Some cases of hyperactivity are diagnosed incorrectly

When a child presents behavior problems, a specialist can provide a solution after examining the child and indicate a treatment to solve the problem that causes this behavior to appear. But, what if this diagnosis was wrong? What if the child was proceeding in a way that does not correspond?

This is what it raises Paloma Méndez de Miguel, clinical neuropsychologist at the Quirónsalud San José hospital, who believes that in some cases the diagnosis of hyperactivity in children. This means that the necessary treatments are not initiated and therefore the problem of behavior in the child is not resolved.

Overdiagnosis of ADHD

One of the causes that causes the lack of attention in the smallest ones and that causes that these do not have a suitable behavior is the hyperactivity, ADHD. In recent years, a multitude of techniques have appeared that make it easier for specialists to detect this neurological disorder. However, this problem is sometimes misdiagnosed.


"Sometimes there is a overdiagnosis and we find ourselves with children with a behavioral problem or with other cognitive difficulties that are inadequately labeled ADHD"says Paloma Méndez who recalls that three symptoms must be given together to diagnose this disorder: attention deficit, hyperactivity and impulsivity.

 

Hyperactivity: signals to attend

Parents must be attentive to the behavior of their children to assess if we are facing a case of ADHD. These are some of the signs that must be taken into account by the parents:

- That from the school they warn of the presence of one or several symptoms of ADHD: attention deficit, hyperactivity and impulsivity. The educational center is usually a reliable source, because the comparison of the child with the rest of the group of equal age means that there is a wider prism than at home.


- Symptoms must appear before six years of age and to be given for at least six months in all contexts: school, home, in the presence of other relatives, in extracurricular activities, etc.

- If a child is simply very restless and impulsive at home, it is reasonable to think that it is a behavioral problem.

- Necessary wait up to six years, since there are different rates of development, which can cause a four-year-old child with apparent signs of ADHD to evolve normally and subsequently show none.

- Attention alert it is usually appropriate and should not mislead parents that their child can focus attention well when something motivates them.

Damián Montero

Video: How to Recognize ADHD Symptoms in Children


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

Einige Fälle von Hyperaktivität werden falsch diagnostiziert

Wenn ein Kind Verhaltensprobleme aufweist, kann ein Spezialist nach der Untersuchung des Kindes eine Lösung anbieten und a angeben Behandlung um das Problem zu lösen, das dieses Verhalten verursacht. Was aber, wenn diese Diagnose falsch war? Was wäre, wenn das Kind auf eine Weise vorging, die nicht übereinstimmte?

Das ist, was es aufwirft Paloma Méndez de Miguel, klinischer Neuropsychologe im Krankenhaus Quirónsalud San José, der der Meinung ist, dass in manchen Fällen die Diagnose Hyperaktivität bei Kindern besteht. Dies bedeutet, dass die notwendigen Behandlungen nicht eingeleitet werden und das Problem des Verhaltens beim Kind nicht gelöst wird.

Überdiagnose von ADHS

Eine der Ursachen, die den Mangel an Aufmerksamkeit bei den Kleinsten verursacht und dazu führt, dass diese kein geeignetes Verhalten zeigen, ist die Hyperaktivität. ADHS. In den letzten Jahren ist eine Vielzahl von Techniken aufgetaucht, die es Fachleuten erleichtern, diese neurologische Störung zu erkennen. Dieses Problem wird jedoch manchmal falsch erkannt.


"Manchmal gibt es eine Überdiagnose und wir finden uns bei Kindern mit einem Verhaltensproblem oder mit anderen kognitiven Schwierigkeiten, die nicht ausreichend gekennzeichnet sind ADHS"sagt Paloma Méndez, der daran erinnert, dass zur Diagnose dieser Erkrankung drei Symptome zusammen verabreicht werden müssen: Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit, Hyperaktivität und Impulsivität.

 

Hyperaktivität: Signale zur Teilnahme

Eltern müssen sein aufmerksam auf das Verhalten ihrer Kinder, um festzustellen, ob wir einen Fall von ADHS haben. Dies sind einige der Anzeichen, die von den Eltern berücksichtigt werden müssen:

- Dass sie von der Schule vor einem oder mehreren Symptomen warnen von ADHS: Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit, Hyperaktivität und Impulsivität. Das Bildungszentrum ist in der Regel eine verlässliche Quelle, denn der Vergleich des Kindes mit dem Rest der Altersgruppe bedeutet, dass das Prisma breiter ist als zu Hause.


- Die Symptome müssen vor dem sechsten Lebensjahr auftreten und für mindestens sechs Monate in allen Zusammenhängen gegeben werden: Schule, Zuhause, in Anwesenheit anderer Angehöriger, bei außerschulischen Aktivitäten usw.

- Wenn ein Kind einfach sehr unruhig ist und zu Hause impulsiv, ist es vernünftig anzunehmen, dass es sich um ein Verhaltensproblem handelt.

- Es ist notwendig warte bis zu sechs Jahre, da es unterschiedliche Entwicklungsraten gibt, die dazu führen können, dass sich ein vierjähriges Kind mit offensichtlichen Anzeichen von ADHS normal entwickelt und anschließend keine zeigt.

- Aufmerksamkeitswarnung Es ist in der Regel angebracht und sollte die Eltern nicht irreführen, dass ihr Kind die Aufmerksamkeit gut fokussieren kann, wenn es etwas motiviert.

Damián Montero

Video: ADS - ADHS - Hyperaktivität verstehen und behandeln - Video


Interessante Artikel

5 Tasten, um die Bräune nach dem Sommer zu erhalten

5 Tasten, um die Bräune nach dem Sommer zu erhalten

Der Sommer geht zu Ende und damit auch die Ferien. Die Strandtage und die Poolnachmittage gehören der Vergangenheit an. Wenn Sie sich endlich mit goldener Haut rühmen können, ist es Zeit, ins Büro...

Toxische Beziehungen: Wenn das Paar uns weh tut

Toxische Beziehungen: Wenn das Paar uns weh tut

Liebe in der Jugend ist von größter Bedeutung, da die ersten Paarbeziehungen die sentimentalen Parameter der Menschen aufbauen, dh wenn in diesem Alter eine Person eine gesunde Liebe lebt, werden...

Hausmittel gegen Läuse zu bekämpfen

Hausmittel gegen Läuse zu bekämpfen

Schulbesuch hängt mit dem Auftreten von Läusen bei Kindern zusammen. Es ist sehr verbreitet und sollte nicht alarmiert werden. Heutzutage gibt es zahlreiche wirksame Behandlungen, die Ihnen helfen...

Postpartale Traurigkeit

Postpartale Traurigkeit

Sie hatten gerade ein schönes Baby. Besuchen Sie sie. Sie sollten fertig sein, Sie sollten sich wie die glücklichste Frau der Welt fühlen, aber Sie fühlen sich nicht so. Sie fangen an zu weinen, ohne...