The psychology of emotions at Christmas

Christmas is a time of the year full of experiences, full of magic and illusion. All these experiences involve emotions in adults and children. Although at first we all associate Christmas with positive emotions, it also entails negative emotions. Christmas is a time of great emotions because the experiences are more intense.

Emotions at Christmas

The First time experience is emotionally very intense and for this reason it is remembered more easily. The best Christmas memories often evoke our childhood. The experiences are the same, but what makes them more intense are the emotions. Children have the opportunity to experience Christmas with the magic of the first time, and that makes them discover very special and intense novel emotions.


At Christmas it is common to experience many types of emotions, some positive: joy, excitement, surprise, love ... and other negatives: sadness for those who are not, disappointment at not fulfilling expectations, frustration when these dates end, etc. Children also experience these emotions and do it more intensely.

At Christmas, emotions on the surface

The expectation for gifts, the experience of Christmas symbols, family dinners and meals, the kisses and hugs of family, friends and loved ones, the parade of kings ... are the many events that can generate intense emotions at Christmas . The most common are these:

1. Joy and illusion for the reunion with the family, for the gifts, etc.


2. Sadness due to absences, When a family member can no longer be with us, the children also experience sadness.

3. Angered Holidays and Christmas are a break with the routines of children, they get used to doing what they want and when we set limits they get angry. The anger usually contrasts with the positive and idyllic emotions of the moment.

4. Frustration, when your expectations are not met. Sometimes, they expect many gifts and do not have what they want.

5. Jealousy. At Christmas we meet with other family members and other children of the family appear, sometimes the children may feel jealous because of the attention received by the other children.

6. Apathy, sadness, and discouragement at the end of the holidays and having to resume the daily routine.


The emotional contrast characteristic of Christmas

Emotions are something natural that emerges in people, both positive and negative. It is normal to experience emotions and all of them fulfill their function. But in the Christmas season there is a curious process that affects adults as well as children.

At Christmas we have very intense emotions and there is often a great emotional contrast and a rollercoaster ride, which can leave us emotionally exhausted.

Negative emotions, are amplified, before the obligation to feel especially good in an idyllic time.

Tips to manage emotions at Christmas

1. Try to keep your routines.Even if you do different and special things and even if we have celebrations, it is important to maintain certain routines as much as possible. By removing the indicated days or the day that we have a scheduled activity or celebration, we keep (more or less) the schedules of going to bed, meals, etc.

2. Express your emotions and help them express theirs. Emotions are something natural and are part of people. It is good to express them and to name what happens to us inside.

3. Look for activities that help everyone to disconnect and relax like outdoor walks, readings, watch a movie.

4. Remember with joy those who are and help your children remember them like that.

5. Pay attention to your jealousy. When there are several children at home we should try to avoid attitudes on our part that feed jealousy and dedicate time and space to each child. In the case that jealousy appears, sometimes it is inevitable, we will treat it naturally, we will avoid forcing them to repress them.

6. Be patient with everyone these days and do not skimp on signs of affection.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Clinical health psychologist. Specialist in pedagogy and child and youth psychology. Director of Educa and Learn. Author of the collection Stimulate Reading and Writing Processes.

It may interest you:

- Do you give away toys? Give emotions

- Educate with the letter to the Magi

- The effects of excessive gifts on children

- The values ​​of Christmas for children

Video: How to deal with Toxic Family this Christmas 2016! Psychology w Kati Morton


Interesting Articles

Menorca as a family, a different destination

Menorca as a family, a different destination

The island of Menorca, located north of the Balearic archipelago, is one of the most beautiful paradises in the western Mediterranean. Thanks to being protected by UNESCO since 1993 as a Biosphere...

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

Copper is an essential mineral for health that helps to preventfetal malformations, anemia, growth problems or birth weight losses. For this reason, the pregnancy and lactation These are two periods...

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The trinkets, sweets and pastries are part of the children's routine, but your intake can be very harmful to your health and the one of the majors since they contain great amounts of sugar and...

Die Psychologie der Gefühle zu Weihnachten

Weihnachten ist eine Zeit des Jahres voller Erlebnisse, voller Magie und Illusion. Alle diese Erfahrungen beinhalten Emotionen bei Erwachsenen und Kindern. Obwohl wir alle Weihnachten zunächst mit positiven Emotionen in Verbindung bringen, bringt dies auch negative Emotionen mit sich. Weihnachten ist eine Zeit großer Emotionen, weil die Erlebnisse intensiver sind.

Emotionen zu Weihnachten

Die Die erste Erfahrung ist emotional sehr intensiv und aus diesem Grund wird es leichter erinnert. Die besten Weihnachtserinnerungen erinnern oft an unsere Kindheit. Die Erfahrungen sind die gleichen, aber was sie intensiver macht, sind die Emotionen. Kinder haben die Möglichkeit, Weihnachten mit der Magie des ersten Mal zu erleben, wodurch sie ganz besondere und intensive neuartige Emotionen entdecken.


