Praise yes, but in moderation

All good action deserves recognition by its beneficiaries. To praise good deeds never hurt, although like everything else in life, the negative consequences come from the excess and this issue does not escape this maxim. Recognizing too much the good deeds of the smallest of the house can have negative consequences.

Must to praise, yes, but always in concrete situations and easily recognizable actions. Highlighting positive aspects in children without reason and too often causes children not know how to differentiate the barrier between good and evil, and it costs more to differentiate a good action than it is not.


Addicted to praise

Moderating the praises does not mean never giving them, just the opposite. These positive comments should be very present in the children's lives, although they should refer to specific situations where the child has made an outstanding action. At this time if parents recognize this work and congratulate their children, they will be motivated to act again in this way and have learned that it is their effort that really deserves praise.

However, excessive praise can cause children to end up depending on them and constantly look for them to reaffirm their self-esteem. A problem that makes the contrary that in the previous case, in this the minors do not feel satisfied with their good actions, but only when someone reminds them how good they are. Something that can cause their anger if they do not receive a congratulation when acting in a way.


How to praise

These are some of the guidelines that can be followed to achieve the best results of the compliments in children:

1. Make the child know what behavior he has liked. It is not the same to say: "How well you have behaved", to say, "Mom is happy because you have not run through the corridors and you have spoken softly". In the first case, the child is left with the idea that his behavior has been good but he does not know concretely what he has done and what has pleased his parents so much.

2. Immediate praise. It is no use waiting a month to say to the child: "Dad is happy because you have fixed your room". In this case the child will already have forgotten what he did or did not do.

3. Appropriate praise. We must praise with enthusiasm and accompany the praises with body language such as a hug, a slap, a kiss on the cheek, etc. In this way we increase the magnitude of the praise, a praise said without enthusiasm, or carelessly loses its effectiveness.


4. Simply praise. Some parents accompany a compliment with a sarcastic comment, such as: "How well you have made the bed today, but you could do it that way every day!". With this "tagline", which often escapes us, we have lost all the benefits of praise.

Damián Montero

Video: Lesson of the Week (Moderation)


Interesting Articles

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Although it does not have a good reputation, children need a degree of discipline that does not oppose educating in freedom or affection. The value of discipline will be the key to success in all...

10 tips to care for atopic skin

10 tips to care for atopic skin

The atopic dermatitis, very common in children, is produced by a deficit in the production of ceramides from the skin. Ceramides are a family of natural lipids, thanks to them the cells are held...

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

The consumption of drugs such as alcohol, joints or pills can potentially be the most destructive activity in which our adolescent children can be involved. All drugs affect the health of people and...

Gelobt ja, aber in Maßen

Alles gute Handeln verdient Anerkennung von ihren Begünstigten. Lob Gute Taten tun nie weh, obwohl wie alles andere im Leben die negativen Folgen aus dem Übermaß resultieren und diese Frage nicht dieser Maxime entgeht. Zu viel zu erkennen, die guten Taten des Kleinsten des Hauses können negative Folgen haben.

Da ist das lobenJa, aber immer in konkreten Situationen und leicht erkennbaren Handlungen. Das Hervorheben positiver Aspekte bei Kindern ohne Grund und zu oft bewirkt, dass Kinder nicht wissen, wie sie die Grenze zwischen Gut und Böse unterscheiden können, und dass eine gute Handlung mehr kostet, als sie nicht ist.


Süchtig nach Lob

Moderieren der Lobpreise bedeutet nicht, sie niemals zu geben, im Gegenteil. Diese positiven Kommentare sollten im Leben der Kinder sehr präsent sein, obwohl sie sich auf spezifische Situationen beziehen sollten, in denen das Kind hervorragende Maßnahmen ergriffen hat. Wenn Eltern zu dieser Zeit diese Arbeit anerkennen und ihren Kindern gratulieren, werden sie motiviert, auf diese Weise erneut zu handeln, und haben gelernt, dass es ihre Anstrengung ist, die wirklich Lob verdient.

Übermäßiges Lob kann jedoch dazu führen, dass Kinder von ihnen abhängig sind und ständig danach suchen, dass sie ihr Selbstwertgefühl bekräftigen. Ein Problem, das im Gegenteil dazu führt, dass sich die Minderjährigen im vorigen Fall nicht mit ihren guten Taten zufrieden geben, sondern nur, wenn jemand sie daran erinnert, wie gut sie sind. Etwas, das ihren Ärger auslösen kann, wenn sie nicht gratuliert werden, wenn sie auf eine Weise handeln.


Wie zu loben

Dies sind einige der Richtlinien, die befolgt werden können, um die besten Ergebnisse der Komplimente bei Kindern zu erzielen:

1. Informieren Sie das Kind über sein Verhalten. Es ist nicht dasselbe zu sagen: "Wie gut du dich benommen hast", um zu sagen: "Mama ist glücklich, weil du nicht durch die Flure gelaufen bist und leise gesprochen hast". Im ersten Fall hat das Kind die Vorstellung, dass sein Verhalten gut war, aber es weiß nicht konkret, was es getan hat und was seine Eltern so sehr gefallen hat.

2. Sofortiges Lob. Es ist sinnlos, einen Monat zu warten, um dem Kind zu sagen: "Vater ist glücklich, weil du dein Zimmer repariert hast". In diesem Fall hat das Kind bereits vergessen, was es getan hat oder nicht getan hat.

3. Angemessenes Lob. Wir müssen mit Enthusiasmus loben und das Lob mit Körpersprache wie Umarmung, Ohrfeigen, Kuss auf die Wange usw. begleiten. Auf diese Weise erhöhen wir den Umfang des Lobes, ein Lob, das ohne Begeisterung gesagt wird oder seine Wirksamkeit nachlässt.


4. Einfach loben. Einige Eltern begleiten ein Kompliment mit einem sarkastischen Kommentar wie: "Wie gut haben Sie das Bett heute gemacht, aber Sie könnten es jeden Tag so machen!". Mit diesem "Slogan", der uns oft entgeht, haben wir alle Vorteile des Lobes verloren.

Damián Montero

Video: Süssholzwurzel bei Sodbrennen und Kopfschmerzen


Interessante Artikel

Wie man das ahnungslose Kind korrigiert

Wie man das ahnungslose Kind korrigiert

Kinder sind von Natur aus neugierig, entdecken die Welt um sie herum und es ist normal, dass sie eher abgelenkt sind. Du sprichst mit ihm und er scheint seine Gedanken in den Wolken zu haben, er...

10 plant, den Konsum zu Weihnachten zu stoppen

10 plant, den Konsum zu Weihnachten zu stoppen

Mit der Ankunft von Weihnachten, unsere Kinder, die auch in die Kultur des Konsums eingetaucht sind, fordern viele Pläne und Launen: Gehen Sie alle Filmpremieren durch, gehen Sie in den Zirkus, ins...

Die Vorteile des Stillens nach dem ersten Jahr

Die Vorteile des Stillens nach dem ersten Jahr

Muttermilch ist die erste Nahrung, die jeder Mensch in den ersten Tagen und Monaten seines Lebens erhält. Normalerweise hängt dies mit dem ersten halben Jahr des Babys zusammen, da in diesem Zeitraum...