5 messages that every adolescent should receive

Have you stopped to think What topics do you talk about with your adolescent? It is usual that most of the time we dedicate it to correct, prohibit, order, etc. We will not deny that communication at this stage is somewhat more complicated but, despite this, our son "needs" to listen 5 messages that every adolescent should receive.

It is common to hear parents refer with horror to the adolescence stage of their children. It seems that the enemy has gotten into the house and we are poor victims who suffer from their changing moods, their disorder, disobedience, bad grades, unwise companies, plans with which we do not agree, etc., etc. And so, the coexistence with our children becomes a continuous battle.


The time has come to change tactics

We must know that much of the fault we have, we do, although our ears screech when reading this. We just have to put ourselves in their place and try to think how we would feel if each time our boss -the parents in the case of the adolescent- spent the day telling us negative things, commenting on how badly we work, what it costs to live in the office with us, how badly we organize ourselves, the bad work results ...

Well, this is the life of our teenage children and it is in our hands to turn this situation around. For this we must change the "chip" and make a determined effort to get positive messages from our lips; he must convince himself that, whatever he / she is, we love him very much, that we are and will be by his side to overcome the difficulties together, that we are allies, not enemies, that we correct him to bring out the best in him / her, that we will have patience for to hope that that wonderful person comes out and that now we do not see anywhere.


We are the ones who educate, therefore, we must be above a "passing state" such as adolescence; we must be up to the best parents of our children and this requires many hours of training.

What do we talk about with our teenager?

Usually, the most common answer to this question is: "To talk to you, I do not talk to you much, rather I constantly shout at you because of the disorder in your room, because of the notes, because you tend to run away when you have to help at home or because the end of week arrived later than usual. " Sometimes, perhaps more than desired, trying to communicate with a teenager in crisis is a difficult task; but, if we neglect, our relationship can be dangerously reduced to censorship and criticism of his person and behavior.

However, our daughter has special communication needs and expects us to take the initiative, we must adopt a more active stance, transmitting with constancy but without being weighed, a series of messages that most adolescents expect to hear from His parents. In these pages we propose five messages, but it is in your hands to discover what you would like to hear your own son.


Messages that every teenager should receive from their parents

1. To build your self-esteem: "I'm proud of you"

With this simple phrase, we help to build the self-esteem of our son. We can ask ourselves, when should I tell her? Surely it comes out naturally to us at the moment when it achieves some success, but really a teenager needs it especially when it fails. Thus, we convey to him that we are proud of him / her because he is our child and we do not need more reasons. And yet, many teenagers may not be lucky enough to hear this message often. We should be proud of our hij @ and recognize him for what he is and for the sincere efforts What does he do to improve, without comparing him with others and without setting arbitrary goals, such as getting everything outstanding or being the most complete athlete in his class?

Possibly it is more expensive to be proud of a child when he makes wrong decisions or when he fails, but have we stopped to think that this is part of the learning of the use of freedom? Without the experience of our own failures, how to learn from them? Although the circumstances are not ideal, we should never allow the love to disappear or make our child think that it has vanished. When a person fails the last thing he needs to hear is someone remind him how clumsy he is: "Son, with that behavior you will not do anything positive in life."

With phrases like this we can hurt him deeply and what he will really internalize will be: "Son, you have disappointed me deeply as a human being, I am ashamed not only of your behavior, but of you". When you make a mistake, let us stay with you to help you reflect on what you have done, why and how to rectify it.

2. To enhance your security: "Count on me"

When problems arise, adolescents attach great importance to knowing that they can go to their parents to solve them. This feeling is achieved if we have repeatedly said: "When you need it, do not hesitate to go to me, I will always listen to you and I will help you." Although by nature the teenager is rebellious, always needs to be sure that in difficult times "my parents are there".

However, if we do not pay attention to him when he is having a bad time, we will be giving him a good reason to work on his own, seeking advice and help from other people. We must listen to them, without wanting to speak and sentence continuously. This is the way to make it clear that "you are important to me", "I care about your affairs", "I like to listen to your ideas and opinions", etc.