Zu Weihnachten ist es üblich, viele Arten von Emotionen zu erleben, manche positiv: Freude, Aufregung, Überraschung, Liebe ... und andere Negative: Traurigkeit für diejenigen, die dies nicht tun, Enttäuschung über das Nichterfüllen von Erwartungen, Frustration am Ende dieser Daten usw. Kinder erleben diese Emotionen auch und machen es intensiver.

Zu Weihnachten Emotionen an der Oberfläche

Die Erwartung auf Geschenke, die Erfahrung von Weihnachtssymbolen, Familienessen und Mahlzeiten, die Küsse und Umarmungen von Familie, Freunden und Angehörigen, die Parade der Könige ... sind die vielen Ereignisse, die zu Weihnachten intensive Emotionen auslösen können . Am häufigsten sind diese:

1. Freude und Illusion für die Wiedervereinigung mit der Familie, für die Geschenke usw.


2. Traurigkeit aufgrund von Abwesenheiten Wenn ein Familienmitglied nicht mehr bei uns sein kann, erleben die Kinder auch Traurigkeit.

3. Ärgerlich Feiertage und Weihnachten sind ein Bruch mit der Routine von Kindern, sie gewöhnen sich daran, das zu tun, was sie wollen, und wenn wir Grenzen setzen, werden sie wütend. Der Ärger steht normalerweise im Gegensatz zu den positiven und idyllischen Emotionen des Augenblicks.

4. Frustration, wenn Ihre Erwartungen nicht erfüllt werden. Manchmal erwarten sie viele Geschenke und haben nicht das, was sie wollen.

5. Eifersucht Zu Weihnachten treffen wir uns mit anderen Familienmitgliedern und anderen Kindern der Familie, manchmal sind die Kinder neidisch auf die Aufmerksamkeit der anderen Kinder.

6. Apathie, Traurigkeit und Entmutigung am Ende der Feiertage und müssen den Alltag wieder aufnehmen.


Der emotionale Kontrast von Weihnachten

Emotionen sind etwas Natürliches, das bei den Menschen sowohl positiv als auch negativ auftritt. Es ist normal, Emotionen zu erleben und alle erfüllen ihre Funktion. In der Weihnachtszeit gibt es jedoch einen merkwürdigen Prozess, der sowohl Erwachsene als auch Kinder betrifft.

Zu Weihnachten haben wir sehr intensive Gefühle und oft gibt es einen großen emotionalen Kontrast und eine Achterbahnfahrt, die uns emotional erschöpft machen kann.

Negative Emotionen werden verstärkt, vor der Verpflichtung, sich in einer idyllischen Zeit besonders gut zu fühlen.

Tipps zum Umgang mit Emotionen zu Weihnachten

1. Versuchen Sie, Ihre Routinen einzuhalten.Auch wenn Sie andere und besondere Dinge tun und auch wenn wir feiern, ist es wichtig, bestimmte Routinen so weit wie möglich einzuhalten. Durch das Entfernen der angegebenen Tage oder des Tages, an dem wir eine geplante Aktivität oder Feier planen, halten wir (mehr oder weniger) die Zeitpläne für das Gehen, das Essen usw. ein.

2. Drücke deine Gefühle aus und hilf ihnen, ihre auszudrücken. Emotionen sind etwas Natürliches und Teil des Menschen. Es ist gut, sie auszudrücken und zu benennen, was mit uns im Inneren geschieht.

3. Suchen Sie nach Aktivitäten, die jedem helfen, die Verbindung zu trennen und entspannen Sie sich wie Spaziergänge im Freien, Lesungen, schauen Sie sich einen Film an.

4. Erinnere dich mit Freude an die, die es sind und helfen Sie Ihren Kindern, sich an sie zu erinnern.

5. Achte auf deine Eifersucht. Wenn mehrere Kinder zu Hause sind, sollten wir versuchen, Einstellungen zu vermeiden, die Eifersucht nähren und jedem Kind Zeit und Raum widmen. Wenn Eifersucht auftaucht, ist es manchmal unvermeidlich, wir werden es natürlich behandeln und vermeiden, dass sie dazu gezwungen werden, sie zu unterdrücken.

6. Seien Sie in letzter Zeit mit allen geduldig und nicht auf Anzeichen von Zuneigung.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Klinischer Gesundheitspsychologe. Spezialist für Pädagogik und Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie. Direktor von Educa und Lernen. Autor der Sammlung Regen Lese- und Schreibprozesse an.

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Verschenken Sie Spielzeug? Emotionen geben

- Erziehe mit dem Brief an die Weisen

- Die Auswirkungen übermäßiger Geschenke für Kinder

- Die Werte von Weihnachten für Kinder

Video: 5 Tipps gegen Einsamkeit an Weihnachten


Interessante Artikel