

Although all year round parasites they have a high presence, from spring and summer these small beings increase their incidence. Parks, natural areas and other locations with vegetation are...

How to succeed with extracurricular activities

How to succeed with extracurricular activities

Beyond the doors of the classroom, children can learn many other skills and acquire new knowledge thanks to the extracurricular activities. But you have to know how to choose them so that they adapt...

Chairs and strollers: classic and modern

Chairs and strollers: classic and modern

The sample of chairs and strollers for the baby It is as broad as diverse are the needs of families who are looking for the perfect model for their children. A newborn baby will use the stroller for...

Child allergy or catarrh

Child allergy or catarrh

Sneezing, coughing, nasal itching, tearing and swelling of the eyelids are some of the annoying symptoms of pollen allergy, symptoms that can be confused with a common cold. The fact of not...

Alexitimia: Die Unfähigkeit, die eigenen Emotionen zu erkennen

Die Emotionen begleiten uns, wir sind unzertrennlich von ihnen. Manchmal empfinden wir Angst, manchmal Liebe, manchmal Freude und Trauer, manchmal Wut, Ekel und Scham und viele weitere emotionale Zustände, die uns oft begleiten. Emotionen sind ein Teil von uns und unserem Alltag und erfüllen wichtige Funktionen für unser Überleben und unsere Beziehungen.

Manche Menschen sind jedoch nicht in der Lage, ihre eigenen Gefühle zu erkennen und auszudrücken. Können Sie sich vorstellen, was das emotionale Vakuum wäre? die Unfähigkeit, seine Gefühle zu erkennendas ist, was wir fühlen Es ist eine Störung, die als bekannt ist Alexitimia.


Was ist Alexithymie?

Der Begriff Alexitimia besteht aus mehreren griechischen Wurzeln: "a" (ohne Negation), "lexis" (Wort) und "Thimos" (Zuneigung) und würde so etwas bedeuten: ohne Worte für die Zuneigung. Alexithymie ist eine psychologische Störung, die 1972 vom Psychiater Peter E. Sifneos entdeckt wurde, als er bemerkte, dass eine große Anzahl von Patienten mit psychosomatischen Störungen auch erhebliche Schwierigkeiten hatte, ihre Gefühle auszudrücken. Alexithymie ist die Unfähigkeit, Emotionen verbal zu erkennen und auszudrücken.

1. Es ist eine neurologische Störung da seine Grundlagen in einer Veränderung der neurologischen Funktion sind. Menschen erleben Emotionen, weil wir ein Gehirn haben, das es möglich macht. Angst, Liebe, Freude, Trauer, Wut entstehen im Gehirn, und es gibt Strukturen, die uns helfen, diese Emotionen zu erkennen und sie zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Bei diesem komplexen Mechanismus bei Menschen, die an Alexithymie leiden, stimmt etwas nicht.


2. Es handelt sich um eine maladaptive Störung. Alexithymie hat wichtige negative Konsequenzen im Leben von Menschen, die darunter leiden. Sie sind anscheinend kalt, leer und gefühllos und haben ernsthafte Schwierigkeiten, mit anderen in Kontakt zu treten.

Arten von Alexithymie und ihre Ursachen

Alextimia wird durch eine neurologische Veränderung im Gehirnbereich verursacht, die für die Analyse und den Ausdruck von Emotionen verantwortlich ist. Die körperlichen Empfindungen stehen nicht in Zusammenhang mit den mentalen Zuständen, die der Emotion entsprechen. Dies kann zwei Ursachen haben, die mit den Typen der Alexithymie zusammenhängen.

1. Primäre Alexithymie Es ist an biologische Bedingungen gebunden. Die Ursache ist ein Gehirnzustand der Bereiche, die für die Identifizierung und den Ausdruck von Emotionen verantwortlich sind, die erblich bedingt oder durch eine Verletzung verursacht werden können. Eine Veränderung, die die Kommunikation zwischen dem limbischen System (emotionalen Bereich des Gehirns) und dem Neokortex (Bereich der Vernunft) oder der Kommunikation zwischen den beiden Hemisphären beeinträchtigt. Diese Verletzung kann eine Veränderung der Geburt oder eine Verletzung sein, die zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt durch einen Schlag oder ein Trauma verursacht wird. Primäre Alexithymie ist mit anderen Erkrankungen wie Autismus-Spektrum-Erkrankungen, Multipler Sklerose usw. assoziiert.