3. To form a criterion: "Understanding you is not always giving you reason"

That a teenager says his parents are somewhat outdated or that we do not understand them is something that goes into the normal. Therefore, we should not be frustrated, but know that they are typical behaviors of 13, 14, 15 or 16 years, even some children reach 17 or 18. If we do not sow much in childhood, it is most likely that communication in the Adolescence becomes especially difficult, but we should not throw in the towel. When our son "accuses" us that we do not understand him we should know that it is just a way to defend himself. Confuse "not understanding" with "not agreeing".

By approaching him / her we can not change our mind, as we would be letting him manipulate us. If he gets angry and tells us that we do not understand him, we will ask him to help us with phrases like: "Yes, I want to understand you, but for that, tell me something else, help me by telling me what you feel and maybe I can help you by explaining why this is the case".

But if only what happens is that we do not agree with him / her, we can repeat what he says, his arguments, his ideas, until he is satisfied and then comment: "You see that I understand what you want to say and why But, it seems to me that our problem is not lack of understanding but lack of agreement "

4. To help you grow inside: "I trust you"

In this stage our hij @ he needs more than ever to trust him / her, so we can never tell you "I will not believe you again, you cheated me and you have lost my trust forever" He must know that he is free to deceive us, but he who suffers the most is him and, despite this, we will always give him another chance. Our son needs us to tell him that our confidence in him will gradually increase as he acquires new knowledge and experiences in those situations that require trust. It is also true that there may be another reason why it is so difficult for our parents to trust our children, and that is that we have experienced first-hand all the risks, situations and dangers inherent in this stage.

We know how easy it is to give in to the pressures of the environment when you are not prepared. This prevents us from giving our children an unlimited trust. In fact, we would not be doing our job as parents if we allow our children to be in situations where the degree of risk is higher than their level of maturity.

5. To grow healthy: "I love you a lot"

Sometimes, we can miss many opportunities to express love and affection - and to receive it - only because we have not proposed it as a conscious goal. And, nevertheless, it is the most important message that boys and girls want to hear from their parents. Love is the essential ingredient of a healthy family. An "I love you", said out loud and often, it helps us to know who we are and why we were born.

When a teenager is not sure of his or her parents' love, the other four messages above do not mean anything. They need to be told that they love them and that they show it to them. How can they be sure that they are loved if they have never told them? How can they be sure if their parents never spend time with him?

The way to show love to a child is spelled with each of the letters of the word "time". Giving gifts, providing food and clothes, showing affection in other ways is fine, but you also have to be willing to waste time with your teenager: go eat, go out together, talk about your hobbies, help prepare a celebration surprise a friend, advise him how to dress for a party, etc.

Tips to improve communication with adolescent children

- Have you ever said to your son:You know I'm proud of you and I do not care about anything else? " This feeling of be proud of our children It is the best way to convey to them the great love we feel for them and that this reality is what really makes us happy.

- When you improve your way of listening, your son will also learn to listen better. Imagine the positive impact it will have on the quality of conversation in your family.

- It's not about saying: "I understand exactly how you feel"It sounds like wanting to get away from your feelings and wanting to find a quick solution to the problem. Although we remember our adolescence we are not already fifteen years old, nor do we live that specific moment through which our child is going through. Maybe it would be better to tell him "I can understand that you're having a hard time, I'm here to help you. If you want we look for a solution together”.

- There is a danger of putting the children too high and also in the wrong place. If they come to believe that they need, for example, to get everything out of the way to be accepted, they can deduce that their parents care only about successes ... not people. And so, as a result, they will not try to do the best they can.

- It is important that they clearly distinguish that the person can be accepted, even if their behavior is not approved. You are proud of him, because in your son, but not of what he has done, making it clear that your anger refers only to his actions, not to him as a person.

Life, on occasion, imposes a frenetic pace, from which it is difficult to escape. But we can not forget that at least once a week we must take time to talk with each child. As we write down a work meeting, write down whether or not we talk to the children, review this agenda and rectify when we have not found a space for them. And, daily, a look, a gesture, a word, a comment will help our child know that we are aware of him and his things.

Ana Aznar

Video: If You Get This Message, Your Child Is in Danger


Interesting Articles

The decision-making dilemma, and what would you do?

