10 reasons to visit Cuenca at Christmas

A nativity scene with more than 1,000 figures from Playmobil and one of the most valuable in Spain in the Neapolitan style, a San Silvestre in a canoe on the river Júcar, traditional and cultured music and dozens of plans with children make up the Christmas offer in Cuenca.

Cuenca, by its own personality,is in itself reason enough to motivate a getaway for several days, whether in Christmas or at any time of the year. The city has been declared a World Heritage Site for two decades for its picturesque and spectacular combination of monuments, popular architecture and nature. One of the most original and beautiful cities in Spain.

10 reasons to visit Cuenca at Christmas

1. A nativity scene from Playmobil with more than 1,000 figures. The old church of San Andrés (XVI-XVII centuries) welcomes Christmas from December 16 to January 6 a fun and endearing nativity scene composed of more than 1,000 human figures of Playmobil and several hundreds representing animals. A montage of 90 square meters with curious scenes that delights children and adults. Organized by the brotherhood of the Resurrected Jesus, admission is free, but you can collaborate with a donation that goes to fight against childhood cancer.


2. A gigantic and delicate Neapolitan nativity scene. The Napolitano Bethlehem that is installed in the Palace of the Provincial Council is overwhelmed by its size and the quality of its half a thousand figures, all of them handcrafted by the Association of Belenistas de Cuenca. Until the Day of Kings you can admire these 130 square meters that conjugate the most traditional scenes of births with others that make winks to Cervantes or that reproduce lakes and waterfalls. Last year attracted more than 50,000 visitors and is considered one of the most valuable and beautiful nativity scenes in the country.

3. San Silvestre in a canoe. The morning of the last day of the year is spent by water in Cuenca. A hundred people participate in the 'San Silvestre' in a canoe, which runs through the Júcar between Artificial Beach and El Sargal Beach. There are plenty of hilarious scenes of disguised sailors falling into the water and other spectacular ones when they expertly save the obstacles of the Júcar. A privileged place to see it is the Bridge of San Antón, with a fantastic perspective of the church of the Virgen de La Luz. Those who are more rain-fed also have a competition on foot on the 31st: the traditional Carrera del Pavo.


4. Convent Candy Market. Christmas is synonymous with sweets and the cloistered nuns know a lot about it, whose works are authentic factories of prodigies. The Museum of Holy Week hosts a market that offers the products of the Clarisse Nuns of Sisante, the Trinitarians of San Clemente and the Carmelites of Cuenca. In the same museum center an attractive birth is exhibited that is part of a Route of twelve cribs assembled by brotherhoods, almost all exhibited in the charming El Salvador neighborhood.

5. Ice skating rink. American films have identified in the collective imagination the Christmas holidays with the tracks to skate on ice. In Cuenca there is no lack of attraction, installed in the San Julián Park next to a children's fair. In the nearby Plaza de la Hispanidad and Calle Carretería there is the Christmas Market, with stands of typical products and artisans. Santa Claus and the Magi will pass by him to collect the letters of the children, for whom there are also programmed entertainment shows.


6. Polyphony, waltz and cult music. In a city as close to music as the capital of Cuenca, this art could not be missing at this time. The Theater Auditorium of the city hosts on December 28 the show 'The Musicians of Bremen', aimed at the whole family. On the following day it will be the Youth Orchestra of Cuenca which will star in its traditional Christmas concert and, on January 2, the Philharmonic Orchestra and the Chamber Ballet of Madrid will bring the sounds of Vienna.

The polyphony concerts multiply throughout the urban map. For example, the Choir of the Conservatory will offer a concert of Christmas carols on December 20 in the Paraninfo of the University and the Chapel of Music of the Cathedral will do the same on January 3 in the old church of San Miguel.

7. Parties of all kinds and a clock to take the grapes.More and more families and young people opt for Cuenca as a destination to spend New Year's Eve together. The nightlife offer of the city ranges from large cotillions (such as the Sala Moove macrodisc, with notable DJs from the national scene) to gastronomic plans (dinners and joint parties at the Parador or at the gastrobar Pit's). There are plenty of relaxed but fun options in the picturesque neighborhoods of the Old Town. And, if you want a clock to take the grapes, it exists. The Mangana, a tower with the air of a fortress with privileged views of the new city and valuable archaeological remains.

8Misa del Gallo at San Julián El Tranquilo. The city of Cuenca is the scene of one of the most curious Misas del Gallo among those held in Spain. Neither the cold, nor the distance, nor the hours are an obstacle for the Eucharist to be celebrated at midnight on Christmas Eve in the Hermitage of San Julián de El Tranquilo. The temple is located in the Hoz del Júcar, in a privileged natural area away from the urban area, located next to a bucolic grotto and accessed only by a path or by a ladder. Dozens of faithful do not shy away and participate in a celebration followed by a good bonfire, chants of carols and fraternal tasting of food.

9. Traditional rounds. An original anecdote in the basin of the early eighteenth century was the origin of the popular carol 'The Mariomorena' These and other popular pieces are part of the repertoire that rondallas and groups like Rondadores, Pulso and Púa and Tiruraina will perform in the traditional Christmas rounds that will tour the city on 24, 25 and 31 December and 1 January. Dulzainas, bandurrias, guitars, zambombas and bottles of anise will flood music with the route between the Plaza Mayor and the Plaza de la Constitución, where large luminous trees have been installed.