2. Die sekundäre Alexithymie. Es liegt an traumatischen Erlebnissen, dass die Person irgendwann in ihrer evolutionären Entwicklung lebt. Normalerweise handelt es sich um wiederholte Erlebnisse wie Missbrauch und Kindheitsursprung, z. B. eine posttraumatische Belastungsstörung, die den Beginn einer Abwehr durch das Gehirn auslöst und dazu führt, dass die Emotionen, die der Körper empfindet, nicht erlebt werden. Es kann auch an einer Störung des emotionalen Lernens liegen. Wenn das Kind keine verbalen Hinweise auf die erlebten Emotionen erhält, verbindet es seine körperlichen Empfindungen nicht mit Emotionen.

Symptome von Alexithymie

- Schwierigkeit zu experimentieren und Gefühle zu unterscheiden, sowie Schwierigkeiten, sie in anderen zu erkennen.
- geringe Traumkapazität Fantasie und Innenleben.
- Sie sprechen sehr wenig Sie wirken kalt und ernst.
- Sie sind sehr praktisch und rational. manchmal im Übermaß. Erkenntnisstil nach außen und konkret ausgerichtet.
- Sie haben Schwierigkeiten, mit Zuneigungen umzugehenund Schwierigkeiten in ihren Beziehungen.
- Mangel an Genuss und suche nach Vergnügen.
- Sie sind impulsiv, Manchmal reagieren sie unverhältnismäßig auf Gefühle, die sie nicht erkennen.

Behandlung und Vorbeugung von Alexithymie

Alexithymie ist eine komplexe Erkrankung, die die Aufmerksamkeit eines Fachmanns oder eines Spezialisten erfordert.
- Vorbeugung Es ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, und dafür sollte eine angemessene emotionale Erziehung angestrebt werden, um die affektive und emotionale Entwicklung in der Kindheit zu gewährleisten. Sie können mögliche Traumata in dieser Entwicklungsphase vermeiden oder angemessen behandeln.
- die Behandlung Es basiert auf der Verwendung von Techniken, die den Betroffenen helfen, ein emotionales Bewusstsein zu entwickeln, so dass sie die Emotion (ihre Korrelate und körperlichen und emotionalen Signale) erkennen, die Emotion assimilieren können (die Emotion wahrnehmen), die Emotion verstehen und die Emotion selbst regulieren können . Bei sekundärer Alexithymie hat die Behandlung eine bessere Prognose.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Klinischer Gesundheitspsychologe. Spezialist für Pädagogik und Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie. Direktor von Educa und Lernen. Autor der Sammlung Regen Lese- und Schreibprozesse an.

Video: Ask an Autistic #25 - What is Executive Functioning?


Interessante Artikel

Colitis ulcerosa, was es ist und wie man es behandelt

Colitis ulcerosa, was es ist und wie man es behandelt

Es gibt viele gesundheitliche Probleme, die auftreten können Kind. In einigen Fällen der einfachen Lösung, wie bei verstopften oder Migräne-Kopfschmerzen, müssen wir in anderen Fällen besondere...

Ford C-MAX, gute Familienbehandlung

Ford C-MAX, gute Familienbehandlung

Ein freundlicher Minivan für eine fünfköpfige Familie, der mit einem großen Gepäck unterwegs ist oder ein Paar, das Outdoor-Aktivitäten liebt und viel Platz für seine Hobbyteams benötigt.Im kompakten...

Übungen, um das Ohr Ihres Babys zu stimulieren

Übungen, um das Ohr Ihres Babys zu stimulieren

Die Gehör Es ist eine der wichtigsten, weil ein Großteil der Informationen über die Welt durch Klang zu uns kommt. Das Ohr ist auch das am weitesten entwickelte Gefühl von neugeborenes Die Übungen...