The decision-making dilemma, and what would you do?

The main ingredient of the art of accompanying children in the process of becoming healthy and emotionally strong, able to risk choosing and taking responsibility for their decisions is the affective...

The complexes of teenage girls

The complexes of teenage girls

It is very common for teenage girls have physical complexes Some are dissatisfied with the size or shape of their nose; others feel too flat; others complain about their holsters, their silhouette,...

Learning to eat: how to educate the senses

Learning to eat: how to educate the senses

Normally, we consider that food is a matter of taste, but it is much more. It is clear that we all have preferences for some flavors, for a type of food, or for a particular style of food. Children...

The benefits of the school canteen in children

The benefits of the school canteen in children

That our children eat in the school dining room It is often an obligation, especially when we have difficulties to reconcile work and personal life. But not only are they good for parents'...

5 Nachrichten, die jeder Jugendliche erhalten soll

Hast du aufgehört zu denken Über welche Themen sprichst du mit deinem Jugendlichen? Es ist üblich, dass wir es meistens widmen richtig, verbieten, bestellenusw. Wir werden nicht leugnen, dass die Kommunikation zu diesem Zeitpunkt etwas komplizierter ist, aber unser Sohn muss trotzdem "zuhören" 5 Nachrichten, die jeder Jugendliche erhalten soll.

Es ist üblich zu hören, wie Eltern sich mit Schrecken auf die Adoleszenzphase ihrer Kinder beziehen. Es scheint, als wäre der Feind ins Haus gekommen und wir sind arme Opfer, die unter ihren wechselnden Stimmungen, ihrer Unordnung, ihrem Ungehorsam, schlechten Noten, unklugen Begleitern, Plänen, mit denen wir nicht einverstanden sind, usw. usw. leiden. So wird das Zusammenleben mit unseren Kindern zu einem ständigen Kampf.


Es ist an der Zeit, die Taktik zu ändern

Wir müssen wissen, dass wir viel von dem Fehler haben, den wir haben, obwohl unsere Ohren kreischen, wenn wir dies lesen. Wir müssen uns einfach an ihre Stelle setzen und versuchen zu überlegen, wie wir uns fühlen würden, wenn jedes Mal unser Chef - die Eltern im Falle des Jugendlichen - den ganzen Tag mit negativen Dingen aussprach, wie schlecht wir arbeiten und was es kostet, im Büro zu leben uns, wie schlecht wir uns organisieren, die schlechten Arbeitsergebnisse ...

Nun, das ist das Leben unserer Teenager-Kinder, und es liegt in unseren Händen, diese Situation umzukehren. Dafür müssen wir den "Chip" ändern und entschlossene Anstrengungen unternehmen, um positive Botschaften von unseren Lippen zu bekommen. er muss sich selbst davon überzeugen, dass wir ihn, egal was er / sie ist, sehr lieben, dass wir an seiner Seite sind, um die Schwierigkeiten gemeinsam zu überwinden, dass wir Verbündete sind, keine Feinde, dass wir ihn korrigieren, um das Beste aus ihm herauszuholen, für das wir Geduld haben werden zu hoffen, dass diese wunderbare Person herauskommt und dass wir jetzt nirgendwo sehen.


Wir sind diejenigen, die erziehen, deshalb müssen wir über einem "vorübergehenden Zustand" wie der Jugend stehen; Wir müssen den besten Eltern unserer Kinder nachkommen, und dies erfordert viele Stunden Training.

Worüber reden wir mit unserem Teenager?

Normalerweise lautet die häufigste Antwort auf diese Frage: "Um mit Ihnen zu sprechen, spreche ich nicht viel mit Ihnen, vielmehr schreie ich Sie ständig wegen der Unordnung in Ihrem Zimmer an, wegen der Notizen, weil Sie dazu neigen, wegzulaufen, wenn Sie zu Hause helfen müssen oder wegen dem Ende Woche später als üblich angekommen. " Manchmal, vielleicht mehr als gewünscht, ist es eine schwierige Aufgabe, mit einem in der Krise befindlichen Teenager zu kommunizieren. Aber wenn wir es vernachlässigen, kann unsere Beziehung gefährlich auf Zensur und Kritik an seiner Person und seinem Verhalten reduziert werden.