10. Horseback riding, living crib and many plans with children. The Three Kings will also pass through Cuenca on the afternoon of January 5 in a striking cavalcade with geese, music, horses and many surprises. For the children, a wide and extensive program has been designed: Belén Viviente on the Paseo del Huécar on December 23; theater and legends on the 24th in the old church of San Miguel; and storytellers and children's workshops for the different neighborhoods of the city.

It may interest you:

- Crafts to decorate your house at Christmas

- 8 musical leisure activities with children

- The best plans for Christmas in Madrid with children

- The values ​​of Christmas for children

Video: It's 10 Days Before Christmas and This Is What's Happening in Cuenca Ecuador! ????


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

10 Gründe, Cuenca zu Weihnachten zu besuchen

Eine Krippe mit mehr als 1.000 Figuren von Playmobil und einer der wertvollsten in Spanien im neapolitanischen Stil, ein San Silvestre in einem Kanu am Fluss Júcar, traditionelle und kultivierte Musik und Dutzende von Plänen mit Kindern bilden das Weihnachtsangebot in Cuenca.

Cuenca durch seine eigene Persönlichkeit,Grund genug, um für mehrere Tage einen Kurzurlaub zu motivieren, sei es in Weihnachten oder zu jeder Zeit des Jahres. Die Stadt wurde seit zwei Jahrzehnten aufgrund ihrer malerischen und spektakulären Kombination aus Denkmälern, beliebter Architektur und Natur zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Eine der originellsten und schönsten Städte Spaniens.

10 Gründe, Cuenca zu Weihnachten zu besuchen

1. Eine Krippe von Playmobil mit mehr als 1.000 Figuren. Die alte Kirche von San Andrés (XVI-XVII. Jahrhundert) empfängt Weihnachten vom 16. Dezember bis 6. Januar. Eine unterhaltsame und liebenswerte Krippe, die aus mehr als 1.000 Menschen von Playmobil und mehreren Hunderten von Tieren besteht. Eine 90 Quadratmeter große Montage mit kuriosen Szenen, die Kinder und Erwachsene begeistern. Organisiert von der Bruderschaft des auferstandenen Jesus, ist der Eintritt frei, aber Sie können mit einer Spende zusammenarbeiten, die zur Bekämpfung von Krebs im Kindesalter eingesetzt wird.


2. Eine gigantische und zarte neapolitanische Krippe. Das Napolitano Bethlehem, das im Palast des Provinzialrats installiert ist, ist überwältigt von seiner Größe und der Qualität seiner rund eintausend Figuren, die alle von der Association of Belenistas de Cuenca in Handarbeit hergestellt werden. Bis zum Tag der Könige können Sie diese 130 Quadratmeter bewundern, die die traditionellsten Geburtsszenen mit anderen verbinden, die Cervantes zwinkern oder Seen und Wasserfälle reproduzieren. Das vergangene Jahr zog mehr als 50.000 Besucher an und gilt als eine der wertvollsten und schönsten Weihnachtskrippen des Landes.

3. San Silvestre im Kanu. Den Morgen des letzten Tages des Jahres verbringen Sie in Cuenca mit Wasser. Hundert Menschen nehmen an der "San Silvestre" in einem Kanu teil, das durch den Júcar zwischen dem künstlichen Strand und dem Strand von El Sargal verläuft. Es gibt viele witzige Szenen von verkleideten Matrosen, die ins Wasser fallen, und andere spektakuläre, wenn sie die Hindernisse des Júcar fachgerecht retten. Ein privilegierter Ort, um sie zu sehen, ist die Brücke von San Antón, mit einer fantastischen Sicht auf die Kirche der Virgen de La Luz. Diejenigen, die mehr Regen haben, haben am 31. einen Wettkampf zu Fuß: die traditionelle Carrera del Pavo.


4. Convent Candy Markt. Weihnachten ist gleichbedeutend mit Süßigkeiten, und die Klausurschwestern wissen viel darüber, und ihre Werke sind wahre Wunderfabriken. Das Museum der Karwoche beherbergt einen Markt, auf dem die Produkte der Clarisse-Nonnen von Sisante, der Trinitären von San Clemente und der Karmeliten von Cuenca angeboten werden. Im selben Museumszentrum wird eine attraktive Geburt gezeigt, die Teil einer Route von zwölf Krippen ist, die von Bruderschaften zusammengestellt wurden, die fast alle im charmanten Viertel El Salvador ausgestellt sind.

5. Eisbahn. Amerikanische Filme haben in der kollektiven Vorstellung die Weihnachtsferien mit den Spuren identifiziert, um auf Eis zu laufen. In Cuenca mangelt es nicht an Attraktivität, die im Park San Julián neben einer Kindermesse installiert wird. In der nahe gelegenen Plaza de la Hispanidad und Calle Carretería gibt es den Weihnachtsmarkt mit Ständen typischer Produkte und Kunsthandwerker. Der Weihnachtsmann und die Könige kommen an ihm vorbei, um die Briefe der Kinder zu sammeln, für die auch Unterhaltungsshows programmiert sind.


