The extra kilos on holidays also affect children

The Christmas holidays are, for adults, synonymous with a couple of kilos more with so much food. But now it is also known that children tend to be overweight at leisure.

This has been determined by a recent study published in the journal Obesity and where parents are warned that children are more likely to get fat during the holidays. Free time dedicated to sedentary lifestyle and a lack of control of the lunch schedule seem to be the main causes of this matter.

More obesity at the beginning of the course

To analyze how vacations influenced the weight of childrenThese researchers reviewed the weight and height of several students from different schools in Texas to get back the same records at the end of the school year. This process was repeated for three years to check if a pattern was repeated regarding children with overweight problems and if they appeared at any given time.


Effectively the study revealed that it was at the beginning of the course, that is, after the summer holidays when more children were overweight. Specifically at this time of the year, 23% of the students in these schools had a body mass index higher than that recommended for their height.

In addition, the percentage of obese children was 9%. However, during the school year the data remained stable. At the end of the course and starting the new school year, the data had increased at a rate of three percentage points. Some data that showed that the holidays were the periods in which children have more risk of gaining weight and have serious problems related to them.


Less strict environments

The authors point out that this trend is directly related to the less strict environments in which children live during the holiday period. While during the school year the students adapt to a schedule and their meals are distributed throughout the day in a good way, when the resting stage arrives, this rhythm does not continue to alter the child's metabolism.

While during the course the child eats certain hours, During the holidays, you may pick up different products such as chips, high-fat snacks or trinkets between meals. Something that makes coma more than while going to classes. In addition, at school there is a minimum of physical exercise related to subjects such as physical education.

On the other hand during the holiday period, children are more likely to practice a more sedentary lifestyle in which physical activity is hardly present. The solution? Plan outings where the movement is present: walks in the park, by bicycle. Staying at home is the least necessary option practiced for the little ones while they do not go to school.


Damián Montero

Video: Why Children of Obese Fathers Are More Obese?


Interesting Articles

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Although it does not have a good reputation, children need a degree of discipline that does not oppose educating in freedom or affection. The value of discipline will be the key to success in all...

10 tips to care for atopic skin

10 tips to care for atopic skin

The atopic dermatitis, very common in children, is produced by a deficit in the production of ceramides from the skin. Ceramides are a family of natural lipids, thanks to them the cells are held...

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

The consumption of drugs such as alcohol, joints or pills can potentially be the most destructive activity in which our adolescent children can be involved. All drugs affect the health of people and...

Die zusätzlichen Kilos im Urlaub betreffen auch Kinder

Die Weihnachtsferien sind für Erwachsene gleichbedeutend mit ein paar Kilo mehr mit so viel Essen. Nun ist aber auch bekannt, dass Kinder in ihrer Freizeit tendenziell übergewichtig sind.

Dies wurde durch eine kürzlich in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichte Studie festgestellt Fettleibigkeit und wo Eltern gewarnt werden, dass Kinder eher dazu neigen fett werden während der Ferien Freizeit, die dem sesshaften Lebensstil gewidmet ist, und die mangelnde Kontrolle des Mittagessens scheinen die Hauptursachen für diese Angelegenheit zu sein.

Mehr Fettleibigkeit zu Beginn des Kurses

Um zu analysieren, wie Urlaub das Gewicht von beeinflusst hat KinderDiese Forscher überprüften das Gewicht und die Größe mehrerer Schüler verschiedener Schulen in Texas die gleichen Aufzeichnungen am Ende des Schuljahres zurückbekommen. Dieser Vorgang wurde drei Jahre lang wiederholt, um zu überprüfen, ob ein Muster wiederholt wurde, das bei Kindern mit Übergewicht auftrat und ob sie zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt auftraten.


Die Studie ergab effektiv, dass es zu Beginn des Kurses war, dh nach den Sommerferien, als mehr Kinder übergewichtig waren. Zu dieser Jahreszeit hatten 23% der Schüler an diesen Schulen einen Körpermassenindex, der über dem für ihre Körpergröße empfohlenen Wert lag.

Darüber hinaus war der Anteil der adipösen Kinder 9%. Während des Schuljahres blieben die Daten jedoch stabil: Am Ende des Kurses und zu Beginn des neuen Schuljahres waren die Daten um drei Prozentpunkte gestiegen. Einige Daten, die zeigten, dass die Feiertage die Perioden waren, in denen Kinder ein höheres Risiko haben, an Gewicht zuzunehmen, und ernste Probleme damit haben.


Weniger strenge Umgebungen

Die Autoren weisen darauf hin, dass dieser Trend in direktem Zusammenhang mit den weniger strengen Umweltbedingungen steht, in denen Kinder während des Jahres leben Ferienzeit. Während sich die Schüler während des Schuljahres an einen Zeitplan anpassen und ihre Mahlzeiten gut verteilt über den Tag verteilt werden, verändert der Rhythmus des Kindes während der Ruhephase den Stoffwechsel des Kindes nicht weiter.

Während des Kurses isst das Kind bestimmte stunden Während der Ferien können Sie verschiedene Produkte wie Chips, fettreiche Snacks oder Schmuckstücke zwischen den Mahlzeiten abholen. Etwas, das Koma mehr macht als im Unterricht. Darüber hinaus gibt es in der Schule ein Minimum an körperlicher Bewegung in Bezug auf Themen wie Sportunterricht.

Auf der anderen Seite üben Kinder während der Ferien eher eine eher sitzende Lebensweise aus, in der körperliche Aktivität kaum vorhanden ist. Die lösung? Planen Sie Ausflüge, bei denen die Bewegung vorhanden ist: Spaziergänge im Park, mit dem Fahrrad. Zu Hause zu bleiben ist die am wenigsten notwendige Option geübt für die Kleinen, während sie nicht zur Schule gehen.


Damián Montero

Video: The Choice is Ours (2016) Official Full Version


Interessante Artikel

So funktioniert das Gehirn Ihres Babys

So funktioniert das Gehirn Ihres Babys

Die frühes Lernen Es ist keine Laune von Pädagogen und Lehrern. Es ist eine greifbare und effektive Realität, von dem Moment an, in dem die Baby Gehirn, seine enormen Möglichkeiten und seine...

Für einen Spaziergang mit dem Baby

Für einen Spaziergang mit dem Baby

Beenden mit dem Baby gehen Es ist eine sehr nützliche Routine. In diesen kleinen Momenten können Sie nicht nur alles wissen, was Sie umgibt, sondern auch Ihren Horizont erweitern und sich körperlich,...