Unsere Tochter hat jedoch besondere Kommunikationsbedürfnisse und erwartet von uns, dass sie die Initiative ergreift. Wir müssen eine aktivere Haltung einnehmen und mit Konstanz senden, ohne jedoch abgewogen zu werden, eine Reihe von Nachrichten, von denen die meisten Jugendlichen erwarten, dass sie hören seine eltern Auf diesen Seiten schlagen wir fünf Nachrichten vor, aber es liegt in Ihren Händen zu entdecken, was Sie von Ihrem eigenen Sohn hören möchten.


Nachrichten, die jeder Teenager von seinen Eltern erhalten soll

1. Um dein Selbstwertgefühl aufzubauen: "Ich bin stolz auf dich"

Mit diesem einfachen Satz tragen wir dazu bei, das Selbstwertgefühl unseres Sohnes aufzubauen. Wir können uns fragen, wann sollte ich es ihr sagen? Sicherlich kommt es uns in dem Moment natürlich vor, in dem es Erfolg hat, aber ein Teenager braucht es vor allem, wenn es versagt. So vermitteln wir ihm, dass wir stolz auf ihn sind, weil er unser Kind ist und wir keine weiteren Gründe brauchen. Und doch haben viele Teenager möglicherweise nicht das Glück, diese Nachricht oft zu hören. Wir sollten stolz auf unser hij @ und sein Erkenne ihn für das, was er ist und für die aufrichtigen Bemühungen Was tut er, um sich zu verbessern, ohne ihn mit anderen zu vergleichen und willkürliche Ziele zu setzen, etwa alles herausragend zu machen oder der vollständigste Athlet seiner Klasse zu sein?

Möglicherweise ist es teurer, auf ein Kind stolz zu sein, wenn es falsche Entscheidungen trifft oder wenn es versagt, aber haben wir aufgehört zu denken, dass dies ein Teil des Lernens des Gebrauchs der Freiheit ist? Wie können wir ohne die Erfahrung unserer eigenen Fehler von ihnen lernen? Obwohl die Umstände nicht ideal sind, sollten wir niemals zulassen, dass die Liebe verschwindet oder dass unser Kind den Eindruck erweckt, es sei verschwunden. Wenn eine Person versagt, muss das Letzte, was sie hören muss, jemand daran erinnern, wie unbeholfen er ist: "Sohn, mit diesem Verhalten wirst du nichts Positives im Leben tun."

Mit solchen Ausdrücken können wir ihn sehr verletzen, und was er wirklich verinnerlichen wird, wird sein: "Sohn, du hast mich als Mensch tief enttäuscht, ich schäme mich nicht nur für dein Verhalten, sondern auch für dich." Wenn Sie einen Fehler machen, lassen Sie uns bei Ihnen bleiben, damit Sie darüber nachdenken, was Sie getan haben, warum und wie Sie dies korrigieren können.

2. Um Ihre Sicherheit zu erhöhen: "Zählen Sie auf mich"

Wenn Probleme auftauchen, legen Jugendliche großen Wert darauf, dies zu wissen Sie können zu ihren Eltern gehen, um sie zu lösen. Dieses Gefühl wird erreicht, wenn wir wiederholt gesagt haben: "Wenn Sie es brauchen, zögern Sie nicht, zu mir zu gehen. Ich werde immer auf Sie hören und Ihnen helfen." Obwohl von Natur aus Der Teenager ist rebellisch, muss immer sicher sein, dass in schwierigen Zeiten "meine Eltern da sind".

Wenn wir ihm jedoch keine Aufmerksamkeit schenken, wenn es ihm schlecht geht, werden wir ihm einen guten Grund geben, selbstständig zu arbeiten, um Rat und Hilfe von anderen Menschen zu suchen. Wir müssen ihnen zuhören, ohne ständig sprechen und verurteilen zu wollen. Dies ist der Weg, um klar zu machen, dass "Sie für mich wichtig sind", "Ich kümmere mich um Ihre Angelegenheiten", "Ich höre gerne auf Ihre Ideen und Meinungen" usw.

