An overweight person sees food as a reward

What makes a person with overweight Keep eating knowing that it is not for you? Why consume high fat products if it is known that they will not be beneficial? Knowing how someone's mind works with this problem helps initiate a correct treatment.

A better knowledge about what happens inside means that there are better chances of starting a treatment to counteract their disease. Now thanks to a work of the Mind Center, Brain and Behavior, belonging to the University of Granada, professionals are a little closer to knowing what happens inside the brain of people with overweight and obesity.


Money or food?

As if it were a prize, the brain of overweight and obese people understand food as the best reward. Even that money. This has been determined by the University of Granada after analyzing a total of 81 cases composed of 21 people with obesity, 21 with overweight and 39 within the recommended parameters based on their height.

All these people were presented with different images of foods that varied from healthy products such as fruits and vegetables even the least recommended for its high level of fat such as hamburgers and other types of junk food. After showing them these photographs, the researchers asked them how much money they would be willing to pay for each of these items.


On the other hand they were also tested where they had to press a button whenever they saw a star appear on a screen. If successful, they would receive financial compensation.

Best food rating

The results of both tests determined that as the Body Mass Index was higher, IMC, the food was valued as an item of more value than money. That is to say, the brains of overweight and obese people reacted to the idea of ​​being able to receive one of the dishes presented before the possibility of receiving money for correcting a question.

On the contrary, people with less weight and those with a BMI within the recommended parameters for their height reacted better to the possibility of receiving money for their success. It is from the threshold between a BMI between 27 and 32 when people begin to downplay the economic reward in favor of the option of getting high-fat, high-sugar foods.


Better future treatments

Researchers say that discovering how the brains of people with overweight and obesity function in relation to the reward circuit will help to project better treatments against these problems. A good way to take advantage of these data would be to focus the minds of these patients before other stimuli and make them feel that they have received a prize in another way.

For example, betting on treatments where the brain of these overweight people see the fact of having lost kilos as a reward that makes your brain feel good every time you receive this news and make the subject be anime to continue working. In the same way, it is also recommended that these subjects avoid, as far as possible, advertisements for fast food and other elements that may activate this brain circuit.

Damián Montero

Video: How To Trick Your Brain To Eat Less (Palatability and Food Reward)


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Ein übergewichtiger Mensch sieht Essen als Belohnung an

Was macht einen Menschen aus? Übergewicht Weiter essen, wissend, dass es nicht für dich ist? Warum sollten Sie fettreiche Produkte konsumieren, wenn bekannt ist, dass sie keinen Nutzen haben? Zu wissen, wie jemandes Verstand mit diesem Problem arbeitet, hilft, eine korrekte Behandlung einzuleiten.

Ein besseres Wissen über das, was im Inneren passiert, bedeutet, dass die Chancen, eine Behandlung zu beginnen, besser sind, um ihrer Krankheit entgegenzuwirken. Dank einer Arbeit des Mind Center, Brain and Behavior, die zur Universität von Granada gehört, wissen Profis ein wenig, was mit dem Gehirn von Menschen passiert Übergewicht und Fettleibigkeit.


Geld oder Essen?

Als wäre es ein Preis, verstehen das Gehirn von übergewichtigen und fettleibigen Menschen das Essen als beste Belohnung. Sogar das Geld. Dies wurde von der Universität Granada festgestellt, nachdem insgesamt 81 Fälle aus 21 Personen mit Übergewicht, 21 mit Übergewicht und 39 innerhalb der empfohlenen Parameter anhand ihrer Körpergröße analysiert wurden.

Alle diese Menschen wurden mit unterschiedlichen Bildern von Lebensmitteln präsentiert, die von gesunden Produkten wie z Obst und Gemüse selbst das am wenigsten empfohlene für seinen hohen Fettgehalt wie Hamburger und andere Arten von Junk Food. Nachdem sie diese Fotos gezeigt hatten, fragten sie die Forscher, wie viel Geld sie für jedes dieser Gegenstände bezahlen würden.


Auf der anderen Seite wurden sie auch getestet, wo sie einen Knopf drücken mussten, sobald ein Stern auf einem Bildschirm auftauchte. Bei Erfolg würden sie einen finanziellen Ausgleich erhalten.

Best Food Bewertung

Die Ergebnisse beider Tests ergaben, dass der Body-Mass-Index höher war, IMCwurde das Essen als wertvoller als Geld bewertet. Das heißt, die Gehirne von übergewichtigen und fettleibigen Menschen reagierten auf die Idee, eines der angebotenen Gerichte erhalten zu können, bevor sie die Möglichkeit hatten, Geld zur Korrektur einer Frage zu erhalten.

Im Gegenteil, Menschen mit geringerem Gewicht und Personen mit einem BMI innerhalb der empfohlenen Parameter für ihre Körpergröße reagierten besser auf die Möglichkeit, Geld für ihren Erfolg zu erhalten. Es liegt an der Schwelle zwischen einem BMI zwischen 27 und 32 wenn die Menschen anfangen, die wirtschaftliche Belohnung zugunsten der Option, fettreiche, zuckerreiche Lebensmittel zu erhalten, herunterzuspielen.


Bessere zukünftige Behandlungen

Die Forscher sagen, dass die Entdeckung der Funktionsweise des Gehirns von Menschen mit Übergewicht und Fettleibigkeit in Bezug auf den Belohnungskreislauf dazu beitragen wird, bessere Behandlungsmethoden gegen diese Probleme zu entwickeln. Ein guter Weg, um diese Daten zu nutzen, wäre, die Gedanken dieser Patienten vorher zu fokussieren andere Reize und ihnen das Gefühl geben, auf andere Weise einen Preis erhalten zu haben.

Wetten Sie beispielsweise auf Behandlungen, bei denen das Gehirn dieser übergewichtigen Menschen die Tatsache des Verlusts an Kilometern als Belohnung ansieht, bei der sich Ihr Gehirn jedes Mal gut fühlt, wenn Sie diese Nachrichten erhalten und das Thema machen Sei Anime weiter arbeiten In gleicher Weise wird auch empfohlen, dass diese Personen so weit wie möglich Werbung für Fast Food und andere Elemente vermeiden, die diesen Gehirnkreislauf aktivieren können.

Damián Montero

Video: Du fütterst dein Haustier falsch


Interessante Artikel

Kinderfrühstück: 10 Daten zur Verbesserung

Kinderfrühstück: 10 Daten zur Verbesserung

Das Frühstück ist für Kinder der Schlüssel zu angemessenem Essen. Wie die spanische Stiftung für Ernährungsberater (FEDN) betont hat, ist die Familie ein entscheidender Faktor für die Gewohnheit,...

Strenge Bildung, ungewisse akademische Zukunft

Strenge Bildung, ungewisse akademische Zukunft

Ein Vater zu sein, ist vielleicht die größte Herausforderung, der sich eine Person im Leben stellen kann. Eine neue Person kommt in vielerlei Hinsicht von uns und hängt von uns ab, und ja, Sie können...