6. Polyphonie, Walzer und Kultmusik. In einer Stadt, die so musiknah wie die Hauptstadt von Cuenca ist, könnte diese Kunst zu dieser Zeit nicht fehlen. Das Theatersaal der Stadt beherbergt am 28. Dezember die Show "Die Musiker von Bremen", die sich an die ganze Familie richtet. Am folgenden Tag wird das Jugendorchester von Cuenca das traditionelle Weihnachtskonzert spielen, und am 2. Januar bringen das Philharmonische Orchester und das Kammerballett von Madrid die Klänge von Wien mit.

Die Polyphoniekonzerte vervielfachen sich im Stadtplan. Beispielsweise wird der Chor des Konservatoriums am 20. Dezember ein Konzert mit Weihnachtsliedern in der Paraninfo der Universität und die Kapelle der Musik der Kathedrale am 3. Januar in der alten Kirche von San Miguel aufführen.

7. Parteien aller Art und eine Uhr, um die Trauben zu holen.Immer mehr Familien und junge Menschen entscheiden sich für Cuenca, um gemeinsam Silvester zu verbringen. Das Nachtleben der Stadt reicht von großen Cotillions (z. B. der Makrodisc Sala Moove mit namhaften DJs aus der nationalen Szene) bis zu gastronomischen Plänen (Abendessen und gemeinsame Partys im Parador oder im Gastrobar Pits). In den malerischen Vierteln der Altstadt gibt es viele entspannte, aber unterhaltsame Möglichkeiten. Und wenn Sie möchten, dass eine Uhr die Trauben nimmt, existiert sie. Die Mangana, ein Turm mit der Atmosphäre einer Festung, mit privilegiertem Blick auf die neue Stadt und wertvollen archäologischen Überresten.

8Misa del Gallo in San Julián El Tranquilo. Die Stadt Cuenca ist der Schauplatz eines der neugierigsten Misas del Gallo unter den in Spanien stattgefundenen. Weder die Kälte noch die Entfernung noch die Stunden sind ein Hindernis für die Feier der Eucharistie, die am Weihnachtsabend um Mitternacht in der Eremitage von San Julián de El Tranquilo gefeiert wird. Der Tempel befindet sich im Hoz del Júcar, in einem privilegierten Naturgebiet abseits des Stadtgebiets, neben einer idyllischen Grotte und ist nur über einen Pfad oder eine Leiter erreichbar. Dutzende Gläubige scheuen sich nicht und nehmen an einer Feier teil, gefolgt von einem guten Lagerfeuer, Liedliedern und dem brüderlichen Verkosten von Speisen.

9. Traditionelle Runden. Eine originelle Anekdote im Becken des frühen 18. Jahrhunderts war der Ursprung des Volkslieds.Die Mariomorena' Diese und andere beliebte Stücke sind Teil des Repertoires, das Rondallas und Gruppen wie Rondadores, Pulso, Púa und Tiruraina bei den traditionellen Weihnachtsrunden am 24., 25. und 31. Dezember sowie am 1. Januar aufführen. Dulzainas, Bandurrias, Gitarren, Zambombas und Anisflaschen werden die Musik zwischen der Plaza Mayor und der Plaza de la Constitución überschwemmen, wo große leuchtende Bäume aufgestellt wurden.

10. Reiten, lebende Krippe und viele Pläne mit Kindern. Die Drei Könige werden auch am Nachmittag des 5. Januar durch Cuenca in einer beeindruckenden Kavallade mit Gänsen, Musik, Pferden und vielen Überraschungen durchfahren. Für die Kinder wurde ein umfangreiches und umfangreiches Programm entworfen: Belén Viviente am Paseo del Huécar am 23. Dezember; Theater und Legenden am 24. in der alten Kirche von San Miguel; und Geschichtenerzähler und Kinderworkshops für die verschiedenen Stadtviertel.

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Basteln, um Ihr Haus zu Weihnachten zu schmücken

- 8 musikalische Freizeitaktivitäten mit Kindern

- Die besten Pläne für Weihnachten in Madrid mit Kindern

- Die Werte von Weihnachten für Kinder

Video: MITOS Y LEYENDAS 11: Mitología vasca, navarra, gallega, asturiana y cántabra


Interessante Artikel

Beschäftigung, eine Waffe gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen

Beschäftigung, eine Waffe gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen

Bisher in diesem Jahr In Spanien sind 39 Frauen an häuslicher Gewalt gestorbentrotz der Tatsache, dass im ersten Halbjahr 2016 a Zunahme der Beschwerden um 13% gegenüber dem gleichen Zeitraum des...

Phrasen, mit denen man in der Familie lächeln kann

Phrasen, mit denen man in der Familie lächeln kann

Das Lächeln ist eines der schönsten Geschenke, die wir unserer Familie und Freunden schenken können. Aus diesem Grund bieten wir Ihnen einige Phrasen an, mit denen Sie sich daran erinnern müssen, wie...