3. Um ein Kriterium zu formulieren: "Das Verstehen von Ihnen gibt Ihnen nicht immer einen Grund"

Dass ein Teenager sagt, dass seine Eltern etwas veraltet sind oder dass wir sie nicht verstehen, ist etwas, was normal ist. Daher sollten wir nicht frustriert sein, sondern wissen, dass es sich um typische Verhaltensweisen von 13, 14, 15 oder 16 Jahren handelt, selbst wenn einige Kinder 17 oder 18 Jahre alt werden. Wenn wir in der Kindheit nicht viel säen, ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass Kommunikation in der Die Pubertät wird besonders schwierig, aber wir sollten das Handtuch nicht werfen. Wenn unser Sohn uns "beschuldigt", dass wir ihn nicht verstehen, sollten wir wissen, dass es nur eine Möglichkeit ist, sich zu verteidigen. Verwechseln Sie "nicht verstehen" mit "nicht zustimmen".

Wenn wir auf ihn / sie zugehen, können wir unsere Meinung nicht ändern, da wir ihn uns manipulieren lassen. Wenn er wütend wird und uns sagt, dass wir ihn nicht verstehen, werden wir ihn bitten, uns mit folgenden Sätzen zu helfen: "Ja, ich möchte Sie verstehen, aber sagen Sie mir etwas anderes, helfen Sie mir, indem Sie mir sagen, was Sie fühlen und vielleicht kann ich Ihnen helfen, indem Sie erklären, warum dies der Fall ist."

Wenn es aber nur darum geht, dass wir nicht mit ihm / ihr übereinstimmen, können wir wiederholen, was er sagt, seine Argumente, seine Ideen, bis er zufrieden ist und dann kommentieren: "Sie sehen, dass ich verstehe, was Sie sagen wollen und warum Es scheint mir jedoch, dass unser Problem nicht mangelndes Verständnis ist, sondern mangelnde Übereinstimmung. "

4. Um Ihnen zu helfen, nach innen zu wachsen: "Ich vertraue Ihnen"

In dieser Phase ist unser Hij @ er braucht mehr als je zuvor ihm zu vertrauen, so können wir dir nie sagen "Ich werde dir nicht wieder glauben, du hast mich betrogen und du hast mein Vertrauen für immer verloren" Er muss wissen, dass er frei ist, uns zu täuschen, aber derjenige, der am meisten leidet, ist er, und wir werden ihm trotzdem eine weitere Chance geben. Unser Sohn muss uns sagen, dass unser Vertrauen in ihn allmählich zunimmt, wenn er neues Wissen und Erfahrungen in Situationen gewinnt, die Vertrauen erfordern. Es ist auch wahr, dass es einen anderen Grund gibt, warum es für unsere Eltern so schwierig ist, unseren Kindern zu vertrauen, und das ist, dass wir alle Risiken, Situationen und Gefahren, die mit diesem Stadium verbunden sind, aus erster Hand erlebt haben.

Wir wissen es Wie einfach ist es, sich den Belastungen der Umgebung anzupassen, wenn Sie nicht vorbereitet sind. Dies verhindert, dass wir unseren Kindern unbegrenztes Vertrauen schenken. In der Tat würden wir unsere Arbeit als Eltern nicht erledigen, wenn wir unseren Kindern erlauben, sich in Situationen zu befinden, in denen das Risiko höher ist als ihr Reifegrad.

5. Um gesund zu werden: "Ich liebe dich sehr"

Manchmal können wir viele Gelegenheiten verpassen, Liebe und Zuneigung auszudrücken - und sie zu empfangen - nur weil wir sie nicht als bewusster Zweck vorgeschlagen haben. Und dennoch ist es die wichtigste Botschaft, die Jungen und Mädchen von ihren Eltern hören möchten. Liebe ist der wesentliche Bestandteil einer gesunden Familie. Ein "Ich liebe dich", sagte laut und oft hilft es uns zu wissen, wer wir sind und warum wir geboren wurden.

