The danger of new technologies for gambling addiction in adolescents

The new technologies They have brought many changes to our lives: 24-hour connection between people, the possibility of being informed at any time, sharing moments through photographs and videos. However, these articles are not perfect and also have many dangers for their users.

Cyberbullying, grooming and even risk of addiction to gambling. This is what the Galician Association of Ludópatas Rehabilitados, AGALURE. This entity affirms that the proliferation of smartphones It has also brought with it the expansion of different applications that increase the risk of a teenager becoming a gambler.


Dangerous game applications on smartphones

The smartphones They offer a multitude of applications that offer minors the possibility of betting on games of chance. While in the past to carry out this type of activity it was necessary to accredit the age of majority, nowadays new technologies allow to lie about the years a person has and participate in these games.

In this way, teenagers can participate in games of chance through the applications of their smartphones, deceiving about their age when registering in these portals. And what is more important, without their parents knowing as these devices ensure the Privacy of its user that has easier to hide its trace to adults in the case of these young people.


 

From leisure to addiction: gambling addiction in adolescents

AGALURE says that the presence of these applications on smartphones is very dangerous as it follows a process similar to the start of any gambler. The teenager registers and tries his luck, it is possible that good luck and win something, which seems fun and continues in this world waiting to receive more prizes. Without realizing that little by little these practices become a pure addiction.

This association mentions that in one of their studies carried out among adolescents from different institutes, at least the 37% of these students claimed to have tested these betting applications on more than one occasion. That is, they were at risk of becoming addicted to this type of games.

Digital education for adolescents

The solution? Of course: education. We must internalize that a smartphone is not a harmless element and that it has large risks for the young man Parents should be very well informed about all these dangers that new technologies entail so that, if they become real, they can be detected before the problem goes further.


In the same way, some clear rules for the use of these devices. Among these laws should be present the possibility that parents can check the phone in case there is any suspicion of incorrect activity, as in this case the use of betting applications. You also have to limit the use of these items and prevent them from being used throughout the day because even if they do not become addicted to betting, teenagers can become dependent on their smartphones.

Finally, we must be very attentive to the invoices that they get home, both from the telephone and the bank statement. In this sense we must review any anomalous expenses that are not remembered, however small they may be. Normally these applications start with micropayments and each time they go to higher amounts. To take care of the problem in its beginnings is always the best option after prevention.

Damián Montero

Video: Inside the brain of a gambling addict - BBC News


Interesting Articles

How the LOMCE affects teachers

How the LOMCE affects teachers

With the recently released LOMCE Education Law -for the time being applied in the 1st, 3rd and 5th years of Primary Education and Basic Education-, there are many changes in the educational landscape...

To better rest, greater control of the sugar consumed

To better rest, greater control of the sugar consumed

Food and break they are two of the issues that every person must take care of. On the one hand monitor what is eaten and ensure, among many other things not to exceed the consumption of sugar. On the...

Die Gefahr neuer Technologien für die Spielsucht bei Jugendlichen

Die neue Technologien Sie haben viele Veränderungen in unser Leben gebracht: 24-Stunden-Verbindung zwischen Menschen, die Möglichkeit, jederzeit informiert zu sein, Momente durch Fotos und Videos zu teilen. Diese Artikel sind jedoch nicht perfekt und bergen auch viele Gefahren für ihre Benutzer.

Cybermobbing, Pflege und sogar die Gefahr der Spielsucht. Das ist was der Galizische Vereinigung der Ludópatas Rehabilitados, AGALURE. Diese Entität bestätigt, dass die Verbreitung von Smartphones Es hat auch die Erweiterung verschiedener Anwendungen mit sich gebracht, die das Risiko erhöhen, dass ein Teenager zu einem Spieler wird.


Gefährliche Spieleanwendungen auf Smartphones

Die Smartphones Sie bieten eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen, die Minderjährigen die Möglichkeit bieten, auf Glücksspiele zu wetten. War es in der Vergangenheit für die Ausübung dieser Art von Tätigkeit erforderlich, das Alter der Mehrheit zu würdigen, so erlauben heutzutage neue Technologien, über die Jahre zu lügen, die eine Person hat und an diesen Spielen teilzunehmen.

Auf diese Weise können Jugendliche über die Anwendungen ihres Smartphones an Glücksspielen teilnehmen und bei der Registrierung in diesen Portalen ihr Alter täuschen. Und was noch wichtiger ist, ohne dass ihre Eltern wissen, wie diese Geräte das gewährleisten Privatsphäre des Benutzers, der bei diesen jungen Menschen seine Spur für Erwachsene leichter verbergen kann.


 

Von der Freizeit zur Sucht: Spielsucht bei Jugendlichen

Laut AGALURE ist das Vorhandensein dieser Anwendungen auf Smartphones sehr gefährlich, da sie einem Prozess ähneln, der dem Beginn eines jeden Spielers ähnelt. Der Teenager registriert und versucht sein Glück, das ist möglich Glück haben und gewinnen Sie etwas, was in dieser Welt Spaß macht und auf weitere Preise wartet. Ohne nach und nach zu erkennen, werden diese Praktiken zur Sucht.

Diese Vereinigung erwähnt, dass in einer ihrer Studien unter Jugendlichen aus verschiedenen Instituten, zumindest der 37% Diese Studenten gaben an, diese Wettanwendungen mehr als einmal getestet zu haben. Das heißt, sie waren in Gefahr, von dieser Art von Spielen abhängig zu werden.

Digitale Bildung für Jugendliche

Die lösung? Natürlich: Bildung. Wir müssen verinnerlichen, dass ein Smartphone kein harmloses Element ist und groß ist risiken für den jungen mann Eltern sollten über alle Gefahren, die neue Technologien mit sich bringen, bestens informiert sein, damit sie, wenn sie wirklich werden, erkannt werden, bevor das Problem weitergeht.


In gleicher Weise einige klare Regeln für die Verwendung dieser Geräte. Unter diesen Gesetzen sollte die Möglichkeit vorhanden sein, dass Eltern das Telefon abrufen können, wenn der Verdacht einer fehlerhaften Aktivität besteht, wie in diesem Fall die Verwendung von Wettanwendungen. Sie müssen auch die Verwendung dieser Gegenstände einschränken und verhindern, dass sie während des Tages verwendet werden. Denn selbst wenn sie nicht süchtig nach Wetten werden, können Jugendliche von ihren Smartphones abhängig werden.

Schließlich müssen wir sehr aufmerksam sein Rechnungen dass sie nach Hause kommen, sowohl vom Telefon als auch vom Kontoauszug. In diesem Sinne müssen wir anomale Ausgaben überprüfen, an die nicht erinnert wird, auch wenn sie noch so klein sind. Normalerweise fangen diese Anwendungen mit Mikropayments an und werden jedes Mal höher. Das Problem von Anfang an zu lösen, ist nach der Prävention immer die beste Option.

Damián Montero

Video: Kinder & Medienkonsum - Ursachen, Symptome, Empfehlungen | Wissenschaftsjournalusmus Transistor


Interessante Artikel