Wenn ein Teenager sich der Liebe seiner Eltern nicht sicher ist, bedeuten die vier oben genannten Botschaften nichts. Ihnen muss gesagt werden, dass sie sie lieben und dass sie es ihnen zeigen. Wie können sie sicher sein, dass sie geliebt werden, wenn sie es ihnen nie erzählt haben? Wie können sie sicher sein, dass ihre Eltern niemals Zeit mit ihm verbringen?

Die Art, einem Kind Liebe zu zeigen, wird mit jedem Buchstaben des Wortes "Zeit" beschrieben. Geschenke zu geben, Essen und Kleidung zu geben, Zuneigung auf andere Weise zu zeigen, ist in Ordnung, aber Sie müssen auch bereit sein, Zeit mit Ihrem Teenager zu verschwenden: Gehen Sie essen, gehen Sie zusammen aus, sprechen Sie über Ihre Hobbys, helfen Sie bei der Vorbereitung einer Feier Überraschen Sie einen Freund, beraten Sie ihn, wie er sich für eine Party kleiden soll usw.

Tipps zur Verbesserung der Kommunikation mit jugendlichen Kindern

- Haben Sie jemals zu Ihrem Sohn gesagt:Weißt du, dass ich stolz auf dich bin und mich um nichts anderes kümmert? " Dieses Gefühl von Sei stolz auf unsere Kinder Es ist der beste Weg, ihnen die große Liebe zu vermitteln, die wir für sie empfinden und dass diese Realität uns wirklich glücklich macht.

- Wenn Sie sich verbessern deine Art zuzuhörenIhr Sohn wird auch lernen, besser zuzuhören. Stellen Sie sich die positiven Auswirkungen auf die Gesprächsqualität in Ihrer Familie vor.

- Es geht nicht darum zu sagen: "Ich verstehe genau, wie du dich fühlst"Es klingt wie der Wunsch, sich von Ihren Gefühlen zu lösen und eine schnelle Lösung für das Problem zu finden. Obwohl wir uns an unsere Jugend erinnern, sind wir noch nicht fünfzehn Jahre alt, und wir leben auch nicht den spezifischen Moment, durch den unser Kind geht. Vielleicht wäre es besser, es ihm zu sagen "Ich kann verstehen, dass es Ihnen schwer fällt, Ihnen zu helfen. Wenn Sie möchten, suchen wir gemeinsam nach einer Lösung”.

- Es besteht die Gefahr, dass die Kinder zu hoch und auch an der falschen Stelle aufgestellt werden. Wenn sie glauben, dass sie zum Beispiel alles aus dem Weg schaffen müssen, um akzeptiert zu werden, können sie daraus schließen, dass sich ihre Eltern nur um Erfolge kümmern ... nicht um Menschen. Deshalb werden sie nicht versuchen, das Beste zu geben, was sie können.

- Es ist wichtig, dass sie klar unterscheiden dass die Person akzeptiert werden kann, auch wenn ihr Verhalten nicht genehmigt wird. Sie sind stolz auf ihn, denn in Ihrem Sohn, aber nicht auf das, was er getan hat, und machen Sie deutlich, dass sich Ihre Wut nur auf seine Handlungen bezieht, nicht auf ihn als Person.

Das Leben zwingt gelegentlich zu einem frenetischen Tempo, dem es schwer fällt, zu entkommen. Aber wir können nicht vergessen, dass wir uns mindestens einmal in der Woche Zeit nehmen müssen, um mit jedem Kind zu sprechen. Während wir ein Arbeitstreffen aufschreiben, schreiben Sie auf, ob wir mit den Kindern sprechen oder nicht, überprüfen Sie diese Tagesordnung und korrigieren Sie, wenn wir keinen Platz für sie gefunden haben. Ein Blick, eine Geste, ein Wort und ein Kommentar helfen unserem Kind täglich, zu wissen, dass wir uns seiner und seiner Dinge bewusst sind.

Ana Aznar

Video: so VERLIEBT sich einfach JEDER Junge in ein MÄDCHEN


Interessante Artikel

Theatervorteile für Kinder

Theatervorteile für Kinder

Das Kindertheater ist eine der beliebtesten außerschulischen Aktivitäten für Kinder. Um Theater zu machen, ist es nicht notwendig, dass ein Star in der Familie geboren wird, es reicht aus, wenn das...